Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

At this stage you can effectively ignore social media as any sort of a yardstick for public opinion. If one was to take just the "Irish" angle on the socials; Conor McGregor would be president, we'd be out of the EU, Irish people would be on the streets calling for pograms and we'd be number one fans of Mother Russia. It's utter scutter basically. Much of it VPN'd from places like India, Africa and "East Europe".

There are many bad actors, state and private enterprise, setting the various stages online and handing megaphones to the parties they support, while upvoting the useful idiots.

In Soviet times the Kremlin co-opted and directly and indirectly supported various fringe groups in the West to sow doubt and destabilise same. Peace movements, hardline Left and Right wing groups etc. They run the same script today as it's both cheap and effective as a way to sow doubt in free societies. Which of course are allowed doubt in the first place. They've added in WEF/Globalist conspiracy idiots, though any conspiracy will do. EG antivax "big pharma" types tend to be Kremlin supporters too. It's even cheaper today with weaponised social media with the added spice of looking more like a majority viewpoint.

Put it another way; even in the face of it being obvious bollocks it has sowed some doubt in you…

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Trump is a gangster who is trying to see what advantages he can accrue for himself in 'making peace'.

He doesn't give two **** about Ukraine or Europe, which 'was formed to screw the US' according to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Yiu made two obvious mistakes there

1. Having a tik tok account
    2. Following the account of the divisive account the algorithm pushed to you

I had a twitter account for sports results for about 6 months and even that was nasty. I have no other social media.

The world would be in a better place if individuals curated their own information sources rather than allowing social media companies do it for them.

The ecosystem currently is designed to amplify bad actors/conspiracy nonsense/idiots

Not a go at you personally but my personal dislike of Tik Tok got me typing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,783 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Oh believe me I’m on the same wavelength - I look at it occasionally - usually whilst sitting on the jacks 😀- it’s tripe in the main but things like recipes etc it can be good - but yeah, this wasn’t the normal troll dump stuff- this was “official” elected representative spouting a load of lies - I’m sure plenty of Americans at least are soaking it all up and believing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Meanwhile at the front, it's being noted that Russian meat is being sent towards inevitable death without even helmets or any body armour in bigger and bigger numbers… some are sent out even without a rifle, and their sole job is to gather the guns & ammo from their recently composted comrades to re-distribute to the next wave of soon to be dead meat.. Apparently 4 out of every 20 going out might have a helmet/armour… the rest have to scavenge what they can from the death zone.

Then there are the runners (or camels as they are known), who are sent out with no gun or armour, only supplies to try and bring forwards.. The Ukranians say they are usually spotted & killed within seconds of emerging, and that it's too easy to pick them off, but they remind themselves if these runners get through, it means Ukranians can die so it's an easy target to aim for…

Anyway, Putin rejected the U.S./Ukraine deal did he? Ok then so how/when is Trump going to punish Ukraine for this insubordination? because this will be on anyone except Putin…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Apiarist

On Facebook most of them are bots/remote workers writing from stolen accounts. Some of them spam multiple identical messages under any topic related to Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Exactly, these "peace talks" are not real. Firstly, if Russia wanted to stop the war, they can do it at any time. Just announce a ceasefire and Ukrainians will stop shooting immediately. Secondly, Putin feels that he can squeeze more concessions if he holds out for longer. To force Putin to stop the war, there must be an escalation. Either Ukraine suddenly starts to retake significant chunks of territory — for that they need a huge infusion of weapons, or the EU should become reasonably aggressive — shoot all suspect drones spying on airports and military bases, block all oil tankers from Russia, arrest suspicious "research" ships loitering around undersea cables, deploy the antiair defenses to create a buffer zone near the EU borders and shoot down any Russian planes, missiles and drones close to the EU borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,496 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

I actually think when it comes to algorithm TikTok is vastly superior. I have an account and all mine shows me is games, football, funny **** and animals. I do tend to get the odd political one but it's either about something I agree with or something neutral.

If you do interact with MAGA/conspiracy theory/… nonsense it will keep feeding it to you but it's imo also very good in hiding it if you made it clear you're not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭rogber

At this stage it's hard to know how stupid these people are. The talks keep failing because of Russia's ridiculous demands, why do they even keep meeting? We all want genuine progress and peace, but these summits are just going nowhere, why do they keep repeating them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

When it comes to negotiations Putin is a wind-up toy that says the same thing every time. Even compared to the other thieves who run Russia he stands out as a terrible burden for the country to carry.

It’s a real stroke of luck that the Russians hid so much money away in Europe and can’t get at it at the moment.

Because quite apart from the 'peace' they pretend to care about, the current US administration are actually trying to rustle up 'business deals' to enrich themselves, which is ultimately their main motivation.

Russia and Trump's America have some neck pointing to Ukrainian corruption but it’s par for the course with them. Bear in mind that Ukraine is a Soviet republic in recovery, born with corruption and struggling to throw off that poisonous legacy ever since. Yermak is being investigated by Ukraine at a horribly inconvenient time but they went ahead with it anyway. By contrast, corruption is obligatory in Russia’s elite. Nobody is allowed to have clean hands. And what can we say of Trump? He has already enriched himself to a level that puts him in the first rank of kleptocrats in human history.

Remember when we thought Putin was a shrewd geopolitical operator, brilliantly pulling the strings from Moscow? I did. What a dolt he has turned out to be, stupidly running his country into the ground. And for what? His former KGB bosses were right to pass him over for promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,537 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Within part 14 of the "plan" it was stated that "$100 billion in frozen Russian assets will be invested in US-led efforts to rebuild and invest in Ukraine; the US will receive 50% of the profits from this venture."

I wonder who will in "the US" will be receiving that 50% of future Ukrainian profits?

Rest assured that Witkoff and Kushner will get their travel expenses. The whole performance defies belief. It’s so blatant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Makes more sense now that Trump sent his son-in-law "business man" to the talks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭rogber

Sadly that's probably close to the truth. The current US administration is pretty much equally disgusting as the Russian one. Pathetic old men with no humanity, no values beyond greed and power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

There's too many men, too many people making too many problems. And not much love to go around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,376 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The thing that gets me about these powerful people is that they don't seem to give a sh*t about how they're remembered. I was listening to a podcast about Neville Chamberlain recently. He's not remembered fondly for obvious reasons but all he was trying to do was to avoid a whole generation of people getting slaughtered. It's not like the Nazis had paid him off or he was a moron or anything.

Chamberlain was a successful industrialist. This is the equivalent these days:

image.png

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Field east

another reason, I assume, in sending these ‘gunless’ soldiers forward is to smoke out where the Ukr are shooting from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I see NATOs chief is praising Trump again for the breakthrough in the Ukraine war. What is this guys agenda??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,192 ✭✭✭eire4

Not to say there are not some dreadful people within our country when it comes to basically supporting the Russian dictatorship but its been interesting recently I have seen a number of articles on how many of the social media accounts that make the kind of posts your referencing are coming from outside Ireland. A great deal coming from the US and the UK. I have said it before but it bears repeating, allowing social media to behave in the manner they have facing no consequences of note for deliberately fostering and promoting hate with essentially impunity is one of the gravest threats that free open and democratic societies face today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,496 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

He still thinks buttering up Trump will cause him to change his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

not really as they are being picked off by drones, who's operators are most likely 5-10km away, under cover…

Russia have nothing else left in their war plan booklet…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭mossie

This was similar in WW2, just shows Russian "tactics" haven't evolved a great deal beyond feeding meat to the grinder.

The people who run social media have a Harry Lime view of the world with the little dots way, way below:

This was similar in WW2, just shows Russian "tactics" haven't evolved a great deal beyond feeding meat to the grinder.

At least back then they had a guy like Zhukov running the show who wasn’t afraid to put the boss right. Apparently, he would actually argue with Stalin, normally a capital offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

This encapsulates his attitude to Soviet political leadeership

Untitled Image