Garda Siochana Recruitment 2024

Answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

True believers lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 TheOriginalJ

Hey everyone, 

I have just applied the current recruitment, I’ve done these aptitude tests before so I’m not too unfamiliar with them. 

Just wondering has anyone done the stage 1 preparation through career services or does anyone plan on using it. 

If anyone who has done it wanted to share the details if they still have details I could throw a few bob for it or even if anyone wants to access it and split the difference let me know, it’s definitely good practice material but very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭tcd25

no u defo don’t need that!! Don’t waste your money the tests are very easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 roblee09

I bought it last year, but what was given in the stages was different to what they provided, so wasn’t worth it. It’s easy enough without it. Don’t waste your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 BaBaYaGa

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Edsjd227

Anyone who's waiting for an offer get one lately?

no but heard a few did yesterday . How long is everyone waiting for vetting so far? Mines almost a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 3795245

Exact same timeline as Merlinengine! Waiting since Feb 24 - every other piece of the puzzle is in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 roblee09

don’t see many invites for the November intake yet around.

Had me station interview last week......everything else in place

what about vetting ? Still ongoing ?

As far as I I know, the inspector has to submit Her report to the superintendent and that it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iank1

I have my station interview on Sunday morning, is it tough? What do they ask?

has anyone who applied for 2025 received the tests or anything to do yet??

Nah, just go through Your vetting if any problems arise from it, if any relatives had interactions with gardai and general question to see if You are suitable for the role

my friend just got email to say he’s not being considered anymore. Has anyone ever got that email? And did ye get told why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 BaBaYaGa

were they waiting long for that response, n the other hand at least they now know where they stand and can make other plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Sunwillow

I know of one other person who got that email at the beginning of this year, something came back on the vetting.. but he wasn’t told what and they are not obliged to tell you either, as far as I know.

thanks ! It’s strange as they’ve done vetting before as they’re a doctor !! And it’s always passed , very strange e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Sunwillow

it might be the case that your friend didn’t disclose something he should have on the form B.. that is what happen to the other poor guy, it was his brother that he hasn’t seen in many years:.: very unfortunate, feel very sorry for them both, such an awful process to go through and then to be told that…

aw so they told him why in the end ?? My friend just wants to find out . He l appeal it for sure. Did your pal appeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 czetaoc

Sorry to hear that about your buddy,very disheartening receive that email and when did he apply?

the worst thing about the vetting I find is bad enough it's a slow progress is that you have to tell your family the reason you want there information and word gets out and everyone does be asking "when you heading to templemore I hear your joining the guards '' etc.

not getting my hopes up anymore even though people are waiting a lot longer than me

he wasn’t given a reason why which is so mean I think. I feel you’ve a right to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 paulme5

Hey everyone ,

Just a Quick question to see if anyone knows I was in the last campaign but pulled out due to family reasons now have been resolved, Was looking to join back in but would anyone know if you have to go to through the interview and aptitudes again as I had this done and was on to the PCT

I think u do!

Yeah, You'd have to start from the start again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 cookie43

I know im the same,i just think its so unfair we cant help it if any family members have been in trouble before,its so unfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 wildwizards

Quick question for anyone, does garda trainees get any leave? Also is there any time off around Christmas while in the college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭merlinengine

"Dear Slim, I wrote you but you still ain't callin'. I left my cell, my pager and my home phone at the bottom…."

I see another offer gone out to the 2025 group without vetting fully completed. I count three in recent weeks. Maybe there is still a glimmer of hope for the 2024 crew.