If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tesla Model 3 - V4.0

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Any amount of folk can DIY the dings and ~€100 aftermarket hubs cover the wheel rash, sell as is

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭josip

Given that that the car has very low mileage I think it would be worth your while fixing up those minor visuals that might deter some of your prospective buyers. Given that it's a 21 and out of standard warranty, a lot of dealers won't be interested. I think you'd do much better trying to sell on Done Deal.

If you're comfortable doing it, you should do a battery health check from the service menu and take photos of the percentage to include in the Done Deal ad. As long as you've been keeping it in the 10%-90% range a battery with that few cycles should be better than the average 4 year old battery. It will have deteriorated a bit over time, but should still be in the 90s.

If you're doing the battery health check, try to start it when you've a low %age SOC because the first thing the car will do is run it down to zero before charging back to 100. Could take 12 hours to complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭September1

Fixing cosmetic issues is usually worth it as a lot of people pay attention to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,525 ✭✭✭joe1303l

Normally I’d suggest selling as is and price it keen to move it quickly. Given the mileage is so low though, you’d should probably get it looking it’s best and look for top dollar for it on DoneDeal/Carzone etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Geeyfds53573

thank you all for the replies it’s a tough one alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭wassie

If you're doing the battery health check, try to start it when you've a low %age SOC because the first thing the car will do is run it down to zero before charging back to 100. Could take 12 hours to complete.

My health check took 14 hours with a 50kW NMC battery starting from SoC of 3%. That was in summer time - might be quicker to run the battery down in this colder weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,699 ✭✭✭✭User1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Geeyfds53573

I’ll post some when the weather picks up might be cosmetic enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Izy

Anyone adding the new dash from Enhance Auto

https://www.enhauto.com/products/dash?variant=41884431351883

Looks good. The customisable screens is great. Not cheap at €350 (20% off) on sale with delivery starting in Feb 26.

Interesting that will integrate Android Auto & Apple Carplay.

Significantly better than any dash on the market and Enhance have good history of supporting their products with regular update with bug fixes and new features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I see it includes the commander module as well.

Good point - Yes the S3XY accessories do. That price I mentioned includes the commander.

To buy the dash as a standalone (if you already have a commander) is 20% off at €261.15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Stay Free

Getting tempting now.

Much of a faff installing these units? The videos make it look fairly simple, but how many fasteners were broken making them? 😅

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

How many fasteners were broken in the dry runs!

Then they recorded the videos 😂😂

€235, but worth noting that delivery is €28 unless you spend €250+, so you might need to order a couple of T-Shirts 🤣.

CarPlay is coming to Tesla, expected this year, but I do like this dash. I might order one and get a Yoke steering wheel. I think then I will have everything I want for the Y.

The Vegan leather covering is a known weak point which bubbles and comes apart after 3 or 4 years on many cars. It started to happen on my less than 3 yro M3 which I replaced under warranty just before selling. Having a nappa Leather wheel would be a bonus.

Stay Free

Yeah I've my head wrecked myself. Dont need it but it looks like a nice bit of kit.

Havent looked into it, but Im assuming Tesla would most likely use the standard version of Apple CarPlay and not the new "CarPlay Ultra" that can take over instrument clusters and climate controls. Doing so would mean Tesla relinquish control over essential vehicle functions.

Also curious as to why they wouldnt allow Android Auto infotainment system. Maybe do do with IP concerns with Google that etc

It is easy. I have a couple of connections daisychained to the OBD port - the problem then is not breaking fasteners, but the cramped room and trying to close up the floorwell side panel.

But as with any plastic, a quick warm up with a heat gun (or hair dryer) in cold weather prevents tears…..

I installed the commander module and a hardwired gear change stalk on the same day, connecting to the OBD2 and power port in the driver side footwell. It was easy, but was also done in summer, so I would recommend some heat before removing panels. There is an OBD port in the passenger footwell below the glove box which would be ideal for an OBD to USB adapter. If I get the S3XY dash, I'll plug it in there. Not a chance I'd be plugging into the rear USB-C port. Inconvenient and ugly. Definitely not S3XY. I would prefer a connection to the power supply the commander module connects to. Surely they can accommodate for this.

Stay Free

Is that a reversal of the LHD configuration where the OBD port they used in the Enhance video is on the passenger side? Or the powered OBD2 port is always on the right side bulkhead?

Always on the right side

Ignoring LHD and RHD, the ports are in the same place.

