If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Also starting to reflect on the judgment of those on the 'mainstream left' who adopted Connolly as their 'unity candidate'. How much 'due diligence' did they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,883 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

To be fair, if she was a member of Éirígí and served time in prison for gun charges then those are far more important issues to note than whether she held a mock execution of the queen (assuming that video is from before her time in prison).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

Locking people up indefinitely isn’t a solution. Rehabilitation is - that’s recommended worldwide. The goal being to reintegrate ex-cons into society.

Connolly has been clear on the Gardai - we need more Gardaí on the ground, in the community, with proper resources. That directly impacts social behaviour and supports rehabilitation.

As for Martin’s faux outrage - it’s nothing more than bluster to cover how poorly Gavin is performing. FF’s nerves are showing, which makes it all the more entertaining.

Edit: Connolly was recommended a staffer by FF’s own Éamon Ó Cuív. The process was followed, she didn’t employ them, and asking for an update on the process is entirely reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Agreed. in all my times on boards I have never heard idealistic party supports discuss how they would get the middle ground.

That includes SF, Greens, PBP. They have their ideologies and refuse to comprise at all to any real extent. Then wonder why they are on the margins of Irish politics in DE. They normally prefer to attack the middle ground, rather than question the direction and practicality of their own strongly held beliefs.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,587 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

If she does, she does.

All we can go on is what we know.
    O'Cuiv is happy to have his name used as a recommender.

Seán Ó Fearghaíl (FF) will have to produce evidence of his claims too…he has a party candidate in the race after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Gavin didn't rehabilitate him in the sense of not beating people up when out on the pi$$ though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,045 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Right so you concede the fact that while a person may serve their time, that does not mean that they are free to work in any job they want.

We as a society rightly stop people who were convicted of sex offences from working near children, schools and vulnerable people.

We as a society also screen people who work in sensitive jobs, like our nation's Dail. Someone who is charged under fire arms offences, and is a member of Eirigi, a dissident group, should never be allowed near the Dail. Yet CC seems to think they should have.

**** all it seems.

Right idea, but terrible execution on their part.

I can imagine many centre-left voters staying at home.

should never be allowed near the Dail

😁 FF came into the Dáil armed in their time.

If the government and opposition don't believe in rehabilitation sack the committee and say that.

Don't be hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Of course, a rehabilitated sex offender is no more of a risk to kids than you or I… Why would anybody think otherwise?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Rehabilitation does not mean almost literally walking out of jail and into Leinster House. If Connolly wanted to work with the lady and had the slightest ounce of cop on she would have employed her in her constituency office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

I think its all relevent. I for one feel VERY embarassed for having rolled in last night on CC's side. Iv openly admitted i was wrong. Iv been criticizing CC for days on foreign policy, and i think i commented that it was a weird turn-around for me to be defending her a bit.

But im half mortified now, i honestly didnt see the story growing legs.

Arguably it has now grown multiple sets of legs, and is careering at speed along the M6 toward Dublin.

Honestly, i dont know what to say. What is more embarassing now?

• That she successfully brought the lady into leinster house without being Garda vetted?
    • That her explanation seems to be falling apart in broad daylight?
    • That the lady took part in a mock execution of the head of state, for our nearest neighbor?

How low will this campaign go before the left in ireland get the message. That being,

PLEASE, For the sincere love of SANITY, stop forwarding ACTIVIST FOOLS as candidates for high office

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

What is rehabilitation in your definition then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,606 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“Connolly won't be damaged all that much by this, as that is how she has always been to those who know her “

Fine if she were going for some local Galway position- but she’s going for president of Ireland and for that she needs countryside support from a wide demographic - a completely different ball game to win

You are pushing an open door with me. Its all very embarassing now.

The only thing i can say is that it probably throws more of a light on the election in general. It has been very low key up to now. But this is a scandal, and its going to come up again and again. CC is unsuitable for the role of President. Period.

