Ultra Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭kave2

HI folks, was thinking about signing up for KWU Nite. However I haven't training particularly for ultra, currently in marathon training block for DCM. My longest race was BYU in June - 62km so this would be good bit longer. Is this a good idea? 😆

Cut off time is 24 hours which I feel is doable.

No doubt it's going to be very difficult challenge as it would be my first proper ultra but I just cannot take my mind off it.

Or should I just leave until next year?

Thanks a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭Enduro

Go for it. Marathon training is perfectly fine for ultras. The main thing you need is the drive and determination to keep going, which it sounds like you have. Get the pacing right, start out much much easier than if you were running a marathon.

And what's the worst that happens… you don't finish. So what! You'll have learned loads regardless. But chances are you will finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭opus

I'd agree with Enduro, just go for it! I've done it just the once in '23 where I managed to catch a dose of something the week leading up to it. Meant I treated it like a long hike than any sort of trail run but I didn't have a problem finishing under the cut-off (apart from feeling like crap 🙂).

UTMB coverage yesterday was fantastic, Whamsley was his usual legendary self in the OCC and in the womans Joyline Chepngeno (first UTMB winner from Kenya) beat defending champion Miao Yao in a good battle. My favorite today, the CCC starts in a little while.

In the womans I reckoon its between Xiang and McCann and the mens I would think the Italian Puppi must be favorite

In the middle of the big one right now, the UTMB itself. Close running in the male race at halfway. Still anyone's there. Impressive performances by 3 British runners (Captain Tom, Albon, and Wade).

In the female race Courtney is in front, but not by a commanding margin yet. Still, being the GOAT, you'd be brave to bet against her winning.

But what I've really being looking forward to is seeing how Ireland's top female Ultra runner will do here. Emma Stuart has worked her way up to 10th, and 4th in her age category. That would be an awesome finishing position (and would get her on the podium for the main prize giving, which goes to 10th, as well as being about 10 minutes off getting on her AG podium as I type). But Emma excels at multi-days, so its more likely she'll gain than lose places as the race goes on. Great to watch from afar.

They just mentioned Emma Stuart, currently in 9th, fantastic

Jaysus, getting interesting now for Emma. On the last descent in 11th, with Courtney in front of her moving slowly. The website is projecting Courtney to be 10th by 10 minutes, but its going to be close.

No matter what, 11th will be the best ever Irish result in UTMB. And she locked in for second in her age group. An age group podium in the most competitive ultra trail race in the world is fantastic. She'll be the first Irish female to achieve that.

Just update, I have completed the KWU Nite. It was very difficult and conditions were horrible. Thanks for encouraging me to do it.

I will be doing more of these ultras from now on, not just road races. I was looking up other races the next day 🤣

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

95 minute doc on ultras across the Sahara, Gobi, Atacama, and Antarctica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Caitriona Jennings Sets 100-Mile World Record at the 2025 Tunnel Hill 100 Mile – iRunFar https://share.google/clA8CsZSX99bm9SQw

Really impressive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 EdMcG

Amazing performance by Caitriona Jennings in her first 100 mile. Paced beautifully aswell. Potential now to threaten the 24hr world record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 PatMcGoo

To put Caitriona Jennings performance in perspective: Running 100 miles in 12:37:04, means she averaged about 4:42 per KM or 7:34 per Mile, racing the equivalent of about 32 5Ks back-to-back in 23:31. Great achievement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

I'm looking at doing the Trasna na Blianta 24 hour in Leixlip organised by Anto. I'd love to read some race reports of 24 hour track racing. I read Michael Van see Klein's race report which was great. Any other recommendations?

Thomas Bubendorfers race report from the 2012 Irish 24hr national championships in Bangor is excellent. For my first 24hr I brought a big container of salted boiled potatoes cause thats what Thomas did, I wasn't alone. It's on his blog "Diary of a rubbish marathon runner", it's called "Round and Round in circles".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Thanks Ed and Eoin, there's loads on good ol' Thomas's blog. 3 years he's gone now. So many different 24 hour reports. Haven't even found the "Round and Round in circles one".

