Mens Rights Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tigger123

I'm a guy. And I have an aging father.

Why the aging father comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I think your reading too much into it, everyone's father is probably aging, maybe the poster also has an aging father, and it was more about their own experience.

You understand more what your father done for you and his family more, not when you both young and free, but later in life when your older yourself, as old as you father once was when he took care of you the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭iptba

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2025/09/05/the-cmat-song-and-the-claim-about-suicide-during-the-economic-crash-is-it-accurate/

Is CMAT’s claim about suicide during the economic crash accurate?
    A noticeable increase in Irish male suicide from 2007 onwards ‘can be mapped directly’ against the economic crash

[..]

Kelly says the noticeable increase in Irish male suicide from 2007 onwards can be mapped directly against the economic crash. Recorded suicides had been dropping in Ireland as prosperity and employment increased throughout the boom, but as the construction sector began slowing, the trend was quickly reversed.

He cites research by the National Suicide Research Foundation (NSRF) showing that the rate of male suicide between the years of 2007 and 2012 was 57 per cent higher than it would have been had the economy not crashed.
    “There was no other plausible cause of sufficient magnitude at the time,” he says.

[..]

Kelly says that across Europe during the “Great Recession” of this period male suicide increases “were significantly associated” with increases in the unemployment rate. For every 1 per cent increase in unemployment, they rose by 0.9 per cent.

Ireland bore this out, he says.

More than 40 per cent of the recorded cases between September 2008 and March 2012 were among men who had worked in construction – a sector that laid off some 200,000 workers during that period.

I found this interesting for 2 reasons:
    (i) it is often claimed that women were worst hit by the 2008 recession/crash
    (ii) the connection between unemployment and male suicide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭daithi7

Thanks for sharing @iptba , but where did you derive your contention that:

(i) it is often claimed that women were worst hit by the 2008 recession/crash

I've never seen anything stating that previously, and I think there is a general understanding of the opposite tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭purifol0

M8 women are literally told that they are the primary victims in war never mind the recession.

https://www.concern.net/news/international-womens-day-how-conflict-disproportionately-targets-women

Think thats bad?

"War Shatters Dating Scene for Women in Ukraine"

www.nytimes.com/2024/08/04/world/europe/ukraine-war-dating.html

I can’t remember where I saw it but saw it claimed in recent years, possibly by politicians. One metric cited was because women are more dependent on social welfare payments.

Here is a page from the National Women’s Council from 2012:

Increasing evidence is emerging that the recession is having a disproportionate impact on women internationally and in Irish society. Yet, public discussions and policy development and discourse about the recession and its impacts are not informed by any type of gender analysis. The National Women's Council, in association with TASC, has identified the need to highlight the disproportionate impact of the current recession on women and to inform public debate and policy development.

Speakers will include: Pauline Conroy and Ursula Barry, authors of Ireland 2008-2012 Untold Story of the Crisis - Gender, Equality and Inequalities and Thora Thorsdottir, author of Gender (in)equality in recession and recovery: the case of Iceland (forthcoming).

Another example:

The State continues to fail women and girls in health, employment and education, the United Nations has been told.

A report from the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission says austerity has disproportionately affected women, while women who were in Magdalene laundries or subject to symphysiotomies have been denied access to justice.

The post 2008 recession was nicknamed the mancession by economists. Most people havent heard this though, espeically in Ireland where most private sector workers are male (and lost their jobs) and public sector workers are female, all kept their jobs via unprecedented tax payer bailout.

Retrospective analysis of Irish austerity budgets, in particular, highlights the gendered nature of Irish fiscal policy, as successive budgets disproportionately disadvantaged women.

According to the think tank Tasc, the European Union Silc (survey on income and living conditions) reports and the Department of Social Protection’s ex-post budget analysis, lone-parent households, the vast majority of whom are headed by women, were hardest hit by Irish budgets.

[..]

Dr Clara Fischer is an academic based at UCD and a founder of the Equality Budgeting Campaign

Look frankly, the Irish Women's Council are just a sexist , highly biased, prejudiced lobbying group. I wouldn't hold any mass in anything they publish or promote tbh, because it's all driven by that agenda.

However, my cursory understanding of the 2008 recession & economic depression that followed, was that it was pretty clear as construction & property development & related sectors (e.g. civil eng, architecture, etc) were the hardest hit, and since the vast majority of people who work in these sectors are/ were men, then it was pretty obvious it was a recession that affected men more or a "mancession" if you prefer.

Surely, that was & is obvious!?

