If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Married to the cows: https://archive.ph/KJEAW

(copy and paste to read, boards.ie won't allow a direct link)

Screenshot 2025-09-24 at 08.50.18.png

Read old books. Burn old logs. Drink old wine. Keep old friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The grating thing is the whinging farmer narrative, the loudest commentators/farmers shouting about it, have never our will never be in a situation of a one man band struggling through a spring calving season...

Not have a dig but the o'learys are a great example, on a podcast recently they where making the point re the above but from her own articles over the years they've always had a army of helpers on farm, she hasn't the foggiest notion re the lived expirence of farms where the help just isnt available..

Macra/the journal/teagasc can sugarcoat things all they want, without a dose of realism in the conversation its all white noise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,171 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

FFarming Is as easy or as hard as you make it. Even down to having gates hanging properly etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,082 ✭✭✭straight

Boleybawn Dispersal. 25th Sept 11.45AM. Y14 K372. 100 Ped.
    Reg. Ho/Fr. Av. 8000KGs, 4.20%BF, 3.40%PR. Catalogue at www.denisbarrett.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

100% take a look at o Neil dairy farm on YouTube. Having to draw water in ibcs for heifers, contractor in weekly to empty the parlour tank, carting around an electric fencer for the cow paddocks, gates in a new collecting yard held up with twine . Absolutely hectic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,919 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

crazy stuff and 100% agree small changes and not been stubborn makes a huge difference on any farm …no excuse for not having proper hanging gates …not raking time off and thinking the place won’t function without you etc etc farming is hands on and jobs need to be done but small changes can make huge difference

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I had a face on me when I added up the costs of gates and paying a man to hang them right late last year.

But it was probably the best €2k I spent around the yard.

with help around yard at a premium things like that so you can move/separate stock etc on your own are a must and cut so much hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭yewdairy

In any owner operated business there will always be tough times and lots of hours put in. But some farmers choose the hardship, and then spend their lives telling people there is no other way.

relatively small amounts of money spent each year make a huge difference to the amount of hardship around the yard.

Working hard is grand once it's making things easier in the future. Working hard every day on the same physical tasks is a receipt for disaster.

If people believe farming is that bad of a life just pack it in, high land lease prices, high stock prices and economy with full employment. Absolutely no need to be farming unless you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Lots of people work hard. Have a tiler in doing a bathroom and he doesn't stop moving from 8 to 6. That a physical job up and down all day that takes a lot of concentration to do it right. I know I would be shattered after it.

Dairy farming there's a long day between milkings and outside a few busy periods, something has to be wrong to not take it easy for a good few hours most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭cosatron

f**k sake, what was the first lad at with cows and calves sick. he must be poisoning the ground with urea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭dmakc

It's a tale of extremes there. One could look at the slurry contractor as labour saving.

While some things are efficient, others are a mess. JFC calf feeders set up looks messy for what should be an efficiency plus but the new shed should hopefully sort it, although even with the structure standing he still doesn't seem to know the layout yet which is a must when you're building a calf shed around a particular system.

Various broken feed barriers in current sheds look messy but again new shed should again should sort it. But what stresses me are the amount of breakouts either onto a busy road or into wrong paddocks, a TAMS application to fence the entire farm would be the best money they can spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭jaymla627

zero point in fencing the place until the ditches and trees are sorted out plus roadways, the shed builds really have stalled, hard to see them been done this side of xmas unless the finger is got out…

Its a mad time to be taking on the debt they are given they have a lot of teenage kids shortly that will be in collage, you"d imagen one of them will have to get a off-farm job, but the place is so disorganised its not a one person unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,082 ✭✭✭straight

It's Just human nature for people to complain about their job. Look at nurses, doctors, guards. The media and industry in general seem more worried about succession than any farmer I know.

You Will always have the few lick arses in every job or classroom that reckon they can do more for less. The cute guy just let's them at it until they burn themselves out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,654 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Possibly now too in the tow n fert group that he's now looking at the experiences of the members in the trace elements being spread through the spreader, that he hadn't considered before or even soil tested for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dunno whether this is better suited in the guntering thread, but what do people do with unused calf hutches? Every yard you go into there's a few fired in a corner. Iv five here that im moving around the yard 20 years id say. Was in a place today and there was easy 100 taking up half an acre. Only thing I have im my head was to cut them in half and use as a flower bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Stick them on done deal at humble money they not be up long.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

There s a song from tr dallas has sprung into my mind the last few post s on here.stuff was rough enough in this yard for a long time and still is sometimes so I won't make any comment on people struggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭older by the day

Probably the one thing about being self employed farming is that your brain can't switch off.

I was talking to a lad the other day who had recently buried his mother. And I was saying how hard it was to lose a parent at any age, and he was saying he hardly noticed, "sarcastically". He noticed an incalf heifer with pneumonia the morning of the mass, the vet got delayed and his non farming family kept ringing to see where was he.

Could you explain this to a 39 hour week worker who gets 5 days off paid after a close relatives death. That's with the public service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

In fairness though, it was his mother's funeral. F*#k the heifer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭yewdairy

That's idiotic.

The idea that you have to be late for your mother's funeral so you can treat a sick heifer is pure nonsense. The vet would have worked away himself.

As I have said before farmers choose the hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,132 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Ah one death is enough. And I have no doubt his mother would want the animal saved.

I'm sure he wasn't that late, but around here you should be sitting down at least an hour before mass.

And no point in the heifer dying either. It the day you need to be somewhere that shiite happens

😂😂can totally relate to that …brother in law can’t figure out when on holidays or out for a night aaay for weekend etc etc I can’t just switch the phone off and forget about the farm ….i can to a point …but self employed your never fully switched off from the day job ….working from home is a great job …turn on the computer ..log in …flick screens now again …send an odd e mail etc …all whilst could be in gym …off for grub ,coffee etc

We had a calf with pneumonia the morning of dh funeral. She lived to tell the tale. We injected her with a few shots of whatever was in the jeep at the time.

The point I was trying to make is that dairying farmers never stop. A paye worker would have rang in sick.

Nearly everyone here have milked some cold morning with a cruel hangover, or a bad flu or something else 🤔

Il never forget the morning I had started milking and must have got a bug or food poisoning or something. Stuff flying from both ends.

The bull mac cabe would have been proud of my resilience that morning

Daughter was in work this morning and the boss rang one of the other workers at 9.20 as she was late, she answered saying she'd given birth 5 minutes earlier. She was in work yesterday. Was due to go on maternity leave in a few weeks. I remember someone asking me how did I spend my time on maternity leave before the baby was born. I said i milked up to the day wach of them were born

I can relate to that man waiting on the vet while his mother was in the church.

When you’re a one-man-band the buck stops with you for every little thing, especially when something is going wrong - like having a sick heifer. A loss of €1500-2000 if she dies weighs heavy on the mind, all the more so when funds are tight.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I think running your own business of any kind is a fools game. The amount of work you do fir nothing and you re on the hook for everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭lmk123

that’s for sure, I was in hospital a few days ago and they have me on painkillers and other tablets strong enough for a horse, I hit the deck this morning while walking through the calves, no choice only get up a few minutes later and keep going. You can only hope it’ll be worth it in the long run.