PK@rte.ie (again). The All New (Patrick Kielty) Late Late Show Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Cairns makes a good point about avoiding the mistakes of Brexit in rushing a United Ireland, and how we need to work out how unity would work eg do we keep Stormont , emblems.

Parallels between rushing a United Ireland and rushing house construction. More chance of cutting corners, resulting in later collapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,187 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,470 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Their mission is to keep NI partitioned to appease belligerent Unionists.

It was a strange take on a UI.

At the same time I think maybe we may be seeing partionists where there are just people getting cold feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭itsacoolday

Because N.I. is not the same as Connaught, Munster etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

If they become part of a united Ireland then yes they will be. There maybe a period which the UK would have to be a part of to get stuff squared and get them in an Stormont may be there for that.

But ongoing the country of Ireland will have to have 1 government over all of it otherwise yes all provinces will look for there own like the area once called N.i have it

After over 100 years of partition there is a seperate N. Irish identity, to say nothing of 800,000 people who do not want to be in a U. I. at all.

If Stormont and n.I. exists n the UK now, rather than direct rule from London, then compromises would have to be made in a u.i. too. Instead of the UK of gt. Britain and Northern Ireland it will be the United Ireland of (26 county) Ireland and Northern Ireand.

Of course it would not happen for at least another generation or 2 anyway.

So not a united Ireland 2. If we have a united Ireland 1 country 1 parliament 1 rule

Not at all. It would be devolved, same as NI is in the UK of Britain and N. Ireland now. That is what Holly referenced on the Late Late. There would have to be compromises for a U I to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Bredabe

If we can find enough common ground to create a space for transition, an NI colleague shared an important point with me on this. They mentioned that people in the republic often pay lip service to a UI, which has its merits, but before any reconciliation, we need to reintroduce ourselves to one another.

For example, a friend told me they wouldn’t vote for Heather in the presidential elections because Heather sounded too much like the people who, for most of their early lives, threatened to kill them for being RC (something they had no control over).

We need to go back to basics to eradicate such thinking and experiences before any vote.

I’m reminded of a story I heard during COVID about an elderly German woman living in what would be seen as a loyalist area for 50 years. Was afraid to visit certain parts of the city because she felt uncomfortable around people who weren’t British. However, when circumstances forced her to depend on young people from the local Sinn Féin group for help with online tasks or meds from HSE, her perspective shifted. While it didn’t completely change her outlook, it altered it by about 50%.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Your friend would'nt vote for Heather Humphreys, a self declared proud Republican, because she sounded as if she was going to kill her for being a Catholic? It seems as if the smear campaign by the CC side, tarring HH, worked a treat so.

Not sure if the story you heard during covid could be true,, as you say an elderly German lady from a loyalist area used a local Sinn Fein group to get meds from the HSE. The HSE does not send meds via S.F. to people living in loyalists areas? Whatever about the NHS doing it.

Anyway, it is way off topic. Hopefully I will be elsewhere next Friday night instead of in front of the Late Late in some elderly person's house.

I really think Smith will not happen in 10 or 15 years never mind SF 5 years. Not a sure thing as Holly Cairns thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I dont think it was part of a smear campaign for reasons of confidentially I'll not go into here. But I understand their feelings as someone who grew up in a political household during the troubles and the sort of info I was fed during that time. If you have a look at most outlets circa the Ni elections you will see that sf had community outreach and given the geography of Belfast it wount be hard for them to cross community lines. Also its known that meds can be delivered cross border in times of emergency, so I'm not surprised this happened.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,417 ✭✭✭corkie

• Gabriel Byrne
    • Pico Lopes ~ FAI
    • Comedian Russell Howard
    • Irish actor Carrie Crowley ~ The Walsh Sisters
    • Presenter Jennifer Zamparelli ~ Podcast
    • The High Kings ~ Rocky Road to Dublin
    Untitled Image

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,193 ✭✭✭brian_t

Tomorrow evening:

Gabriel Byrne 

Pico Lopes - Shamrock Rovers captain

Russell Howard 

Carrie Crowley 

Jennifer Zamparelli

And

The High Kings will sing Rocky Road to Dublin.

