Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I had to smile reading that lads.

“High flyer” and “proper farmer” are perfect descriptions 😂

If ye’re not careful I’ll get the camera out and do a video!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭The Rabbi

Please do a video,let us know how you're getting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭cosatron

why do you think that is, ginger. Are the eu abandoning farming as a way of reducing emission/nitrates to save big corporations and over population in many cities or they don't see a future in farming. While in Indonesia, they are after clearing 45000 hectare of forest for rice fields. what's going on just makes no sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Yeah people think we will be back up to high prices very soon this downturn cud last for many years we have just bern trough a golden era for dairy farming 4 of the last 5 have been super years this was never seen before the price were gettinh now is worse than 2009 given input prices have doubled.lads arent complaining cus the presume it will bounce back quickly and there cash rich for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭straight

I wouldn't like to be relying on trump to fix anything. He's not a serious person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭straight

Look At what they do and not what they say....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Wouldn't mind a video on your thoughts after the last 12 months.to be fair to you you seem to give a fairly honest view of where you are at and an open mind on future options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭ginger22

Hard to know. I suppose it is the calibre of politicians we Elect. Then the masses want cheap food so they can afford all the other crap. The thing is they don't realise they were already getting cheap food. In future if they want food they will have to pay the full production cost. Funny old world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Protectionism is good but if the EU was to be subsidising uncompetitive exports, that's communism territory. There's no great strategic reason to have excess milk production capabilities.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I might do a quick video over Christmas. Explaining my thinking on camera helps get things a bit straighter in my head.

My current thinking is that things will play themselves out in 2026 and there’s only so much I can do to affect my dairying future.

I’ve figures (and scars) from last year so I’ve some idea of what’s involved and what’s needed for milking cows. I’ll be doing everything I can to make a go of it but I can’t reduce costs below a certain point no more than I can increase milk price or buy another 20 cows out of cash flow in March.

Neither can I ignore my alternative option to cows. Using my own figures, calf to beef at my current scale (40-ish cows versus 60-ish cattle) is just about as profitable as milking OAD. But it takes around half the hours/week.

As I said, it’ll play itself out and I’ll have a more informed view in April. It’ll all seem obvious in hindsight then.

sucklers would suit you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I've been following your posts during the year with interest.

Just in relation to milking, I think it was all heifers you had this year. Next spring will be like night and day for you not having to train them in etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭visatorro

I thought it was interesting looking at things from a different system. Dont have to take it too seriously but the northern attitude to work suits america and the opportunities that are there.

On people taking out robots, the lely man mentioned 5% across Europe that come out within a couple of years i think. Something like that anyway. I know a few lads who took them out, some were 2 legged problems. And another couple of cases where a chance for rapid expansion appeared and large parlours with in. One of the places isn't overly rosey since, other place is going well afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

from what I gather with the illegal immigrates they just employ them and worry about the consequences if ICE arrive in. Elliot’s wouldn’t be the pioneers of that approach. It would be fairly standard procedure in America

On the wife giving him an ultimatum, that’s not the case. Her parents were Irish who moved to America and then moved back to Ireland to live after she was born in America It was Rodney that instigated the move to America to milk cows and it helped that she was a citizen to make the move possible.

I don’t envy the man one bit, but what have you done with your life in comparison to be sneering at him ? You got lucky with Kerry shares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭ftm2023

You seem to have a big problem with me <snip>. You’re always making sneery comments at people on here. I contacted you just there outside of boards as we know one another already. “What have you done with your life” 😂😂

Post edited by Siamsa Sessions on

Mod note: take it easy folks.

Season of goodwill and all that. And you’re allowed anonymity on here so real names are a bit of a no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,690 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Mental situation over in the uk alot of dairies allegadely telling a good % of producers to dump their milk for the next few days, has brexit put a end to Irish co-ops getting cheap milk this time of year trucked over our is it still happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭yewdairy

Not sure about the south but I think dale farm bring some into the north. Might not be worth the hassle for a lot of coops who aren't already segregating milk for m the north.

What UK dairy farmers have to put up with from their processors is unbelievable. Pretty much flat supply curve and still asked to dump milk. Their is very few driers in the UK so can't put much of the milk into long life products.

When you see that going on in the UK it would remind me how important it is, that Irish dairy farmers mind their farmer owned coops. The coops have their issues but that kind of mess just won't happen in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭greenfield21

They are getting paid for it,just very quiet around Christmas with demand way down, shops, cafes, restaurants and unfortunately supply way up this year. Probably cheaper to dump it for some of the processors heavily reliant on liquid milk. Just hope they don't start investing in additional capacity as we have enough of that in the world now.

Problem i see with co ops there getting less every year if one gets into difficulty its neighbour bails it out how long will this go on for till only one remains who will bail it out simple a foreign investment fund only after profit then the fun will start may take 20 or 30yrs but thats the way its going .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,288 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

long and short of it tgeres too many cooos in the country ….Areabawn and tipp merged this year …can see lots more of it next few years

So what happens when were left with one co op a bit of bad management what then lad whos the last remaining co op going to merge with.Look what happened in nz.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Why do people think merging and taking over coops is a good thing.can someone show us where merging and acquisition leads to high preforming operations.

tipp would of folded if merger didn’t happen ….lots of interested parties …can only speak of my own coop ,I was there for Midwest /nenagh merger to form Arrabawn ….and now for Arrabawn /tipp merger …..long term both were and will be big success …milk pool is too small for amount of coops currently here ….lots of savings to be made by coops joining up which should leave suppliers in better position ….structures and boards within coops are an issue tho …most too big and rules and trading requirements and lots political shite are keeping very good people away

Fronterea in New Zealand aren’t exactly doing too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭green daries

They Are the worst paying coops as far as I can see the bigger the worse the farmers get treated

Im a shareholder of an co op which has long since stopped processing milk they have a few agri stores the amount of messi ng and money wasted all legal an above board is crazy the election of new board members is something youd see in russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Where is the FarmFlix video with Rodney Elliott? I’d like to see how a real farmer milks cows when he’s in a country that actually wants production instead of trying to kill it. Looks like he doing something right when he is been sneered at on here. I know where I'd like to be milking cows over the next fews years, and they have the full support of their Government and the outlook appears to be a great time to be farming in the U.S. if ye were young again and a bit of drive that's were you would be going.