General Star Trek thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,356 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Pine done a very good job playing Kirk. The problem was he was handed this stupid frat boy, Beastie Boys loving Fast and Furious character. In the quieter moments especially in Beyond he is really good. Wesley can't even be called an actor.

Peck is better than Quinto but both are good and both have been given some shockingly shte scenes regarding Spocks emotions.

Both Uhuras are so different to the original and each other it's hard to judge. Zoe Saldana in anything is a bonus though.

The JJprise is a total heap of sht though. It's impossible to even make out the layout with all the clutter and blinding light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,698 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

The JJprise is a total heap of sht though. It's impossible to even make out the layout with all the clutter and blinding light.

I read a comment online about the JJprise that said parts of it look like an Apple store, while other parts look like it was filmed in a brewery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,250 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

That's because it was filmed in a brewery. Lol.

Even worse. It was a Budweiser plant, in California. Ewwww. Enterprise powered by piss poor beer

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

The fact it was Budweiser sums it up perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭NRH

I remember people not having a fecking clue that it was a brewery then everyone "always knew" and were experts on the differences between FV/MV/BBT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,278 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Not sure I would have recognised it specifically as a brewery at the time but as soon as I heard brewery mentioned I immediately thought of that weird engineering room that they had. Felt as much out of place as Discovery's TARDIS turbo lift.

I can forgive the Brewery for an engine room. It looked decent enough to be believable as some sort of power facility.

I cannot forgive the stupidity of the fcuking TARDIS turbolift that made zero sense and showed how out of touch the show runners were with Star Trek..

I think many of us fans see the ship as a character herself. All the decks, facilities, design, warp coils, hull structure, etc. Its incredibly annoying when show runners don't understand this or plan out how the shop actually looks on the inside.

I cant be the only one here who had a copy of Mr. Scott's engineering manual (Enterprise tech manual) growing up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

I didn't but I picked up the Enterprise Hayne's manual a few years ago.

In a franchise renowned for techno babble I never forgive "Red Matter"

Also being able to see Vulcan from Spock's POV and such JJ nonsense

The name is stupid. But we've had Omega molecules, Trilithium, proto matter. Genesis device which all have had huge environmental impacts similar to red matter. So I could get on board with it, if maybe it had a more suitable name and process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,243 ✭✭✭Rawr

I didn’t have Scott’s manual, but I did have the extremely detailed Enterprise D Technical Manual.

IMG_1019.jpeg IMG_1018.jpeg IMG_1017.jpeg

The book contained a full set of A1 drafting sheets that are presented as if you’ve been given a Starfleet document straight from Utopia Planetia. Spent hours pouring over these, trying to find out where everything in the show was placed, and also discovering spaces like the huge saucer-wide Shuttle Bay 1, which would have been awesome to see, but likely too costly to make a set for (we do see it 2 twice in TNG, once as a model, and once again as a reuse of the regular shuttlebay set.)

I’m wondering if this is another issue that made it hard to like Discovery. In TOS, the Movies, TNG, DS9, VOY and ENT…we get enough of the ship / station to form a bond with it. It’s also a character in the show. But Discovery is a bit off…lots of stuff doesn’t seem right. The design is full of gaps and holes, but the interior shots do not seem to reflect this, the corridors are roomy and they seem to have space to waste. This is despite the Saucer Section having a large segment removed around the bridge module. We also never see Main Engineering which is an odd departure for a Trek show. Instead we see the «Spore Drive» room. Arguably DS9 never really showed us the reactor core of the station either, but when Defiant came we got an Engineering room there.

It’s a small thing I guess, but there were so many things off about USS Discovery that I only warmed to it breifly one-time in season 2, and then never again. Annoy cast and characters aside…if you don’t get the ship right it’s never going to be fun. Took me aaaages to get used to USS Voyager, and then in the end I think I only did out of habit.

The one issue with the tech manual is it emphasises just how huge D is. There is SO much space .

It's just too big for the crew numbers and equipment

Post edited by NRH on

Exactly , there plenty of room for mcguffins (genesis device) but it was just so stupid

Also a massive supernova is seen to happen, they jave just HOW many years to avoid the shockwave, and the ever suspicious Romulans just sit and wait for the Federation to help?

Also the Federation NOT helping...?

Christ it pisses me off 16 years later!

Post edited by NRH on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,698 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

A few days ago in another thread I stated that I seem to be the only person left in the world who doesn't do podcasts.

Then the day before yesterday, i stumbled upon Captains Pod. Does anyone else listen to it?

I'll admit ive not listened to a full one yet, and there's some very annoying elements, but i like hearing their thoughts on different episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭JayRoc

I think I've said this elsewhere on boards, but... I was a chap who pooh-poohed the very notion of Podcasts. Not for me, I said. Leave all that to people who watch the Tik Toks and the You-Tubes and what have you.

