If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭893bet

@Bass Reeves or anyone else in the Midwest.

Are you seeing much difference in the price paid for quality suckler LM weanlings/stores in Ennis vs Tipperary vs six mile vs newport etc?

I don’t watch enough to have a qualified opinion. Ennis seems higher from a glance, but suspect the average quality is that bit higher there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Dunedin

whilst I would agree with the need not to divide etc., there has been plenty of suckler bashing over the years and the price increase is very welcome at their door.

There was even one prominent poster on here at the early stages of the high prices who stated that sucklers were most at risk so it’s a little keyboard payback time me thinks.

Personally, I love to see everyone get on, be it farming or in their day job - no time for begrudgers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,959 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Part of the reason cattle are scarce is because suckler cow numbers have dropped. Why did people cut back cow numbers? There was no money in it. Now there is money in it for the few that stuck with it. It's a simple case of supply and demand. There is no us and them in beef really.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭limo_100

seems to be a huge difference between marts everywhere in fairness, Carrigallen and Roscommon seem to be the best in the midlands but at the same time they seem to get the better quality weanlings, where as Granard is good but suits a more storey type weanling for squeezing. Have seem some high quality weanlings in Granard sell for 100's less than it would have got in Carrigallen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,165 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The Drop in suckkers is only part of it. The export trade is a big factor. There is a savage amount of bucket fed weanlings and stones exported as well as calves. Dairy cows have dropped back as well you 30-50k.

If the export was not there ir tge extra sucklers were there the processors woukd quite happily to be paying us 6/kg or less.

Think a lot of what some are describing as bashing was a cohort of us who were dead set against a subsidising of sucklers to keep farmers doing it. We pointed out that tge only winners in that case was the processors. We also pointed out that as sucklers nu.bers dropped there progeny would be more valuable. Subsidising a system is no replacement for profitability.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

In Tullamore on Sunday met a man from west who buys a lot of good continental store cattle for farmers up and down the country, he was saying last year buying a 100 stores for men would take around 140k and this year will take 250k roughly. Some differences in money to out lay to just fill a shed before doing anything and blue tongue on the horizon.

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

the only reason i started posting on here was to counter the constant suckler bashing

who is laughing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭leoch

Balla is probably a better mart than carrigallen or roscommon.....I watched the bulls in it last night and anything good bought by export men making 2800 to 3000

Almost everything was making 6 to 7 euros per kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Well the man that has the sucklers in one or two here eyes have been fools, think everyone is entitled to farm to suit their land, work job, life style and family situation, in my circumstances the sucklers never done me no harm and built slatted sheds and paid a good piece of the house mortgage. From my point view over my life time good cattle always sold well even in a bad trade, from my time working in meat factories they always could sell good quality carcasses and bad ones their was only certain markets for them. For us one of the best things was the breeding side and seen calves born, selling a bull that bred well for that man or how many weanlings went to the boat each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

If you have top ones gortalea is hard beaten, it's on a Wednesday evening so you'll get a good idea on price there. Also castleisland has a weanling sale on this Monday, I find it as good as anywhere. Both places will sort transport for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭limo_100

sure they where making almost 4k in carrigallen on sat. up to 7.50 a kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

If it wasn’t suckler bashing it was posters saying that factories could do what they like as regards specs, price etc .
    Funny how they can’t do what they like now !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It's great to see Suckler lads having a great year and may ye have many great years but beef finishers are still wondering how to stock a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭HHH

Some trade in Roscrea this evening. Serious stock on show and prices to match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 BeGrand2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭kk.man

Mince all of him at supervalus offer this week. Mince price of 10.99 at say 600kg of meat = 6,600 e and that's not even Angus mince price. Im not taken into account offal or hide. Plus he's only one of many animals killed in a day. Im being generous with his kill out but he could have 50 kg of bones.

Factories are spinning a lot of s#</÷e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭amacca

That lad remembers the first simpsons episode!

Going on mart prices 8.50 flat is on offer this week. Im sure certain 'friends' are getting it in the factories too. Don't even enter negotiations less than 8e.

Say they devide the the 1600 by 2 that's 800e for supermarket and processor. Not a bad job by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,165 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Heard a story recently of a farmer that has AA/HE fit this time of year. Two and a weeks ago he was looking for a flat price Agent was offering him 7.6 on the grid +15c for HE & 20c for AA bonuus. He refused and Agent left. He was advised to go to Gortalea but out of courtesy he let the agent know they would be going this week.

Agent rang looking for them offering 8 flat, farmer said he had them booked and he was reluctant to not govevthe mart a chane, He got 8.15 in the end it seems

Slava Ukrainii

That's what im talking about. People on here think I go off the grid but I've serious facts to back my arguments. There's serious bull@%/÷t by factories. Ignore them.

Btw i mentioned supervalu (which is a ccpc questionable offer), the UK supermarkets are absolute king to the barons where the return is absolute.

TBH I have a mixed load 15ish Friesians and coloured cattle with flesh ( not very heavy cattle) young lad looked for 7.5 for Friesians and 8 for coloured cattle ( HE, AA, BB,LM) etc

Agent came back with 7.6 on the grid we are carrying 8 will go to mart Friday, 6 more to Ennis next week and there will be another bit of a load Friday week.

There is 4-5 weeks left in this IMO

Slava Ukrainii

Dam right mart all day. I've a load of aa and he im taking no bull. I'll put them in the mart and if they don't make 8.50 ish they r coming home. Be interesting conversations next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭nhg

IMG_4307.jpeg

We were happy with this in KK last week.

Please Help Keep Boards Alive. https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

If boards.ie do not reach their goal they will be forced to close the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

When are you thinking of selling? Did they bid you a price yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

That’s some price, couldn’t but be happy with that, have you more to go?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Not always the case but as a rough rule-of-thumb, I always thought mart price (liveweight) was about twice factory price (deadweight), based on 50% kill-out.

If fellas are getting €4.50 at the mart, then factory price is close to €9. But factories are paying no where near this.

@kk.man has been saying it for ages and @Bass Reeves is currently doing it, so there must be something to bringing finished cattle to the mart.