Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 25/26 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Carragher tends to overcompensate for his Liverpool allegiances by being overly critical. It's irritating but I still think he's an excellent pundit, especially on Monday Night Football. A much better analyst than co-commentator.

On the match itself, there are obvious issues with the team at the moment. Integrating 4 new players into the team is difficult. Wirtz and Kerkez played really poorly too which doesn't help. Plus missing Gravenberch.

I think things will be more coherent as the season progresses and I wouldn't be too worried. Very important they pulled it out of the fire at at the end, that's a sign of champions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,221 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Konate's a stronger presence than Gomez/Matip were, and I do think he's an excellent defender in spite of yesterday's brain farts, but I've never gotten the impression that him and VVD are on the same page in the way Virg was with Matip and Gomez. Lots of communication breakdowns.

Anyway I hate Friday night games but there's nothing better than getting an early win and getting to enjoy the rest of the weekend stress free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Positives have to be the performance of Ekitike, you have to wonder if signing Isak is really necessary.

I also think Gakpo is excellent in the wide left position. Someone mentioned dropping him for Chiesa earlier I think, that's nonsense. I think if he stays fit he'll contribute 15 to 20 goals this season from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Maybe not Isak, but we probably now need another forward after losing Nunez. I don't think Gakpo, Ekitike, Salah and Chiesa is enough to cover 3 spots. Elliot is 99% certain to be gone, and if an offer comes in for Chiesa he'll be gone too...we could be badly stretched up top if we dont get someone in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

A few comments/snap judgements based on the last week or so:

Our most important player in many ways last season was Gravenberch:he was amazing,especially given where he came from the year before. We missed him immensely in the last few games. That means we need 2 things: Grav back, and a Plan B. Grav can't play 70 games this season or whatever it is, so we do need a back up strategy.

We need a defender more than Isak. Isak is very much a nice to have, another CB is essential. Ibou was poor yesterday, I don't think his impending transfer will effect him over the season, but even more than Grav he needs rotation, he struggles with the game every 3 day schedule. If it's Guehi, then go for it, but that's more important IMHO than bolstering an already strong attack with Isak. If Chiesa does what he did last night, he'll take pressure off the others and allow more rotation.

Finally, great see Joe Gomez healthy and back on the field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,854 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Back on the game, and I'm always happy tp go against the grain on this one, but listening to TAW and Gomez at RB.

Whilst agreeing Endo to RB was a strange one with Joe on the bench, they then go on to describe Joe's performance as "Brilliant, Superb, Excellent".

I really feel this happens alot in general. Joe coming on and performing "grand" but the collective fanbase wanting it to happen so badly for him that 6 and 7/10 performances get remembered as 9s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,187 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Totally agree with you on everything you said except the very strong attack,our starting attackers are very strong but look at our bench last night, only Chiesa had any experience. Whether we get Isak or not i would say we could do with another 2 forwards,now that probably won't happen

Agreed, ideally someone who can play wide right and wide left. Semenyo wouldn't be a bad shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

We really need a defender and an attacking player (doesn't have to be Isak). But we're completely stretched in both if we even get 1 injury per position.

We only have space for 2 midfielders in this system, so I'd say Grav, MaC and Dom will see plenty of rotation between the 3 off them.

I'd love to see Guehi and another forward in before the end of the window. I can't see it happening somehow unless both Palace and Newcastle, if it's to be Isak, drastically change their stance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭kingshankly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Carragher has been terrible for ages, how they let him commentate Liverpool games is ridiculous, same with Neville for Utd games.

Ekitike Had a Torres finish about him I thought and a few lovely touches, him and Isak will be some force together.

Delighted for Chiesa also and I think he'll stay until January because the AFCON is on.

Good win to start the season, I think Slot will have them tightened up a bit for Newcastle away and another week for Alexis fitness along with Gravenberch back should make a huge difference.

Wirtz looks a class act, seems to be a level above but I suppose that's what 115m should get you.