Then, nearly ten years ago now I discovered The Greatest Generation (a Star Trek podcast by a couple of guys who are a little bit embarrassed about having a Star Trek podcast) and my life takes in just a little bit of happiness on a bi-weekly basis.

Highly recommended

Didn’t we have a Boardsie on here ages ago who had a thread for their Trek Podcast, where they actually talked with Trek actors and staff.

Anyone remember the name of that?

I've tried a few others; The 7th rule (Cirroc Lofton aka Jake Sisco reviews next gen), Mission Log, the wonderfully-named Open Pike Night, but the GG lads are the only one I like enough to keep going back.

I even made the trip across to London to see them do a live show last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭McFly85

JJ is an awful choice for space based sci-fi because he doesn’t understand how big space is and doesn’t think the details matter if it looks cool.

He loves the shot of someone looking up from a planet at a catastrophe in space so much he used it again in Star Wars where it somehow made less sense than in ST09. The plot point of a supernova that threatens the galaxy is just as mental, like saying a banger going off is a threat to the entire planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 536 ✭✭✭eadrom

Similarly, it’s easily my favourite and most listened to podcast. Star Trek or otherwise. Very entertaining, easy to listen to, good natured.

At the moment I’m listening to both Greatest Generation (covering classic Trek, Enterprise at the moment) and Greatest Trek (their sister-show covering new Trek, although actually TOS at the moment until new Trek comes back) each week as episodes are released, as well as listening to older episodes of Greatest Gen. just whenever I’ve got nothing else to put on. And also the bonus feed stuff and their ‘Wholesome’ Patreon podcast.

It’s all Ben & Adam all the time, for this guy who’s just a little bit embarrassed to be listening to so much Ben & Adam.

At the risk of gushing like a fan boy (but hey, if this isn't the place then where is) I've been waiting for years for them to start covering The Original Series as it's my favourite Star Trek and I was made up they began it recently.

I was a little worried that, seen through the modern "right-on" perspective it might be in for some good-natured hammering but they seem to be enjoying it and it's great fun to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Had a rare free weekend and did a re-watch of TNG Series 1, my least watched season. It really does have some comical moments (not deliberate) but you can actually feel them trying to capture some of the camp brilliance of TOS and then as you move into Series 2, you can feel them drop that in favour of the modern, and truly excellent, show it became.

At this moment in time, first season TNG is probably my favourite when it comes to just throwing on an episode to watch.

Maybe that's because I haven't watched them to death as much as the other seasons or maybe because with the benefit of forty years hindsight it's actually a lot of fun.

Definitely unfairly maligned IMO and that is coming from someone who certainly maligned it a fair bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Definitely the same with me that it's my least 'watched to death' of any season. Found over the weekend that I had forgotten quite a few of the sub-plots so made for more interesting viewing. With the remaining 6 seasons, I could watch them in the background and still know exactly what's happening next.

I think, if forced to watch only one television series for the rest of my life, it would have to be TNG.

Conspiracy is an all time classic and The Neutral Zone contains one of the most relatable Star Trek characters ever....Sonny Clemens!

Post edited by JayRoc on

"you and me can find us a couple of low-mileage pit woffies, and help them build a memory"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭McFly85

Season 1 - has no truly great episodes but improved towards the end with conspiracy and the neutral zone. Season 2 has a couple of all-time classics like The measure of a man and Q Who along with some decent episodes like a matter of honor and peak performance. It has some stinkers definitely, but one of the most enjoyable bad eps of trek has to be The Royale, even just for this!

IMG_6560.gif

I’d argue along the lines of Jayroc that Conspiracy is actually a pretty classic episode. They manage a lot in this episode and for the very first time in Trek we get a pay-off of a thread they planted earlier in the series. The whole uneasy vibe of the episode is managed well, even starting early on with Picard’s meeting on Ditalix B with the Captains (and the especially unnerving Captain Rix). Plenty of Trek firsts too with the first time we see so many Captains together, the first time we see an alien Starfleet captain on a trek TV show, and the first time a Trek show returns to Earth specifically for a mission that didn’t involve time-travel to 1960’s America. It’s a great episode and together with The Neutral Zone it ended the Season pretty strong.

Season 2 feels like a very different show, but in a good way. There’s a real sense that space is dangerous in this Season.

• Picard nearly kills everyone to stop Nagelum.
    • Picard kills everyone in a timeloop and nearly does it again with his creepy time-double.
    • Galaxy Class ships can get viruses and kill everyone dramatically.
    • People can get trapped in cheesy crime-novels and get stuck there to die of old age.
    • Space viruses can make you die of old age…then your ship has to be quarantined before it gets torpedoed
    • The F*cking Borg

Season 2 has this special vibe to it that I really enjoyed and works perfectly as a bridge between the Silly Season 1 and the pure gold Season 3.

The Royale is honestly my favourite episode of season 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

Was in a pub earlier that for some reason had a load of framed Star Trek magazines on the wall.

20251115_005209.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,580 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly