Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Jimmy.1733

Very similar to myself so, all the best with it and if you hear anything further let me know. If you get a call and i don't, i will have my answer lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 LittleMissSunshine

Hey, when you say second interview in march, is this that you have been had two station interviews as part of vetting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭FitPro

@LittleMissSunshine my first was Sept online and then in station in March, had submitted my vetting prior to online interview 🤩

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭popsmoke

Garda Reserve Numbers by division 2009 to 31 May 2025.

https://www.garda.ie/garda/en/about-us/our-departments/human-resources-and-people-development/garda-hr-directorate/garda-strength-breakdown-2025/may-2025.html

I'm still waiting for a review of my medical (I had to send in additional information). Still not reviewed, 4 weeks later. I guess they're snowed under?

Initially applied in July 2024 for the GR. 13 months and counting. If everything goes through (hopefully), it's looking like a minimum 2-year process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Marty1476

are there any intakes scheduled for reserves at all? I haven’t heard a word back for months about anything from HR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭chippyireland

Nothing set in stone yet . but hopefully some people get called for october.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Rassie

I tell ya, that vetting form aged me about 50 years doing it!

are you only after completing it . be patient some of us are waiting 9 or 10 months now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Rassie

Yeah just did the medical and vetting forms. I've been waiting this long, sure whats another year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 AUser987

They are prioritising getting a batch of new recruits for the full time through first, their starting in a week so hopefully then things start going a bit quicker for a few people here @OL16

Applied last July. I've had my medical done, but I have had to send in additional information. I am now awaiting a decision (it's been over 4 weeks since I submitted the request for extra info.). So I'm still awaiting a green light regarding the medical.

They told me my vetting is ongoing (despite not getting the green light yet regarding medical). It's been over a year since I applied, and my vetting was only submitted around 2 months ago. I was thinking that if everything goes smoothly, the process could take around 2 years, from application to being offered a place (that's for me anyway). But hopefully things will move more quickly.

Best of luck to all here. I think there could be a GR class starting in October??

hopefully in the next few weeks people start to hear about start dates etc

anyone hear anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Road Runner 999

Hi all,submitted my vetting some weeks ago now.Havnt heard anything since.

My OOM is between 1 and 30 so I'm really hoping Oct will be for me.

Did over 6k really apply for the Reserves.

no not 6000 unsure how many , you be lucky to get your vetting back by october next year not this year . some people on this been waiting most of a year now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 JimmyGoodman

one group of 20 . should only take a few years to complete 1800 lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Coolguy111

anyone know the full details of the training, I know when you first start you go to Templemore for the weekend, then what it is after that? Is it classes from zoom and or how many times must you go to the college? Is it every weekend or what is it like, I’m just trying to get an idea what the timetable / schedule would be like?

I think it's 2 weekend a saturday and sunday

then 2 full days during the week

and 2 more days during the week

spread over weeks .

and some online stuff.

i could be wrong it's hard to find much more online about it .

i hope some ye all get a call this week or so

sorry not mean that

anyone getting feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Con07

Hi all, few days ago I received invitation email for October intake. also hope you received the same most of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Jimmy.1733

Fair play and all the best with it 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭gailgo

hi can I ask what date in October the intake is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Con07

on 3rd of October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Coolguy111

Well done , I heard nothing yet myself