Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2025 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Hot metal and methedrine, I hear empire down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭fluke

Just on this indie chat thing, I really enjoyed Just Mustard, but I think they played to about…80-100 people max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭jams100

Attended the first 20 mins of Biig Piig pretty sure she lip synched all songs, one of the biggest disappointments of the weekend for me.

Then went to Cranberry Lads and, as expected, Dermot butchered the songs, he wasn't the right person for the job. Should've been Roisin O / Lyra or someone of that ilk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,066 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

And yet the first two acts you've listed for 2026 (Tame Impala & Florence) are indie acts that got big. Add in the highly likely Fontaines and that's three. They would all pull in big numbers as have The Strokes, Arctic Monkeys and your two aforementioned acts in the last five EPs.

What has Self-Esteem got to do with indie/alternative music?

No act is entitled to a crowd and cherry-picking a few acts who've done badly in tents is not indicative of the lack of an audience for such acts. It has gotten so much more mainstream and anodyne since lockdown but the appetite is still there for variety. Or did These Charming Men, For Those I Love and Viagra Boys play to low numbers at the weekend?

There's no excusing narrow curation. I very much doubt that you yourself do not want a broader range of acts and it's pretty easily done without jeopardising EP's mass-attraction in the slightest. It'll also help the festival's long-term future. An event reliant on a small demographic that is particularly vulnerable to an economic recession is not a financially secure festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

Was my first time at EP this year and was volunteering (Thursday day and a whopping 14 hours on Saturday) - I've been a loyal ATN goer since it first started and generally prefer smaller festivals but after years of seeing EP content and hearing reviews from friends I wanted to experience it for myself to deal with the fomo.

There's a lot to EP, a lot to love, but sadly also some not to love.

The good
    The freetown area is absolutely class, I spent a lot of time wandering around providencia/trenchtown/jerry fish/6 bars/salty dog just taking in the vibes and the scenery. I'd say Brutopolis was one of my favourite areas, the actors were great and a big shout out to the women at the ryanair desk in providencia. I did my best to get them to break character and they wouldn't!

Staging in general is very good, I personally didn't experience sound issues anywhere and was surprised how little the small stages were impacted by the (often branded) stages nearby, the sound was well managed imo compared to ATN, very little soundbleed. Decorations and set also phenomenal.

Loads of places to sit outside the main arena, sheltered or not sheltered, every time I was ready for a sit down there was a decent place for me to sit down. The ground on site was solid, and held up well in the weather (which I honestly think wasn't that bad at all).

Food options; there were hundreds of them. A lot of the same stuff under a different name, true, but easy to pick up something tasty to eat at any given point.

Punters; I volunteered most of my time at the campervan showers (hi if I saw you!!) and had lovely chats with so many punters. The campervan area felt a bit more civilised compared to where other volunteers were stationed, and it was fun hearing punters experiences at EP over the years and to see the life return to them after their shower.

Toilets; staff toilets were poorly maintained but otherwise I either got lucky or they were genuinely well kept, especially impressed with the main arena toilets. Maybe the separation by gender is the reason?

The bad

The chatter above about the late line up meaning smaller acts miss out on people coming across them in research is a big one for me, as someone who isn't a "main stager" and likes to do the homework. It feels like an essential part of going to festivals I couldn't do.

Rubbish; The place becomes a kip so quickly. Was honestly shocked at the amount of rubbish everywhere and the lack of (even an iota) of respect for the land. I get it's a festival and we all go a bit feral but I couldn't get over the amount of rubbish. I'm not sure if it was a lack of bins, disrespectful punters or a bit of both.

Punters; while I had many lovely interactions, there was a lot of unsavoury behaviour and unsavoury characters. I saw women groped, children pushed over and a general lack of festival etiquette especially in the main arena. Also 80k people is just too much for someone like me. I always found myself going to a stage against the stream of people leaving main stage and acquired quite a few bruises from trying to dodge people.

Line up; while I saw some good acts, in general it felt uninspired. Having chats with punters and not being able to relate to anything on their must watch list made it clear to me that I am not the audience for this festival. It also meant that by Sunday, when I was wrecked, I just avoided talking to people altogether as I felt I couldn't relate anymore.

No freeflow is a major pain point for me, it entirely changes the vibe and is just annoying because I had to lug back the coolbox with nearly all the cans still in it (staff campsite was far away so no nipping back for a quick drink). It also means queues and delays entering the arena and encourages sneakiness and sketchiness.