On the front right seat footwell, there is an OBD port hidden behind a panel in series with the door. This is where DIY installers can be seen removing panels and weather strip to access the port for the likes of the commander and third party extras.

Under the left side of the dash at the upper side of the footwell beside a vent, there is an exposed OBD port. I suspect this is the diagnostics one, because it can be accessed relatively easily. And OBD to USB adapter can be utilised here to discreetly power third party items you want to place on the dash for example. I have an Alexa Auto module in the console of my MYJ. Sometimes it doesn't hear my commands to open my front gates unless the console door is open, so I will likely move it to under the passenger footwell using an adaptor and this frees up the 12V power source in the console for other uses.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭pm.

Quick Tesla question lads – do non-Tesla chargers show up on the sat nav?

I'm a newbie to EV and Tesla.
    I’ve a new Model 3 Long Range RWD arriving in January and I’m just wondering how the built-in sat nav works with non-Tesla chargers around Ireland.

Do ESB / Ionity / Circle K / EasyGo chargers actually show up on the map in the car, or is it mostly just Superchargers that pop up automatically? The car is a company car and ill have a circle K rfid charge card I don't think I can use the supercharger with it..

Just trying to figure out if I’ll need to plan stuff manually at the start or if the car will show the main third-party fast chargers as well.
    Cheers!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

All chargers. There’s a setting to turn that on/off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭This is it

I've been looking at ioniq5 and EV6 recently, it'll be my first EV, but I can't help looking at the M3.

There are a few CPO that I'd be interested in. Having a long warranty is high on the list of priorities so buying say a 2024 M3 and getting 3 years warranty would definitely help in terms of the anxiety I'm already feeling dipping into EVs.

The main issue I'm reading about is length of time to get issues resolved under warranty and the lack of service centers. Another is the difficulty in selling on when the car is out, or close to, out of warranty. That goes for any EV though I suppose.

Any advice on potentially buying a low mileage 2024 direct from Tesla? I won't have a trade in so it'll be cash.

Tesla owner over 3 years. Started with 222 M3 new. The couple of small warranty things were done by the mobile techs. External window trim chip when collected. Passenger front door not sealing properly. Vegan leather steering wheel bubbling.

MYJ new this summer. Minor scuff on C pillar noticed after collection. Their collection depot resolved after the service center looked at it.

Got a 2017 MS 75D in September for the OH. The APP recommended brake fluid check. Requested service. About €20 the mobile tech checked and recommended full brake fluid replacement. Booked in to the service centre for the job. €135. I also got a free acceleration upgrade from an old service bulletin which is worth €1800. It took a bit of chasing, but a mobile tech managed to unlock it.

My only quibble is that when you go to the SC, you could be waiting the whole day and my last experience there, the tech deleted one of my service items from the list and said nothing about it. The car was just left outside, ready for me to drive home. I had to ask about it and a manager got involved. In fairness, it could happen at any brand, or indy SC, but it annoyed me at the time.

I wouldn't worry any more about EV warranty than ICE warranty. FWIW, tesla have a good rep for these things and a 2024 M3 should give years of trouble free ownership. The battery and drivetrain should outlast the car.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭This is it

Thanks for that! When looking at used, is there anything specific I should be looking at/for? Long range would be handy but I do about 100-120km a week so for the odd trip to Cork it won't make much difference to my weekly driving.

Another reason I was going to Tesla direct was for the EAP, is it worth paying more for the warranty and EAP?

The base RWD will be sufficient for you, because the LR model prefers to only be charged to 80% and you will manage comfortably without the extra range.

EAP is not worth the extra unless you were doing big motorway miles and even then, not so much. The basic AP is great and I use it 90% of the time. Coupled with the Enhance Auto Commander module (third party mod), you can set the car up to re-engage AP after a lane change and lots more.

With regards to what to look for…whats your preferred colour? The car will only be a year old, so I’d be looking at mileage to be under 30k for decent warranty time and then pick a nice colour. Feck all else to look out for at this stage.

Maybe someone else has something to add?

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Izy

Not sure what your budget is, but the cheapest 2024 in pre-owned inventory is 31.2k (with 78k km on the clock) or 35.5k (with 12k km on the clock) and 37.5k buys you a brand new one, once you like the stealth grey colour.

I was looking at the EV6 myself before getting the M3, my options were a 2024 EV 6 for 45k and up or brand new M3 for 37.5k.

I’d recommend you to test drive both, once I sat in the M3 there was no other car good enough for me. If buying new, pick a referral code from the thread to get some free supercharging for yourself and whatever is on offer for the referrer