If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,152 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yeah, its good they are putting the hours in though. Nothing else of note in this election, due to the quality of candidates the debates are hardly riveting.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,597 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A rehabilitated and by all accounts (of those who actually knew and engaged with her as part of their Committee work) reformed ex prisoner was given a researching/advisory role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,164 ✭✭✭corkie

Rather than having to follow two threads on Sunday just created the below!

RTE:TWIP Presidential Debate ~ Sunday 5th Oct NOON | Repeat at night or player. in Current Affairs/IMHO

Aras25 | "The people who spoiled their votes on Friday 24th Oct took part in a legitimate political action, as is their right!"

Jayus, that was 2011. I doubt Ursula Ní Shionnain was happy when Martin McGuinness shook hands with the British Queen in 2012. Surprised, he didn't get a mock execution as well.

The only bit that surprised me was Ursula Ní Shionnain's accent. I expected some one who went on to do a PHD to be more plummy voiced and from a "leafy suburb". Like Mary Lou or her sister Joanne who was in Eirigi at the same time 2011. So fair play to Ursula for being upwardly mobile.

Here is Joanne McDonald (Mary Lou's sister) if any are not familiar with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

We've had lads and lassies with IRA connections. Lads with corruption connections and all sorts of connections sitting in the dail, one of them even a powerbroker in forming the current govt.

There's a lot of preaching going on. The point is letting people know of Connollys reasons as to where her egotistical version of how she is so right about everything as compared to everybody else and the other candidates comes from. She's just as unholy as everybody else, no st Catherine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You're clearly upset Marko. It's very distressing to watch.

I'll admit I hadn't heard about Eirigi until today but I am ok with this breaking news 😉

I am over it. Next revelation please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Ugh i dunno anymore. I sort of agreed last night. Compared to previous elections its been very low key. Im a political nerd, i cannot help but be interested. I thought the story was an attempt at scandal making, and said so. And it fitted into the idea of having to keep the public engaged.

I also agreed with your point on there being, perhaps a larger percentage of republican attitudes in the Irish Speaking community. Im not great at Irish, but i have tried to gain some experience. I hung around with some fluent people, and i would agree with your opinion. I encountered a higher portion of ardent republicans in those days. Not that these people were extremists, but certainly very vocal. I actually think thats why i become uncomfortable when the Irish Language is politicized.

But what seems to be emerging now is a real scandal. Id wonder what knowledge the Journal had on the full extent of this tale, when they published it yesterday. It is going to be a talking point now, and other public characters will weigh in. I find it bewildering at times, when people defend actions and opinions that are clear indefensible. Iv always tried to remain as balanced as possible. Sure i will criticize political opponents, or those i feel are on the wrong side of an issue. But its always important to criticize your own side too.

I just dont see that happening in politics anymore. Here in Ireland or elsewhere.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

Indeed, pity they wouldn't put in the hours outside of elections....doesn't reflect well on them 8 years after tge event. Clearly wasn't an issue for them then...

That's what the recruitment process will determine but you are free to apply if you wish and that applies to former prisoners too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,049 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Given you are a 'journalist' but never heard of Eirigi until today, is not a good look tbh.

Granted, Eirgi are quite quiet lately, but they were the batshit lunatics back 15 years ago. Not sure are they even still around.

Nowadays, the title of 'batshit lunatics' is owned by the populists/far right we see around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,049 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

And that is why the Gardai refused her the necessary security clearance. It seems CC was trying to scam the system as well here.

We need all the details on this to be released.

There are convicted bombers sitting in the Dail FFS! She served her sentence and is now free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

The difference is those 'lads and lassies' were elected to sit in the Dáil, Ursula Ní Shionnáin wasn't.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Something without such a ridiculously high security risk. Again if Connolly wanted to work with her there were other ways to do it.

Ah here, you accused me of playing the man - I didn't and you do the very same thing!!!

I've dealt with most of those points consistently in recent weeks not least the Germany nonsene, but just on one of them, the coverage of which has amused me - are you seriously suggesting it's incorrect to describe the US as an Imperial power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I'm not arguing that point at all Ct. Just observing how differently people look at things depending on the situation.

The Irish language thing is kind of like that. A lot seem assume you are very Republican as pro-SF etc. Among the youth there is definitely a left leaning vibe.