Acts I watched:
    Ragga Puffin in Brutopolis
    Curtisy on Coke stage
    Barry Can't Swim
    Sexy Tadgh (twice)
    Fatboy Slim (was actually blown away, great set)
    Horsegiirl
    Andy Irvine (pity there were some issues at the start he seemed very frustrated!)
    Ispini na Eireann
    Marc Rebillet
    Becky Hill
    Effy
    Smidgen of The Kooks (wedged and only because Viagra Boys were delayed)
    Viagra Boys
    Shark School
    High Fade
    And a host of random stuff in Rub a Dub hi fi (behind the curtain in providencia), Rathaus, treasure beach/trench town stuff, providencia main stage, Survivor, Salty Dog,…

Someone else mentioned above that the festival is soulless, and I think I agree with that to an extent. EP tries to be a lot of things at once, and if it was a festival just the freetown area I would be there every year. In terms of vibes and atmosphere it didn't have a patch on ATN for me, even with all the "extras". That said, I had a good time, and have now officially scratched this itch. Thanks for having me!

Post edited by boomshakalaka on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭KawaKris

They clashed with Kneecap which was just absolutelty f***ing sh**e scheduling. I couldn't decide which way to go up to 30 mins before but I've seen JM a few times, great band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

You’re 100% correct she was a little weak, I’d put that down to lack of experience and she will improve no doubt, she also had some kind of auto tune that wasn’t working too well at the start, her mic even cut out a few times, but had you stayed she vastly improved towards the end, I took a couple of vids and they gradually got better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭fourmations

no talk of Marc Ribellet, i thought he was fun… as did my group, he's a nutter

Acts will always lose out to poor scheduling and there's no real pattern to it, the point I was trying to make earlier. Every act has a bad day (or more) at festivals and it's not always easy to predict.

I remember The Horrors (a band who'd appeal to a lot of Cure fans) losing out badly because they were scheduled opposite Robert Smith and Co in 2012. Worse again was Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds playing to literally 200/300 people at Oxegen 2009 as the crowds headed to Kings of Leon & the Pet Shop Boys.

Hopefully Just Mustard are pretty phlegmatic about it and we'll see them on tour soon. Big crowd for them when they last played EP at the 3Music stage in 2022. Superb set too, best I've seen by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭adam240610

I got two cans of Murphy and a laugh out of it, full five points here haha

The questions themselves were very difficult though yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Just mustard touring next year. Olympia in May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

nah, it's a sign of creeping lowering standards on the food front, there are other options but I could see more dropping out due to FRs grasping nature. Give it a year or two and Micky Dees will be there.

ability to go elsewhere is sort of missing the point, but that's then getting in to the you vs seathrun territory and I cannot be arsed with it. Fwiw, I think you're right on their booking policy, they've just given up and are focusing on the big names that will get a crowd.

Fender, I get as a booking, insanely popular, I just really don't get the popularity, it was fine, but honestly could not remember a single tune the next day.

And yes, 18 quid for **** pizza is not on, if I'd known big blue bus was there then I'd have been eating out of them for the weekend and taking the hit merrily.

Clashed with Kneecap. Good luck to anyone playing opposite them at any festival this Summer. West Holts at Glasto was shut down 50 mins before their set even started.

And @Mucker46, that's excellent news regarding the Olympia gig. I hope it sells well because they've spent long enough doing the smaller venues. I first saw them supporting The Murder Capital in Galway in 2018 and then back with their own show the following year. Eight years is a long wait to get to the Olympia and I hope to be there to support them. Lovely kids, so shy and sweet when I was getting them to sign their debut album in 2018. They were so surprised that anyone was buying it that they hadn't even brought a sharpie along so used a ballpoint pen and one of them nervously ended up smudging the signatures across the front cover. Now looks like my dog could have signed it. Great to see them doing so well and I hope it continues.

Have my ticket hope to see you there. Saw them support the cure in malahide 2019, had never heard of them before that and instantly thought they were great. Not for everyone, wife says just noise, but the drums, use of guitars and the voice together is so good

I'm surprised by that. She's been around for a while and I saw her in one of the tents (3Music/Rankins) pre-lockdown when she was very good. Sounds like she's gone backwards which is very surprising.

They were on first that day I remember, and very good, that must have been a hell of a nerve-wracking afternoon for them. Pretty sure I was with you in Rankins in 2022, they were excellent that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭jams100

Autotune or pure lip syncing? 20 mins was enough for me and the mate anyway, had higher expectations for her.

3rd EP for me.

Best of the weekend for me was Nile Rodgers and Marc Reblliot, neither of which I've seen before, particularly Marc who improvised the first 30-40 mins of his set thought he was much better than fatboy personally.

Seen a total of 18 acts across the weekend, mainly around the big tents / main arena. Thought Sam Fender was as solid as ever and David Gray was decent, but I thought he was going to get angry when people kept taking photos as he was singing (was actually quite funny, started out with a small group of lads taking a photo and ended up with 50+ people joining the photo). He definitely noticed it but didnt seem to bother him.