And a shout out for Szoboslai who was excellent except for the flick for their 1st goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭8-10

After last night I'd say even if we were interested he'd have no interest in moving to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,221 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I think we're fine on the wings with Gakpo, Salah, Chiesa, Wirtz, and Frimpong all able to play them, it's what happens at CF when Ekitike goes off that would worry me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Well done villa/ newcastle. Respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,690 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

I'm sure he'd be strong enough to not let one individual's action rule over his life, or prevent him from achieving what he wants to in his career.

Certainly he was strong enough to shrug it off and turn in a proper performance for his team, and fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Great statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Wow, that's a wonderful statement. Fair play to him. Great player and obviously a great person too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sign Semenyo 😍🤩😍

Endo came on to shore up right back position. Vanished into thin air for their first, surely his job was to stay back, stay in line with Konate, and don't leave that space. He did the opposite.

There wasn't a single Bournemouth player in their own half, when Ekitike was clear in on goal, a man of his speed would 100% be making and attempt on goal, if the player didn't handle it on purpose.

VAR minutes into season, and they fck it all up, again. They have to be the worst in world football, this bunch of officials .

You'd think they'd sort it out.

The man handled the ball, stretched arm out, and swiped ball away with his finger tips, how on earth can anyone over the age of 2, not realise that, again are we talking about cheating, or incompetence , their defence is

'' we're really stupid, like totally''

That is their defence . How to cheat, claim you are a moron, as you can't get sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,690 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

TBH...I've no idea if that's him or someone claiming to be etc, not up on all that twitter lark. Only edited it in to the original message as it happened to pop up when I was switching app, but it's exactly what you would hope a person's reaction would be.

Certainly he done everything right last night, for himself and for his team. Probably thought he was just getting the usual fan/throw-in player treatment (he was having a laugh with a couple lads a few minutes before on the far side in the same situation), but something was obviously said to him (not to mention thrown at him by some reports) by some scumbag in the second. Followed the procedure, reported it to the ref, ref took action, informed everyone concerned, cops came along and removed him - they probably even had it confirmed by supporters close-by right there and then. Legalities take over then if there was an offence, and the club will act on that accordingly.

For the lad himself, he was especially impressive in his reaction with all of this and should be applauded for his positive actions. On another positive note, hopefully a fan more deserving of a regular spot in the ground will now have a ticket going forward.

How Semenyo ran from the edge of his own box, to edge of ours to score with out a single Liverpool playing tickling him is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I’ve secured Liverpool tickets for a game later in the season. Am I best off flying to Manchester airport and get the train? It has alot better times than Liverpool airport for that weekend.

Game is scheduled for Saturday at 3 so I’m planning on going Friday with the kids and come back Sunday night.

Any hotel recommendations?

Thanks for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭eigrod

Game will almost certainly be moved for tv - could be 12.30, 3 or 5.30 (or 8.00) Saturday and 2.00 or 4.30 Sunday (or even Monday). What European game might be on week before or after will also dictate time. Manchester, Birmingham or Leeds are usually cheaper fly/train options than to Liverpool.

Going Friday back Sunday night sounds good if you want a good weekend and you should be 80% sure game will be in that window. Getting back to Manchester after a 4.30 ko might be tight depending on your flight time.

Booking travel before ko time is announced a big gamble. Even the Everton game is fixed for 12.30 Saturday for tv but subject to change depending on Liverpool’s European fixture the week before. It’s a nightmare for planning travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

What I could do is book a late on Sunday night flight. Any hotel recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

You don't know what his 'job' was. Looks like the fullbacks are being encouraged to attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,615 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Games are on Friday/Saturday/Sunday/Monday

Beware before committing to flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

I'm starting to think if splashing £130m really necessary for Isak. It feels similar to last year when we were chasing Zubimendi only to discover Grav had the abilities all along. Perhaps we just need a backup striker for Etikite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭8-10

But we already had Gravenberch signed at that point

Who's the backup going to be? We have to sign someone. Who's better than Isak that's available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭DRedSky

in fairness not everyone has tickles. And if you try it and it backfires then everyone will be wondering wtf you were doing