Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Hopeful32

you were either passed over for promotion.

retired disgruntle.

Or a civie who has a dislike for the uniform…..

Either way you a get a grip, you have nothing positive to say here so scroll other forums like a good person.

🤡

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Marty1476

The delay is normal unfortunately

I applied in 2024 too, I jumped through all the hoops, interview, medical etc.

Radio silence from HR, but when I called them they pulled my file and told me that there was missing information from my vetting form. That was grand, missing information was then provided. Called again maybe a month later to be told the same thing, missing information! I re-sent the email with time stamps to show that I had already sent this information.

Fast forward a few months to the meeting with the inspector and sergeant. ' Oh, the vetting team has made a note that there is missing information on your file'! I pull out my phone to show the inspector that I have sent the requested information on two separate occasion and that there must be a clerical error.

Fast forward again to the meeting with the Super. Same story, I got questioned as to why there was missing information on my form. The information wasn't missing, it just wasn't processed by their office.

My advice is to call the HR number and just ask for an update on you file. You have nothing to loose by doing so and to be fair they are very helpful when you ring, you may find out that your file is being held up because the medical team haven't processed the results or something simple like that.

Long story short! Fight your corner, If you have questions for them, don't be afraid to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭CLUM2022

Need your advice - finally I got a call for my station interview. Can I ask for advice from anyone who has done one this year.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Chippy - could do with some of your advise and wisdom for my upcoming station interview..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Fred38

I dressed smart casual. They may go over your work history and ask you about volunteer work done. It's fairly casual, so nothing to worry about.

Post edited by Fred38 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭chippyireland

That's great to see people still getting called . it's such a slow process.

ya like above dress smart not ott .

we talked at first a bit about the vetting from. and family members all good .

then about why i did apply.

my own personal life finally job etc hobbies.

it was all very relaxed. even made me a coffee in the end and we talked about the all ireland that was happening that weekend.

finished by saying he would send a email and would recommend me .

last i did hear .

i have changed jobs now so not in the race anymore. but still curious do .

Hopefully the early next week people get a class .

o ya and ask a few questions. i did anyway . i asked how many garda are based at this sation and how many are on a shift ect . show some interest.

best of luck to you .

Very helpful.and insightful as always.

Very much appreciated.

TThanks So much for the helpful info.

Fingers crossed 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 sharply

Garda HR asked me for some extra information for my vetting. I got all the documents they needed and sent them back. They replied saying ‘Received with thanks’, so my file should now be in the final vetting stage? Isn't it?

should be but also could be a year more lol .

lots of people had the same issues a year ago

I honestly don't know if this vetting will ever be fully completed for Candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Eir2024

has anyone actually been told not accepted with vetting?

Not heard that mentioned yet in this year's campaign..

If you look at some of the boards for the full time members. some of them have been waiting on vetting almost 3 years . wild

Had station interview last week, went well but found that they were really digging about family members as well as saying that the vetting really is delaying the process nationwide.

ya i had a 2nd cousin that died years ago. he was a bit of a toe rag . it was the very first thing he mentioned.

i was like you can't pick your family and he's dead years .he did understand and say the same wild how they can pick up all that .

be a shame for some people to get rejected over a family member but it happens.

i worked for the prion service in the past and if u had one family member without a tv licence lol

no way you get in .

No issue with the grilling once AGS are consistent and persistent with all station interviews. As you say you cant pick your family and everyone has a past, waited so long so just hope this pushes my application forward..

Hopefully so and ye hear something in the new year .

Guys how do I know if the station interview was successful or not last week. Will they keeping saying vetting pending when I ring or will they actually say competition closed due to a bad station interview?

I think by reading this page and the full time garda page . if you are required . simply by location background gender etc etc you will get the call .

that only my opinion by reading al this .

some of the full time Garda are waiting years and no contact from them .

Thanks Chippy, makes no sense when apparently the recruitment drive was to bring the national total up to 2000 reserves. As we know currently its only just over 300 and dropping each year..

never be 2000 lol .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Paddy 42

Some information which might explain the Vetting process.Below is the Minister for Justice's response to a question he was asked in the Dail.

Vetting process and how it is supposed to work .

We need to look at the three stages of it. The first stage, which is done before anyone enters Templemore, requires all candidates on their applications to become trainees to complete what is known as a form B. This document is very extensive and involves requesting detailed personal information from candidates, such as details on any time they lived abroad and information on all extended family members, including family who live abroad and may have little or no interaction with the candidate. These checks can take the timelines for completion outside the control of both the candidate and the vetting bureau. That is the first stage in respect of vetting.

The second and third stages are done while the candidate is in Templemore. The second stage involves security checks and local vetting, which involves a short interview conducted by a sergeant or someone of higher rank in the candidate's local station. Stage 3 involves the Garda National Vetting Bureau making a final decision under the authority of the Commissioner.

So it seems as if stage one is Form B, Stage 2 is station interview (supposed to be conducted when trainee's are in Templemore)

Stage 3 is final checked carried out by GNVB and final decision made under the authority of the Commissioner.

This applies to full time trainee members only.

GR members must be fully vetted before commencement of any training.

When your vetting is completed and given the green light HR Will contact you, you then will be given a start up date to present in templemore for the start of training.

This Is the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Marty1476

I'm not having a go at you but that is utter horse shite. The current minister hasn't the foggiest how the system vetting system works.

You will never walk through the gates of the Garda college without being 1000% vetted and cleared, as a full timer or a GR.

The notion of him saying that unfully-vetted students AGS is wildly inaccurate, and it's painful to hear this from him.

Thanks for sharing as kinda puts a frame now for me around the vetting process..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 RonnieDrew911

The minister’s quote is correct, but in relation to full time members, not Garda reserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 RonnieDrew911

edit: I’ve no idea how to quote previous posts here but I was referring to Marty1476’s post

Hey Marty,

unfortunately you are incorrect.

Full time members are starting their training and during training being called back for inspector/super meeting.

I personally seen this.

Reserves must be fully vetted before they start.

Believe it or not.

There are loads off dail questions on this where TDs are questioning if its true and it was confirmed, you will see them on youtube.