Thanks Eoin, will have a read.

If I do it, I'm considering 10 laps running, 1 lap walking (and eating), from the very beginning. Does anyone do that? Or does everyone just go nice and easy but continously?

A great saying I once read was along the lines of "ask 5 ultrarunners about the best training strategy and you'll get 8 completely different answers". Race strategies would be similarly different.

The one thing I'd say is just don't go out too hard no matter what strategy you adapt. Start at the pace you intend to finish running 24 hours later! (The recent female 100 mile and 24 hour world records were both set at fairly even pacing)

But, we're all different, and a 24 hour race will amplify that. Nothing wrong with your tactics at all. Plenty of people have a set run-walk plan. But don't be afraid to change the plan as the race evolves. The one difficulty of run-walk as the race gets longer is restarting can get significantly more difficult.

Whatever you do, you'll probably make plenty of mistakes (all bar a few freaks do!), and learn tons. But if you can learn and adapt dynamically, then all the better.

"Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the face" Mike Tyson

But unlike boxing the 24hr will punch you when you're on the ground aswell. You need a plan going in and run 10 walk 1s as good as any. Maybe throw in a couple of 400m power walk stints on an easy run once a week to help visualise the race and prepare the body.

Adaptability will bring the most success I think. Have a plan B,C,D & E as well. It also helps mentally so if things go side ways you are prepared and can re focus.

To reiterate what Enduro said, going from a walk to a run becomes increasingly difficult and in my case very painful on the quads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 eatandrun

Made a separate post but this might get some eyes but has anyone here done the Italian medical cert for UTMB races before? Need cardiac stress test, spirometry, urine test + medical exam.

Based in Clare/Limerick area, trying to avoid multiple appointments or an excursion to Dublin if possible. What's the most efficient way to sort this? I don't have a regular GP and depend on walk in clinics.

Thanks!

In case anyone comes across the above, I used a service called Fitcertify and that was accepted by UTMB

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Very disappointing and disgusting that Sarah Porter was pulled from the Spine race following death threats. Pretty sure her fundraiser was £40k when I checked it last night. Now £65k.

Anyone running WTF? I'm doing 130km, will be my longest distance. Feeling bit nervous. Hopefully the weather stays good.

Enjoy it. Don't worry about the fast lads, run your own race and take it all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭darrenheaphy

Fantastic, enjoy. I've done it twice, it's a brilliant event. Good trails, beautiful views. All I can say it just settle into it, enjoy it!

Unfortunately pretty bad, DNF after 22km.

Felt fine for the first 10km, after that suddenly got very tired, was barely running and couldn't breathe. Struggled on aprox. 1km past the aid station and just before the climb on Eagles hill decided to DNF.

I would be able to push through the tiredness but the breathing really scared me. This have never happened before.

It took couple of hours to go away, even when I got home past midnight I still felt it few times.

Still very disappointed as was really looking forward to it.

Were you sick or anything recently? I picked up an illness nearly a month before the EcoTrail Wicklow last year and I still hadn't fully shaken it out by race day (and it flared up again a few days out!) and the the run was a complete slog.

Kinda sucks because there isn't much you can really do to prevent that sorta thing (other than hiding from everyone for the month beforehand!)

No, I wasn't. That's why it scared me a bit. Felt fine day after, had my first run yesterday(11k) - no issues. Honestly don't know what happened but still angry and disappointed. Maybe should have pushed through... 🤷‍♂️

That sucks, I wouldn't worry too much though. You'd be surprised at how much a general nervousness and a low-level bug can make a run into a **** show sometimes. I ran Kerry Way twice, loved it, running highlight to date. Last year I wanted to run really hard at it, so had a little performance anxiety but nothing massive, and some weird bug in the run up to it (if I wasn't doing the run I probably wouldn't have noticed it) and it was a complete balls. Struggled from 30km onward, had to call it at 80km. It absolutely sucks but it's normal. Just sign up for something else and direct the training you've done to that 👍