If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

every young lad needs to get out of home and go travel

Or work at something else for a while ….your only young once and life moves pretty quick ….travelling and doing something other than farming for a bit has so many advantages for a young person …so many life skills to learn …you’ll become street smart to things and it’s good to mix with people from different cultures and way of life …I gave 10 years working off farm and no way would I swap it …it gave so many experiences and opportunities ….at 18/29/20 any young person would be stone mad to come straight home and go farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,036 ✭✭✭straight

There is some horror stories about family farms and succession. I don't really understand it myself. It seems alot of people don't even want the land but they want the money. Strange carry on.

It's another reason why family should be sent away to make their own life first and make their own way. My parents decided to split everything evenly as they could so we all ended up with small farms and no bitterness that I know about at least.

Maybe one of my brothers is a bit envious alright. He's the one that never went outside the 3 mile limit or held down a job outside of agriculture. Wears the uniform, smokes, loves machinery. Never broadened his horizons.

I never hung around with that many young farmers but I used to hear the odd bit of bitching about grabbing land off parents and stuff. Never understood that carry on.

I was always happy to stand on my own 2 feet and I always felt obliged to help my parents every chance I got. They saw fit that I should take over a farm then so I qùit my job and moved the family. I was doing fine out without it too. Looking forward to passing it on to one of my children or some kind of collaborative arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Did you start your job at 25 or go to college after school and get a degree and find a good job. Slightly different from a 25 year old walking off a farm. No point in doing an apprenticeship unless he wants to work in that field. If it’s a good farm even without the 20 acres my advice would be have it out with the father that you need it in your name within 2 years or walk away from it. If he has no siblings it’s easier. Also if there are siblings there chances are he will never get that 20 acres.

where there’s land and money and assets you get to see peoples true colours when the pinch comes …..greed and sense of entitlement pop there head up

did leaving cert …went to gurteen and all I wanted to do was farm ….farm wasn’t big enough …dad too young to hand it over or allow me any sort decent wage so I got job in local coop and bit after that went to local bog multinational in town ….dad was very straight with me and gave me lots of input into managing farm and decision making …I was disappointed but deep down I knew he was right …10 years later dad was ready to hand over and I packed the job in …..those 10 years allowed me experience some valuable life skills that carried to farming as well as travel …having money to do things and mixing with so many different people …at 19/20 if I went farming I wouldn’t of got that

In situation been discussed here if that person can’t see a clear path it’s time to make there own one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭older by the day

Everyone one here is correct. And the answer is the problem is the lack of communication.

Our young 25yr comrade is going to have to figure out what he wants himself (write it down) and clearly tell whom it concerns.

They say uncertainty kills the market. But you need a plan. Even if it's a few years away.

Personally since I lost 1/3 of my cows to TB last year. I feel I'm only going through the motions of doing my jobs. As there is still badgers and lots of tb locally I question every thing I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Fair sense on entitlement from the younger posters.

I’m at retirement age. Daughter doesn’t want to know about farming even though she’s more than capable.
    My thoughts on passing on a substantial asset…either pony up or I’ll dispose of it as I see fit.
    Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

In his initial post he says 'the father reckons I should be living on 30k as I'll be getting the farm in the future'. That implies he doesn't think 30k is an adequate wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I know your aboard so maybe a little different but if a farm was passed down to you in a timely fashion I think you should pass it in in a similar way.

It's a pity my young lads weren't a bit older, we could make a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭ginger22

First common sense comment on that subject there Dawg. When we were young lads there was very little wealth around. We were hungry to build it up. It wasn't about money in the pocket for a good time. It was about building up the business. The current generation getting it too soft. No appreciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Mf310

Tried that this time last year we were with C o Keefe she works privately with teagasc but didnt really work out she came up with a plan for me to go away from the place for a year but when it came down to it the place was being sold or leased or grandfather wasnt going to leave us the 25 acres thats still in his name, its a control and power thing more than anything do as i did 40 years ago..

