Interesting articles

1798081828385»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭sparky42

For the Love of GOD, someone sit the Part-Time Minster in a corner and gag him.

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2025/1117/1544331-un-gaza/

McEntee is getting Foreign Affairs, does she get Defence as well? I love how the IT doesn't even mention it.

They updated and yeah she gets Trade and Defence as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,960 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Forget my earlier optimism on another thread, its a disaster, we're all f***ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Negative_G

When was the last time there was a competent minister of Defence? I mean even before it went to a part-time gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭roadmaster

That’s my point, think you’d have to go back to the Troubles at least, if not the founding of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Notmything

I know few lads who thought a lot of Hugh Coveney as Minister for Defence.

Mainly cause he was at the battle inoculation, sitting in the trench with the guys, for the 77 Batt going to the Leb in 95. He had double hearing protection on when most of us only had peltors. The picture made all the papers and found it's way into a couple of court cases.

Mind you he did have field dressings over his ears at one stage till an officer sorted him out.

Oh, and he also asked a coloured chap from Cork who was with the battalion if he was in the right army 🙄🙄🙄

Paddy Donegan!

Its funny though, looking back through the records, the one thing that stands out about Ministers for Defence is, that they are never in office for long. And perhaps that has a lot to do with it.

Going backwards from the end of Bomber Harris' tenure today, the length of service has been an average of 2.5 years since before the Troubles, with the exception of Willie O'Dea who was there for 6.

Did he threaten to shoot anyone who tried to move him? Or more likely a safe spot to stick him so he couldn't cause much trouble. I suppose the point is, the Minister has rarely driven things, we've had multiple years at this point with senior government figures holding the portfolio and that's achieved what?

Well if we are back to 2 P60's operational, we should be able to shadow her more effectively this time when we need to.

I expect the 295s to be much more up to the job.

Yantar should not get a minute's peace while she is nearby. The Brits are damn near threatening to sink her. Maybe they should.

If it comes down the East coast the PC12s will also be able to provide overwatch but if its the west coast only the casas will be able to support the Navy

I doubt that the 295s will need much help from the '12s. Despite being ISTAR planes they aren't a patch on the dedicated Maritime capabilities of the Airbus.

Not to mention range and endurance. The 295s can stay on station for up to 11 hours, depending on the weather at patrol altitude, and so long as there are relief crew and enough boxes of Barry's Tea on board.

no they won’t, to be honest it was a really unnecessary soundbites from their minister that shouldn’t have been made, FFS it’s mild compared to what both sides got up to in the Cold War, you’d swear they had tried to shoot down the P8.

If they are that level of reaction from a laser god help them if there’s ever a collision incident like Ark Royal back in the day.

The DF is “aware”, but the Minister is busy with her Foreign Affairs hat at the moment:

https://www.rte.ie/news/uk/2025/1119/1544854-uk-russia-ship/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭tippilot

You would have to assume this wasn't any handheld laser pointer you buy from a tourist trap shop in Tenerife.

At a minimum we are looking at something military grade with at least short term debilitating effects for flight crew. The unusual strength of language here suggests something quite powerful.

I can tell you from experience the misuse of lasers to distract flight crew presents major issues and this is generally from Temu level tech with very basic capability. I suspect something on a different level was employed here to provoke such a strong verbal response.

I wouldn't downplay it at all, we could be in new territory with this. It wouldn't be surprising to see some brinkmanship over the next few days. Ultimately you'd expect a a Russian back down/rerouting.

It might just be time to explore upgrades from MSA to MPA spec for the C295 fleet, and indeed additional airframes.

They really make it sound like a big deal when it's actually such a frequent occurrence now.

What McEntee should be saying is, 'the Defence Forces routinely conduct comprehensive surveillance of the State's territory, and will advise the government and the National Security Committee of any situation that might require a departure from their standard operating procedures'.

And I have to say, everything Cathal Berry is quoted as saying there sounds like total bollocks to me.

Yes, Russia's embassy / espionage facility in Churchtown will have informed the Kremlin of the change of minister, as a matter of course, but the Yantar spy ship was already going to do what it was going to do days, if not weeks ago.

They are not here to, nor are they interested in, "testing" the new minister, because they know and everyone else knows that a response to any provocation or dangerous act would come from the Taoiseach himself anyway, with advice from the Chief of Staff, the Sec Gen to the Government and a small cohort of diplomats, advisors and officials.

The minister for defence might not even be in the feckin meeting.

Cathal Berry knows better than to get into careless speculation and sensationalism like that and really should STFU.

I'm not downplaying it, just pointing out in the Cold War there were a lot more active levels of cat and mouse up to and including Aircraft Carriers bumping shadowing destroyers with loss of life. Did anyone run out to issue a press release each time?

Given the political issues and infighting engulfing Labour and Healy also using the same event to take swipes at everyone but Labour, while promoting the latest planned defence industry investment, it smacks to me of using a serious incident (no question) to play domestic politics.

As for out CASA's the DoD didn't even like them getting DAS, and thinks the idea of an Arrowhead for the Navy is too "warship looking", good luck trying to convince them to uparm the 295's.

So if it comes to our waters it may be a ship and one of the 295's, given the social media comments that we only have one available anyway, I'd go with one of the P60's shadowing and keep the 295 available for all other taskings.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2025/11/20/defence-forces-may-deploy-ship-to-monitor-russian-vessel-in-irish-waters/

There is of course the reality that if Yantar parked over a cable junction beyond the 12 mile limit, no Irish ship is capable of detecting anything they are doing, no sonar, no combat radar, no EM or other band detection. There'd be no legitimate reason to board her either.

That's why I think the 295 will simply have to give her a lot of attention, should she arrive.

Its a pity that only the U.S. within NATO has a weapon capable of generating a significant EMP, that isn't nuclear. One indirect strike from a CHAMP missile and the Yantar would become a 6,000 ton paperweight. A dark one.

It’s not like the 295 has more capability, she’s a MSA variant, not an MPA, putting a 60 in proximity would be more long duration. And no, nobody is throwing missiles at this ship, nobody is going to set off an Act of War.

though I did like the RTÉ radio headline about “concern as to how the Army will respond to Russian spy ship…”

Cathal Berry was on the 6.1 telling the whole feckin world that the Air Corps doesn't have a 295 MPA serviceable, one in Spain and the other under technical work in the Don.

For a fella that was a senior officer in the most elite, most secretive unit in the DF, he has an awfully large mouth.

It’s not like the one in Spain is some secret, and at this stage I’m good with everything needed to whack over the head of the DoD