Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Had the co-ops never done spinouts etc and maintained a requirement to have a certain shareholding for the volume of milk supplied, it would have been a much more solid base for the industry. All new processing capacity would have been funded by farmers investing in more shares and this in itself would have led to expansion being more regulated.

The whole thing is structured arseways now and is gone too far from what a co-op should be.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

That is the most notable thing from the dairygold conversation is the lack of understanding of coop principles and structure s.its a far cry from the 1920 s when our coop was started and men put down their farms as security and one man paid for the first 3 months milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭visatorro

Some have the lads selling parlours can be detached from reality with the money they are looking for second hand parlours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,217 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

And who are the main creditors that get burnt. Banks will have security over a substantial part of long term borrowings either having leins on product or security on assets. Revenue is usually a secured creditor after banks and wages to staff. Staff have security for there wages and statutory redundancy.

The main creditors will be farmer suppliers be careful what you wish for.

Farmer goodwill is basically BS. If you go into examinership or liquidation you are on your bike especially if it happens at the wrong time of year. At present milk payments are low but if it happened in early summer time payments would stop but you would still be in hoc for your fertlizer if it was bought even on normal 30 day credit.

If it went it would go before a monthly payment which would mean all the previous month and 15-20 days of present month. Even if the plug was pulled at present and banks got caught this time they would not be caught next time. Borrowings woukd be much harder to get for co-ops long term.

The property value of any co-ops exceeds bank borriwings

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,217 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The most notable thing is how many misunderstand the reality of business concepts that you can burn the banks etc. The failing at DG was in inability of board members to make the hard decisions early last summer and drop the price by 5c/L and keep selling the skim onto the market.

Kerry group made the same mistake when they got caught with the expensively bought fertlizer a couple of years ago. First loss is the cheapest loss.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Absolutely,a new basic 10 unit is €46,000 fitted.Then take 40% tams on the 10 units,plate cooler and water heater its leaving it supplied and fitted for €30,000..very hard justify an older used 10 unit at €10-15k then pay for disembly, fitting and whatever parts need replacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭straight

46k is still a rob though. Is that no jars/meters, nothing like. Just a cluster and straight to the receiving jar like. Then a milk pump through the plate cooler. Not much to it.

Yea be a bog standard bar swing arms and lowline wash but it will have all the fittings needed for acr's,meters,auto wash etc..can be fitted as needed and afforded

A jar plant would be quite old now and nobody seems to advise fittings one these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Risky enough relying on tams, with potential issues on funding...

Is stallwork/stainless steel troughs/kerbing/front/back gates included at that money

Tams funding being cut would be an issue id be concerned about alright, hoping to put in an application before the current tranch closes the 8th of December.

Yes,for €48k it includes all metal work,air gates and stainless feeders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The guts of 10k plus for all the above bits, going new also you wont have half the bodgying of trying to make second stallwork etc fit in

New would definitely be the preference alright.Would have a better backup service with new too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I wonder what the 5 lads who were leading the campaign for dg to pay more the last few years have to say.

But None of them can tell you the reason why they won't fit them. I suspect they are too much work and less profitable for them. I wouldn't take one of those basic parlours for free.

The parlour lads will fit them no hassle…Why would you prefer a jar plant over a basic swing over?..what is the benefits?..are you not limited in expanding to more units or fitting acr's,feed to yield,auto wash..etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭yewdairy

I Milked in a jar plant for years, it was the parlour I learnt to milk in. Cannot see a single benefit to jars.

They take up loads of space, are harder to clean and slow down milkings.

Not limited. I need to see the milk from the cow. Couldn't milk without seeing it. Couldn't be fooling around with dump buckets or whatever they're called. Very easy hold a cow with jars.

Maybe I could change if I had to but I don't want to. I see o'neills parlour on YouTube and it looks like a half a machine. How do you know when a cow is out or sick like....

Great for milk recording too. I hear lads moaning all the time but milk recording is a piece of cake here.

A half a machine like that is fine maybe but not for 46k imo.

Build a pit big enough. Ours is 10 foot wide. Everyone thinks it's the best thing ever. Easy to clean and no rushing while milking here. It might add 5 mins. Not a big deal.

Each To their own but i always think it's strange how all the milking machine guys started ruling out jars overnight and can't give one valid reason why.

In fairness, I didn't realise the 46k was including stallwork, air gates, etc. We did all that work ourselves and just bought a new 12 unit machine. 30k would be loads for that bare machine imo. I wouldn't bother with the air gates if cash was tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭alps

You must wonder how the action in the spring played on the decisions made during the year. What now looks like (and might be wrong) getting caught with such an amount of stock, looks very like trying to hold on to get the very last penny available so as to catch the pack out front. There seems to have been a frightened reluctance to take the necessary financial decisions around product sale and milk price to suppliers. It would have, or should have been plainly obvious by the end of June that markets were about to trip. I just wonder how much of a hit to confidence that the spring actions (and there were many) around the 6c and subsequent milk price differential had on management and board. Of course it shouldn't, which poses the real questions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

There may be a train of thought that an amalgamation between carbery and dairygold would be an obvious next step but i can't see any support for it amongst suppliers in west cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭yewdairy

There is a very important point in that.

I want the best price returned possible from as an efficiently run coop as possible.

But those things will only come in the long term from a board that has the spine to make the hard decisions. Sometimes that will mean cutting price when the market turns against the product mix of a coop. There simply isn't the margin in milk precessing to artificial support milk price.

The reason for jars going is the amount of hot water and vacuum needed for the bigger parlours. I had an old 10 unit and thought I’d miss them but I didn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I guarantee you if they disappeared in the morning you'd wonder why you ever needed them. You can watch the milk going into glass jar at end of pit if it makes you feel good inside. Divert line for cows out of tank, just press a button. As for how would you spot a sick cow, the same way the 99% who don't have jars would!

I have a stainless receiver jar. The receiver jar is taking milk from 12. I want to see the individual milk flows. Spot a sick cow the next day most likely. All those buttons and meters cost money to maintain and service. No thanks. All I do is change the liners every year or every second year and change the vacuum pump oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Thats interesting, I think that milking either jars is a much lesser experience, but then again, I never really have. What's your substitute for management? ie knowing what any cow is milking, knowing when a cow is back in milk, seeing blood in milk etc.

I mean milk recording is very much after the fact and a single point in time, it might be 12 hours later before a sick cow is noticed.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭Gillespy

This is why stripping a cow before milking is a step I would never skip. You can see if she's back in milk and if there's anything up with the milk. Sick cows don't come in when they usually do either so that's another way of telling something is up. That's if you haven't copped it when bringing them in or letting them out the milking before. It's usually easy to see one not herself.

Following a very successful client event in 2024 I will be running another one this year on the 4th of December from 2 to 5pm in Carlow and this year offering a limited number of spaces to anyone else who might be interested in attending, ideally farmers who may be interested in having me involved in their business next year.

Cost is €30pp.

I will be speaking on the impact of higher replacement rates on financials and organic nitrates, why are less than 50% of weaned replacements surviving to start their third lactation?

.…From Graise..... That's a shocking statistic about 50% of weaned replacements. Surely they are not being bred in the first place. I would say 90% + should get to the 3rd lactation here anyway.

IIt Woukd be something to attend tosee what not to do.

Slava Ukrainii

Milk indicators. You can easily see how much the cow has given on the screen and they tell you if the cow has a little or no milk by flashing lights and a beeping sound. There is no maintenance on the indicators.
    Blood in the milk not as easily seen but if know one has has a problem from the filter sock you either strip them or look at the clear part of the cluster