But all in all I have never witnessed any agro. Pubs etc talking Irish. But, the very occasional individual who has a "chip on their shoulder" from a working class background. Only two individuals I ever came across like that in the Irish language places I go to.

The vast majority of the Irish Language interest community are sound, no matter what their background. Encouraging people of all levels to improve.

More often than not, the level of education in a room of Irish speakers seems to be above the average, especially among the older cohort. I suppose to have an interest in a language, you have to have an interest in learning. I know for a fact that an American (born and bred) teaches Irish to SF party members. Which is amusing to me.

It did occur to me that all this Ursula Ní Shionnain (very belated stuff), will be used as a stick to beat all people with an interest in the Irish language. That is the bit that annoys me most, I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

Those "lads and lasses" also eventually accepted the Good Friday Agreement and recognised the legitimacy of the Republic. It appears that Ms Shannon had done neither 15 years after the GFA was signed. We don't know her views in 2018 or now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

Was she picked up by Eirigi on release from prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

No the US is not an 'Imperial Power' - Literally that is a true factual statement.

You could debate this point for hours, but it meets none of the criteria for being classed as an Imperial Power. If Catherine Connolly, replaced the words with 'Super Power', we could have a good game of hurling. Yes it is a super-power and as such, its a player in every major event of global consequence. Depending on where one stands on these issues, one could argue that America's role was either negative, or positive, or sometimes a mix of both.

• Afghanistan; I think it was inevitable post 9/11 and i shed no tears for the fate of the Taliban. I was horrified when they reclaimed power
    • Iraq; Negative in the extreme. Not that i was a cheerleader for Saddam Hussein, but the war itself was unjustified.
    • Ukraine; the grey zone - i want Ukraine to be supported, but the changing states of US domestic politics make it unviable to predict how this will end, and what role the US will play. On a knife edge, could go either way

None of the above renders the US an 'Imperial Power'. It is a super power of consequence. Be they negative or positive, on a case by case basis. The claim of US or more often, 'Western' Imperialism, its just a radical activist left talking point. Its meaningless when you break it down, and merely intended to whip up support among those who have grievence with past imperial aggression.

I could make a similar argument against CC's views on NATO Expansion. NATO being an organization that countries must apply to, for membership of. A very strange way of 'expanding'.

You and I probably agree on a few things, and dare i say, disagree on a few other points. Im stating my opinions, and i am not trying to start arguments with anyone. Its a politics forum and we can both contribute fairly, and debate what ever topics we wish.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Yes

Only somebody who doesn't believe in rehabilitation would feel differently. Would you prefer if the death penalty or whole life prison sentences were imposed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,670 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Do you think you are in a position to tell the Ukrainians what they should be doing?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭1641

If someone participated in an armed robbery I don't think they should get the death penalty (or whole of life unless murder was involved). But I don't think they would, or should, be offered a job in a bank after serving 6 years in prison.

I don't think they would make it into Garda training college either. Do you?

Post edited by 1641 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,670 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Why bother and make themselves look foolish in the process? Martin will be gone for good in two years.

Reintegrating ex-cons into society doesn't mean giving them security clearances into the heart of our parliament.

O'Cuiv has long proven himself to be an idiot but he's not running for president, Catherine is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Do you remember the fierce unrelenting criticism that Mairia Cahill received on these threads from certain quarters because she briefly associated with dissidents. Never convicted, we were told by these hypocrites that she shouldn’t be a Senator.

Here they are nauseatingly defending Connolly. They seem to think this place is full of eejits who forget their earlier nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

So who decides what jobs or levels ex-cons get? Or did the security process work exactly as intended. It did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,597 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

She was one of the leaders of a dissident group and she was rehabilitated BEFORE that information was dragged out of her and she never served time for it or revealed what she did or sanctioned while in the leadership role.

You and her should sit this one out maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

Asking for an update on a security clearance isn’t a "scam" - it’s entirely reasonable, and there’s no evidence Connolly tried to bypass the process.

The Taoiseach called it a "serious lack of judgement," yet stayed silent on the fact that the candidate was actually recommended by a FF TD, Éamon Ó Cuív – someone who, as a TD, has direct access to sensitive state material. But nobody questions his judgement. Convenient how that gets glossed over. A bit hypocritical, isn’t it?