Wouldv always felt this myself, its even meeting people and working with people, enjoy dairying but fair isolating at times and dont feel it as a challenge to myself atm especially when i try drive it on a bit im the one thats wrong, hard know at times , feel id have a different mindset if there wasnt rows all the time… 130 cows here and theyd be happier if there was 80 but even with 80 theyd expect me here the whole time, went up a bit in cows and back in beef numbers the last 2 years but its my fault now beef is going well that we shouldv kept more beef .. a no winning game when its a blame game

Friends with a leaving cert lad working on a farm this summer hes pulling more of a wage every week than i am at 13€/hour and finished at 5 , its not the money is the issue its more the control and tie and everything else in between.. id walk into a lot of jobs at 40/45k and finish on a 39 hour week no weekends no hardship different when its your own and you can see the work your doing being appreciated or making the farm better…

Literally that its decent money but out of all my friends im probably earning the least while doing the most work and most tied every weekend different being completely tied when your 27/28 and things in your own name now is a time i feel id like to be saving up big time and build or just travel and have the craic while i can a bit without taking the piss altogether… milk sales of near 400k this year, farm going well its an appreciation thing as much as anything if we had to take on a foreigner on a 40 hour week in the morning itd be over 30k salary.. but again the money isnt the real issue here

Red flags in ways alright just thinking i could work for another 10 years on the 30k and be no further on still working to the ways he wants to work or what do you mean your going on holidays what do you mean you want to finish at 5.30 , different mindsets , I could pump 50k into the farm there now myself but dont see the point when I still wont be making decisions on what to do, purely power and control

Appreciation goes both ways cant say its entitlement either just like other posters say dont want to be completely tied to cows at 25 with a father that doesnt want to work but still hold the reins and give out about everything thats done , hard know no point doing 70/80 hr weeks for 30k in your 20s either and still unsure of whether youl get the farm in a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,330 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Did your father have the wobbler when in her company at the mediation our after when he got you on your own, you hold a lot more cards than you realise, if you leave in the morning their both f**ked, they sound like they wont get anyone to work their, so they'll have to lease the place out, our go all beef and lose the dairy cow income...

Have you anything in your name attached to the farm be it cows/machinery etc, i was left to my own devices here so all livestock, machinery, sheds put up, where of my own back and financing so I had some assets, but crippling short term debt...

For your own mental health id get out of their, and the next time your father has a go, you need to tell him to get f**ked, run the farm up his hole and good luck, hes a bully simple as, and they only understand actions like the above, you won't talk him around etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭lmk123

doesn’t imply it to me anyway, he was just outlining the facts of the matter, I think it was clear to see that the issue isn’t the €30k, it’s all the other BS, the €30k only became an issue much later in the conversation when brought up by someone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭yewdairy

That's fine

As long as the older generation don't expect free labour on the promise of getting the land in the future.

The op is dead right to look for certainty in what is happening. Have the difficult conversations now and that includes a proper row.

As I have said before no issue supporting older generation and making sure they have a very comfortable retirement but there has to be crystal clear plans and once agreed no going back on it

Careful now. He doesn't want to fall out totally with his family either. If it did come to it and walked away, would he be happy if it got leased in the future or sold and he was looking at som other lad driving around the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Was youngish when the farm i was handed over the farm. I had gone to college and was working in IT. Great experience and I wouldn't regret it for one second.

Farm was excellent land on a scale that there was a living to be made from, but father was in his early 70s and what was a great farm in the 80s-90s was run down, and there were just a few cattle for summer grazing .

He wasn't anxious for me to get into dairying but it was the only option in the early 00's for a full time farmer to make a living. So I dived in head first buried nearly 900k into the place and built my own house.

But wheels came off after a couple of years when siblings looked on at this thriving business, no consideration of the repayments that had to be made and when my mother decided to renegotiate her agreement. She was on 25k cash, this was in the early 00's plus pension plus a big of nursing work.( Father got screwed on the pension because she was working). So I wanted just to buy her out, so a outside block was sold off, money handed over. Deal done.