1000044159.jpg

Really enjoyed Inhaler, have good potential and could see myself going to see them again. (Even the Coronas which i know many on here dont like had a great atmosphere and full electric arena, particularly liked Mundy's July which he sang with them).

Thought the toilets were much improved this year, even around the main stage they weren't half as bad as last year and the toilets in the eco campsite were cleaned regularly and were the airplane vacum type toilets. Now, on the negative side there were definitely times where you could notice the increased attendance, but nothing too uncomfortable I thought

The eco campsite really is a long walk, longer still if you cant get into the blue carpark, which we couldn't. They need to find a way of getting the right people into the blue carpark and the right people into red.

Overall really enjoyed the weekend, and with loyalty tickets it worked out at roughly €15 per artist i visited which is great value when you think of it like that.

Looking Forward to next year...hopefully an earlier lineup announcement for 2026!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MsMojave

Nah she was dealing with a few tech issues not just the mic cutting out. The backdrop from the I’m Grand Mam set popped up at one point. Her guest act seemed to be out of time with the track as the layered vocals were completely different. Not sure if it was the guest’s nerves or an issue hearing herself and/or the track. Put it down to the set being early. I’ve seen her at her latest Olympia gig. Biig Piig is able to perform well. Not that I thought the EP set was particularly awful or anything myself. Just some awkward things happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Nah she deffo wasn’t lip syncing, she jumped into the crowd right beside me and got someone to sing into the Mic.

She did have recorded backing vocals playing through the feed as well as her singing.
    She also had autotune, people perceive this as bad, but she wasn’t “cheating” more so as an effect.

As I said she 100% recovered in the 2nd half of her set, really infectious stage presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭adam240610

Marc rebillet was a highlight for me as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Big Piig was decent at ATN a few years ago, defo not lip syncing, probably lacking enough big tunes though. Don't get Rebillet at all, and tried twice at last two BTP. One for the YouTube generation, loada shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭gandalfio

Tame Impala being mentioned a few times here. Why do people think they're a likely headliner for 2026?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Made it down to Campervan C at about 8:30 on Thursday evening. Few cans at the van and then made my way in to see the Salty Dog No Stars. It was noticeably way busier than previous years.

Friday started with Sweets in Fishtown. They weren't really doing it for me. Change of pace with Dug at Salty Dog who I thought were brilliant. I was even handed a Dug cap by some random lady who was giving a few out to punters at the front. Molly Vulpyne in Fishtown was very good. I'd seen her before as lead singer of the two piece, Vulpynes. Much fuller sound with a band behind her. Next was Self Esteem in the 3 Music tent. Amazing show, poor crowd! Got my punk on for The Sleveens back in Fishtown and then headed to Trailer Park for Grooveline. Young fellas with great energy making good noise. Wrapped it up with the madness of the Trad Rave in The Haunt. Late one. Back at the van at around 4am.

Very slow start on Saturday. Eventually made it in to see Nile Rodgers & Chic on the Main Stage. First time seeing them. He loves himself. Should let the music do the talking instead of bigging himself up between every tune. Enjoyable. LeBoom in the Today FM Sound Garden was okay. Back to the Main Stage for the second (and last) time to see Fatboy Slim. Never seen him before. I was very impressed. Very enjoyable set and the visuals were excellent. Went to Salty then to be early enough to catch the Secret Act. Was pretty knackered so headed for a seat on one of the boats at the back. I'd no idea who was going to be performing and, from my vantage point, couldn't see how busy it must've been getting. Was sent a message shortly after 2am to say that it was Fatboy! Got quite excited...only for Norman Cook to walk on at about 2:15 to say that the stage was being shut down due to safety concerns. Gutted. Was the crowding really that bad? Did everyone already know it was going to be him?!

Sunday started with the ever reliable King Kong Company in the Electric Arena. Headed over to Marc Rebillet in 3 then. I'd no clue who he was or what to expect. What a treat! Absolutely bonkers! COUNTY FÚCKING LAOIS! Stayed there for Viagra Boys. I'd seen them a few years back on a much smaller stage. Excellent stuff! Thought I'd check out Fishtown to see who the Secret Act was. Turns out, it was Peer Pressure. Knackered by then so sat on the small stage to the right and watched from there. Back to Salty Dog for a second viewing of Grooveline before heading to Croi to catch some David Holmes. I was dead on my feet so sat on a bench at the top of the hill and caught about half an hour before trudging slowly back to the van.

Only briefly met Darzog and Rubick.

Had amazing food all weekend. A wee bit expensive, but very tasty.

All in all - brilliant weekend. I'll be online tomorrow, trying to get a ticket!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Sorry I missed you @Penfailed surprised we didn't see each other in the small crowd at self esteem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Releasing an album, and releasing a single tomorrow.

