Who actually wants the Dublin Airport passenger cap abolished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

You could very well be right and that would probably go some way to explaining why you can fly to London for less than €50 but the train to Dublin is €80. That's despite Ryanair being profit driven and Irish Rail (supposedly) being public service driven.

You are correct in that it is ludicrous, however you have to be careful introducing such a tax, if you tax jet fuel you're only going to increase prices of flying - which in turn will increase the price of other forms of transport, such as taking the train, and then you return the situation back to square one. Instead of taxing airline fuel I'd say leave it as it is and simply drop it on public transport fuel.

You'd also need fixed links to other countries though because if flying and sailing, which also uses a very dirty fuel, remain the only ways to get off the island then we aren't going to be able to reduce emissions in this sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭CPTM

People are talking about emissions concerns like only the climate is at stake. I'm not ringing that bell because I don't know anything about that really, you're probably right.

I'm just talking about money.

The government committed to a carbon target, which they're currently already missing, and if they continue to miss it or it gets worse, I presume we'll have to buy carbon credits. And by "we", I mean the taxpayer. So when we're lifting this cap, are we sure the money it will bring to the country will outweigh the cost of those credits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,722 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

No they don't. Theres 5.5m in Ireland. 2m in the Greater Dublin Area. Is that the plan? Move another 3m to Dublin.

Shannon has a significant impact to the Irish and Mid-West economy.

To answer your question, the money brought in from lifting the cap might outweigh the carbon fines/taxes, it very much depends on how much they are going to cost us and that could be a serious issue or it might not. I don't have the figures but it is certainly worth bearing these things in mind for sure

The one thing I will say with a degree of confidence is that in paying the carbon fines to the EU it's not simply money disappearing. The EU will likely be intent on spending this windfall on carbon reduction initiatives in their member states, so the money could very well come back around anyway

Should we be spending money (including loss of revenue from removing the cap) on environmental issues? I think yes - 100%. Will it actually help the environment on its own, I'm not so sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Glaceon

Not exactly. Connecting passengers are included in the cap and they never leave the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,130 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The fact there is spare capacity at Shannon suggests there isn’t the demand. Cork on the other hand is to be approach capacity, and plans to expand are underway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭kaahooters

thats not what the appeals been brought against by the daa to planing though, its that traffic wont have any impact outside the airport, which it will. the initial design for the airport points of entry is already overloaded, and was a massive planning fubar when it was designed, the cap wont be lifted untill the metro is in place, which is why the planning was granted for the metro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,890 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Well yes, the alternative to Dublin is other UK airports not other Irish airports. With the cap in place, Ireland's loss is the UK's gain (or Iberia Airlines/Spain).

Regional airports will only grow if population density in those areas increases, dramatically.

This isn't a case of bullying the government, we want that business, we want to be the destination, it's up to us to allow it, thinking they'll setup in Cork or Shannon instead is idiocy and I'd really question the intelligence of those who keep suggesting it given the utter failure of the forced usage of Shannon and seeing slots move from Ireland to other countries as a result of the cap.

Post edited by astrofool on

The 32M cap was based on road capacity back in 2007. Road capacity has increased since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭kaahooters

Lmfao. The planning documents are freely availible. All the details are there. Even if the roads had limitless capacity, the airport was design to target a capacity of 32m. The hearing was about the entire issue, not 1 element. And the have been road improvements in the last 20 years, the planning application includes further improvements.

Thinking access to the airport is dine impossible barrier is hilarious.

DAA are not claiming increasing the cap won’t affect anything outside the airport. The planning application literally includes upgrades to multiple roads around the airport.

Project Element 11: Junction Improvements 

a) Upgrade of junctions in the vicinity of the airport to provide additional bus priority capacity, including: (i) R132 / M1 Link Airport Roundabout

ii) R132 / Corballis Road South: o Ahead lane from Corballis Rd South to Express Red Long-Term Car Park to become ahead and right.

(iii) R132 / Old Airport Road: o Additional right turn bus lane from R132 (N) to Old Airport Road (W). o Additional left filter bus lane from Old Airport Rd (W) to R132 (N).

(iv) R108 / Old Airport Road: o Additional left turn bus lane from R108 (N) to Old Airport Road (E).

(v) Corballis Road North/Corballis Avenue: o Introduction of lane destination markings.

(vi) Corballis Road North/Recirculation Link: o Conversion of internal recirculation link to bus, taxi and Authorised Vehicles only, with link into wider bus priority measures. o Additional bus priority on Corballis Road North to link to bus priority improvements at exit from Airport Roundabout

Talking absolute pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,893 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Cork Airport is in the wrong side of Cork city. For anyone outside Cork county below Mallow, Kerry and Waterford there's no advantage in going to Cork over Dublin. Shannon is as or more accessible from a lot of the country.

You have to grow demand the more we pour into Dublin airport in this case the less incentive there is to develop elsewhere. Ryanairnor any other airline are not going to leave a vacuum behind them.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭csirl

Dont agree with the cap. But the road access to Dublin airport should be improved. There needs to be a new access route from the west to take traffic pressures off the M1 and northern part of the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,701 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Wake up call! They put the planes where they are most lucrative, LOL at the cute simplistic visions of them, using them from Cork, if Carcassone to wherever, is more lucrative! Secondly, how are the emissions different, if a flight, lands in dublin or cork? Next… Aviation accounts for 2.5 % of global co2 emissions. The concern here is comedy! Have you witnessed the round the clock m50 carpark? The dublin city car park, obscene level of emissions there versus aviation. That could be solved with technologies available decades ago… Crickets on that front… BUT AVIATION , as an island nation…You lads should hurry up and help with the development of technologies, that will make aviation, far more sustainable… Do you want a cap on the M50, Ikea? Way over its limit, unlike the airport…

https://www.iea.org/energy-system/transport/aviation

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2025/07/07/us-airlines-warn-that-aer-lingus-flights-to-us-may-be-limited-over-dublin-airport-passenger-cap/

"Airlines for America (A4A), whose members include US and Canadian carriers that fly from the US to the Republic, maintains that the passenger limit on Dublin Airport breaches European Union-North American open-skies air-travel treaties.