I agree that a strong case can be made that men were worse hit by the recession. But most of those interested in examining and highlighting gender issues (not just the National Women’s Council) seem to be feminists who often don’t particularly like highlighting men having it worse and do like highlighting problems women may face and tend to say on lots of things women are worse affected. Gender and women’s studies courses and departments tend to be quite biased and encourage bias in students.

A satirical example mentioned here before was if an asteroid wiped out society, good chance it would be claimed by some that women were worse affected.

@iptba oh, I absolutely 100% agree with that alright. The media in Ireland are so pro feminist & women's issues, that they seem bordering on being totally misandrist at times because of how little coverage they give to 'male' issues & how they report on men.

E.g. it's a well known fact that girls have been out performing boys in secondary education for several decades now. One might ask so what?

Well if all the medicine, finance & dentistry courses are over subscribed by girls, as they have been for many years now, then all of these professions are going to have to endure far more maternity leave, and women stepping back to concentrate on being part time or full time mothers., which will lead to an overall shortage of people qualified & working in these professions.

Of course, there is also the fairness issue in this, that by failing to address the needs of adolescent boys the education system is damning them to be less qualified, remunerated & fulfilled in their careers than the high pointing girls. That will lead to all sorts of societal issues.

If this was the other way around, & girls were habitually hugely underscoring in the points race for college place versus their male peers, do you think the media & all the related, myriad of lobby groups would be so quiet!?

Not a chance, there'd be research every other day from the IWC, or other, how the education was failing girls, the media would be having a hissy fit, the UN human rights charter would be brandished to bully our politicians to actually do something about equality in accessing good education .....

But here in Ireland, nothing. Just total complicit silence, cos it's the boys & young men losing out on the best courses & careers and not the other way around Imho.... this is sad but true imho.

P.s. if there was half the fuss about boys losing out in secondary education as there is about increasing the participation of girls in sport for instance, this would be some progress, in that half of something is surely better than nothing!?

Lads the hard part for me was listening to women I consider the smart ones, who all blindly parrot back the stuff they've been hearing without any critical thinking because deep down they really want to agree with it and enjoy being the victim.

I literally had to listen to a woman in HSE admin say that woman aren't taken seriously by doctors and the medical industry as medication is only ever tested on men.

Yes dear, in the same way as new weapons technology is only ever tested on men. Poor men can make money by signing away their rights to be experimented on as human guinea pigs, while poor women are given free welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭cms88

The girls in sport thing is wild to me. It would be interesting to see how many boys drop out of sport after school. Without knwing and based on people i went to school with etc it would likely be around the same just that the age would be a bit higher.

Got presented with two Irish ads relating to helping keep girls in sports in the last 24 hours on Facebook so they’re getting money from somewhere to promote this issue.

‘Dehumanizing the male’. Book review (2020)

“3-Limiting male problems to purely internal issues based on gender roles. Males suffer social pressures to prevent expressing their feelings and they are constrained by their role as providers and protectors, but all they have to do to solve their problems is to change their attitude, learn how to communicate better and ask for help. This approach is present, for example, in the subject of suicide. The discussion of female suicide tends to be focus on external factors: the living conditions of women, the stress they endure, etc. When talking about male suicide, on the other hand, the main focus is on internal factors: men don’t cry, they have to be tough, they can’t ask for help, etc. Why is it not possible to conceive that perhaps men commit suicide at higher rates because they have harsh and stressful living conditions that turn their lives into hell?”

“In contrast, traditionally, men don’t demand protection. The woman who demands protection doesn’t lose her femininity, but the man who asks for it does damage his reputation as a man in the eyes of society, who perceive him as less than a man (in the case of traditionalism) or as a privileged person who pretends to be a victim and has no right to complain (in the case of feminism). Men do not demand protection, men protect others and especially themselves. A man who is not able to protect himself is simply regarded as not being man enough.”

I think these highlight difficulties in tackling men’s issues. And a reason why building a men’s movement is challenging: many people will want to stay anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Sn@kebite

You don't receive a backpat from institutions like academia or local governments when you speak about male issues. You don't win awards for talking about boys' eating disorders or educational difficulties. You get seen as a menace, a renegade. People become wary of you as if you are representing the "evil sex" as something other than demonic.

It's true that when you humanize men or boys it's frowned upon as some sort of behavioural problem you are displaying.

I remember Dr. Richard Reeves in a yt video saying he wanted to write the "Of boys and men" book and he said everyone around him told him not to. They told him it's not the right thing to do to talk about challenges boys are facing and how to help them. (I think he was alluding to the sentiment that you are "supposed" to write on how toxic boys are or how evil men are, that's what he should be doing.)

