If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,123 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well I know loads of Syrians made it to western Europe with no documents via Turkey, Greece etc. You can cross borders on foot in many places.

Of course some destroy documents my point was many refugees have genuine reasons for not having any.

You'd be deporting no one in 24hrs if they had no passport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Packrat

So please answer the question you were asked: How did Syrians make it to here without passports?

Greece etc as you answered isnt Ireland.

How did your "loads" of Syrian friends get here without passports?

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

I'm not aware of any Syrians making it to Ireland with no documents but they'd probably go via land and then boat to the UK with which we have an open border no?

But to go by boat they'd need a passport or some papersor ID No?

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

I didn't think you needed ID for the small boats no

Which small boats? Anytime I crossed from France or indeed any euro country to Britain, in any boat, big or smaller, I needed a passport or ID.

Are you saying they crossed illegally?

You know what small boats. And they're still allowed claim asylum in Ireland legally even if they arrive this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Jesus christ lads in this day and age surely their documents could be photocopied when boarding the plane and forwarded on to the destination country for authorities to have for clarity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

The protests have taken place outside the IPAS Centre in Citywest again for the 2nd night in a row.

The RTÉ website said that the 2nd protest began with protestors arriving at 7pm.

Gardai say a further 23 people have been arrested during it's 2nd night of protests at the centre

Two gardai were also injured after one was struck on the head with a bottle. The 2nd Garda had suffered an injury to the arm/shoulder.

The Garda Helicopter is also in the air monitoring the situation.

Ah, if only that were true.

You do a lot lot more than "pointing out how asylum works" You advocate for the scammers, you make excuses for the criminals among them, you dogwhistle about racists, you try in every way in every thread to exonerate thieves, rapists amd murderers, provided of course that they aren't ethnically Irish. In those cases - you're Mr establishment- hang em high.

As I asked earlier: Are you proud of what you've done?

Nope, I've pointed out realities to you and you don't like them so you're going on about anal rape and throwing your toys out of the pram

Sorry, I didn't hear your answer: Are you proud?

Or are you too busy spreading disinformation over on the Pushka thread to answer?

No, I'm not on the slightest bit odd. Im just not afraid of you or your constant trolling.

Address or answer even one question I've asked repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I largely agree with what Michael Fitzmaurice said in the Dail on 21st October.

He points to Poland's suspension of asylum claims (I understand this was on their border with Belarus, which opened direct flights with Baghdad), and asks should we look at that. Says Poland did this "with the blessing of Europe".

At the same time he says everyone recognises need for legal immigration like doctors and nurses through the visa system. I agree with this bit to some extent, but I would point out that the Irish Dental Association has called for a reduction in the percentage of dentistry programme places going to non-EU students.

Article on what the Irish Dental Association said is here.

"The Irish Dental Association (IDA) have called on the government to limit the number of non-European Economic Area (EEA) students enrolled in dentistry courses at Trinity and University College Cork (UCC).

The group is requesting a 20% cap for non-EEA students in the next year, decreasing to 10% in the next three years.

……

IDA President Dr Rory Boyd called the current model of producing dental graduates “unsustainable” and “broken fundamentally”. He added that “significant” investment is needed to increase the number of Irish and EEA dental graduates in order to meet the demand of patients who are “suffering the consequences of the shortage of dentists”.

Taoiseach Micheal Martin acknowledges "Putin is weaponising migration….as part of his war effort".

Video of the exchange below.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Will0483

This thread is mainly about illegal immigration. Migrants working in Healthcare and construction normally enter the country legally with a visa. Most people are not too concerned about this though some use fabricated work experience and qualifications but that is for another thread.

I've never seen data regarding the education level of Asylum seekers. This idea that they are going to be granted asylum and suddenly start working in multi-nationals and the professions is totally absurd. The Dutch have done a study showing that the average Somalian migrant costs the state over one million Euro over their lifetime.

So basically, we fund them for years in order to have their bogus asylum claim rejected. We then fail to deport them and they go rogue in this country ultimately costing hundreds of thousands in Healthcare and Policing. They then go on to have lots of children multiplying the cost to the state.

This is our present situation.

Post edited by Will0483 on

Also these people are "fleeing" these dangerous countries ergo the culture and the people of these countries must be dangerous. We're not allowed to discuss that maybe we don't want to import the crazy behaviour and customs from these places. Third world immigration has benefited zero first world countries anywhere on Earth. If some left-wing type can provide an example that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ok leaving aside the fact you think people who travel through multiple safe European countries. Risk their lives again to illegally cross a body of water in a dinghy.

But are not doing this for better opportunities but rather are still fleeing a war they escaped 5000km ago.

All because a document written nearly 100 years ago says so. I hope for your health you dont follow all medical advice from 100 years ago as devoutly.

Leaving all that aside, do you at least agree the 85% of AS that arrive via Dublin airport with no documents should be treated like the con men they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

The increase in the housing demand/shortage of supply is linked to the increase in the population, as well as an objector culture in our planning system.

Trump is not the brightest but he has gotten one very big thing right. Put your own country first,second and third. Every policy should be only with the aim of increasing the prosperity and safety of your own citizens.

MM and our political class don't care about Ireland anymore but only about being seen as the best boys in class competing with other lefties to spend more and more on foreign criminals.

Post edited by Will0483 on

Put me in the department of Justice and I'd process all their "claims" in under a minute. "Oh, so you came from England or France did you, remind me which war is going on there at the moment? Denied"

If England or France are unsafe these days, It's because of these illegal immigrants running amok.

That is where we are in a nutshell. Lions governed by sheep.

Asylum seekers who travel all of Europe to get to Ireland are all scammers. There's no other way to look at it. It's a game to them and we all pay for it.

It doesn't matter if I think they should be treated like con men at dublin airport as they are still entitled to claim asylum with no documents. If that law changed then things would be different.

The airport isn't the problem though as something like 90% of all AS come from the north anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,919 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The required policies would have been deemed entirely moderate not very long ago.

That 90% provided by an under fire McAntee is sketchy at best. Some could say a handy scapegoat to link with an emotional irish unity quagmire.

But pre brexit the AS stats for Dublin airport are anywhere from 50%-80% of total AS claims.

So the airport has and is most definitely an issue.

So to answer my question, if the law changes youll change your opinion that these people are poor souls fleeing war and persecution to criminal con men?

Interesting morals you seem to hold. The law is an ass.

Sure yeah if you destroy your docs on a plane no asylum, I've no plans to get into law or politics any time soon so my feelings don't really matter.

Why are you on here all day discussing your feelings if they dont matter?

This is a discussion board for opinionated people. Of which you are cleary one.

I want anyone truly fleeing a war or persecution to be looked after. But outside of people being airlifted by irish air corps from foreign battlefields and dropped here that cannot happen due to our geography.

You need a large level of cognitive dissonance to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Once a deportation order has been issued to someone they should be finger printed and photographed. No further state supports should be afforded to them. Government should pay for their flight home.