If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭HBC08

Not saying its correct or not but the CT has shown itself to be a not reliable source for near on a decade now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I don't get it. It article says that "the club has opted to take their case to Croke Park". How is that the end of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Round tower

How can thee be a competitive match without a referees report or a decision made before receiving the referee report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭Blackjack

no idea - the missing report was mentioned on the Mayo football podcast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭eastie17

shower of spoofers on that podcast. Only discovered there was a club championship this year. Ah ref is the only podcast worth listening to 😀

Hollymount Carramore has decided not to pursue the appeal any further in the interest of the Mayo intermediate championship

Even more bizare in the findings this article states that the referee admited that on seeing the footage that he wrongly signaled a 2 pointer when it should have being a 1 pointer, the CC then ruled that the final scoe as right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭MacDanger

My understanding of it is this (open to correction though):

• The rules allow for a replay where the ref incorrectly awards or fails to record a score e.g. records a point for the wrong team or forgets to record it at all
    • This incident isn't deemed to fall under that rule because the ref recorded the score correctly - in that he recorded it for the right team and correct as he thought it to be at that time and so it's not a recording error
    • The error he made was that he thought it was a 2 pointer rather than a 1 pointer and as such, it's deemed to be the same as most other refereeing errors and cannot be revisited

I can see the logic in it on the one hand but also the unfairness on the other hand.

It's something that should be tightened up on in the rules so that it's clearer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭spakman

Yes, that's my understanding too. It wasn't an issue with the ref adding up the scores incorrectly.

He awarded a 2 pointer and recorded it as such, so the score was correct from that perspective which is what the rule covers.

It's very hard on HollyCarra, but as you say, if every ref mistake led to replays, we'd quickly become mired in constant appeals and replays and competitions becoming a farce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭naughto

If it was Breaffy,Mitchell's,Westport ect I wounder would it be a different outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

@PARlance tough one to take yesterday, ye just fell apart.

Knockmore made hard work of Ballintubber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,187 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Never witnessed such a collapse ever before, diabolical stuff. Not that I'd want to make any excuse for them but it was as if the game was way too easy for the first 40 minutes and they couldn't react when Westport just went for it for the last 20.

Westport had the look of a bad intermediate team for the first 40, Breaffy had the look of a team that never played for the last 20. I'm probably being generous to both teams there.

If Andy doesn't get Dawson and Kilkelly into his Mayo squad, he's missing a trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭eastie17

when’s the draw, would love a Crossmolina Westport final. Cross can’t get ballina in the semi

Group teams are only kept away from....

edit: was wrong there

Post edited by PARlance on

Knockmore V Ballina semi. Don't think I can face losing to them for a third year in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Westernview

Not wishing to cause offence but I think current and future Mayo managers may need to consider how many Breaffy players to have on the squad until they start showing more steel and a winning mentality at club level. I'd love to see you win a county final but it must be incredibly frustrating to see so many timid defeats. Where is the hunger and anger to end the drought?

We have had up to 4 Breaffy players on the Mayo panel in the past but I worry that this fragility could seep into the collective psyche. They have plenty of footballing talent but they need to take a serious look in the mirror after yesterday.

You're not causing offense but I would say you're showing a complete ignorance of this year's club championship. Breaffy should have been beaten in all three of their group games and showed plenty of character to get out of the group. Character was unfortunately the only thing that got them out of the group because it certainly wasn't the football that got them out.

You think Breaffy not winning a Moclair might seep into Mayo's mentality.... The collective psyche... Drop them all so, let's get back to winning Sam every few years.

Having a different opinion to you does not mean im ignorant. Where was this character yesterday when you were 9 points up with an extra man? What good was it winning those earlier close games only to go to pieces when dominating westport. The same thing happened in county finals when you had a stronger teamthan now. I have spoken to a number of people today who have the same opinion as me on this so I guess we are all ignorant.

I didn't say you are ignorant, but you clearly don't understand the meaning of ignorance, that being a lack of knowledge or information. I would respect your opinion if you had seen Breaffy's games in the championship and I'll throw in the league final as well.