I think this is slowly changing.

Almost three-quarters of State’s top earners are men, report showsCSO data says males account for 72.4 per cent of earners in top one per cent bracket in 2024

Notice the photo suggesting the data is due to bias. Nothing in the article suggests any other reason.

I went to the CSO release and there is nothing to suggest figures such as the following aren’t at least partly due to different working hours, with men working longer and much, much less likely to be working part-time.

“The figures showed that female PAYE workers, working at least 50 weeks a year, earned on average 30 per cent less than their male counterparts last year, (€49,022 versus €63,520).”

If average pay gap was 30% per hour we would have heard about it.

“Even in sectors where women dominate the workforce, like health and education, they are far less likely than men to feature among the highest earners,” he said.”

Yes, because in health, quite a lot of the male workers are in high pay professions like dentistry and medicine while women are spread across lots of different types of jobs.

And in education, I recall hearing in the past that men were much more likely to go for principal positions than women.

But this article and indeed the CSO press release contain none of this nuance. This can lead to discrimination against men or so-called positive discrimination for women.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/people/arid-41715693.html

I feel sympathy for shorter men reading this article in the Irish Examiner. While having dating preferences is fine, this contains some insensitive language/phrasing in my opinion.

Not an exact fit for this thread perhaps but I’m not convinced the paper would publish an equivalent article where a man talked about not dating fat/similar women and listing reasons why they found them unattractive. And people in general have a lot more control over whether or not they have a lot of extra weight compared to their height.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,373 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Stop posting insults and misogynistic comments. I've removed three posts and may close the thread if this continues.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,475 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The way they phrase it

“The figures showed that female PAYE workers, working at least 50 weeks a year, earned on average 30 per cent less than their male counterparts...”

Makes it sound like they're comparing like for like jobs, rather than an average for the whole workforce

Liberals must stop adopting lazy, woke stances on complex issues

Political and social liberalism, nationally and internationally, is more vulnerable than ever

Discussion of LGBTQIA+ aspects of this would be off-topic for this thread, but this bit is more relevant (I think there were one or more threads on this but I would likely be criticised for re-starting them as they wouldn’t have recent posts):

”In the podcast, McCrea mentions the modern use of the term “sex worker” as a neutral term for a prostitute. This is a reminder of an Act passed in 2017 which makes payment for sex criminal, but someone now referred to as a “sex worker” is not doing anything illegal by receiving payment.

Imagine a court case concerning a mature woman arrested without warrant under section 13 of the Criminal Justice (Sexual Offences) Act 1993 – as amended by section 25 of the Criminal Justice (Sexual Offences) Act 2017 – because a garda reasonably suspected her of having paid an adult male escort for engaging in sexual activity.

You might think that the case absurd. You might think: “How come she is being prosecuted, and he isn’t?” Until 2017, neither of them would have committed a criminal offence.

About one man a week is now prosecuted for paying for sex, but no woman has yet been prosecuted for paying a male escort for sex. Tabloid newspapers tell us that both forms of the sex trade are thriving in Ireland. Online advertising evidence confirms that. Has the 2017 Act reduced exploitative prostitution or merely camouflaged its public profile?”

It would be interesting to know the numbers in terms of men and women buying sex to see to what extent there might be bias.

I recall there was an Irish consultation on the suggestion that only the purchaser of sex would be prosecuted where I argued it was an odd way of doing things, that usually the supplier of illegal products (I don’t think I used that wording) was the one most punished. But I got the impression afterwards it was already a done deal with the people involved (including Ivana Bacik if I recall correctly) already having made their mind up. If I recall correctly (this was many years ago), the report on the consultation appeared to be biased.

@iptba was that the Nordic model bacik wanted about 10 years ago or so? I was under the impresssion it was already brought in, at the time there were 3 women justices in power. It essentially criminalises male behaviour as predatory and classes the female prostitutes as "oppressed". It's similar to JK Rowling and her confederates (Julie Blindel et. al.) who class pornography as hate and violence against women. There's a thread on boards about it. It's ideologically driven in my opinion.

The lazy ideological approaches are often applied to education where when boys require help in language it's written off as male privilege has just been eroded, there is not problem for boys in school. Whereas for girls lagging in physics/maths there is unholy hell levels of pandemonium in government supports, mentorships, workshops and scholarships because it's obviously male privilege is still active.

