Cork GAA Discussion Thread

1453454455456457459»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭robbiezero

16 points isnt bad for "a complete fraud".

He was outstanding. Brilliant game. Very harsh way to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭lukin

Yes and at what stages of the game were those sixteen points scored? In the first half and early in the second half. I think I am correct in saying that he didn't score in the last ten minutes. He missed a 45 and a free from a similar distance very near the end. Missed them both by miles in fact. I hate knocking players, I know they do their best and that's all anyone can ask but this a common theme with Steven Sherlock. He wilts under pressure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,330 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Your post was a very cheap shot at a player who put in a performance like what he did - no matter how you would like to dress it up.

Own it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

When people talk about the awful social media abuse GAA players have to put up with, this would be a great example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Seadin

He is right. 16 points but didn't score when it mattered most for his team when game was in the melting pot. Unforgivable effort of a 45 which he missed by a mile. They bottled a glorius chance and no point hiding it. That's the problem with Cork football moral victories and praising lads for doing nothing but no criticising when the game needed to be won and Sherlock and Maguire made some bad decisions on the field of play. Worst thing about it I think Barrs were a better team than Dingle but found a way to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Jizique

There was a fair wind against him in the second half, and I suspect he was being more closely marked in H2 after his performance in the first 30 mins

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,330 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I've long held the opinion that discussing anything with you is pointless.

Had The Barrs won, you would have said they were lucky etc. and no way would they win it outright.

Years of posting negatively about anything and everything Cork related.

'Praising lads for doing nothing…' what a load of crap.

I'm sure you will reply - another Head in the sand type post no doubt - but apologies if I go back to not really caring about you post when a Cork team loses as you very rarely post when they win!

The Barrs should have won but found a way to lose. I can't discuss anything with you because you are a Yes man and couldn't give two hoots about how bad Cork GAA is performing throughout the years. I offer an opinion different to you and your nickers get into a bit of bother. I'm not negative about Cork but they would break your heart and all that goes down to the management of Cork GAA. But someone like yourself is always oblivious to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭pawdee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

There is definitely something wrong on the mental side of Cork GAA...when the pressure comes on we seem to fold like a pack of cards in both codes. Wonder do they use psychologists

Easy to say after a loss in fairness.

Thought the free at the end wasn't even a free. Compounded by the extra 50, another extremely poor decision. They were absolutely critical but nothing to do with a Cork team folding. Either of those not being given and the result is a win for the Barrs and nobody mentions folding….. till the next day of course. Nobody mentioned folding when we won on pens v L:imerick but they absolutely would have had we lost. Tight games can swing on a bit of luck or a bad decision by a ref amongst a whole lot of other things but shouldn't just be put down to folding. The final with Tip can though.

Stop talking nonsense. Barrs can only blame themselves for not seeing out the game. Take off the red and white glasses for once and just accept that the Barrs left it after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭thesultan

it was a great game. Hayes ready made for midfield at inter county.

Post edited by thesultan at

Hayes has had a great few months with his club. A great partnership with Maguire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Lads, I've been reading this thread on and off, like a lot of the other county threads, and I'm just astounded that most of ye haven't copped onto the fact that the answer and solution to all yere problems is blatantly staring ye in the face - just appoint Seadin and Lukin over yere intercounty teams and all will be saved. They have all the answers, know everything, can spot 'chokers' and bottlers' a mile away - it's a no brainer really…..

Very true but hurlers on the ditch tend to stay there, better for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭jimbob955

Hayes is a fantastic talent and athlete. From a footballing perspective such a shame Hayes has committed to the hurlers, but I suppose that's where the fame and glory is.

Always the same old story for Cork Footballers.

Any dual player will go with hurling (Hayes, Cahalanes etc)

Young talent like Hugh O'Connor being targeted by the hurlers now as well.

Anyone with soccer ability will go down that route (Ogbene was a fine player for Nemo)

Anyone with rugby ability will do down that route (Ben O'Connor, John Hodnett etc)

The poor Cork footballers are a distant 4th choice for both players and supporters!

True about mental toughness though and Cork sides losing finals. Huge amount of finals lost in Senior, underage, club and schools over the years

Another cheap shot again. Quit with that attitude. I hate reading stuff from yourself when you come from cuckoo land. Like I said before if you say something different you tend to get your knickers twisted. I won't be replying to your horse manure deposits going forward.

Everyone here is an expert and hurler on the ditch it seems.

3 from 3 for Kerry clubs v Cork clubs.

I read a quote on another message board this year. It compared the meagre Cork-Kerry football rivalry to the All Blacks - Australia in rugby.

For both, it is A rivalry built on history, traditional and geography. But lost a lot of impact the last 20 years or so.

For Australia read Cork, for All Blacks read Kerry

The All Blacks (Kerry) love rugby (football), its their national sport, national pastime, it is what defines them. All of their best athletes and footballers and brains trust will be geared to rugby. They love beating their big brother regularly, reminding them who is king.

Now in Australia (Cork) rugby (football) has to compete in a complex packed sports field, League, Cricket, Soccer, Athletics etc (or in Corks case rugby, hurling, soccer) all take away the best athletes, footballers and reduces the brains trust.

In Australia interest is lower in rugby. TV/Attendances down and ultimately Australians don't really care if they lose a match to the All Blacks. They have bigger fish to fry in the grand scheme of things

The next thing is the last 25 years there has been a history of failure for Australian sides against the All Blacks. They are used to losing at all levels either hammered or a last second painful defeat, referee decisions going against them etc

Same story for Cork. Kerry are utterly dominant at club, school, underage, senior, that the Cork lads mentally are defeated from an early age. Ultimately the general sports population of Cork just are not bothered if they lose to Kerry.

I found it a fascinating post, the comparison of both, once mighty rivalries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,341 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We were never really a sustained rivalry to Kerry though bar from 1987-1995.

Other than that cant recall us beating them more than 2 times in a row like 56-57, 66-67 and 73-74.

Its always been one sided mainly.

We are unlucky in sense other 4 Munster counties are hopeless at football and that leaves us to get the high profile hidings.

EVENFLOW

This is true actually. The Cork era of 87-95 corresponded to one of the weakest Kerry teams in their entire history. I think that's what Cork need, a very strong panel and hope Kerry drop back a bit.

Cork were obviously strong in the 00s and there were some great games, Cork deservedly won Sam in 2010.

Sometimes I find it hilarious some college and work Kerry colleagues bigging up the Cork-Kerry rivalry before a game, delighted when Kerry deservedly win easy but ultimately it is one sided rivalry for Kerry. Ultimately the majority of Cork sports fans don't give a **** if they lose to Kerry, especially around the city/east cork.

I can't see much change for the future either. The major population growth is/will be eastwards along the railway line to east cork from Tivoli to Midleton. Literally ZERO football along this route. Football strongholds like Beara and Duhallow are facing into further population decline and amalgamations etc