Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

it was a very bad decision by crowley and at a costly time

however…..

realistically, 9 times out of 10 that is just given as a penalty unless its close to the tryline - i dont agree with this approach to be fair but it is generally the case. obviously ireland were racking up the warnings & cards at this stage but generally someone just on the pitch gets some amount of leeway

i also think prendergast got fairly shafted and his card should have gone elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

Nah we have seen many times before a card given for that type of thing. It was utterly stupid. And extremely costly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

I'm a bit surprised at all the negativity. For me it was a good effort against formidable opposition. The Springboks are the best team in the world.

A thought that struck me during the game is that Provinces who've been including NIQs in their first choice XXIIIs for their biggest games aren't doing all they could to help the national team. Especially in the front five. Ireland have to face the World Champions with Beirne and Baird and then Beirne and Prendergast in the second row, but Leinster need Snyman and Slimani in their side to contend with club teams? Clarkson should have been in the matchday squad versus Northampton last season. Baird would likely have more experience pushing in the second row without NIQ locks like Jenkins and Snyman playing at Leinster. Munster have the excuse that Kleyn was actually IQ for a time and just wasn't favoured by selectors.

And, yes, Leinster develop a lot of players for Ireland, but if they could do more why shouldn't they? Bit of a head scratcher for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭ersatz

SPs card was bad luck for him and surreal at that stage of the match, we’d totally lost out heads but were still defending incredibly well. But leadership was mia and you’d wonder who was stepping up on the field and trying to get a handle on it. That was the case for most of the match. For all the chat about culture and the group and the happy place everyone’s in, it didn’t show up as a team who know wtf they’re doing.

Coaching wise, yeah, it feels stale and tolerating of mediocrity. Think about SA with the Irish pair and Brown in the mix, while one of the pillars is on secondment to Leinster coaching most of the Irish team! It’s mad.

ROG, Jones, Fla are names on any list for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Now show me your annoyance at our captain for his cynical play.

The YC is at the discretion of the ref, the cynical action is on the player. You're obviously annoyed at one player's action but not the other. Why?

Again, what did Caelan Doris do to get a YC or are you just inventing stuff because you are for some bizarre reason hyper sensitive to Jack Crowley being criticised for his stupidity?

Caelan Doris did NOT GET a YC last night.

Ryan, Porter, Crowley, McCarthy and Prendergast did. None of them are the Ireland captain.

We both know he didn't get a YC so stop deflecting away from his cynical play.

Both players took a chance, one was punished one wasn't, is it the punishment or the actions you're annoyed at.

Coming in from the side, killing the ball then playing the SH, a few meters from the try line.

So we are now at the level of scrutinising every play now to defend crowley from criticism?

Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭KIB4Life

Porter is turning into a slight bit of a liability when it comes to the scrum, but I suppose probably not gonna always be facing the Boks. Crowley outside of the stupid yellow card, actually played very well at full back tbh. His cover defence was very good, stopped about 3 tries. He actually is deceptively quick.

Sam fronted up in terms of his defence a bit more anyway. But his general play was poorish. The missed penalty off the post was the cause of the red card. I’d probably have Baird or Joe McCarthy starting ahead of James Ryan in the second row at this stage. Don’t think Ryan offers much anymore.

I’d like to see someone else tried at 11 instead of Lowe. He is aging at this stage and would like to see a winger with a bit more pace. Was a missed opportunity in not giving the likes of Stockdale more game time this November. Centre is another issue with 5 players over 30 in the squad. All in all it’s probably a wasted November in terms of finding more depth and performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Juventu4

We need to get real, the issue isn't at 10, we could have prime Dan Carter and it wouldn't make a difference. Pack looks underpowered in carrying and scrum and our backs, well no pace at all, centers are too old and predictable.

Changes I'd make

Doris to 7, either start Conan at 8 or my preference bring in Gleeson. This will add more size and power to the pack.

Porter can't scrum especially again the likes of England, France and SA, he can squat unreal weight so has the strength but can't apply it to the field, until he improves there he shouldn't be playing test level and this bollix of him playing 70 mins needs to stop.

Hugh Gavin and Postlewaithe, Bolton etc brought in ASAP, nows the time to do it.

Edwin Edogbo fast tracked in, him pairing with Joe Mccarthy is what we need.

We've plenty of height but for some reason we seem to struggle to put muscle and size onto our players, especially in the 2nd row. Don't know if they're afraid of the gym or what, Mccarthy seems yo be the only one with heft, a lot of them look like basketball players not test level locks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Bart97

The pack is 923kg and it’s full of athletes…there is no issue with physicality…and for the love of god can we stop talking about pace, there is more than enough…last night was a result of our ill discipline and lack of set piece. The centres were the exact same age as the SA centres. Every issue last night stems back to the level of coaching they are receiving, this issue is bigger because you know nothing will be done, we’ll be having the same conversation in February without a doubt.

With Joe there we still get monstered, 1 or 2 new players won’t make a tap of difference…it’s the coaching that’s the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

I will give credit to him for the good aspects of his play.

