Should roundabouts in/around urban areas be banned outright??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭PixelCrafter

The one I'm getting caught on a lot is where you've a bike lane crossing and it's marked where the cyclists can just go straight across, not yielding to left turning traffic. When you yield to them, there's always someone ready to beep at you.

I had one there yesterday where I yielded to a bike lane with quite a few cyclists coming up and a tax undertook me and nearly flattened a cyclist - and this was in a 30km/h zone close to Dublin city centre.

As far as I'm aware, you're supposed to treat cycle lanes as a traffic lane / pedestrian crossing, so you yield to any cycles in the lane before crossing. Always check my left mirror very carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

It’s mostly driver etiquette, not priority rules. We’re not the worst (The North Circular Rd in London has the highest concentration of assholes of any place I’ve ever driven) but we do have a lot of petty behaviour. A friend noticed that when she traded her old Peugeot in for a (second-hand) BMW 3-series, her drive to work took longer, because people wouldn’t let her merge into traffic anymore.

Priority-to-right is really only really a strong rule in France. Most of the other countries that have priority-to-right traffic codes routinely override it with explicit signage to indicate priority, either by placing Yield signs on the connecting roads, and often, as here in Czech republic, by using the yellow diamond sign that means “you have priority”; the plate below it shows the route that will have priority through the junction ahead.

image.png

Because France is the only country where this rule is uniformly applied, you also see explicit “yield” signs on the merge lanes for French dual-carriageways, which can be a bit off-putting when you see them first:

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Give way to traffic already on the roundabout.

Thats all fine in theory…. but im not entering a roundabout when drivers are barrelling in at 70kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭PixelCrafter

It's applied quite widely in urban areas in Europe. France is an outlier in applying it in contexts like dual carriageways, but in dense urban areas it's quite normal to have it applied in many counties - you just have slower moving more easy going traffic, and junctions can get into the main line, so you don't need as many controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Yeah I had someone overtake me on a roundabout on Tuesday. I think we might need fewer/narrower lanes on roundabouts in general. Or maybe the lovely kerb-separated roundabout lanes that they sometimes have in NL.

In my eyes there's just no excuse for passing someone on a roundabout unless they're stopped, stuck in exiting traffic and you're taking a further arm. These roundabouts with the two lanes in and two lanes out really do need dedicated slip roads IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

There are 2 sets of lights on Bother na dTreabh, 1 behind the hospital and 1 at the other end beside Galway Clinic. All other roundabouts on the route have been replaced by signalised junctions. I don't know if there are any before/after stats, but I'd find it hard to believe traffic flow has improved in Galway since the junctions were put in. The signalling in Galway seems to be a joke at times, I know they had built a traffic control centre and hadn't hired anyone for it for a period of time, maybe it's staffed now.

If it's a major distributor of some kind then lights are better than a roundabout. But if it's just one of the proliferation of little urban roundabouts around the place then we just don't need that roundabout in general. Yield signs for the secondary road are better.

The problem we seem to be having is that nobody is willing to "disenfranchise" a developer by rendering their prime development land to be on a secondary road. Housing estates, industrial estates, etc all are getting "equal priority" through the use of roundabouts. And this continues through the developments themselves - all roads in an industrial estate or housing estate are equal etc. Thankfully this practice seems to be starting to fade away, but we're left with horrendous messes and roundabout purgatory in places like Swords, Carrigaline, etc.

In general these little urban roundabouts are being used to open up land development with minimal investment. So I think the least they could do is take up the additional required space and use a design that's friendly to vulnerable users.

Agreed that we're plagued with traffic lights too btw.

That's partly a different topic I think. They added the Galway roundabouts for the benefit of traffic flow. Then they replaced the Galway roundabouts largely because they had not really improved flow but had created such a bad environment for vulnerable users. Galway is its own specific set of conditions in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭yannakis

Until the bikes go this way and flip the honking car off 🤣

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

Doing that would mean mounting two raised green areas, which were added (I suspect) to prevent this. The most likely “shortcut” is along the cycle-lane, but going the wrong way around their roundabout. That’s not an issue: drivers have to watch for that anyway, just as they have to watch for pedestrians approaching either side of their junction.

The Irish design manual linked to by @hans aus dtschl includes a design for a roundabouts outside urban areas, where cyclists and pedestrians must yield to traffic, and these feature a two-way cycle path:

image.png

Cyclists do not have to sit a driver theory test, so cannot be assumed to know how a roundabout is supposed to operate. The driver is the one who needs to watch out, because only the driver is in charge of a tonne and a half of metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,094 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Yes,we do need them for more lightly trafficked roads. They are much safer than a crossroads, you can stagger a crossroads and make other changes but that totally negates any point about land take etc. You can have traffic islands, making crossing the road easier for pedestrians.

Roundabouts can be badly designed or inappropriately used, but the idea that they are never appropriate is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,751 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The worst I've encountered is definitely the Walkinstown roundabout which is a complete free-for-all. The only way to deal with it is to basically move out slowly until you're blocking lanes and forcing others to yield, otherwise you'd never get across it

It should be fully replaced with a signalled junction but it's been this way as far as I remember.

Portlaoise was mentioned and yes, the amount of roundabouts on what used to be a ring road but is now surrounded on both sides by housing estates is ridiculous. The Tullamore side is no better either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Look at international comparisons of Roundabout to Traffic light… They are safer and cheaper… Lower Maintenance. If built properly can accommodate Active Travel better…

Traffic Accidents are less but far more serious than Roundabout accidents… Roundabout encourages less agresive driving..