Although could be an album tomorrow, not really sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭gandalfio

Yes, hoping for tour dates soon. But toes, fingers and whatever else crossed his Irish show is not EP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I don't see them at EP, they were there quite recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Navan Man01

Howdy all,

Great weekend as always, we worry too much! I feel! Such fun & craic & believe the iffy weather helped, especially at the PM bar in early afternoon on Saturday & Sunday! Great fun!
    Was at PM about 12oc, traffic wasn’t great but not crazy either! Straight forward even with security check, was made take all d cling wrap off the trolley, but they apologised while I was re-applying according to herself, so fair enough! Can’t be too careful these days I suppose

We got stuck into the beers upon arrival, prob a bit early, but giddiness is real, hit d arena for Dug who I thought were great, super start, floated about a bit then, had a superb biryani from Kinara (not the first of the wkend), then off to Self Esteem, felt so bad for her, but it wasn’t the most sparse crowd I seen for the wkend, but enjoyed it very much! Someone on this thread recommended Fizzy Orange, not sure who, so off to Fishtown to see them after, they were class! Really good & seem like great lads, promised meself to see them again over the wkend, but alas..! Was feeling the early start by then, met up with some old EP friends from Cork & had few pints for Confidence Man, so don’t remember too much!

Saturday started with the promise of awful weather, which wasn’t too bad in my head anyway, but the days music promised much also! More medicinal beers were had! Herself & couple of the Navanites wanted Kneecap, I wanted Just Mustard, so we went in separate directions, but as above, she was just brilliant but playing to a crowd of about 100, 150 tops, in that size of an arena must have been soul destroying, but she was great IMHO! Got the last 30 mins or so of Kneecap after, while not my cuppa, they know how to work a crowd & the buzz off them was amazing! White Horse & TCM afterwards (very, very good as always!) Quick pit stop a tent beer, then back in for Lord Huron, who were super, then Maribou State who I knew little of, before Seath’s recommendation just after Gasto, thought it was superb gig! Then off to Mr. Cook who I had seen before, but thought the visuals were more interesting than the music, they really were really good! Then as good Navan folk we went to catch Le Boom on Trailerpark which was cut short after bout 20mins due to sound issues, much to a BIG crowds disappointment!
    Sunday, was really looking forward to the Hogans, then word filtered in of their singer! But, whilst miles off the high notes (aren’t we all, but not for lack of trying) personally I could see it meant a lot to him! Was an emotionally intense gig for me & the crowd was insane! ❤️ Then we had Mr. Gray who was in good humour & was top notch also! Went to KKC after that, who despite having Mark Graham back didn’t roll out the EP set, mostly new I found but great as a wakey, wakey MF! Seen bout 20mins of KOL, very poor live band, while musically great, terribly boring with zero stage presence, left early, got head down for the drive in the morning!

Before we knew it, wkend was done & it was get ur **** together Monday! Getting out of car parks was real handy compared to last year! Crash on M6 (that nobody was hurt in apparently) caused big delays on the way home & teeth marks on my steering wheel by the time I got to Clane! 🤣

All in all, another great weekend in Stradbally, I found crowds an issue like a lot of folk on this thread, but tended to dodge most by avoiding main stage where I could, food was mostly Kinara for me as always, as in Friday evening & Sunday afternoon! They could charge me what they like in fairness!

I have many times this year said this will be my last, but will hope to get tickets in the morning, if I go or not is a decision for next year, at least the option is there with a bit of luck!
    Probably will though, as I always say, EP is sometimes spending time, laughing & loving with people you care about & sometimes only see now & again, especially as we get older! You cannot put a price on that! Of course it’s a music festival & it’s important, but so much I found on this thread & wandering Freetown this wkend was amazing!

Hope everyone had fun & got home safe ❤️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭lc180

My first time at EP and my main concern was that I'm 40 and it would be full of teenagers. Delighted to see it's got a good mix of age ranges!

FrIday main stage was not the best intro to the festival. I thought it was a hellscape tbh. Chappell Roan was great in fairness but spent most of her set on edge thinking how humiliating a way it would be to go at a fuckin Chappell Roan gig!

The noise bleed in that whole main arena was also horrific.

Thankfully I loved the other smaller areas of the festival and would gladly go back just for them. I've never seen a festival like it before.

Highlight for me was Confidence Man on Friday night! Loved TCM, Circus Ponies, Bell X1. Big thanks to whoever recommended Bog Bodies and Groveline! Quite like Sam Fender's music, especially the stuff with the lad from War on Drugs but found him kinda boring.

The 5 hour drive back to Donegal nearly broke me yesterday but I'll probably still try for tickets in the morning!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Took me almost six hours to north Donegal...but that's because I'm driving a 47 year old campervan!