However, his yellow card was very, very costly. And it came from him being so utterly stupid when we needed him to step up in the absence of Prendergast.

I also agree with you re: Doris. He was very lucky not to get a yellow himself and his leadership was non-existent while everything was falling to shite in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭thamus doku

the players are the players and anyway fast tracking a load of lads won’t work under the Irish system - central contracts ensure that.
    But what is in our power are the coaches. We should be constantly trying to hire the best in the world. Currently we don’t even have the best of the Irish coaches.

also the relationship between Irish rugby and our media is way too friendly when what is needed is a more confrontational relationship. There are so many questions over the years that supporters wanted asked but they never were, that’s shocking.

there was a few questions we wanted answered last night, but they were also not asked. And I am not saying be jerks about it. Sad state of affairs.

900kg means nothing if they can't generate power in contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Bart97

There’s plenty, this is just another red herring to distract from the actual issue.

With the level of coaching we are getting we won’t generate go forward against anyone in the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Going against the flow, scrum fiasco aside, that was a very charged atmosphere and as a fan a crazy chaotic game with us chasing the try in the last 10 minutes to come back into contention. Plenty to be excited about with Paddy McCarthy and that very talented U20 team coming through. Gleeson, Gavin, Gunne, Boyle. It’s a transition phase so it’s going to be uncomfortable for a while but all is not lost. Finishing only 11 points adrift against the best team in the world and given the yellow cards shows spirit and resilience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭almostover

On field leadership is completely lacking in the last 12 months. I'm still not convinced about Doris as captain, yes he's our best back row, but I'm still not seeing him as captain material. His pathetic excuse in the post match interview vs. Japan about the stadium acoustics messing up the lineout calls was silly. However, there aren't any others putting their hands up as a leader either.

There isn't any leadership coming from the coaching staff either. Porter should have been hooked in the 1st 30 mins last night. And should be wearing the 17 jersey until he can demonstrate that he can scrummage and stop giving away needless penalties. The time for nicey pie is long over. Tough decisions need to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

I think the lack of weight carrying ability here is just down to genetics. The SA players carry a lot of genes from the original Dutch settlers. The Dutch are huge…Luckily they aren't fussed overmuch about rugby in Europe.😶

I'd be saying switch Porter back across to tighthead ASAP if it wasn't for the existence of Clarkson, who looks like the coming man on that side. If Leinster had Furlong, Porter and Clarkson at tighthead Clarkson's exposure in the big games would probably diminish. Porter's inclination to swing his hips out to the left wouldn't be an issue at tighthead, because he'd be locked in place by the opposition loosehead and by having a teammate on his left.

I wonder does Farrell reconsider and place more value on scrummaging ability in props moving forward. Loughman could be the best scrummaging loosehead available to Ireland. I have no real concerns over Paddy McCarthy, though. He looks like a good scrummager for Leinster. He had a tough time of it last night, but he's young and he didn't have much power coming from the second row behind him. All.rugby has Cian Prendergast never starting a game in the second row, and Baird has been focusing on blindside.

Furlong is 33 and has had a lot of injuries in recent seasons so once Slimani goes, moving Porter back across to THP wouldn't be the worst idea to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

With regard to our scrummaging, I had a flashback memory to sometime in the 1970s or 80s when the French decided they would simply blitz other team's scrums. They picked 3 props in the front row and unimaginatively called it "Le Bulldozer." Remember when Healy had to go in at hooker against Scotland I think. Ireland blasted their scrum. We don't need a hooker like Sheehan in the scrum. We need him for the l/o and open play. He'd make a great 7 and l/o operator. Stick Porter at 2 alongside McCarthy and Furlong. His enormous power would then be channelled in the right direction.

Wouldn't agree there's plenty of height. In the second row at least. Blindside (and backrow is general) is fine. 6'6'' is kind of the bare minimum for international locks. 6'5'' is acceptable for physical outliers (Brad Thorn, Edwin Edogbo) if they've got someone taller partnering them. How many locks taller than 6'6'' do Ireland have? James Ryan, Cormac Izuchukwu (3 caps) and the Murray brothers (2 and 0 caps) are listed as 6'7''. Thomas Ahern (2 caps) is 6'9''. Others in the pipeline are Evan O'Connell, Conor O'Tighearnaigh (both 6'7''), maybe Joe Hopes (online info about his height varies), Charlie Irvine (6'8'') and Alan Spicer (6'10''). So of the established options I wouldn't say height is something there's enough of, considering the size of some of the second rows these players come up against when playing for Ireland.

We've no issue with height, it's heft, muscle whatever, too many of our 2nd rows look too skinny, they need more muscle on their frames to help push in the scrum and mauls.

• Administrators Posts: 55,811 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That’s genetics though, not a lack of effort. Our locks can’t put on more weight than they can naturally carry, if they do their bodies will not cope.

The only way to produce bigger specimens is to encourage more Irish women to marry South African men, cause they consistently produce absolute monsters.