If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Second Captains Part II

1342343344345346348»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭frankeee

Unpopular opinion I know, but I really admired O'Neill for that. He showed a real human side. He didn't pressure Rice (I thought it was only Rice, rather than both) into making a decision he might have regretted. It would have had a small impact on O'Neill's life, a tiny impact on ours but a massive impact on Rice's. Anyone who calls Rice a snake but doesn't say the same about Gibson, McClean and Duffy etc. are just hypocrites

It would have been a good question though, especially in front of an Irish crowd - don't think it would have been rude at all, as like you mentioned he did have a fair few pops off Ken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,938 ✭✭✭✭siblers

https://www.balls.ie/football/martin-oneill-declan-rice-decision-583156

They probably knew it would just piss him off if they asked him. I don't really hold it against O'Neill, it was Rice's decision not O'Neill's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

this rice thing again, Fcuk me we are smalltime

IMG_8418.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Audio level back to being disgracefully low on the reaction pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭bren2001

Gibson, McClean, and Duffy had 0 senior international caps for other countries (I don't count NI B). Declan Rice played 3 times for this country. The two situations are not equal.

Its not hypocritical to call one a snake and the others not a snake. Their situation is more comparable to Grealish who I've no issue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭joinme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Could anyone who went to Monday's show tell me please if it started bang on 7:30pm and what time it ended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,516 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

That Andy Farrell interview was so dull.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Really enjoyed the Martin O'Neill interview. I have a feeling he's delivered all of those gags at many speaking gigs over the years, but he was still pretty funny.

utterly utterly arid of any morsel of interesting content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭JKerova1

I'm not a massive rugby fan, although I'd always take an interest in the national team. Is Farrell normally as dull as he came across in this interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭jones

Yeah i have to agree with the comments above. I love international Rugby and i am a fan of Farrell so this should have been right in my wheelhouse as they say but by god it was dull as dishwater. It probably didnt help it was Simon interviewing him - again i like Simon but he's no Eoin in terms of interviewing skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Raoul

I have tried to listen to that interview a couple of times but my god is dull

a sit down of Farrell and Jim Gavin in a sports management executive workshop would be quite a hooley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,740 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

The lads came out very close to bang on alright, and I think it finished around 9:45.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,850 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

A friend of mine used to work for Paddy Power and they got Jim Gavin in one time for a Q&A, said he was atrocious.

'Would you ever take lessons from other sports and apply them to GAA'

'Oh we would, certainly yes'

'Like what?'

'I wouldn't like to say'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

They could have just announced Dunphy for the Monday and sold it out immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭bren2001

Why would they announce him for a night he wasn't there? Be an odd decision imo.

Christ, I found the first half of that Dunphy chat a very hard listen… so much petty sneering. Like, there's enough actual team and tactical issues to discuss without resorting to some of the quite bitter (and at times pretty ignorant/uninformed) sounding bollocks that was being trotted out… trying to demean what he did with Iceland especially just seems so pointless.

An assistant coach in a pretty successful qualifying campaign in World Cup 2014, getting to the qualifiers. Recognised as a big coaching talent and then elevated to co-manager for an incredibly impressive Euro 2016 campaign (qualifying and beating England at the Euros etc). And then elevated to sole manager, where he achieves the ridiculously impressive feat of topping a World Cup qualifying group - with feckin Iceland - and going to the World Cup. And you've the lads trying to make out "ah sure he was only carrying things on". Like, first, he was carrying things on from what he was a key part in building. But we all know by now that keeping things going, and improving even further, is bloody hard in football. Taking on an overachiever, and making them overachieve ever further is super impressive.

And the sneering 'dentist' thing… one would've thought that a lad supplementing his semi-pro football career by getting a medical degree is something to be impressed by, rather than look down upon. Dunphy of all people should have a bit of respect for that, seeing as he was another who had the intelligence and ambition to take on a second career as a writer/journo while playing.

Sorry for the rant, I just found that whole section left an awful taste in the mouth.

Post edited by ~Rebel~ at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

That's it I suppose… and I love Dunphy by the way, I find him great value on most things (increasingly on stuff further from football though). But all that stuff from the live show, for me, wasn't at all entertaining… it just felt so small time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,938 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Yeah, I've plenty of time for Eamon but he was speaking a fair amount of nonsense

we all go back to what we are. Dunphy made his mark in Irish media by uninformed attacks on Irish managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,881 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Corner boy stuff.

The three lads need to be careful, they're regularly straying into unlikable territory. No need to ask who the worst offenders is!

Those fivers can go just as quickly as they came...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 sbtr2023

Agree.. a week of bullshit podcasts so they can earn extra cash doing live shows.. Andy Farrell Monday, clip from Live show Tuesday, late night short match review Wed.. and then this utter nonsense Dunphy podcast on Thursday.. you'd need to be loaded on whatever **** Sneyd drinks to enjoy that. No doubt it'll be a dial in Pod tomorrow.. that's a full week of harmless shite.. to be honest, quality has dropped.. I used to never not listen to Second Captains.. find myself skipping it more and more