By the way you say loads of Roundabout are a pain… Waiting in endless traffic lights with no one going is worse…

Are you asking for a more dangerous, more expensive, worse for Active Travel (when built properly) and slower…

https://levinsonstefani.com/roundabouts-vs-traffic-lights-the-advantages-and-disadvantages-for-left-turns/

But to make ist simpler… US uses traffic lights generally, Europe uses more Roundabouts… Which one is more interested in Citizens well being?

Then there is the Safety…

https://www.structurepoint.com/company/news/welcome-to-the-us-roundabout-capital

According to a study by the Insurance Institute for Road Safety, Carmel roundabouts have reduced accidents with injuries by 84 per cent, and accidents at these locations by almost two-thirds.

You should look up Carmel, Ohio… Great story which explains a lot..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭I told ya

Big gripe with roundabouts: single carriageway becomes two lanes at the entrance to the RA and the exit off the RA is a single carriageway. Why can't they use directional arrows in these situations.

As for indicators - joke.

Yep but is it really necessary to have all of the 3-arm suburban roundabouts? I'm not sure if you followed the whole thread but the examples we're mostly discussing are those suburban ones, where almost every single road joining is a roundabout with no provisions for VRU's. I was suggesting that these are a cop-out ("all roads are equal") and potentially just a sop to developers.

When you're talking about staggering crossroads I see exactly where you're coming from and that's a good point you're making about safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭con___manx1

If You asked me should roundabouts be banned ten years ago I'd of said no but now adays 100 percent yes because there are alot more bad drivers on the road and not a garda to be seen.

The amount of idiots I see on the phones. Then so many coke heads driving around out of their head. Also stoned drivers,drunk drivers. The list goes on.

It used to be mainly lads but now so many younger and older women on the coke aswell.

I had an idiot pedestrian walk out infront of my car other day. I was the first at a junction. I Nearly ran her over.

Absolute idiot pedestrians around aswell. Totally unaware that so many drivers driving around on their phone or on some sort of substance. Then just crossing the road without looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭plodder

In Germany, at least back when I lived there, they tend to have explicit signage to tell you when you have and don't have right of way, except in residential areas where the speed limit is 30 km/h and there's no signage, so the default rule of giving way to the right applies. It's very effective for calming traffic as everyone has to slow and look to the right at every junction.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,822 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭plodder

That's a gripe of mine too. The default rule for which lane to use is often not optimal, and sometimes not even obvious. Would it hurt so much to paint a few arrows on the road even? An example of this is at Airside in Swords near the Ryanair office. Coming from the M1, the "rule" says that 95% of traffic should use the left lane (turning left and going straight ahead), with only 5% getting the right hand lane. It would make much more sense to have the left lane for left only and the right lane for straight ahead and right.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

There's a certain amount of truth to this. Over here it's every man for himself. It can be nerve wracking on a bike. In Germany they seem to have a more mannered grasp of how to proceed on a roundabout. From what I've seen anyway.

Agreed.

I use that regularly on my cycles out to Wicklow. It's armageddon sometimes. I've literally had dickheads drive onto the roundabout while I was a few feet away from exiting it.

I think while roundabouts are annoying, the main problem is the fact that we have a lot of just plain old fashioned wankers driving on our roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭DylanQuestion

The Fingerpost Roundabout is a disaster for pedestrians. Three arms (Maryborough Hill, Rochestown and Carrigaline Road exits) have pedestrian crossings just off the roundabout that can cause traffic to suddenly build up on the roundabout. However, the Douglas and City Centre exits have crossings directly on the roundabout with zero pedestrian priority. The City Centre exit one is especially bad as as soon as you have to wait for a gap in traffic at the busiest roundabout exit. It’s awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,687 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I don't mind roundabouts, and I'd take them over lights any day of the week.

We just can't seem to design them properly, or update them when traffic increases.

Lakeview roundabout in Midleton is a prime example. It's was already extremely busy at rush hour. The they built a big housing estate 200m up one leg and added a set of lights so residents could get onto the road. This backs up traffic all the way around the roundabout, meaning traffic from other legs can't even get onto the roundabout.

An absolute disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

Why ? Have you some disability that makes using roundabouts difficult ?

Funny how roundabouts work fine in other countries but the thickos on the island get into a tizzy over them.

And why am I angry about this ? F**king traffic lights !! They'll be the solution to removing roundabouts !! That's why, the place is polluted with them and it's because such a large proportion of ye are too thick to have it any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,094 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Three arm roundabouts in residential areas are a traffic calming measure in many cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

image.png

Ridiculous alright. I try to understand the logic but there is no justifiable logic to it. The only thing I think of is it's to piss everyone off. Drivers who get blue in the face after 5 roundabouts in a row, pedestrians who have to negotiate their way around them, cyclists who have to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

I don't really see how Carrigaline would be a named example of a town that's over-roundabouted. There are two busy ones and a handful of smaller ones and that's it. The main routes are signalised (east and west relief roads) and the new estate is also a signalled junction.

If anything Carrigaline is showing evidence of how councils are moving away from roundabouts, with the main reason being that they're horrific for pedestrians

To be fair I probably take a particularly bad route through Carrigaline, but I have a roundabout every 400m as I go through or past town.

I reckon that's the case alright. It's an archaic way of traffic calming though unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭jacool

The bigger "unfortunately" is that we need traffic calming.

You'd swear everyone had to arrive somewhere really important, yesterday!