Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭sheepysheep

And you accuse me of slant. That is hilarious.

If the best you can do on reading that report is shreik that only aprox 50% of Palestininans still approve Oct 7th I don't know what to say.

If Half of Palestininans still supporting Hamas is not a significant eye-opener to you, again it speaks volumes.

If 43% of Palestininans opening admitting they want that shower of Islamic JIhadists back in power, and you again don't find that staggering, then, again, it beggers belief.

The persistant slant on theis forum is that Hamas are some sort of fringe group that are in no way reflective of the Palestininan people as a whole, that they only represent 5-10% of them.

Well, that report buries that b*****t balls deep in the antisemitc realm from which it sprung.

The Palestininas are up to their oxters in Hamas, no getting away from it.

40% in most democratic countries would be considered an absolute staggering mandate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

You have it your way. Nobody is buying your shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,636 ✭✭✭dmcdona

So you posted it before? Don't recall that TBH.

Perhaps it was ignored because you have clearly pulled out the bits that were positive to your own narrative instead of giving a neutral/unbiased summary.

That all said, I'd argue that the survey you quote was carried out just after Israel reneged on the ceasefire deal and before their starvation tactics were fully implemented.

Also, when you have a civilian population being bombed, sniped and starved to death by a warmongering State, and they have no medical care and their agriculture and infrastructure has been turned to dust, I'd imagine the results of such surveys are only indicative within a very narrow timeframe.

I'd imagine a survey carried out today would give different results - I'm not sure how different but different nonetheless.

Lastly, when and how do you think the Gazans were going to rock up to the local polling station and cast their vote?

Not only that, HAMAS won't even exist as an entity to vote for if and when such a vote takes place. So the whole point is completely moot, despite the desperate effort to put a certain slant on it.

Palestininas shouldn't be let near a polling station for at least 10 years. They'll only put Hamas back in power, and that survey proves it. Hamas are popular. Their mandate is popular.

Germany and Japan were occupied for approx 10 years after WW2. The same needs to happen here.

A goverment of international and Palestininan tecnocrats and experts to oversee the rebuilding of the country for at least a decade.

A major, sustained programme of deradicalisation.

Hamas should never be allowed on the ballot again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Israel have voted in a war criminal so both sides have voted in despicable characters. Hamas should go but be interesting to see who the israelis vote in next and if they will continue to colonise the West Bank.

I'm simply quoting a Palestinian report about Palestine by Palestinians.

You just don't like that because the report sinks your claims that Hamas are not significantly embedded within the fabric of the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

He was secretary-general for 4 years. Makes his opinions on MSF a lot more qualified than yours.

Absolutely, without a doubt.

But do you not see the inherent fallacy in your statement above? I'm not the one narcissistically proposing that my opinion matters more than virtually all the experts?

Your argument shouldn't be whether this guy knows more than me, it goes without saying. It's whether he knows more than the current people running MSF, and all those others who have told us what is going on in Gaza. I would doubt that they agree with him, given they have declared this as genocide months ago and have not retracted, and are still working on the ground to get aid to starving civilians.

I just found it odd that a former SG would say this publicly, go against his former institution and virtually all other institutions who are unanimous in calling this what it is.

And when I read articles on him/ opinion pieces that he wrote/ comments he made/ the fact he set up what is seen as a right wing, anti immigration party in Belgium, it provided me with context as to why he might do that. Make of it what you will.

But please, do take your own advice on listening to experts, it will serve you well.

Post edited by Miniegg on

Your attempt at analysis has been shown up as extremely flawed because of your bias and you've reduced yourself to squawking about "antisemitism" again.

We're done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It’s probably not terribly surprising. Hamas have had control of the education system for many years at this stage. They’ve successfully radicalised a new generation of Palestinians to support a Jihad against Israel.

There will never be peace in that region until the cancer that is Hamas is removed.

Unfortunately there’s way too many useful idiots in the West that refuse to recognise that fact.

So you posting a load of numbers on the intentions of Gazans' voting was irrelevent?

Right…

And a convicted terrorist - Ben-Gvir.

Plus a load of other very shady characters like Herzog and Smotrich who have publicly voiced their intent to commit Genocide.

But have selected parts of that survey that suit your narrative. This has been pointed out by a few posters.

As I said earlier, that survey, if repeated today, would result in different numbers. It predates the Israeli-made Gaza famine and the current "peace plan" that excludes Hamas.

You really are clutching at straws yet, you double-down. You're digging a really big hole for yourself in my opinion. Which you've done before and if I recall, it didn't end well that time either. Your posts and sources demonstrated a credibility level of zero.

