If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭Grueller

Would the wife agree with chatting up quare ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I get hoof pairing stuff and teat dip off them. Their always great to deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭ginger22

When I stayed home as a young lad to help on the farm there was no expectation of getting any money for "entertainment". Started my own little enterprise on the side to keep me going. That's what led to the second enterprise. Some lads now have a sense of "entitlement". If the OP wants to have a future farming then get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Jeez I thought I was the only one thinking 30K at age 25 isn't bad at all, lots of young lads farming would like to be getting it. Maybe he has unrealistic ideas about how much that farm can afford to pay 2 people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Freejin

How do you go about drying off the affected quarter? Just abrupt stop or do you gradually dry it off, i.e. one milking in four I think I saw teagasc recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭older by the day

There's a huge disparity between proper rural Ireland and near the city's or up along the eastern side of the country.

30k, for a 25yr old here where I am is good. But if you were a labourer near a city, it would be 50.

https://ie.indeed.com/l-skibbereen,-county-cork-jobs.html

A lot of job 14 to 15 euro an hour starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭ftm2023

There’s a little lady here Whelan and she’s in with a very good shout 😂😂

IMG_8764.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

they were 40 k 10 years ago. They’re twice that now. My neighbours put one in 8 years ago and they can’t keep the water out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,036 ✭✭✭straight

I was 38 when I got the tap on the shoulder to come back to the farm. Wouldn't have minded waiting a few more years but the old lad got tired. I was with him for 3 or 4 days a week helping before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

If someone want to be a farmer go be a farmer all this nonsense of high paid jobs pods aul rubbish talk never heard the like of it you wouldnt hear any other profesdion at it people quit far to easy seen it over the years lads quitting farming cus they can get get xyz here for doing sfa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,997 ✭✭✭visatorro

youd wonder what these modular homes will be like in 10/20 years?

They'll be the only option by then as there won't be any builders to do it the old fashioned way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Look at what 20 year old prefabs are like now for some idea

Ah will ya stop, 38! Any young lad worth his salt would want to be stepping up at 26 or the parents should sell the place!

Some young lads arent allowed step up ive seen the best of young lads leave farming cus of this and make a real go of something else i often wonder of how gd a farmer they wud be if given the chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭DBK1

A lot of them aren’t let do it any younger. It would shock you the amount of places we go to contracting where there’s a farmer in his 40’s but it’s still daddy’s name on the cheque book.

my father basically let me run the place at 20. He’s still heavily involved day to day still but was happy to let someone else take the mental strain of the day to day running. Ive made all the managenent decisions since then.

The problem I’ll have in the future is I’ll still be quite young if any of my kids are interested. I’d hope I’d be able to let them off and enjoy there 20s and see a bit of the world with no commitments. If they want to go farming sooner than I’m ready to give it up I’ll have to try help them set up else where. Who knows what the farming landscape will look like in Ireland in 20 years time 🤷🏻‍♂️

there was no 30k to pay me when I got stuck in here. We barely made 30k profit those years. I had to create my wage if I wanted it.

sometimes I wonder if I had the choice would I have gone off traveling and working abroad for my 20s but then If I had I wouldn’t have a hope of farming after. I’d have missed out on what land we’ve leased and the building we did when concrete was cheaper. I doubt I’d be farming now tbh with the cost of everything. When you’re in it it’s easier than trying to get going I think

Your father done the right thing u should do the same when its time would it not make more sense a lad like u with all ur knowledge going into sales advice 8n the future its amazing the amount of clowns selling to farmers or dealing with them who have no clue about farming.

Every family situation is different. My father had plenty help from his family and was happy with the arrangement. I was putting in 40 hours a week on top of my full time job for years. I have a house in the city from my previous life and I came down to the farm with 300k in savings/redundancy in my back pocket.

It's very easy to spot the lad that stays at home too young. They're usually wearing grass men clothes, often smokers, they love sleeveless jackets, etc. I could go on. That's before they even open their mouth. 🤣🤣

I hear the TAMS costings have been updated. I don't know does it only apply from the next tranche forward or does it apply to those of us waiting for approval.

Only for applications from tranche 10 on which is the tranche that will be opening next week.

You left out the dealer boots as good wear as well, horrendous looking yokes on any man unless they’re steel capped and he’s working!

All joking aside there is some truth in that stereotype but there are very capable and intelligent lads farming from a young age too and for some reason the previous generation don’t see fit to let them at it even when they’re already long past retiring age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

30k is huge money to be getting off the old man at that age from the farm. Are you using it to help improve the farm are just saving the most of it. He can’t be to bad with those wages. Roughly what size farm will he actually sign over to you. I’d be slow walking away from it at this stage if you like the place and would like to live there. Travelling is grand but it’s nicer to be working hard for yourself than someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭ftm2023

I was thinking about it since and I’d have to agree, €30,000 is big bucks for any son working on the farm. I don’t know of anyone who got a wage as big as that when they were working on their home farm at that age 😂

If he could make another €5,000 on the side doing the freezebranding as he mentioned then he’d have a nice income.

I’m 31 now & I’ve been on the farm full time for the last 10 years and I wouldn’t swap it for anything. The hardest time is in your early to mid 20’s but after that it gets a lot better. In terms of success I ended up leaving behind all the fellas that I went to school with who got degrees etc… I went to boarding school and you’d be amazed, the very smartest guys all went totally belly up. Between fellas becoming homeless, becoming drug addicts, joining cults, ending up in mental institutions and there was even worse finish ups for some others than what I mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭Grueller

€33k is the work permit level for an Bangledeshi chap I have met a few times on my travels, working on a farm, living in a run down mobile home in the yard. If the op above is doing 10 milkings a week that's most of the wage earned not to mind any other labour.

Thing of people saying that he can earn extra cash if he wants, if he is putting in 50 or 60hrs a week on the farm as a lot of lads here would there ain't much time to earn extra cash without an education to at least a trade.

Youngsters here are 15 and 17 and if they really want to farm they will have it in their mid to late twenties. If not they will get a fair wage for any labour they provide. It's at that age they need money a lot more than I will need it in my late 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭older by the day

It's all about being happy with what you're doing. Now we wont be happy every day.

But if a young fella is happy with his dress sense and his old jeep and talking about tractors to his friends 24/7. Then how bad?

So many people in this world unsatisfied. It's usually the more intelligent that keeps looking and making comparisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭jaymla627

His issue isn't money, he's rightly took stock of the situation that includes a 93 year old grandfather still hanging onto 20 acres of land, a abusive 63 year old father whos dogging him out of it, and making it known he'll be the boss man till hes at the pearly gates...

Take home messages, he isn't allowed to make any improvements to yard, huge arguments if he does a few hours work off-farm, the red flag of succession issues not even sorted between his father and grandfather, looming fair deal issues on the above if it plays out that way....

Family friend is having to go to the Highcourt to contest his father's will, has been disinherited after spending 30 years working for his father, for 300 a week, when he asked for more money , he was told no, so went out on his own and stopped financially supporting parents, he had circa 300k spent on the yard in the 5 years previously to the blow out...

The sister then got in his ear and had him sign it over to her and the son, under precarious circumstances as he had dementia at the time, a promise and a expectation your parents will do the right thing is a dangerous game to play especially when siblings are around looking for payouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭lmk123

you’re right, he, nor anyone else that advised him to consider taking a step back from the farm and get experience elsewhere for a while said anything negative about the €30k part, I wonder how the conversation suddenly went down that route 🤔