Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,001 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Any thoughts on Dalot and Cunha dancing like a pair of eejits with, as it turned out, more than 20 mins remaining? Game was far from over even if there'd been no added time ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,777 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

2 points from Everton (v 10 men) West ham and Bournemouth all at home.

Is that really progress?

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Felexicon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,083 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

It's noticeable that some 3 months after Onana was shipped out, we remain an incredibly soft side defensively. A team that loves to gift goals to the opposition.

Like most fans, I'm glad we changed our keeper.

But the defensive problems United have run a lot deeper than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭scottser

That was a mad game of football. I owe about 50 quid to the swear jar FFS.

We looked much better with a back 4. Not necessarily THAT back 4 tho, we're still too lax and their equaliser was avoidable. But we should have been 6 up at half time. Maddening game to watch. We're going to get hammered by Villa at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭crusd

For the first 3 goals Shaw vacated the orthodox LCB role he played for much of the first half and they reverted to the default 3 cb. This was a tactical shift and conceded control. And in each case the goa resulted from shaw a being caught on the touch line cascading to other players out of position. The 4th goal was a consequence of the chaos that came before.

The modified formation they started the game with with Amad higher up the pitch and Yoro more of a tucked right back was working until mid way through the first half when they reverted to default Amorim. 3-4-3. And we know this was a deliberate tactic not “the players” because that’s what the did at the start of the second also after retaking the lead. I think Amorim was more worried about a modified tactic winning the game and the consequential questioning of his orthodoxy than actually maintaining the control they had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Quags

the scored after 1 min in the second half, you don’t need a professional manager to tell you to keep it tight as the opposition will come out the traps. The free kick comes from a pass from Dalot into Bruno instead of down the line to Shaw and results in a goal and the the 4th is from a direct run down the middle and Martinez not being tight enough to the man.

Amorim may not be the best ever but with some fans he can’t win at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

Not at all I deffo enjoyed it, we obviously weren't going to be at our beat with yoro and heavens in defense I don't think they were too bad either but you'd feel more senior defenders would have had control over some of those situations better.

Disappointed to drop points after a very good first half performance but battled back well when the heads could have been totally lost at 3-2.

”I think Amorim was more worried about a modified tactic winning the game ”

I’m out🫣👍🏼

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭mobydopy

Ah here, not the celebration police. If you can’t celebrate what we all thought was the winning goal at the time, then what’s the point? I doubt you’d be making this comment if we won the game

You cannot see it can you. Look where Shaw and Dalot were positioned and compare to where we were in control in the first half

Also “with some fans he cannot win at all”. 2 points from 9 kind of days he can’t win a game they control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,001 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Nah, in the build up to the Bournemouth equaliser they stopped and did a can-can in the middle of the pitch. Of course when they were celebrating the goal. Cunha was completely pulling the piss with how long it went on. You'd have thought it was a last gasp winner.

When a absurd deliberate decision is made to alter a tactic that had you in control only the bizarre or utterly incompetent can explain it.

Look at football as more than just “da players” for once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,838 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I dunno why some people seemed to think Bournemouth should have been a walkover. They are a very dangerous side, we didn't roll over and give up surprisingly so a point isn't that bad all things considered. Madness comparing it to Everton game.

”Look at football as more than just “da players” for once”

Will do @crusd I’ll look at “da tactics” also

it’s not given the level of control they had fir much of the first half, the fact we scored 4 against them and their recent record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,409 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Well, thats United's easiest run of games this season now finished. Wolves coming up should be a gimme but it gets a lot tougher now in general, especially with AFCON in the mix.

How did that run end up? 2 wins in the last 7 PL games. Wolves and Palace.

I wouldn't get too attached to 6th place lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Cunha seems like a guy who appreciates the moment and the positive things in his life. I wouldn't begrudge anyone who works hard and tries to do positive things taking a few seconds to appreciate and enjoy the small moments of success and the sound of the old trafford crowd.

It is clear he doesn't take it for granted. Life is short and you could be hit by a bus tomorrow. Who knows, it could be the last goal he ever scores (hopefully not!), it clearly means something to him, which personally I don't mind one bit. He was backtracking more than anyone for the rest of the game, so it was not arrogance.

Football players are also human beings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Charlie69

So you’re actually suggesting that our manager didn’t want to win the game?….. Will you get a grip of yourself man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Lads my heart went to levels that were unsafe during that second half!

Best Premier League game of the Season so far.

Undoubtedly there were some naive mistakes which contributed to the Bournemouth goals but they were all expertly dispatched.

The big plus is that Cunha was like a man reborn……full of confidence which will be helped by his clinical finish.

Mbuemo had some very poor misses…..but we won’t be seeing him for a good while.

Thought Casemiro and Bruno got through a lot of work,and to be fair Mainoo covered every blade of grass in his time on the pitch.

Onwards and upwards!😅💪👏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Charlie69

@crusd Sorry but thats absolute nonsense…. say what you want about Amorim but he’s trying to win the game ffs… oh my God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,457 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Mbuemo and Yoro were poor, Shaw and Lemmens hit and miss. The rest I thought were decent. Baffling how well we played in the first half and we easily could have lost that game 4-5 at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

We won the xg well (3.86-1.98) anyways should move us up the xg table and maybe come end of the season we might be xg champions and maybe limp into the champions league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

Yoro has been pretty consistently poor for quite some time now. He’s always been a disaster defensively but showed excellent on the ball ability and you hoped the defensive side would come with experience.

Unfortunately the defensive side has stayed the same and the on ball stuff has deserted him completely.

I think he’ll struggle for game time once everyone is fit as Amorim doesn’t have the luxury of carrying a defensive liability to give him ‘experience’

I also worry he’ll struggle big time if ever got to a back 4 at the back manager. The back 3 should be made for him, he would be crucified in a 2 at his current stage of developemnt.

Thought he was going to be a slam dunk signing but not so it seems. He has a long way to go (plenty of time), but it’s an unforgiving sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,457 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Bit of a bleh post match presser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭mobydopy

Just read that Casemiro is suspended for the Villa game on Sunday. With Amad and Mbuemo gone as well and our defence gifting goals away to every team we face, I’m not feeling confident whatsoever

Maybe Mainoo will finally get a start though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,083 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

That we don’t roll over isn’t good enough. Not if we’re serious about European football next season.

We should have been 2 or 3 ahead at HT.Should have put the game to bed. Then we do the usual defensive collapse and start haemorraging goals.

This team never looks safe unless it has at least a 3 goal lead.
    That has to be a big concern

And Bournemouth have been in terrible form lately. So we absolutely should have expected to win this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I'd say that's a big part of the reason he got 30 instead of his usual 2-12 minutes as he'll have to play next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Can you do a cliff notes version, I switched off after the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Ninthlife