If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭older by the day

It was the cleanliness of the hole picture that struck me. The jeep/car is spotless. You would need a vaccination before you could come into my hilux these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

look at him there Ted with his hairy legs…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

no livestock away from the yard here, it’s a good help in keeping it clean. It’s a discovery 4. Bit too good to be a farm jeep really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Arm Wax

grasstomilk how does one go about working out the dimensions for a maze pit, lets just say for 20 acres….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭straight

I never heard of a discovery being too good for anything. More of a people carrier than anything else. You might see them pulling a horse box alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Sad case locally where milk collection is after been stopped, father is terminally ill, son was half farming the place, but had no interest, and their after been shut down now after a bord bia inspection...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Jeez it must have been bad to be shut down, probably for the best for all concerned. A farm can fall apart fairly fast if illness/lack of interest takes hold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

aw that’s terrible to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭lmk123

Not much muck and shite pulling a horse box. Dad likes them. She’s 2014 with 340kms and hasn’t given much bother. Comfortable yoke and can pull a big trailer

Guess work here tbh. We’ve a slab with clay banks atm it’s 24x100 and held 20 acres last year easy. Will probably be 30 -35ft wide x100x 8-9 ft walls. Should hold 40 acres if we ever grow that amount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’ve a 36*75 slab with 5 foot side walls …holds my 12 acres fine ….long narrow slab with walls ideal for maize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Mf310

Mustv been fair bad alotta stuff for bord bia very easily solved at farm level and paperwork level plenty firms doing that on hire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Yard is in a bad state, only plus side is they are milking alot of stale big hosltein cows that are 18 plus months in milk, go shot of them going to factory soon...

It's the one farming sector dairying where if the head goes our work isn't been done, the whole operation goes to s**t very quickly, its not money for jam lads on the outside looking in think it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Is the son happy for the cows to go. If not local co/op or IFA/ICMSA could provide assistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,301 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I got a 4 month extension from bord bia when oh was diagnosed. Dairies orgainised it for me. Now we've the new parlour etc but I wasn't in to facing the inspection at the time. It wasn't a problem. We did the inspection in June. All ok. So they will work with people

It happens,

It happened a local lad here, pressure drove him over the edge. The drinagh COOP even tried to send out a few workers to help him pass. But nothing could help, family or friends.

It turned out OK, when the cows went, the pressure was off, he went out working and he's back to himself.

I know lads here will tell you, that they manage hundreds of cows on their own, I don't believe them. If things go wrong there is mighty pressure on your own.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

There's pressure when things go right, never mind when they go wrong.

The one-man-band is always under pressure from what I've seen this year. You might get better at handling things and less might go wrong as the years pass, and family labour is grand for the odd milking, but the buck will always stop with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I was sitting beside an ex dairy farmer at a homeopothy conference. He converted to tillage and doesn't know himself and the wife was the same and with him. It was the constant pull and time that everything needs your full attention every day and he was missing out on stuff with his children.

I bought a fixer upper digger a short while ago from an ex dairy farmer and he got out because it was a ball and chain on his life (mental and social).

I know people say it's as hard as you make it. But I reckon those saying so have plenty of help in every way to share the load. And don't actually know themselves. My father has a saying when dairy farming was more fluid in the 70's. You'll take hardship for twenty years in life, after that you'll be gone or the cows will be. The trouble now too is standards and costs are a lot more difficult than the 70's to dip in and out when you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,301 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Temu getting another use out of the cmt paddle , frying eggs

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I don’t want to be all doom and gloom (for a change!) but when the processors, Teagasc, the media, the Dept, etc talk about succession and the need for young blood in farming, it’s not the good of the oul lad or the young lad they have in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah sure we know all that. It's for themselves.

They have the 9 to 5 and holidays and 100k from it.

It was my father and the workers in the mart noted at the time, the one man bands done 20 years from when they got into cows till they got out.

I started in my own name at 38. Will be out before 60. 20 years in one job is enough for anyone.

Same thing happened around here. Place was just covered in sh1t and he couldn't see it. He was shut down and he's doing fine in a job now with a few dry cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Grueller

Yet the regulation, red tape and general top down hardship keeps getting sent down on top of us and they don't see the link.

The latest one being the need to notify movement of slurry to your own outside blocks. Bullsh1te again.

No joined up thinking.

The co-ops are now concerned about farmers leaving the sector. One of the main reasons cited is constant changes to regulations and additional paperwork.

And who added extra red tape onto farmers by making Bord Bia mandatory a few years back? The same co-ops who are now so concerned about farmers leaving the sector.

Imagine if co-ops opposed the odd new brain fart on paperwork from the Dept instead of forcibly implementing it on farmers for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

On the note of hardship, I milked OAD for years, for personal reasons, but I went back twice a day this year for two reasons, money and I've interested young lads (13 and down) and wanted to give them more involved. It's been a success in that regard but that said, I won't stick it either, it's no life after when we know what OAD offers.

So as a compromise, we've started skipping a few milkings, call it 18 hr milking, 10 in 7, whatever, we don't have staff so we wing it depending on the schedule. It's the bomb! Even better than OAD, where you had to be on point every morning with cows waiting in mucky gaps in wet weather,and where 24hr grazing blocks meant some evening moves. With this if you've a busy morning, milk late, or skip and milk early in the evening, likewise for a busy evening, skip it. Have a lie in at the weekends, no pressure getting to matches or home from the beach. We still milk 11 or 12 times a week and we've no loss in milk, no SCC problem. It makes it much more attractive for the second half of the lactation and allows us to enjoy the summer holidays even more with the lads. I can highly recommend it.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

That is an interesting post indeed, can you compare the figures between OAD and the 18 hr milkings

Your system does sound handy.

That's very encouraging to hear. My understanding is that 10-in-7 is essentially 7 mornings and 3 evenings per week.

It was discussed at a OAD farm walk I was on last week. The weekly schedule of one man doing it is below.

Teagasc have done work on it. There's results of a trial on p.316 of the Moorepark open day book: https://teagasc.ie/wp-content/uploads/uploads/Moorepark-2025-Open-Day-Book.pdf

They compared 10-in-7 for a full season and 10-in-7 for part of the season (TAD til July, then 10-in-7 til dry off). Full season was 10% lower production I think and part season was around 3%.

10-in-7.jpg