@brian_t Jinks we post at the same time?

And no Graham tomorrow because: -

Children in Need (S)

Fri22:40

Northern Ireland

Pudsey joins Holly Hamilton and Connor Phillips as they meet some of the organisations and young people that benefit from BBC Children in Need. Pudsey travels to Omagh for the Children in Need choir, and Cate Conway joins Connor for a three-legged walk from Portadown to Newry

S2025 60min

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,052 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I feel like any version of Rocky Road to Dublin will pale in comparison to version in The Sinners…
    (don't watch if you don't want to be spoiled re: movie plot)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,925 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Im a fan of Kielty because it its someone from outside the traditional RTE presenters. Some of the others have ties to the political parties, and I prefer journalism to be objective.

That's an impressive line up for tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭RoTelly

The problem with TLLS is it becomes more of that DWTS preview. Now potential this year TLLS will move away from this, but this week Jenny Z is up, okay its not for DWTS, but I am sure she will talk about all of that on the show, not just the podcast.

I wouldn't be surprised if Pico and Carrie end up on DWTS, while Carrie is promoting her own new show, not sure if that is with TG4, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is on RTÉ.

2 weeks ago Laura Fox was on the show to promote Ireland's Fittest Family but also she's the new co-host of DWTS.

The problem TLLS has is that it is no longer a 2 hour show and it has less episodes, so these DWTS interludes make it seem more and more like PK arrives in RTÉ on Friday Morning and get Breakfast with 5 RTÉ stars and he decides based on their choice of breakfast

The scoring

Full Irish - 12 points

Continental - 10 points

No pudding on a Full Irish - 6 points

Just a cup of tea - 3 points

Breakfast with the stars - 100 points.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭littlevillage

The Late Late is struggling to find interesting or famous (ideally both) guests and is just padding out the show with these plebs from other RTE shows.

Even when they do get a notable guest, its a pre-recorded insanely sanitised affair you can almost hear the PR people in the background tut tutting if the interview veers anywhere interesting 🤮

RTE back in the day was able to leverage famous faces who had connections to Ireland and filled these luminaries up to the gills with free booze and hoped for the best 🤞

Sometimes it was car crash television other times it worked out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Indeed for example if TLLS had wanted last week the interview with Holly Cairns would been a panel with Cairns, McDowell, And advocate of the spoil the vote and a Fianna Failer (Get Jim Gavin on haha), with audience participation. Instead when got Holly repeating her stance on the election from what she had said on the Election programme on RTÉ, and we had a dull interview when you might have had something interesting on the show, and yes you might disagree with some of the people on the panel but at least you could have had a broader discussion.

Instead it is play it safe, I often think about the debate on Scientology (You can find it on Youtube) and think you'd never get that on TLLS now.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,957 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

So we are almost back to where Ireland and the Late Late started for me.

The Late Late is almost great again

The government are going to build loads of houses again

Ireland are great at soccer again (for a night)

We have a communist in the Arse

A untied Ireland is the talk of the town again

With all these houses - we are to have 8 kids each again

A good old bit of wind (not a storm or warning in sight)

Irish and Christy Moore is cool again

All we need is a good singing priest, moving statues and cheap drink in the pubs again .

Also - a couple of pure head cases in audience who can ask mad questions unscripted

Also bring back Dana , Dickie Rock, Linda Martin , Johnny Logan and Brendan Grace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,925 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Here we go!

Stay safe out there, boardsies! 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,957 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

We are pulling ourselves off the roof ——- lol , jaysus paddy 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Parading the cup like it's Jackeen TV. RTBAC a disgrace of a station yet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

feckin soccer