Oh, your back. Any comment on your accusations of another poster being a "Hamas cheerleader"?

Oh look - another Hamas cheerleader.

Thought this thread didn't have any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Presumably if the “famine” really were Israel-made, that would increase support for Hamas so the numbers now could be expected to be well above the 40% or whatever it was six months ago?

Is that what you’re saying?

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

IMG_0958.jpeg

This is not the first time that Israel has been found to be harvesting organs from Palestinians ‘the most moral army in the world’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

So you have no problem with Israelis voting for terrorists, people who had blown up and tortured people, when Israel achieved statehood but object to Palestinians using their democratic franchise to vote for terrorists in a Palestinian state.

Why do you treat these terrorists differently? Is it because one bunch of terrorists are Jewish and the other are Muslim?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

No idea why you're asking me about a famine that you said didn't exist. According to you, all the Gazans are in rude health and rather on the podgy side. All that red velvet cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Probably the main reason it would have different numbers is the fact that hamas is currently executing anyone who is against them.

You just don't seem to grasp what he is saying.

MSF is not in Gaza or anywhere else to be giving political opinions, taking sides, or taking it on themselves to declare a genocide.

Their mandate is to provide medical care.

Once they start giving political opinions, they have already stepped outside their remit, and you have to take what they say with a grain of salt, because you have to assume it is politically motivated.

For instance, they condemned of a blast that occurred at Al-Ahli Hospital, blamed it on Israel.

While it was later discovered that the explosion was caused by a Palestinian Islamic jihad rocket that misfired, MSF neither corrected nor deleted its condemnation.

If they're going to be making political statements, then they should at least strive for some form of impartiality, but the didn't.

They didn't because as I pointed out, almost all the staff in these organisations are Palestinains, and they have Hamas skin in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

That’s good, she is better shilling for Israel, another nail in their coffin 🤣

I'm pointng out what they will do if given the chance, so they shouldn't be given the chance for a good number of years.

My 'analysis', was cutting and pasting factual statements.

You have no rebuttal to those facts.

43% of Palestinians would vote for Hamas tomorrow if given the chance.

As I said earlier, that survey, if repeated today, would result in different numbers. 

How do you know that?

Bizarre. You dismiss a factual report that's barely 4 months old because you know better in your head.

That's real scientific!

Anyway, regardless, there has been a consistant narrative on here that although Hamas secured 44% of the vote back in 2006, it is all different now.

That report sinks your narrative completly, holed below the waterline, listing like the Titanic, although none of you seem inclined to jump on the lifeboats.

I'm poiniting out that 50% of polled Palestininas still think Oct 7th was great craic.

And that given an opportunity to vote the crowd responsible for it back in, roughly 43% of them would do so in a heartbeat.

You can make of that what you will, but them's the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,680 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The IDF always liked the blood of babies. Didn't we see the videos of soldiers stating that they wanted to shoor babies. They are the lowest of the low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

I think if you are going to take what he said at face value (or your understanding of what he said), you would need to ascertain if this is the first time MSF has declared something as a genocide, or consistent with genocide, or as warcrimes and ethnic cleansing before court rulings.

And indeed they did - in June 1994 (look up who was SG at the time!), MSF publicly broke humanitarian neutrality and called for international military intervention in Rwanda at the UN, explicitly describing the killings as “genocide.” It was not ruled as such until 1998, vindicating their claim. So there is a precedent for it . I haven't checked others, but I'm sure there are more. So to me this isn't indicative of them being "Hamas", it is something they do and have done when a clear situation presented itself, and I would very much doubt you would be claiming them all as Tutsis in the 90s.

You would need to provide proper proof, rather than made up narratives, as to why they are all Hamas, and no posting some random poll which had nothing to do with humanitarian organizations is just more baseless nonsense tbh. I'm surprised you would put it forward as an argument.

And do you seriously think it irrelevant that since that person left MSF he became an outspoken right wing politician who has both targeted Muslims and pushed narratives consistent with Israeli government propaganda? I have provided links. Maybe you don't find his language on Muslims shocking, or his commentary about how Islamophobia is made up by Iranian mullahs - I don't even think Nigel Farage would claim that, but I do.

But fine, if you want to use him as the neutral and sole arbiter of how all these humanitarian /aid/ legal organisations are really all antisemetic, go for it. I certainly wouldn't agree with you, but if objective reality of the situation won't sway you I doubt my opinion will.

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,680 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Do you believe that Netanyahu, Gallant, Smotherich and Ben Gvir and the Wat Council should not be allowed Govern for 10 years too ?

Do you think that's an insightful post? Or are you just clutching at straws? Again