Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Similar to the US, it's depressing that the two (even three) candidates on the ballot are the best Ireland has to offer for the presidency.

My view is that the presidency of Ireland is best suited to an academic, well versed in Irish history and literature and with a firm understanding of the constitution. They also need to be a moderate, with centrist (ish) views that reflect the majority of the electorate. They don't need to be a politician, but certainly should be able to demonstrate a track record of public service.

For me HH is out due to her association with the orange order, and CC is out due to her association with Mick Wallace, Clare Daly, Gemma O'Doherty etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

that was also like 4 months before Russia's mass withdrawal from Kherson

The letter doesn't say what you said it says. It doesn't say 'ceasefire', it says 'ceasefire negotiations that might lead towards a peace settlement between the Russians, the Ukrainian forces and the separatists'. It doesn't say 'I endorse every single detail in the article referenced.

If you want to attack the letter, attack it for what it says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

There has always been a scramble among certain sections of the Connolly base to 'explain' her foreign policy stances. And it has always sauntered on, regardless of how little sense it ends up making.

Whether its commentary on the Ukraine War, European Military spending, NATO, etc - its like watching a seminar on apologetics.

• Pick one topic, hammer out some poinits
    • When points are refuted or debunked, deflect to something else
    • Use false analogies when ever possible
    • serious opponents to your thesis are 'war mongerers', point that out!
    • Whataboutery is crucial
    • rinse and repeat

Anyone who is backing CC on foreign policy, in my view, they tend to be immune to facts and logical argument.

I agree with you on your points, but I worry that its pointless to continue at this stage. So many CC supporters dont really care. They like the message, it doesnt actually have to make sense

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

@FrancieBrady if you are running for president, PLEASE let me run the campaign! We can win this, but HEED THE ADVICE and AVOID HOT POTATOS (unless we are talking about a single of chips 🤣)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Geoffrey Roberts arguments in 2022, if we had followed similar reasoning that small cannot defeat big, we would not have our own Republic now. And the same goes from most countries that gained independence from big empires. No-one believed Afghanistan could defeat the USSR, or that North Vietnam could defeat the US. David does defeat Goliath sometimes, because modern warfare is in part about economics, public opinion, and in the case of autocracies elite opinion. I saw the series "the Dictators Playbook" on Netflix some years ago and it pointed out "no one governs alone", by which it meant that even in a dictatorship, there is a cabal around the leader, especially the army. In my opinion political power, in both democracies and autocracies, is about networks. How solid is Putin's network inside Russia? All of the billionaires dropping out of windows. He must be making a lot of enemies from all these purges.

When Krushchev forced Zhukov into the political wilderness, he deprived himself of a potential ally when the 1964 coup happened. He had previously saved Krushchev by about 1 vote in 1956.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“For me HH is out due to her association with the orange order, and CC is out due to her association with Mick Wallace, Clare Daly, Gemma O'Doherty etc.”

Harsh on Heather to be fair - she “grew up” in that environment but has moved away from it since albeit understandably she has attended some garden party things in more recent years -she’s certainly not a paddy-hate singer on the 12th - and she’s very much putting herself forward as a person who can engage with the Protestant community which is important - it’s your call and vote- I’d never advocate for some orange order fanatic to be president of anything but I’m happy that Heathers association with the Orange order is limited and quite historic at this stage.

Must be great to have this absolute certainty that there's only one valid opinion on things, despite the facts that those valid opinions are demonstrably not working.

“CC is offering a more engaged style President - performing the constitutional role and speaking on the issues of the day in the mould of Michael D. Higgins, McAleese etc.”

It’s funny you mention McAleese- because every debate I’ve watched, HH refers to her and states she’d like to carry on her work - so what you’re saying really is, both want to be McAleese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭swampgas

The old Harold Wilson quote "a week is a long time in politics" comes to mind.

I dont have absolute certainty on anything, except that when i make a point? It tends to be backed up by evidence. And a willingness to actually discuss it with anyone who wishes to.

You asked me about a week ago RE the Ukraine, and was there any solution in sight.

I thought about it, and offered a fair response, outlining the situation as i saw it. I ended it by leaving it open to response.

You responded, by not engaging on the topic; you moved straight onto a completely different subject elsewhere.

That is a fair assessment of how you have conducted yourself on this thread.