It's true these gender/sex/race issues are extremely complex and cannot be decided by a liberal flow-chart system of "x group = oppressed" while "y group = oppressor" so in school for example, girls are x and boys are y. Which is the system I see being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭cms88

The point on schools supports is a good one. Again this week we have Women in Business Week. When businesses purely because they are started by women will get endless amounts of support.

On differences in pay between genders this Irish Times article includes

“All the research suggests that men are much better at demanding money than women; women tend to undervalue themselves professionally,” she says.

So that's the opposite of discrimination by the employer.

ETA: Apologies the font is so big. I am having difficulty fixing it.

Post edited by iptba on

I personally think pay should be set on experience years and performance. Not based on negotiation, confident people can just demand more even if they're the same skill as less confident people.

The problem with this now is the government/EU will likely develop yet another multi-million euro programme to help women negotiate pay. Similar to what Obama did in the US. Not that that's bad but not all young men have confidence to demand higher pay. Similarly when boys are excluded from "girl-only" maths programmes funded by public finances it means boys who struggle in that area are blocked from getting help.

Irish Examiner article by a child psychotherapist that highlights how boys may be missing out in current merit points systems

"A 2024 review found that girls receive better classroom grades, despite achieving comparable standardised scores, mainly because teachers value non-cognitive skills — such as organisation, neatness, and cooperation — that girls are socialised to develop."

I RECENTLY spoke to a polite and articulate 15-year-old boy who told me he had earned a total of 15 merit points since starting secondary school three years ago. His younger sister, only three months into her first year, had already accumulated 55 merit points. He complained that his parents had started comparing him negatively to his sibling. While defending his behaviour in class, he described what he saw as a system that worked in favour of girls.

"A 2024 review found that girls receive better classroom grades, despite achieving comparable standardised scores, mainly because teachers value non-cognitive skills — such as organisation, neatness, and cooperation — that girls are socialised to develop."

==
    It is possible boys could be disadvantaged with the major changes to the Leaving Cert with a substantial amount mark coming from continual assessment.We saw when teacher’ predicted grades were used for the Leaving Cert, they disadvantaged boys/advantaged girls when the statistics were compared to historical records.

They explain some factors that contribute to the difference

”Nevertheless, among sector organisers in general, in a role that often involves travel across the country and unsociable hours, men remain the majority – just as women are the clear majority in our administrative roles,” he said.”

”Siptu’s report showed that 71pc of men received vouchers for travel obligations, while just 36pc of women got them. The report said all vouchers awarded were of the same amount.”

A total of 83.2pc of men received non-cash benefits in kind, compared with 38.9pc of women. The report said pensions are not technically a benefit in kind, so this category primarily relates to car insurance.It said car insurance is paid for for workers whose roles require considerable amounts of travel.“There is a gender pay gap at Siptu because the gender split within different roles in the union is not identical,” the report said. “More union organisers are men than women. Women predominate in our administration grades.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,016 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

I have a question about this sort of thing: does anyone think that teachers were LESS strict back in the day than they are now?

I mean, why are boys suddenly unable to sit still and listen when presumably they've been doing so for generations? The school system was designed for boys by men, initially, and I'm pretty sure that back when many girls didn't get much education, and when teachers were all male, that wasn't a time when boys' behaviour in the classroom was accepted as being more physical etc. I would even put money down that it was the exact opposite.

So I'm not convinced about this theory that boys can't be expected to sit still and listen, and that girls are at an advantage because they can do it. Girls are at an advantage because they do do it. Maybe schools just need to stop letting boys get away with unacceptable behaviour? That way the boys will learn too?

There's a lot more going on in schools than just which gender sits still. The entire environment is different, reduction in physical activity, increase in group work and social skills, biological maturity differences which affect reading skills. Girls see more female teachers creating rolemodel imbalances in education. They are more represented.

We also see ideological approaches enforced by (feminist) teachers. That is,; when girls lag in ANY subject there is pandemonium among female educators that that gap shouldn't be there, while implementation of workshops, grants, mentorship classes, scholarships by female teachers are set up. When boys lag in any subject it's seen as a "good" gap by said female teachers, as in boys are just not as good or have lost their privileges.

I dont think boys are behind just because they can't sit still. Itvmay be a symptomof having difficulty focusing or feeling education isnt for them.

And no, it (school) wasn't designed for boys, it was designed for boys from privileged backgrounds. Who still do quite well just not quite as well as girls, but they often go to uni. The boys who lag in school today are boys who have always lagged, it's just gotten worse.