Fighter jets for the Air Corps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭exiledawaynothere

We need to hurry up and make a decision to procure. We need to recognize that everything has changed and we need to be at one with Europe. No one will expect us to develop an army, navy and Air Force from near scratch but we do have to make moves in that direction. I was wondering can we already do some recruitment for assignment to other countries (where they will get training).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭exiledawaynothere

of course they will. They did that with the port tunnel back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭sparky42

Without question, there will be endless "this is how much housing/hospital/schools/public servants could be paid for" articles, you'll have the "NEUTRALITY" wing screaming that we're all on the way to an "EU MILITARY"…

It's Ireland, expecting a rational comment and discussion on defence matters is a forlorn hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,639 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

If you want peace prepare for war, ancient Chinese proverb.

We still haven't made a decision on the Primary Radar systems, something that literally could have been done within months at most from accepting LoA2. There's Feck all interest in the Cabinet and absolute outright refusal from the department to even think about anything being sped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,887 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The media is a spectrum. Those with a left wing bent, or based in the UK will.

Those with more nuanced writers and columnists on security matters will refer to the controversy of it but also justify it.

Government is always a thing that should be conducted in a way that is right, rather than popular, however in our system it doesn't often happen. Hopefully this Government, as we see with their approach to the Dublin Airport cap and their plan to obviate vexatious judicial review petitions, will begin to govern more for the greater good than for short term populism or fashions, and they will carry forward that approach to defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think the fact the Left are not in this Irish government makes a more pro-active approach to rearmament more possible, though FF seem more reluctant than FG.

Ireland is a tech powerhouse. We need to remove the burdensome regulations so we can build a domestic arms industry, though of course we should not export to Israel.

We also need to reform bureaucratic decisionmaking in the Department of Defence so that procurement decisions don't have to many hurdles and so the civilian leadership does not get in the way too much because of trying to cut costs. We have an enormous surplus, yet less capability than we had 50 years ago when we had an intercept capability.

The way its set up now is in part a legacy of the Civil War and De Valera's distrust of the largely pro-Treaty army in 1933-48.

Even under LoA3 or some magically 4 level of funding, we'd never have enough domestic demand for high end, while at the same time getting into competition with established defence industries is more likely to end up with massive subsidies.

We should grow our military to Danish levels. Denmark is a smaller economy than Ireland with a similar population.

We are a rich country. We need to get out of the 1980s mindset of being a poor country, unable to afford things. We supposedly can afford the most expensive hospital in the world.

comparing economic figures is a mugs game with our GDP, that’s just fact. Moreover sustaining such high end defence industry either requires a) significant long term domestic defence spending or b) massive subsidies to go chasing export orders, as can be seen all over from the US to European firms. Would it be the sensible investment path for Ireland, I’d say no. Far to many established large scale firms/nations that are already far beyond what we can.

Moreover even looking at an example of Denmark, even their defence industries are limited.

its hard to square our states revolutionary origins with pacifism, as some on the Socialist-Republicans do.

Meh, many of the same socialist republicans think any threat will be dealt with by the entire population magically forming Flying Columns and defeating a hostile force even though we have no national service. Utter Fantasy of the highest order, but a hundred years of it shows how divorced we are about the realities of military operations.

Though this has gone slightly off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think a naval service with the capability of shooting something threating us out of the sky as well as an air force with fighter jets shouldn't be too much to ask for a "rich country", - if neutrality and sovereignty are to be taken seriously.

Currently the Irish naval services are a better police plus coast guard, nothing more and the Irish Air Corps is far away from something like a "force".

As long as the Republic of Ireland has some sort of defence agreement with the British, the RAF doing the job Ireland is supposed to do, I am wondering, if the Republic of Ireland is still a sovereign country or only just some apendix of the British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

The probelm is not buying the hardware or even the spare parts or fuel or expendables.

The problem is staff. Trying to get professionals into the military in this country is proving to be extermely difficult (Just look at the Navy)

The problem can be traced back to the cost of living crisis and the absolutely outragous price of housing. Like if you're going to serve the country, the least you'd expect out of it is somewhere to live.

It's not to hard to get soldiers, but getting aircraft engineers, pilots, aircraft handlers, weapons techicians, building maintence crews, logistics crews, etc. is VERY hard. As people have to enlist and are locked into a job that (with the exception of a weapons techicians) pays less than half of what they could get in the private sector.

This is why the Navy has no paramedics of chefs

You compare to Denmark
    Rent in Denmark for a 3 bed apartment is around €1500, in Dublin it's usually over the €3000 mark, And over €2500 if within 20 miles of Dublin

Interestingly, Irish Officers are among the best paid in europe
    https://euromil.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/Working-Paper-Major-GS-Ren%C3%A9-Schulz-with-Annex.pdf
    You can see on page 11 that Ireland is right down the bottom when it comes to purchasing parity for average pay for enlisted men and non-commissioned officers - And this is where the problem is.

They would have to offer housing to those who serve in the Air Corps. The discussion about fighter jets is to have them stationed in Shannon, - that is if it ever happes. Airport is big enough, enough open space for exercise, enough space for repair and maintenance and they would have to build houses for them, with either a fixed set rent or some low interest mortgage for their service.

Apart from that the housing crisis is cripling the whole country. Either greed by landlords, poor political decisons and supply kept limited due to small minded thinking resulting in those who can leaving the country.

We have a lot of open space in rural areas that could be used.

