If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Had to look him up. Never heard about any of those events.
    He wasn’t a career criminal, that was a false rumour. He did have mental health issues.

However, he did threaten everyone in a shop with a knife and wouldn’t back down so he got what he deserved and in 2024 the Gardaí were rightly exonerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Since I recently started posting again here I've discovered most of my opinions are 'controversial' and so is my sense of humour.

You can't give an opinion or crack a joke without offending someone and apparently that's now 'unacceptable'.

Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Zionist.

You don't have a right to invade somebody else's borders, that's a declaration of war and gives carte blanche to your own extermination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Why not discuss this on the Israel/Palestine thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭Hoop66

He literally said they "are a price worth paying", that's not condoning shootings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭89897

Exactly, claiming he was fine cause he never actually shot anyone is really scrapping the bottom of the barrell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭Irish History

I understand - but that's their way of life. If the people there want to change their way of life, they will.

I think the problem is they don't want the west interfering in their affairs and trying to impose western ideals on their way of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,068 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The "it's their way of life" thing is amazingly condescending, those that don't agree don't have the right to object, if they'd rather not be imprisoned and keep their head attached to their shoulders. So huge numbers of people who would rather not have to live that "way of life" 🙄 are forced to keep silent and outwardly conform. This is why their educated sons and daughters want to live in the West to get away from that crap.

Similar here in the "glory" days of Catholic Ireland - you had maybe 10% true believers, 20% who were fairly keen, 40% who just wanted a quiet life (and needed to stay in the good books of the right people to keep their business/job) and 30% who knew it was all bollox but it was going to be fairly bad for them if they said anything. We had the escape valve of Britain and America, many who left actually had decent jobs here but couldn't take the hypocrisy

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭New Scottman

That was just a general point.
    When specific shootings or massacres occurred, Kirk did not come out & say that the shooter was right to commit murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Charlie Kirk will be sadly missed by millions. A great man beloved by American youth, debating modern day issues on college campuses up and down the USA. Never afraid to debate a topic thrown at him by students. Always entertaining to listen in his exchanges, sometimes he had a point, sometimes he was wrong, sometimes controversial, yet everybody was free to agree or disagree with him ….

That debate is now over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

Israel can have Palestine.

China can have Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Russian can have eastern Ukraine.

In Ireland it is much more important to me that we fix our infrastructure, housing and crime issues than look anywhere outside of our borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,068 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We should stop funding things in Northern Ireland. Not our problem to solve.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Just binge watched the traitors. It's good but there were similar reality shows a quarter of a century ago, probably as good.

Treasure Island in 2001 and 2002 had a lot of the same intrigue and voting out players.

People are losing the run of themselves a bit about The Traitors.

'A nest of scheming bastards; they couldn't agree on the colour of shite.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭purifol0

If it weren't for X, we would be completely engulfed by a fully top-down controlled media, that includes the "independent" Press, our national media and (sadly) social media sites like Reddit.

Musk buying Twitter was a good thing for freedom of the press, the voice of the everyman, and ultimately for democracy itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

You ok, hon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

The north side of Dublin is an infinitely better place than the south side.

Like for like northside has a much better offering all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 randomcorkman

Why did he stop calling for the release of the Epstein files? The answer reveals his whole personality. Spoiler alert, it doesn't conform to your hagiography.

Why would a self-proclaimed man of faith dedicate himself to re-electing a serial adulterer, pathological liar and friend of Epstein.

I'm not sure what position you're arguing from so have no idea what you're asking. Kirk called for the release of the Epstein files, was contacted by the White House and then stopped. Why would a 'good Christian' do that? So the grifting can continue of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Exactly. In the USA today the Biblical laws are very selectively applied.

'A nest of scheming bastards; they couldn't agree on the colour of shite.'

If you truly believe that you need to log off the internet forever.

It's also completely stupid, especially about your last paragraph, because we would get a shitload more Ukrainians if eastern Ukraine was handed over to the fascist Russians.

It’s not necessarily directed at Kirk, but it’s very safe to say that faith plays a massive role in the identity of the MAGA movement who are really the tea party (that movement died a death after Trump’s tax breaks) and are also composed of the usual Christian conservatives. These are the people that will tell you how important faith is to them, that how America needs god and morals etc. , bit come election time they vote for the pussy grabbing serial adulterer. If they can’t take their faith seriously, don’t expect others to.

Also in relation to a post above about how great the everything app is, it’s very obvious that the people in the podcast/online business are more concerned about delivering “news” as quickly as possible and not as accurately as possible to their customers. Audience capture and rage baiting has become a massive part of online business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I cannot see anything positive about Musk buying twitter

It might help lead to his downfall, as it exposes more people to his BS. The man has promised way too much and is trying to make Tesla an AI and robotics company.

You all can't see the forest for the trees. You can analyze and find fault with him easily thats not the issue, the issue is that he was murdered during civil debate AND the reaction to his death by the "left" wingers.

And make no mistake these left wingers are overwhelmingly impressionable young people some of who are in their early 30's, who have been psy op'd into thinking anyone who has his beliefs is a nazi and its ok to kill nazis….for the last 15 years by their mostly female teachers at all education levels.

So we have psyop, I wonder what else there is to come out.

Sorry are you saying there hasnt been a massive psy op campaign propagated across the entire media landscape since 2009 to push things like transgenderism, the patriarchy, racism etc. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Everlong1

If I could give this a million likes I would. "But but but the lovely warm feeling you get from vinyl and the gatefold sleeves!" F*ck off you patchouli stinking old hippy. €50 for a new album my ar*e.