Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Mike_83

Post edited by Mike_83 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Fred38

Post edited by Fred38 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Coolguy111

I was in the top 70 OOM myself, done my interview last September 2024, medical done after that, and vetting was sent off then in December and still nothing

It is very disappointing and disheartening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭CLUM2022

Congrats Chippy and thanks for your contribution and encouragement to others in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭chippyireland

would be so good to see some of ye getting a call or email or something

Has anyone had a station in Interview with an Inspector and then with the Superintendent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Marty1476

I had a meeting with a sergeant and inspector a few months ago and just got a call to meet with the Super in two weeks. Is it the same for anyone else?

Ok. I met with the Inspector a couple months ago and the Superintendent a couple of weeks ago.

how was the meeting with the Super? My meeting with the Inspector was very intense

I felt the same way about the meeting with the Inspector. The Meeting with the Super was a bit more relaxed.

Post edited by Fred38 on

did the Super give you any indication of what to expect next?

Not really. The Inspector had mentioned over a month ago that I would get a call regarding training but nothing yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Paddy 42

After doing medical Did anyone get called to do an occupational health eye test 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 RonnieDrew911

I had to go to get an optician’s report after it alright, not to the Garda occupational health though if that’s what you mean

I was asked to get a full eye test done after the Occupational health test. I went to specsavers and got a full independent report which I sent back to Occ health. I explained what I needed the report for to the Optician in Specsavers, her response was that everything is fine and she wasn't sure why I had to get a second opinion.

Who knows

I have my meeting with the Super next week. I met with an Inspector and sergeant about two months ago. I'm glad to see soon sort of movement, but I can only imagine that the current full time campaign is going to stretch resources in the college and vetting team, which will ultimately affect Reserves campaigns. I will be asking these questions to the Superintendent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 LittleMissSunshine

Would be interesting to know if the follow up interview with inspector/super is in all cases, or based on certain checks/criteria through vetting

I had my stage 3 station interview many months ago, but heard nothing about a subsequent interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Barmanhu

Hi all I just want to say a big thank you to you all for the comments and the morale boost. Unfortunately like chippy I have had a change in circumstances (have completed medical medical was called for station interview) and have had to pull out. The process was taking way too long. Judging from comments on boards you are all eager and willing to volunteer time etc. Best of luck to those who go further. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 ian 21

I'm still hanging on, I've had the medical ,online interview and request for more information on my vetting

Nothing since I don't know if I'm still in the mix or what the story is I presume I'd know if I was no longer considered.

Ive actually considered the full time now but one of the reasons for applying for the reserves is I'd have the best of both worlds the job Im in is good and the reserves is also something I'd like to do.

Fingers crossed for the new year I'll hear more 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 LikeAFineWine

Congratulations to intake 250 today 🎉 Stay safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 PostmanPat365

…..

Post edited by PostmanPat365 on

Not appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭popsmoke

Patronising or what? the only issue I see people here have, is with the process itself. The lack of communication, the time frame, no clear direction. I think, as we are all willing to volunteer our time going forward, we are intitled to be treated with respect. What's the point in having a recruitment campaign for Garda reserves, and then treating them so badly afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Hopeful32

Obviously a full timer resistant to reserves, of which there are many.

This forum encourages people to serve not to turn them off.

Post edited by Hopeful32 on

It’s really not patronising 😂 it’s just general information. If being told how things actually work comes across as patronising to you, that’s a big red flag. How do you think you’ll manage on a unit? Are you going to call them patronising too? I’d say the exact same thing to a garda, not just a reserve.

I’m also not referring to anyone individually. I’ve just read a few comments that don’t mirror how slow the organisation is for everybody and it could trip a few going to interview as they want everybody joining any rank to have an awareness of the downsides not just reserves. If you feel I was referring to someone specifically, I wasn’t. And for what it’s worth, very very few gardai are resistant to reserves nowadays.

As some general advice, nobody likes a complainer. If you walk into a station giving out about not getting an update on your vetting, or about having to wait months or years for training, people won’t be rushing to work with you. Why? Because everyone is in the same situation, reserves included, you are no different to garda recruits or anybody else in the organisation (see internal promotion problems)

I’m not sure what you mean by respect here. There are literally no updates to give. There are no spaces in the college. Garda numbers are down. The organisation is affected by external factors like government approval for projects, building extensions, resources.

And to M, yes, resources are limited . Garda recruits will always be prioritised over reserves. This isn’t because the organisation dislikes reserves or doesn’t want you, but because more gardai are needed

Post edited by PostmanPat365 on

This post is wow material.

You sound so triggered. And the quote "nobody likes a complainer" can be countered with " Nobody likes a patronizer" which Is exactly how you sound, your being the head master type to civilians who are looking to get into the organization and encourage each other for quiet some time now…I truly think you are on the wrong forum.If you are a serving member, which I suspect you are, you should reconsider what you do as your attitude leaves alot to be desired…or if your retired then enjoy your retirement.

To all the others on the recruitment path keep going and stay the course ,ignore the "advice" from the other person.

No respond needed.

Hi PostmanPat, I appreciate your insight and if you do have any more advice I'd be very happy to hear it.

My comment of 'I will be asking these questions to the Superintendent' was not made in a sense that I will be attacking him for information. I will no doubt have an opportunity to raise any questions that I may have on the subject and will do on the day. And to be fair, I do think that the Superintendent is a good person to ask, as I'm sure that they are asking the same questions internally.

I am more than happy to cover the front desk for 6/12 hrs on a reserve shift, or fulfil any role that may free up a full powered member to facilitate their duties. I'm under no illusion that I will be no-more than support/relief staff in this role , but also more than happy to give my support where needed.

Of course the full time candidates will always take priority over reserves, any one who thinks otherwise may need to address their own feelings on that in their own time.

I'm more than happy to hear advice from anybody. Be them active, retired or civilian.

Doesn't mean that I will listen to it, but you never know, they may bring about a perspective that you may not have considered. I know my values but, I won't always know the source of the advice, that's why I'll listen to everything objectively