A few years later father passed away, siblings got in her ear and within 7 days of the funeral she wanted the original farm yard back, (i had built a new one beside the old one, but was using old yard for the usual, calves, straw, machinery, storage, etc.) I was young, working very hard, meeting my commitments but enough was enough. I said no, and we never spoke again. It's sad that came to that but I have no regreats.

Anyway, despite all the crap, when youre young, willing to work and developing a dairy farm it is a great way of life BUT,I will say you have to keep an eye on reality and what's going on around you aswell. What fo I mean..

Look down the road 20 or 30yrs to where you'll see yourself and keep an eye on reality aswell. There are massive changes in farming underway and coming. 40 years ago on a farm you had loads of people around at hay and silage. In and out of the coop meeting people, you never went at a job on your own, when you were in a field at tractor work, there'd be another couple of tractors working away aswell. All of that is gone and will only get worse. Even the vet here would say he hardly meets a farmer from one end of the day to the next. Call made, sick animal in shed, work away. I grew up on a road with 13 full time farmers, now im the last, Its even getting hard to get a electrican, or mechanic or milking parlour guy to come to a farm now. The next 20 or 30 years will be scary.

Farming doesn't have the lifestyle, earning ability or social standing that it once had. This will only get worse.

My point, farming is in our blood and some people just have to farm. But I would say, the road is long, 20, 30 40 years full time farming is a long time. When you're young develop an option. Get a trade or some non farm experience/qualification. You're still there to help your father and grandfather. You'll be independent. Extra money can be used to develop the farm. Any genuine older generation would love to see help coming around, improvements being made, or stock numbers going up. And in time when is 100% right for them and you then you can go farming full time. It's a long road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Difficult conversations?

If a son or daughter wants to take over I would give them every support bar financial. It’s not complicated. Son/daughter is going to inherit a substantial asset and therefore they’d have to pay all siblings and parents.

However I would do my figures on the EBIDTA of the farm (x5 or x7) and not the tax scam inflated land values.

everyone should read that a few times ….belter of a post which I and lots more here can totally relate to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Shouldn't be too hard to line up a lazy lump of a pierre to p1ss it all away on baguettes and pomerol for you if you were struggling to spend it all😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

By the sounds of it your parents must have had a very large farm to start splitting up and you getting a farm to milk cows you did all right lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭ginger22

Will AI make a lot of these cushy admin office jobs redundant.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

No.

It could in theory but those admin jobs are held by people who can't do much else. They will fight tooth n'nail to keep their jobs. And they have strong unions who depend on their subscriptions to keep their own cushy jobs. A manager in big organisations (like the public service) never wants to see his/her number of staff reduced so they'll fight to keep those admin jobs in place too.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

We got seperate farms of about 80 acres each. But we have all bought land since to enlarge them. My parents worked hard. Bought 2 farms and inherited a farm each. It doesn't matter how successful they were, people would always say it was easy for them because they inherited this and that, etc. Nothing about all the work.

I listen to all this BS about work/life balance and all that crap. It's usually from people selling you something.

Sh1t like The only people that will remember how hard you worked in 20 years time will be your children. As in, because they never got to see you. That's another good thing about farming is that I'm here with them every day.

Personally speaking, I'm delighted my parents worked so hard and I'm sure plenty more would say the same.

People never bother you once you project an image of poverty i find. I let the mask slip every now and again and it changes how people look at you and they often try to get their hands on your money one way or the other.

I'd say radiologists, solicitors, accountants, software developers could all be taking a pay cut in the next while to mention a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭Grueller

Don't underestimate the potential for in laws to see an asset that their husband/wife "should be getting their share of" as well. A malignant in law in the background is something to behold.

IMG_4009.jpeg IMG_4010.jpeg IMG_4011.jpeg

Last few bits of silage for year hopefully all in a bale by dinner time tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,997 ✭✭✭visatorro

Diary of a ceo has an interesting podcast with someone basically saying ai bots will take over the world in a few years and there will be no need for humans.