According to Keith Glatz, A4A’s senior vice-president of international affairs, the US could respond to the cap by limiting Irish airlines’ access to the US. Aer Lingus is the only Irish carrier offering regular scheduled transatlantic flights.

Mr Glatz explained that he was not speaking for the US government, but noted that “typically” Washington’s department of transportation can respond to an illegal breach of the treaty by limiting the number of cities to which a country’s airlines can fly."

How long do you reckon this farce would continue, if the americans limited access to the US for Aer lingus? LOL! you think fingal county council and a few thousand that chose to live beside an airport, are going to figure a damn then? the answer is no… As soon as the cap is lifted, growth is going surge, likely 40,000,000 passengers next year.

This cap has been challenged and found illegal in other EU jurisdictions, I believe they are going through the motions on it in court now or will be shortly…

To lower emissions as that is the only concern here… Maybe DAA would install free flow junctions, ya know.. What other countries, did for major infrastructure, decades ago…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭CardF

of course business goes for the most profitable (ie busiest) routes, thats not a revelation to anyone.

but thats a flawed model from the perspective of building our society.

if you just follow that model like a zombie we would end up with everything and everyone in one small impossibly congested core.

and a desert of nothingness everywhere else. (thereby failing to capitalize on land and population potential outside the core)

it would also require new infrastructure/upgrades to maintain functionality or liveability in that core. at great cost. (m60?)

especially if the infrastructure of the core is already gone to shyte. (i.e. the m50)

of course we all know this, and business knows this, but someone else can start it tomorrow right after ive got mine.

why cant we have something like glasgow prestwick. or paris beauvais.

maybe it'll be dublin waterford. (yes i know, but such details never got in the way of business before)

We're never joining nato. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,994 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Any notion or suggestion, of a new airport in this country... is off the wall in levels of delusion... we'll have a colony on Mars before that happens... they can't get anything done here and you think there'll be a new commercial airport? We'll have nuclear power before that too...

Again, you want more roads ? Have you heard of induced demand ? More emissions, it's insane. You build proper rail and public transport infrastructure... that's where you put the funds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,722 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

You'd get closer to 100% if it was somewhere else.

Its theoretical anyway. Not when the M1/M50 is at peak dysfunction. Is taken me an hour at times and I'm only down the road from it.

I think that Shannon and Cork airports have somewhat lost their way in the market. I think there was a real opportunity for those airports to expand and bring in flights to places where Dublin don't have direct flights to. What is the latest flight announcement? Shannon-Frankfurt and Cork to Prague. -_-

right so where does the traffic from impending increased flights into DUB go?

given that nothing gets done here.

as for the assertion that a new airport is off the wall, theyre really not that big a deal as a project.

look at billund or aarhus airports. relatively tiny, lego themed billund takes 3.75 million pax p.a. its terminal is 5000 sq meters. its basically a suburban tesco in size.

waterford airport is in the news again re; investment.

Grow demand = increase population in those areas to make them viable (and if that happens, the demand in Dublin will also have continued to grow). It's utterly stupid to think that airlines will flock elsewhere on the island when they literally had that chance and chose to use UK airports instead.

IF Dublin continues to grow, you will also get increased demand in other Irish airports, trying it through caps (not by design) and enforcement (transatlantic flights used UK) has proven not to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

On one hand I hope they lift the cap to annoy the Nimbys, while on the other I want a cap to drive more traffic the way of Cork and Shannon.

🙈🙉🙊

With the dublin airport fiasco ... you see them telling a new community, oh, we're putting in a new airport here ? Have you just arrived to this country or do you not know how things work here ?

so a larger fiasco is preferable to a smaller fiasco?

you can buy off the potentially affected population of waterford for 10 grand.

the question of the cap is now off the backs of fcc and the minister for transport. go for it lads.

the question now is how they're going to handle the added traffic in europes third most congested city. (2024)

over to you lads. show us how its done.

https://www.irishtimes.com/transport/2025/01/06/dublin-ranks-as-europes-third-most-congested-city-after-london-and-paris/

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You're again blaming something that isn't part of the issue and never was.
    When MOL was lashing out the insults against Eamonn Ryan over the cap, he knew that Ryan hadn't the remit to remove the cap because it wasn't a transport issue, it was a planning issue (which DAA could fairly easily have changed had they bothered their holes doing so properly a number of years ago).

You seem to be adopting the MOL approach of blame it on a green issue when you already know that it has nothing to do with green issues.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

We don't count flying in our carbon targets.

Which is utterly ridiculous, because of course increasing the number of flights into/out of Ireland would increase an already major source of our carbon emissions, but there you go.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

That's not true though. Flying is worse than driving for climate - especially if you put more than one person in a sensibly-sized car.

Yeah. That's what I'm saying... their worried about transport and emissions? A public transport system would be a start... quicker rail link between Dublin and Cork, with one stop to the airport, if not a direct service... they need serious public transport, to start housing huge amounts of people, beside this transport network...