If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

Oh God,the thoughts of incontinent ,climbing rats. I'd seriously have to leave the house , that's the stuff of nightmares. I don't even want to think about them climbing up and in the window. 😭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Borked?

Seven Worlds will Collide

Did you ever feel you were invisible? Chasing people for simple information. Ignored/ghosted/annoyed

I'd be calling in professionals for rats, mice I can deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

I'm fine with spiders but I can't even think about mice or rats. I couldn't come into the house if I thought either of them were in it, it's just the thought of them running across the room, I'd die. Thankfully the neighbours cats venture around so I'm hoping they're doing their job. I thought I heard a mouse in the bedroom one night last year and I was awake all night just listening and then terrified to get up in the morning in case one ran out from my shoe 'corner ' or was in a sleeve of my clothes. The trauma 🙄

Thankfully I rarely get them but a little f***ker burrowed into my last bit of Christmas cake (January I suppose) so it had to go, Don't even like killing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,764 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Trapped a mouse by the leg one time,it was obviously broken. The most humane thing I could think of was to kill him. Soo I beat his head with a lump hammer.

It was an act of kindness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Know a lad who was in the business of selling agricultural equipment. He had a lot of elderly farmers as contacts in his phone.
    Bit of a prankster but he regularly used to send group texts to his contacts when he knew that there was a funeral on just to cause consternation in the church as all the ould lads grappled for their phones 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭brokenbad

The latest food fads - Acai bowls for example and gobshites who post images of them on Instagram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Ive been using rat/mouse alarms, plug into the wall like a normal plug. They emit a high frequency sound the rodent's dislike and most run away. The rat one emits an audible sound to dissuade them.

Can be gotten in most traditional hardware stores! had mine for years and years and even when they were in the house they didn't come near my unit.

Ta the builders across the road have a stunning gsd but he gets board and yips every 20 mins or so, to a dyspraxic who hates repetitive noises like nails on a blackboard.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

People who regularly use 'their' instead of 'there' or 'your' instead of 'you're' 'affect' instead of 'effect', etc, etc.

It's lazy.

Not that I haven't been guilty myself very occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭daithi7

Jeez I feel completely different, I actually really enjoy interviews with Terry Prone, I actually find her insights very interesting. For instance, she was on Pat Kenny earlier this week & was asked about preparing clients for interviews & panels like the presidential debate ones.

She was actually very interesting about Garrett Fitzgerald who was very likeable but all over the place apparently, & had such an active & distracted mind, he was like herding bats to keep on message. Then in contrast she worked with Haughey, who could be a tough, taciturn taskmaster but he was also the consummate pro politician & communicator, apparently. Surprisingly, if an interview had gone well for Haughey subsequently, or he had nailed something they had specifically prepared for say, he would then call first thing the following morning to thank her & acknowledge it. I loathed Haughey tbh, but there is something surprisingly endearing about that habit of Haughey's tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭daithi7

Anyway my TA this week is I got a very pricey (men's) haircut the other day, which i thought went well, but afterwards I realised they didn't do my eyebrows (or nostrils)... as a result this week I find myself plucking at my elongated eyebrow hairs all blooming week.... a pet hate .... 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Those comedy retrospective type shows or shows in general where we hear comedians tell everyone why one of their comedian buddies was such a genius.

Most comedians just come across as completely full of themselves and have real notions about what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Dramatik

"oh... I haven't seen you working here before"

* You've worked there for over 10 years!

If the the person really thought about it, they'd realize that the last time that they were in, was over a year ago and they aren't actually the regular customer that they think they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

A Temu suit has just dyed everything else in the washing machine brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Space Dog

Bought the loveliest crisps in an airport in Spain before flying back and now I won't be able to have them unless I go to Spain again…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I had a great response typed out to a bunch of sneerers on a different forum who took my original post out of context, only to realise that I mislaid my headphones at work. This meant several minutes of panicking while I tried to locate them without any luck. When I got back to my desk after lunchtime I managed to find them as I forgot that I had left them just behind my computer while I was waiting for the cleaning ladies to finish mopping around my area. Of course when I got back to the forum to finish my post, I found that the discussion had been closed by a mod so I couldn’t post it 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Asshole barbers who take cash only and when you go to pay with a note they say "sorry I've no change" If it's cash only you fucker make sure you have change. Happens every time. 5 barbers in my town and not one takes card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I saw it in real time once. Mouse toddled right past the thing and didn't give a shite.

As for rats, I pulled a tarp out of the shed once and a massive heavily pregnant rat fell out on the ground with a thud! 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,436 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

People who can’t or just refuse to park cars legally and safely . It’s the simplest form of operating a vehicle, done at an incredibly slow speed. It’s boggles the mind how often you encounter cars blocking driveways, up on paths, on double yellows, abandoned in designated ‘set down areas’ like the gym today for over an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,309 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ahcrod

I detest professional singers who deliberately miss the beat in a song; at times almost ignoring it altogether. It mostly seems to be a trait of modern country and western singers. As the music plays, I am singing the song along in my head, following the beat. The second line comes up and my mind starts right on the beat. Dum-dum – go! But Mr Professional doesn’t. Okay. Start again. Dum-dum, dum-dum. He misses it again! Then he finally starts the second line, when the whole thing has been ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,436 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Fave brand small towels I use at the gym ‘temporarily out of stock’ since July. “We’re working hard to get stock. Place order and we’ll email you when we have estimated delivery dates, you won’t be charged until items ship.”

Got a set 3 or 4 years ago, super soft and absorbent, only a fiver each despite being a known designer label. Similar price now, but this 3rd party retailers AI help is BS…answering queries never asked, no info that I did ask for. 🤦🏻‍♂️ 0/10 experience, so far 👎🏼... no stock, no help, no use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 smarties25

I hate when people crack their knuckles. It drives me crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Dickhead drivers who are averse to using indicators at roundabout and junctions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭fitzparker

People selling hotels or flights or breaks online.
    Example

Flights are in 2 weeks

"Paid €250 in July, looking for €250, Flights now showing as €500 "You save €250"

No you thick it doesn't work that way, of course the flights are mad money! its two weeks out, and nobody wants to go to X place in 2 weeks unless its a deal. they would just book a month or so out and get them for €20 and plan better.

Concert tickets are the only thing you should try till the end to get full amount on (but expect to make a loss if its not in demand, as the prices dont change)

Flights,hotels, breaks etc…. people holding out for full amount are dopes… rare to find someone on a few weeks notice looking for that exact date for a reason.

Flights should be free IMHO, just let someone pay the name change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,858 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Cat has been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism and heart disease. Both are playing off each other to make each condition worse. If we can't get them under control, he'll be gone in less than a year.

TA#1 - I've never owned a cat who didn't have major heath issues.

TA #2 - trying to get a cat to take pills. FML.

I often wonder is it they don’t know how or just couldn't be arsed