Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

So which post are we going with - the first where you pointed to Castlerahan having a decent enough league like the league was a barometer or the second where you wouldn’t put much stock on Mullahoran’s league form?
    You can’t have it both ways.

In my own opinion, I don’t read into the league much but I also wouldn’t read much into a first round game that means sweet fook all in the grand scheme of things where Ramor never really got out of second gear.

Tldr: calm down lad. Don’t get ahead of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭tazman06

Two things can exist alongside each other at the same time. We can have teams that get it up mainly for Championship, and we can have (in Castlerahans case) a team who look significantly worse in Championship than League. Or is it simply just Crosserlough in 1 game? That's the point. They didn't look this bad, even allowing for teams who may look very different between both competitions

Fair. But not getting out of 2nd gear is not solely on that team, but what the opposition let too

No one is getting ahead of themselves, and no one isn't calm. It's just first round of the Championship and we are just already seeing some intriguing stories is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Reading in Celt, the County Chairman is happy with the process that elected Dermot McCabe. He had 2 candidates and 1 pulled out the evening before the "interview". The winner had no backroom team to present. There was no head hunting. Cavan GAA has a big turnover and should be run as a business - professionally and with the best interest of the county setup at heart. As far as I can see the Chairman is running it like a circus and if it were my business he'd be collecting his P45 if he hired one of the most important roles in the county in that fashion. Such incompetence, on open display is hard to contemplate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 large_palette

A process suggests that there were several stages of recruitment involved, in order to narrow down the number of candidates. We got two.

And here is the question: was Finbar O'Reilly realistically ever going to be considered for the job? Given how he was compromised some would say he was the perfect candidate for what was always a one-horse-race.

I don’t know why yas are wasting time and energy on this lads. From the moment he put his hand up, he had the job. As for players approaching him, that could have just been the Gowna lads for all we know.

It is what it is now. Job is filled. At least he controls the purse strings, like everything else in there, so he might manage to get them to spend a few euros on actual football related items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭rrs

Westmeath not happy that they are left looking for a manager in the middle of August. McCabe should have informed them a while back he was stepping down.

Post edited by rrs on

I’m hearing backroom team will be Fintan Reilly and McCabe’s brother. You could t write it.

It's looking a bit like how North Korea run things now if that's the case

Yes he's in now. But that's twice in succession that the CB have forgone proper recruitment protocols. Another optical exercise for the clubs while the real business got done in a carpark months ago . It begs serious questions about governance and how things are run in Breffni park. People complain about underage success and development squads while this is taking place right under their noses.

Sure there are serious questions but who else will take on the jobs? Like I said, they just move the seats around in there and at the end of the day it can’t be overly questioned because nobody else wants the jobs. That’s the long and short of it.

It’s a bit like complaining about referees. Go and do it for a game and see how you get on.

Did they even look outside the County? Antrim who are in division 4 have various names from outside the county linked. Mark Doran who was coach with Derry and Down is one. Colin Kelly who is over kingscourt is another.

Not that they should throw money at a journey man manager, but at least see what options there was.

Why would they waste their time when the man who runs the place had held his hand up? Sure he tells them what they are doing and when they are doing it.

If it's as bad as that then the responsibility lies with the clubs of Cavan to grow some balls and put more progressive and sensible people in charge. Doing nothing makes clubs implicit in this farce. I assume there will be a county board meeting to rarity the appointment, wouldn't that be an opportunity for clubs to attack the process rather than the man being proposed?

I don't think we should be that bothered with outside managers. We saw likes of McGleenan. A shyster looking to get ahead and use us merely as a stepping stone. Doing 2 years and then buggering off does nothing for us. McHugh the only one that worked for us, and he had a major point go prove to Donegal turning him down

Like if it's an outside manager like Harte, Horan, or even Gavin then yes absolutely. But Cavan would not be enticing those. So for me, no to randomers wanting pay for a few years to step off somewhere else. Someone in the county who knows the setup and underage and loves the county at least might have that headstart. No massive fan of McCabe, but there's certain boxes he ticks at least

Post edited by tazman06 on

Val Andrews was decent in his first spell. Eamon Coleman was doing ok before the illness.

McGleenan never applied for the Cavan job and seemed to be in shock that he was in the job anytime he was interviewed.