• You are raising points,
    • and when you receive pushback
    • you move onto something else

Happy to provide links if you want, but that is how i see it, and im probably not alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Think HH references her more for her NI focus and CC mentions her because of the confident independent voice.

Either way it seems to be two sides of the same coin at this stage.

Like the Mazda MX5 or the Fiat 124 Spider - both very similar cars - after that it’s personal choice really

TBH and I know Heather personally to be a decent person, I think she will be an automaton as a President.

Was at a meeting of quite a large group last night and all of them would know Heather and like her, it is amazing how well liked she is across the community here.

There was general chat about who was voting for who and one said, 'you know, I honestly think Heather might thank you for not voting for her at this stage'. It was greeted with general agreement, few think her heart is in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,575 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Type in “law researcher public jobs oireachtas”

https://data.oireachtas.ie/ie/oireachtas/humanResources/recruitment/2022/2022-11-02_senior-researcher-law-booklet_en.pdf

IMG_2397.jpeg IMG_2398.jpeg

You will see that common security procedure for working in LH does NOT only include jobs involving children and youths. Those who were Successful in the application were not eligible to take the post unless Garda Vetting already cleared. Also must abide by official secrets act etc.

“It is YOUR responsibility to seek security clearances in a timely fashion as they can take some time. You cannot be appointed without this information being provided and being in order”

Common sense.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

If you don’t mind, I think I’ll await Heather to say that before attributing it to her as fact 😀

image.png

My read of what CC is saying, is that the 'information' (the application form 'with full disclosure from O'Shionnan) was 'provided and in order' before appointment as required.

image.png

She has said this several times.

I didn't say it was a 'fact', it was an observation which was generally agreed on by people who know her.

Others have said it too. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,575 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is your “read” from it? Come on what sort of Government job allows regular access to LH without completed security clearance. Thereby giving an oireachtas card and pass. There is a damn good reason why Ni Shionnain wasn’t given her own pass (for six months) and you know it.

If there was a SF candidate in this presidential race you would be hammering Connolly for this, I suspect.

You are no eejit and are just trying to pretend not to grasp the seriousness of it. Is my take. Or pretend it is the norm.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Another Trumpism Francie; 'just saying'. This is pathetic undermining of a candidate by innuendo. Fine if you want to praise CC and cannot countenance any criticism of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Good call,you know what you are dealing with there ….

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

CC signed a criminal convicted by the Special Criminal Court of a terrorist crime (involving guns) without Garda vetting. She intended and to employ, and did employ, this person who was still a member of a proscribed organisation. She brought her in daily over a six month period on a day-visitor pass with out Garda vetting, despite her being an employee - which must be against the rules. Once Garda vetting was sought, the employee disappeared.

Now all this is wrong at so many levels. Do we want such a person as CC to be the nation's first citizen when she has such a 'flexible' understanding of rules?

Does she not realise that there was a serious breach of State security by her actions?

You’re using the “lots of people say” technique without ever having to prove anything - I’ve had plenty of conversations with “people I know” who believe CC is not suitable as president and won’t be voting for her -quite a lot of conversations actually which helps put into perspective the concentrated support for CC here on the threads -.but again, that doesn’t really aid discussion on this site, except to poo poo a candidate

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: consider this as a final warning Francie - any further baseless and intentionally undermining posts like this will result in an immediate & permanent Politics ban.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

How much integrity would we want to see from our Taoiseach? Would we like to see him squaring off with Trump? The presidency seems to operate as a safety valve for Paddy to let off steam, to have a teller of truths in high office without endangering the quids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

It is curious that some of those most hostile to the Orange Order are so keen on making many more of its members equal and fully cherished citizens of our state.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The debt has been paid by Gavin.

That tenant would never ever have seen that money if Gavin didn't run.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

It doesn’t make sense to me that if she was deemed a threat that no action was taken

Can you not see the conflict here?

If Gardai took no action that means somebody they deemed to be a threat was accessing the Dåil snd nobody stopped it.

That’s what I meant by ‘there are bigger problems’ if it was allowed go unchallenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Our next Taoiseach (Simon Harris, FG) called Trump an "awful gowl" a few short years ago.

I think Connolly's rhetoric would be a bit more refined.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭feelings

Watching an interview with HH in which she was asked about the comments made by Ivan Yates regarding a smear campaign against CC. Humphreys says "I'm not involved in any smear campaign.." but then doesn't actually go on to condemn what he said??