There is little chance of dedicated family housing for the DF, cause as soon as they open up that genie then you will have the Gardaí and the other frontline services jumping in and that ends up serious money. Finance will never accept it.

As to the housing crisis, a fundamental issue that is ignored is the reality that the Crash shattered the construction sector, and it's never recovered in terms of workforce, it's not like there is another 100K trades people sitting at home waiting for the price to go up another 10%, the sector can't build the fantasy numbers each party put out.

Because what we need is more rural low density dispersed housing…

But again, seems well off-topic at this stage.

We stick out like a sore thumb as an undefended island in the Atlantic. A tempting target for Russia or China if a NATO-Russia war broke out. In World War 2, when Denmark fell, the UK occupied Iceland and the US occupied Greenland. Iceland was granted independence while the US remained in Greenland but returned civilian control to Denmark. But Nazi Germany would likely not have been so generous, especially to the indigenous peoples.

Its a gamble we are taking, not investing in our defence.

An armed neutrality might be a sensible compromise. Being neutral but armed like Switzerland, or like Finland and Sweden were during the Cold War.

The Left including Clare Daly say we couldnt defend ourselves anyway, so theres no point in spending on defence. But Ukraine has shown that a smaller country can hold out for a long time, until foreign aid arrives. In this case the foreign aid was weaponry. Also while I dont approve of Israels wars (I am 50:50 regarding 1948 because both sides committed similar atrocities, and the UN had endorsed Israel's existence), they nonetheless show a smaller country can defeat much larger ones (1948. 1967, 1973) with the right weapons.

I believe TK Whitaker once described it to a meeting of DF officers as like "driving without insurance or a licence and betting you won't meet the Gardaí, fine if you can get away with it, problem if not".

We've been getting away with it since 1922, and a whole host of factors have built up around that making things hard to change.

This is a sentimentality about attachment to neutrality from people who feel they are carrying the De Valeran flame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Randycove

The navy and air corps are no different to any other job as far as staff attraction goes. If you want to attract people you have to create an attractive proposition. Flying turbo prop trainer aircraft and OPVs that spend 90% of their time off the Irish coast isn’t going to attract many people. The chance to work on the latest in avionics or take part in joint exercises in the Red Sea is going to naturally attract people to join the forces.

It's more than just that, you have the Left/Tankie position of anything defence spending is "NATO/EU CONSCRIPTION!", you've got the DoD hostility and Finance wanting the DF dead and gone, and the indifference of the politicians since the UK carries the can and has done since 1922.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Soc_Alt

Build apartments owned by the government to house DF employees who work on the base where the fighter jets are stationed.

The DOD ran down base housing as they had issues with families overstaying, but that's not even the main point, as I've pointed out we've already had other Front line services asking for either housing or special pay for housing in high price areas in the pay talks, Finance is not going to open up that question when the potential industrial unrest is there, not when you consider how large the rest of the Frontline numbers are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I'd agree with you, that's one hell of a Genie too. And you're correct about the crash.

Going a little off topic, but I genuinely believe the housing crisis is artifically created by a few very powerful developers who "Won't get out of bed for less than €10,000 a day"
    The fact that they have so much money stashed away, and all their trade "employees" are actually constractors, means they can just shut up shop tomorrow with little to no consequences, if the price of property were to begin dipping, they'll just cut back or stop.

This is turn is having a very negative effect on all front line services, not just the military.

I'd have to disagree, apart from the fact that most "developers" basically still operate from one development to another using one to pay off the last (hence one of the reasons why apartment blocks are such an issue to build), but there's still the host of factors from planning and objections to services and again the critical point, the trades to do the building. The other point I'd would add is that the same block of trades people are also meant to be retrofitting existing housing stock, building new public infrastructure (ie everything from schools to garda stations) to whatever else…

There's only so much that can be done, hence why it doesn't matter how much money the Government tries throwing at the issue, or how many targets they set.

I think Ireland should join NATO. Looking at Poland, you'll see that even Poland can't go it alone if the Russians are having a go. Irish neutrality is some sort of lie. A naval service more like a coast guard, and an air force, which is none, RAF from Scotland for certain emergencies.

And even if Ireland is to stay neutral, Ireland would need to spend more, more on a real air force, with real fighter jets, to the tune of 10 to 15 planes at least, and a navy which is a bit more than just a coast guard, something with surface to air missiles, and to shoot something down if necessary.

The attitude "nobody is going to attack us", "who's going to invade us" and "now we're a rich country" and "evil Brits" doesn't work anymore, - same as appeasing some radical republicans.

Ireland can't be sovereign as a country if Ireland can't defend itself, or at least make it rather difficult for an invading force.

Neutrality is not an identity, - unless Ireland had a defence industry like Switzerland, and a military like Switzerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,887 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The principle has already been conceded.

46 apartments at the Boland's Mills development on Grand Canal Dock in Dublin are occupied by people who qualified to be there by virtue of being a frontline worker (teacher, Garda, medic etc) based within 1.5 kms of the building. They get a one-third discount on market rents, subsided by the State.

And so there should be no issue whatsoever constructing dedicated housing for DF service personnel and their families, on or near duty stations, provided they not provided for free, but at a sustainable economic value, or where rent is differentialy applied to their incomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,127 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Most of the social housing being provided in the state is being built and operated by housing associations , usually with seed capital ,or backing from the state , but off balance sheet ..

Each have their own rules , and conditions, but

Nothing stopping the state backing a housing association to provide housing to members of the military , or the gardai , and / or medical staff -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