Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭straight

That redhouse guy is very tense. I don't know why guys like him have to be blowing how profitable they are compared to everyone else but I'd say alot of it is probably selling stock and "genetic solutions" or whatever he calls it.

Sure He's grand like but there's always some drama with him it seems.

The relationship must be very bad when people can't come to a separation agreement and avoid divorce court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭green daries

When there's money and a fall out involved things tend to get fairly bad pretty quickly 🙃 😬😬😬😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭visatorro

Not saying its right but that does stem from how badly women were treated years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭visatorro

Once the legal crowd get involved they can drive the thing mad aswell. Dirty shower of bastards. Break ups are tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭older by the day

Tests find firm near fish kill exceeded discharge limits https://share.google/pfFQ9pFVI7PiwKnLW

North Cork COOP looks bad here,

Are they looking for easy targets or will they find the culprit. I would not like to have a business or farm on the Blackwater these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,041 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It doesn't say it caused the fish kill though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,281 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

try the Macra Land Mobility Service. They have been at it longer than anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,281 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Changing the base cow is the most pointless exercise going when it comes to indexes.

The difference between a cow and the “base cow” is irrelevant. It’s the comparison between her and her peers and the national average that matters.

Consistency is what is needed and the most annoying thing is ICBF didn’t want to do it when ever they did it first 10 years or so ago but was pushed by a handful of vocal farmers that were like a dog with a bone because they thought they sounded clever.

*rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭stanflt

the last base change when they needed to cover up a massive evaluation error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭alps

It didn't. Too far upstream..non chemical.

Lack of water in the river could be the cause of NC woes, but may have also magnified the damage caused by whatever irritant that has made its way to the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭alps

Put in publicised symptoms in AI and gives a deyailed reaction, butbhere the summary
    Anything that alters water pH, corrodes tissues, clogs gills, coats surfaces, or strips protective mucus can kill fish by damaging their gills, skin, and eyes. Caustic soda is one of the worst offenders, but acids, chlorine, ammonia, metals, oil, and fine sediments are also common killers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭ftm2023

I wonder what usually happens when a farmer and his wife would get divorced. Like I’ve never once heard of a farm having to be sold because the wife got half or anything remotely like that

I was too young to vote in the divorce referendum back in the 1990’s but if I had voted it would have been a definite no. A lot of people don’t know what best to do with themselves now. They all want to be like the crowd they see on TV and social media, all that shïte has people driven mad 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,788 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Catch with property in a pension fund it can be hard to liquidate it when you draw down your pension. When young you should accept a decent level of risk and keep putting money during good times and bad. Usually you will have substantial excess cash as you get over 50 yestsvif age. It's possible to really bump up a fund in last ten years before retirement.

It's all very well to drive on a business however when you retire you want to have access to a substantial fund. The 25% drawdown is very attractive. However I be inclinedbto accept a certain amount of risk to maintain fund when you retire I am.in about 50+% equities. Ya I will take a hit when the market falls but as long as I can maintain the statutory draw diwn levels during periods like this the fund should maintain its self.

I have two small rental properties outside the fund and still farm away. Tax is the only issue

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,594 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I've seen farms put in real hardship, farmer in rented accomadation, wife getting a salary from him plus a substantial lump sum. even in the 70s a friend was put in that position.

You definitely treat your partner right in a marriage or you pay the price and rightly so.

It's a wonder any of ye ever got married the way ye talk about people's wives.

I’d put it down to us being such good catches 🤣

I wouldn't bother putting a house into a pension. It's never really your own and it has to be sold at death. Better off have your own property or properties and split the risk by having equities in your pension fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭older by the day

it probably wasn't but do you want anything agricultural related being mentioned in the same sentence as fish kill.

It doesn't effect me as I'm not in derogation, but it will be another stick to beat it with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭orm0nd

a fairly sizeable outblock sold not too far from me when a couple went their separate ways after 30 years, in fairness to the wife she was hoping they could reach settlement without the sale, but it was the only solution allowing himself to keep the home farm with yards and milking parlour etc,

In that scenario I think the man should have completely blocked the sale the exact same as if it was a bank sale and made it clear that the goodwill wasn’t going with it. Let anyone try buy it then and deal with the consequences if they want to throw the rightful owner out onto the road. The world has gone mad

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

That made me roll my eyes....what's yours is mine and what's mine is mine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Banks normally don't foreclose on a performing loan or are you saying we should all stop paying loans secured on land once we are "the rightful owner"

The land wouldn't have to be sold if the farmer had the cash or the ability to get a loan secured on the land to give the wife whatever she was due under the divorce agreement.

The wife above was hoping to reach a settlement without a sale which probably means she wasn't pushing for every cent she could but she shouldn't have to walk away with nothing.

Ya rightful owner, as in the person who owned it before a court forced them to sell it. “Rightful owner” 👍🏼

Well for context Whelan, my own wife came out of a farm much the same size as my own. She’s got siblings and most certainly won’t be getting it, but if she did get her family farm and if we did split up - I most certainly wouldn’t be forcing any of it to be sold. No matter how badly off I’d be.

Ya you’re dead right, we should all stop paying our loans of course.

There was an auction around here before I was born. A very nice and hard working family ran into a bit of trouble with the bank. The bank organised an auction, all the neighbours went in to support the family. Long story short - the “rightful owner” of the farm stood up at the beginning of the auction and told everyone “anyone who buys my farm today I’m gonna get a shotgun and blow a hole this size in you” as he held his hands up and made a big circle with them. Another man got up then as the bankers were about to start their auction and informed them the room was packed because they were all there to support the family - the bankers thought everyone was there to bid on the farm 😂😂

Personally I think that’s one auction that was handled very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

sure didn't he walk up the aisle with a 100 acres and come down with 50….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,833 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Jaysus some mad opinions here last few days ….and some backward old fashioned ones at tgat …..where there’s land and assets and money gloves go off with lots …..I’m out other side now of a settlement involving my mother and siblings …..they got unbelievably greedy and basically cornered me into agreeing to things I didn’t want to and wasn’t comfortable with …I had little choice tho ….i havnt talked to my brother in nearly a year and dont foresee it changing and pass my other siblings and mother because I have to ….it pisses me off not talking to them but after what they forced on me relationships will stay strained …been left with a nice financial noose for foreseeable too and siblings walk away commitment free ….probably said more than I should here but fook it …good to vent sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭ginger22

Well that's the problem with land. Asset rich but cash and earning power poor. Prenup agreements should become law here. Then there is the "fair deal" rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,833 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

yup….wont go into much more but no doubt others here are in same boat ….if I had to hear well you got the farm one more time I’d of flipped …farm came with commitment to my parents which is ok but nothing about been put through college …been giving few quid when married ,buying there house …was landed with buying out parents house to pay off siblings …leave mother few quid but all the **** after left me sour taste h…after doing everything above I’ve still to cover my mothers full rent in fookin cash which can’t go through accounts…no one better than family to ride you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Downtown123

It may be painful now, but when/if your mother losesher god health at least the burden can’t fall on you. It does seem a pity though. Had you been carrying a couple of dry cattle using a 135 to throw out a few bags of fertiliser and a bad old slatted shed they may not have been overly bothered. But you have worked hard to build up a fine herd of cows and a well run yard and they want a piece