Breaffy have not been playing good football this year, it has been dire at times. They beat Crossmolina in the league final, a game where they were second best. They drew with Aghamore and Castlebar in games they probably should have lost, they showed great character to pull back Belmullet in the second half. This isn't just my opinion, it's also the opinion of people who have been to games, journalists etc.

I wouldn't argue with anyone who said they're not playing good enough football. Re the collapse yesterday, it was a collapse of epic proportions... You seem to have missed my post earlier (which is hard, seeing as you replied to it) where I said "never witnessed such a collapse ever before, diabolical stuff". Breaffy completely switched off and were like a team who hadn't played football before, on the other hand, Westport threw all caution to the wind and were extremely good.

There are barstool experts all over the county, grown men fascinated and obesessed with one of our county players in particular. Just like there are barstool experts all over the country when Mayo lose, grown men similarly obsessed with one individual. Your inference that Mayo managers should question including Breaffy players belongs at the bar in my opinion.

Should we ditch Paddy Durcan and Mitchels players because they can't get out of the group stages, a county town not being able to get out of a group, surely they're mentally fragile?... Should we not look at any young lads from Claremorris because they can't get out of the group. Do we wait until these young lads prove something with their club before they get looked at? Do we not look at the likes of Kuba, a rare scoring forward, because they couldn't beat Ballina?

None of the Mayo squad have won Sam, should we just ditch them all. You'll struggle to field a County team if you hold all players or clubs to the standard you're holding Breaffy to.

I did see your comment referring to the diabolical collapse which suggests a criticism of letting a commanding lead collapse. This contrasts with your assertion that they are generally winning games they have no right to due to ability. Paddy Durcan and the Mitchells have won county titles so that's not a good reference point. Similarly Ballina, Westport, Ballintubber in recent times.

If the other teams you mentioned lost 5 county finals and blew another lead like yesterday yes I would also be critical so it's not about picking on players from a particular club.

I would also be critical of certain players who have no performed for Mayo in AI finals. Some players have performed very well though.

You seem to think im holding Breaffy to an unrealistic standard. Nope they are clearly a team that had the footballing ability to win at least one county final. This has been undermined by a weak mentality.

@Westernview I think that's a terrible take. Both Ballina & Crossmolina won All Irelands and dug out some serious games. Flipping your rationale, they have the winning mentality that Breaffy don't but it didn't map out to them being able to close the deal for Mayo

Don't get what point you are trying to make. Yes they dug out results and won county titles and all irelands. Breaffy have repeatedly fail to do so. That's my point.

All ireland intercounty is a different level. Players good enough at club level aren't often not good enough to play AI finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

was at the Crossmolina game, if you can call it that. We left before the end to beat the traffic which my dad never does…first time seeing young Kobe in the flesh, wow…

Carnacon relegated to intermediate, hard to believe it's only a few years since they had almost total dominance in the county.

Was at the two knockmore games, 1st one was a non-event and the 2nd was a hard enough watch - Liam Durcan, Darren Mchale & Kevin Mcloughlin (2nd half sub) were best for us. We'll need to be much better to beat Ballina.

Hard not to see Cross winning the other semi final, they looked very good today

Ballina 6/4

Crossmolina 2/1

Knockmore & Westport 4/1

Seems about right based on form so far but Westport will be a big challenge for Crossmolina.

Pity the semis are not a double header in Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,534 ✭✭✭✭km79

Heaven and earth should be moved to keep him playing football in Mayo.
    He should be in the senior set up at the earliest but most sensible opportunity!

If we leave it too late we may never see him again

I can't say I agree re Castlebar, it's a disaster for the atmosphere playing club games there with only a few k rattling around in McHale park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

You reckon the Aussies might be looking to poach him? Not sure he's exactly their type of specimen, yet anyway…

Ideally a ground like Ballina would be developed as a second lower capacity stadium for staging these club matches but obviously that isn't going to happen any time soon. The next best option in my view is to have it in MacHale park, especially as we are now at semifinal stage. The best surface and the cover for all spectators and more likely to draw more neutrals to watch 2 games comfort. Up to quarter finals stage club venues were fine.