IMHO she will lose what little bit of the moderate vote she had going for her. Really wanna see some polls now, multiple ones preferably. SO we can track the flow of support, and where it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

Maybe you might put yourself forward, you seem to have plenty of time, plenty of opinions and alot of outrage.

Might I also remind you CC has been elected three time to the Dail she is far from an 'activist fool' and if 'activists' don't enter politics, vaccuuous opportunists like Jim Gavin fill the void.

What year was this though? That is the key point never mind the "pantomime Republicanism". The Cartoon Republican's love that craic.

I looked up Ursula Ni Shionnain's Linkedin.

https://ie.linkedin.com/in/ursula-n%C3%AD-shionnain

She is currently working in the Rathcairn Gaeltacht as "Language Planning Officer" since December 2023,

What makes me laugh (Given that mock execution) for those not into the GAA. Meath is known as "The Royal County" 😉

Always amusing how journalists 'uncover' stories in elections. The events in the non story today about CC today occurred 7 years ago and no one spoke out, no controversy etc.. yet here we are...laughable.

Rehabilitation is fine, but that does not give you the ability to work in any job. You know it.

If you think this is a 'scandal' you really need a reality check.

But you are absolutely entitled to apply for any job to which you maybe qualified...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well if it's only the demographic who are likely to vote for her anyway who she's going to impress with her forgiveness it's likely that her naivety is likely to repel any floating voters who she'd need to attract to have any hope of winning.

Might be about the time the Queen visited the state.

A researcher and giving expertise in the Irish language Mark?

You losing a sense of proportion here?

You are still on this non-issue? Some people react differently with drink on them, as young men in the public eye. They can be goaded into a reaction by types who look for a fight.

I remember the same thing happened Shane Horgan decades ago. But I get the feeling your only knowledge of Diarmuid Connolly is only what you read in papers that don't involve sport. That seems to be the limit of your knowledge.

And to use it as a stick to beat Gavin with is a laughable one. I don't think you know what you are talking about at all to be honest. And have no sense of management, sport and so on.

There have been TD's who were once viewed as terrorists in Irish history who became elected, TD's who were over the limit when driving from the Dail bar etc etc.

Yet your main gripe with Gavin is that he picked Diarmuid Connolly to play for Dublin. Without any knowledge of context or anything. And somehow think this relates to Gavin's candidacy for Presidency?

Not for you -

1. Gavin's lack of political experience
    2. His inarticulate nature in political discourse.
    3. His statement that he aligned with FF

None of that for you it is that Gavin picked D.Connolly. This is coming from a poster who has never shown one iota of interest in sport on boards.ie. Nevermind, Gaelic Games as far as I can see.

Yet your main gripe suddenly is Diarmuid Connolly. Your logic/faux concern has the makings of a good comedy skit if nothing else.

And you need to play the ball, not the man.

It is a scandal in and of itself. It adds to the numerous scandals and controversies that Connolly has wrought on to the Presidential Election.

Rather than worrying about me and my 'free time' or opinions. Why dont you outline why none of these points are scandalous.

• Compared German re-armament to that of Hitlerite Germany circa 1930s
    • Has blamed NATO for Russia invading Ukraine
    • Used rhetorical nonsense saying the United states is an 'Imperial Power'
    • Stated that the negative effect the US has on global affairs is comparable to that caused by Russia under Putin
    • Met with members of the PFLP, a designated terrorist group
    • Claimed Hamas should have a part in the future of Palestine.
    • While you are at it, explain away this current scandal involving the dodging of correct vetting procedure for an obvious extremist.

Worry less about people offering opinions based on facts, and try and formulate your own! There's an idea

A criminal and political dissident who was convicted for firearms offences by the Special Criminal Court has been given access to the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,606 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

We’re early days and already “stories” emerging about boo boo’s- hiring a convict, drones without license, using the defence forces as part of your campaign etc etc- if there’s some planned bombshell about one of the candidates like there usually is, about 1 week out from the election, it better be a good one 😀

But you are not entitled to that job, given that your past convictions may disqualify you.