Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 25/26 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,409 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,690 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Carragher backing down on the Chiesa strike now after twice saying it was a mishit

Seriously lads, anything that fool suggests, always do the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭eigrod

Chiesa looks so like Smicer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Yeah he gets it. Tough time for them. For the crowd to be singing Diogo's name and not Salahs or Chiesas at that time tells a lot about the wider context.

Hugely emotional night for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭antimatterx

That was fun. PL is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

A Gravenberch shaped hole in midfield today that will be duly plugged next weekend thankfully enough!

Subs definitely shifted the game towards Bournemouth, understood Kerkez and Mac but Frimpong and Ekitke were strange ones no doubt, I’d like to think they are both match fit.

Great debut for Ekiteke, Wirtz had some lovely moments but stood over the ball a bit too much at times and got caught out, he will no doubt be a superstar. Kerkez is a bit of a headbanger so think him and Robbo will be fighting it out for that position, likewise Frimpong and Bradley when he’s fit.

Konate was a bit all over the place, Virgil has probably lost a touch of pace also, plenty of positives and negatives that can be ironed out. It will be interesting to see who makes way for Gravenberch next week, I think there will be lots of rotation this season for sure.

Delighted for Chiesa and that goal was absolutely class!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,690 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Fair play Hugo..…got stung for the interview with Kelly and two jokers

Wants more MOMs.

At least they didn't touch the Isak stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭505_

Carragher doing his best to talk down the chances of retaining the title. You’d think we’d lost the game.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Konate didn't have a great game but blaming him for the second goal is comically stupid from Carra, on his side it is 3 v 1, there is no right answer for Konate there, none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I'd say that's the way the season will go. We will concede a few but have way too much up front. Season will be over by March.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Deligjted for Chiesa.

Slot fúcked up bigtime bringing Endo on at RB. Gomez should have come on,plain and simple.

Worst game Konate will ever play, atrocious really.

3 points, happy with that but we were playing too open too often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭505_

VVD needed to engage him instead of backing off. Should know a player of Semenyos quality is going to be lethal from that position just outside the box if not put under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Sky love a narrative and this talk about liverpool will be wide open all season is hilarious. Gravenberch returns and Wirtz settles in midfield and the drama narrative will move to some other team once we start winning with ckean sheets. Seen and heard it all before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Carragher loves throwing a fellow defender under the bus for their defending. You would think he would have some sympathy, then again he was never in those positions as defending was so much different when he played. I shudder to think how he would have done in a high line or a team that played out from the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭pauldoo

Interesting night

Both fullbacks were poor but early days. Gravenberch will make a huge difference but if wirtz is the 10, the team may be way too open

Endo should never have been ahead of the ball for the bournmouth goal-madness.

Despite the goal, bit worried that Salah is dropping off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭poppers

Apparentley this is the lad who abused semenyo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭riddles

Be interesting to see the impact of Heitingas departure and VB as a replacement. Paired back from 2 goals in each game so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,538 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I think both Konate and VVD were in two minds what to do. If VVD steps up then Semenyo plays in the runner on the right. Same for Konate, if he steps up then either of the two runners on the left are played in. What I would say is that Konate slight step to his right opened up the side of the goal for a clearer shot.

It was a lose lose situation for both CBs but Semenyo did very well in his attacking play. He's a lovely play and I'm delighted for him personally as his performance is the best way to shut up ignorant racist as*holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭8-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Next two games need a big improvement in the team structure on the pitch..

Sort that and win those games we will be set up and full of belief.

But it needs to be better..here's Slot

Bet he agrees with me…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Carragher was a terrible defender and now he is a terrible pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Carragher trying to drag Slot over hot coals in a casual post match interview. FFS

And Slot answered perfectly - maybe go support a team who will sit with 11 in their own box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,187 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Frimpong felt his hamstring at half time so thats why he was taken off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,221 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Big thing today, much like vs Palace, is that we lost a lot of presence and control up top when Ekitike went off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Slot is so good in interviews and it’s not even his first language…such an impressive man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭brevity

I think Carra is very knowledgeable about soccer but he is a terrible actor. It’s all just a show for Sky Sports. Everything is dialled up to 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Wasn't sure of Slot when he arrived. Specially after the charisma of Klopp.

Taught he looked misplaced( can't find a better word )

But I love the guy..so honest with no BS. Very intelligent fella who is totally in control. Kinda reminds me of the King. He won't accept fools gladly

Tactically he's very poor in expressing his opinion. Also listening to him on Stick to Football in relation to Isak transfer leaves a lot to be desired while Neville and Keane explain simply that you need excellent backups up front to change games or start in place of your main guy while Carragher is shiteing on about 80m backups. This is what has probably cost Liverpool more trophies during his time at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭54and56

No question he has the engine but I just don't think he has the discipline Mac Allister has and in this new formation the two midfielders need to be out and out #6's who are defensivley disciplined. Sobo doesn't have that defensive discipline.