Dodgy number plates

1242526272830»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Most of which are also illegal under their rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,451 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Sorry, I was thinking of the Revenue fine.

If the boss tried to stiff you for that it'd be time to say like the old song goes "take this job and sh**e it" 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Who needs a greyed out 4D wanker plate when you can have a standard issue covered in grime. Pulled in behind this in a car park and regardless of lighting it's near impossible to read.

1000005191.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭GPoint

This no front plate thing seems like a new craze. Counted 4 cars with front plates removed in a space of 2 hours. All different cars and not your typical boy racers. All cars have had the plates surround in place just the plate itself taken out. Crazy carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

A friend of mine got stopped twice last week for having the wrong plates. He got fined €60 for front and back the first time and let off the second time when he showed he had already been caught and was waiting for replacements.

They aren't the worst ones in fairness, just don't have the IRL on them and they were on it when he bought the van recently.

He also got drug tested both times. The Guards told them that they now test all drivers they stop no matter what what the reason. I don't know if this is a local thing or national policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭mk7r

Trade plates have to be mounted front and rear just like normal number plates, you can't just sling one on the dashboard....legally at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,401 ✭✭✭bmc58

Never seen that where I live.On the dash only seem ok here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,821 ✭✭✭✭User1998

They're supposed to be fitted like regular plates but nobody bothers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,401 ✭✭✭bmc58

I've no doubt you are correct but I was just saying I have never seen them like that,always a garage plate on the dash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭Buffman

In fairness, trade plates cost €353 every year and €86 for any replacements, so TBH if I had any I'd be keeping them in the vehicle to prevent loss/theft and risk the €50 fine.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

It's not so bad taking a chance and sticking the trade plate on the dash if the car has it's own plates front and rear.

You'll still have a chance of identifying the driver if you get the number in the event of a hit and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Perfidious Cretin

Saw a 25 Range Rover Sport today with those shite 3d plates. On the rear the 1 of the 251 had fallen off. So it was just saying 25 C 3000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,053 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Ever had your engine almost swamped by some dope ploughing through a flood too fast and creating a massive bow wave?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭kirving

I had a longer post written by Boards being Boards, deleted it. Rant over.

To come back to this, I have a good example from home on how to make invisible plates - one when plenty of companies I'm sure are exploiting. This is why we need much better standards around IR transmission/reflectivity in Ireland as they do in the UK (with BS AU 145e).

I have an indoor camera which I used to check on my dog. It has an IR illuminator for night vision - very much like the IR flash which sped cameras use. I also have a dog blanket made from 100% X material.

To my eyes, the blanket is black. To the camera in daytime mode it's black too. But, when the camera switched into to night mode and relies on the IR illuminator only, the blanket appears white.

All I need to do to make a reg plate invisible at night is to make my letters from the same material/dyes which are used in this blanket.

20251201_234314.gif
    Post edited by kirving on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

That's a cool blanket. Where did you get it? 🤣

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,640 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I would like to know too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I test drove an Audi A6 years ago and a Garda gave out to the salesman for no fitted plates but dont think it went any further than that. Audi North Dublin, the area is teeming with different dealerships so I'd say the Gardai see it quite a lot and fed up of it

It's like that in Ballymount, there are so many Jap imports driving around with no plates. Garda have been behind me a couple of times with no plates and didn't even bother pulling me over

Not wishing to be too hard on anyone including yourself but this is a chaotic situation.

It's all fun and games until one of them hits your kid on his bike or runs into your granny on a pedestrian crossing and drives away.

Eye witnesses will say "it was a white car but no number plate".

AGS might as well be looking for the proverbial needle in a haystack.

Furthermore if they are ignoring number plate laws what are the chances that some of the cars are uninsured and/or unroadworthy ?

To be fair, Ballymount is an industrial estate. There's no kids on bikes. It's just junior sales reps driving the cars to and from the VRT centre etc. Highly unlikely to be uninsured either as all these garages/traders have motor trade insurance.

Unroadworthy is debatable, the cars have no NCT, so technically unroadworthy. Probably still better condition than most cars on the road tho, being Jap imports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

So it’s one rule for the dodgy dealers and another for the rest of us?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

Like I said I'm understanding of your difficulty with trying to keep down costs.

But to be fair that area is a public place and has many businesses frequented by members of the public from all age groups.

And it's not just the dealers from the industrial estate that are flouting the law. They are driving en route from further afield with no plates too.

Not pointing the finger at anyone personally but if AGS see a car breaking one law they should be checking them at least to see if everything else is in order.

No plates, no NCT and no proof the driver is covered by an insurance policy.

In short it's no way to run a railroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,053 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

This is the exact situation trade plates are designed for.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Maybe have a read of the thread and you'll see that I was the one who brought it up as an issue? I'm not defending it, just simply discussing it.

It's not really a cost issue at all. The big dealers all have multiple sets of trade plates so they have no excuse. It's just laziness and they know they won't be caught or penalised driving to a nearby VRT or mechanics etc.

That being said most of them throw a single plate behind the windscreen which is obviously better than nothing but not perfect.

I'm only a small time sellers so I can't even get trade plates. But I'm not disagreeing with you, I do actually think it's bazzare that a Garda car has been stuck behind me in traffic with no plates fitted and still didn't pull me over.

Maybe read what YOU posted. You absolutely were defending it.

Nope. I'm just explaining that it's not a residential setting, and that the drivers are almost certainly insured as they have motor trade policies that allow such driving.

Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t think trade plates are designed to be placed on the dash?

I was thinking more of it being a cost issue for the smaller guys like yourself.

The big operators can look after themselves.

The thing about AGS not pulling you is a bit complicated.

They might have been heading to a reported crime or even to court to give evidence and couldn't stop due to time pressure.

If they really wanted to do something about the issue it would have to come from higher up the chain of command with organised roadside checks etc.

Just by the way I was passing Rathcoole about noon today and a new Audi passed me.

Well over the limit and no plates.

Further on down near the port I was behind a jap import Toyota no rear plate.