Why would clubs pop up their head to get it knocked off? As I’ve said before, the power brokers decide the date of your championship fixtures, where you play, if you get games in Breffni, if you can move a game, if you get decent fixtures to make revenue off at your ground, if you can sell sponsorship tickets in Breffni at league matches…. And the list goes on.

There seems to be a real lack of knowledge on here as to just how much power the CB hold and why it’s just easier for delegates to keep their mouths shut.

It's not at all like complaining about referees. It's about the running of an organisation in which 1000's of hours are volunteered each month. If the clubs are unwilling to challenge another farcical appointment process for the manager of our premier team then maybe we should collectively lower our aspirations. And stop being disappointed when we're not spoken about with the same fear and admiration as other Ulster counties.

So the solution is?

1- cry about it on an online forum

Or

2- grow some balls and get your club to challenge, and what better club to challenge than one of the biggest in the county.

Fair on Coleman alright. He had a very good squad, was such a pity he never got a right crack at leading the team. He could have done well with what he had. Overall though, outside managers don't seem to work well. Coleman fairly well knew the landscape too. So if it has to be from outside, best if someone knows inside the county at least

Outside managers have been the solution to a fair few counties woes. Eugene McGee with Offaly? Paudie O'Shea with Westmeath? Micko with Laois with Kildare? Brian Mullin's with Derry? John O'Mahony with Leitrim and Galway? Ger Brennan with Louth? Mickey Moran thrived with several counties, as does Davy Fitz and Mickey Harte. That's without mentioning any of the successful club teams, College teams and Sigerson teams. I'm sure Paul Bealin and Justin McNulty might chagrin at hearing that from a good Mullahoran man!

Where was I crying? I was the one telling others why clubs won’t raise their heads and why there is a lack of understanding about it on here.

I must have missed where you even grew the balls to say who your club were?
    Can you confirm you have mandated your own club to challenge this?

I await the eerie silence or political avoidance of the question asked.

If you paid attention ive said many times I have lived in Sligo for 20 years and as such have no means to influence matters in Cavan. However in Sligo I have in another code and I do know what it takes. And it actually doesn't take a lot, just a bit of gumption. You seem to have conceded and accepted defeat?

Ah it's a select list to be fair. McGee and O'Mahony are still the only outside managers to win an All Ireland. Yes, we've provincial examples, but we've many many more that didn't work either. Of all the ones we had, just McHugh won an Ulster

I certainly know plenty about the host of outside managers Mullahoran have had. McNulty delivered the SFC in 06 alright, but we've paid a lot of money out (that at times couldn't be afforded) to high profile guys and got little out of it. We've won 4 Championships since 98. Of the managers 2 men from inside the club, 1 from Cavan, and McNulty. Many couldn't get us over the line with a very strong team in the 00s in particular

Avoided the question as I expected. Who is your club in Cavan? I may leave skin town but I’m still a man of the club.

Conceded defeat in what? I didn’t run for the role of Cavan senior manager.

Who is in contention for the u20 job? Mark McHugh possibly will be part of the senior backroom team. He is hard enough to listen too but seems to be a decent coach. Was with roscommon for a year before westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭celt262

Has he not turned it down now that he is on the Banty gravey train with Corduff?

Heard he would part of cavan set up but maybe not. He was coaching moycullen in Galway last year, while coaching roscommon. Enjoys the gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 breffnitightlips

Big win for kingscourt, morris a game changer! Young guys coming through a big help. Swanlinbar flying even without gearoid! They must be near the top off the pecking order, junior would be a great betting heat if there was odds offered. Intermediate and junior wide open and senior a contest. Great entertainment for the next few weeks!

IMG_8354.jpeg

Killeshandra, was never a secret.

You've repeatedly said the county board have too much power to do anything about it, sounds to me like a lad who has given up, conceded defeat and is satisfied to bemoan the state of affairs on boards.ie while you are one of the people who could actually do something about it.

Why would the Lough rock the boat? We’ve the three best players on the county team, are developing our grounds superbly and won the senior championship last year without needing the best forward in the county.

Also, ye are bemoaning the clubs not questioning the CB. I’m explaining why they won’t because ye lads seem to have a misunderstanding of what everything boils down to.

What makes the world go round lads: money. That’s what it all comes back to.

The CB control the key items affect the coffers of every club. Question them and you’re in bother.

Post edited by Cavan_King on