If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Grueller

Agree with this. I had a council environmental inspector in the yard on Friday. I have a stack of bales 3 high but on concrete and with drainage channels to a tank. The drainage channel needs to be redone sometime (as in years ago) and wouldn't be anywhere near 100% effective. All he said was maybe you should look t applying for tams to resurface that silage pit and that apron and channels could be included in the job, make it cheap. He also said he won't be pulling me on it as it's a reasonable effort but put it somewhere on a to do list. The man was actually a gent and not in anyway out to get me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BeGrand2025

Booming trade in Carnaross this morning from finishers looking to fill their sheds and agents looking for fit animals.

I’m surprised how many animals are 3 years old plus. Why are lads keeping bullocks for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Grueller

Wasnt trying to contradict you danzy. My initial post on all of this mentioned being educated as a requirement. It is the first tool needed to climb to those salaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭lmk123

ah yes we have it all figured out now, young people are worriers, perfectionists, not thankful for what they have / the people that went before them, spend too much money and don’t take a break 🤦‍♂️. You remind me of this lad at work, he can’t figure out the housing crisis because he bought a house for under £20k over 40 years ago. I know lads my age who could have smashing dairy farms with good land and facilities in the morning if they wanted and they didn’t even do the green cert because they don’t want to go near it, even though I did the opposite to them I can certainly see why they didn’t want the farm. I don’t regret it and hopefully my young lad will take it over in time but I wouldn’t blame anyone for not doing it, I’d be deluded if I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

big sale today.

Yeah those kinds of animas are really coming out of the woodwork the past few weeks..

There seems to be very few good 700kg+ U grade continentals that are under 30 months going through the ring in Delvin or Carnaross the past few weeks though. Did all that type of animal get snapped up by the big boys or are small finisher that has them still going to the factory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭50HX

Those 3 year old cattle weren't pushed on as 22-24mnth olds at the start of the year or finished earlier off of grass underage as there was no need with the high prices..age of cattle doesn't seem to matter at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Austinbrick

With the shortage of cattle, is the 70 day rule on buying Non QA Cattle strictly enforced across the board ?

We've 11 Non QA bullocks 550 to 650 to sell. Will go to the mart in 2 weeks most likely.

I was wondering do factories have the means to kill them sooner if it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm just advising you to ease off a bit.

SO FAR 2025 will be remembered as the best year for farming in decades. So be happy.

I remember August 09 and Aug 12, and bringing in the milking cows at 12 in the day, because they were ploughing the fields. And price wise after the BSE in the late 90s/early00s there were a couple of years that you could not give away yearlings.

Looking back at bank statements in the 80s, they were charging 18% interest.

So relax and enjoy the good year. It might not last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BeGrand2025

I spent a good few hours up at Carnaross. With the amount of high quality bullocks on display you would think there is no beef shortage. Endless pens of blocky Charolais and Limousin making €4.80+ a KG. I couldn’t believe the amount of older animals, many as much as 40 months. If there’s a beef deficit now it will be much bigger next year when there’s no over 30 month bullocks to boost it.

The only animals making below 4 were thin Friesans and there was still plenty of lads fighting over them. Speckled Park weren’t getting many bids. Lots of lads paying big money to fill their sheds this winter.

My animals did pretty good, I got a bit worried when I saw the pens of CH, BB and LM but the prices were consistent throughout the day. My Herefords made 4.22/KG, Aubracs made €4.38/KG, Simmental made €4.55/Kg and a pedigree Aubrac that I was expecting to do the least made €4.62/Kg. It equals to the factory offering about €8.05-€8.20/KG. I was quoted €7.40 base(€7.60 with QA). Going to the mart made the money of an extra bullock.

no you didn’t “just advise” me, that’s what you change to saying when challenged on your condescending bulls**t, if you have anything else to say to me drop me a pm and I’ll send you my number

I post a good bit here, I will try and find what has you so upset. I will have a look.

Do you seriously think I'm going ringing you after 12 at night. You mentioned me at 7 this morning. For jayus sake go in to bed and have a good night's sleep for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭memorystick

A bit of sexual frustration here I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Hyland17

Is there a thread for like predictions into next year and the future for agriculture. Would love to see what others are thinking. I know it would be a mixed bag of opinions but it would be interesting to look back and see who caught onto the trends early. I'd have a negative view at the moment so showing my hands already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I think the trade will hold fairly good. Might be a bit of a drop with the flush of the grass cattle but don’t think base price will drop below €7. Albeit the factories will try hard to get it down and down in the marts too so they can fill their feedlots.

Cattle are just not there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Judging by castleisland yesterday it's dearer things are getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭epfff

5 year prediction

Price of beef doesn't really matter it's net profit at end of year.

The 1000+head finishers getting bigger (some with finance packages from processors following the chicken industry)

The 200-1000head finishers winding down to raring few calves forestry organic or just reducing numbers (processors don't want them because they create too much competition in marts costing the big finishers leaving processors having to pay too much for beef) This I see as the biggest issue facing poor suckler farmers and calf rarers.

The sub 200 finishers staying at it until too old but back to making very modest profits. (They are too valuable to processors, teagasc and everyone else selling magic beans at retail price to force out)

Sucklers numbers keep reducing slowly due to age profile and lack of scale. Most smaller are part-time and profits don't matter so much due to tax system. The larger guys will hold on until next generation but then they will go dairy or get out of farming.

Shipping will bobble due to non-payment and animal rights eventually stoping soon but enough hobby farmers/image farmers will exist to keep floor in good coloured cattle trade.

Dairy will hold it's own with some great years and odd bad year.

Land rental prices too fall

If ye want call me optimistic, pessimistic, an idiot. Anti suckler, a big shot or whatever ever you want but that's my opinion.

Ps. One of the biggest problems farmers have in Ireland is they are underemployed and over mechanised. Locally here we have guys with 120k tractor yard of 10k plus implements for behind it carrying the same numbers of livestock as there grandfather with a mf35 transport box and finger bar mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭I says

Jaysus I don’t think you really thought this through 😂😂😂

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

You mightn’t be far off the mark at all and you’re as likely to be right as any official report.

Very interesting point re farmers having too much machinery. The case you describe is probably replicated across the country.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Impossible to predict ahead, five years.

If we knew what was ahead, we would have sold nothing last year and kept them for this year.

The main reason for the price rises is because of exporting all the dairy calves and weanlings. Disease out break in Germany and surrounding countries meant we had the markets to ourselves.

Whether this will continue???

While I would agree with some of it, I don't think dairy farmers are in the clear regardless of size. Cards are getting stacked against them at the moment. Derogation, banding and I'm quiet confident NO2 emissions are going to play a big part soon.

I think land prices are going to go to the floor due to less uptake in farming. Maybe aneorbic digesters will keep a floor on good land. Heavy land may not do as well. Only so much that can be squeezed out of farmers before it goes tit's up.

Sucklers will become rare, same as sheep. Not many want the challenges of calving/lambing down. People talking of going drystock from sucklers but where is the stock coming from? Dairy herds maybe. But that will only increase prices given for calves and depending on how many dairy farmers are at it.

Price of oil and fertiliser are going to keep going up until at least 2030 with the carbon tax so all goods bought are going to increase every year. Will prices for stock keep holding or increasing until then? I doubt it. Every excuse will be used to lower the price at producer level.

That's just a few of my own thoughts. I hope I'm wrong but when you step away a little and think, it's hard not to see these problems appear. With no proper leadership in this country(farm organisation, government, EU policy) it will be far to late to stop the bleed.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭WoozieWu

always nice to see some positive posts around farming

leave the doom and gloom to january

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭epfff

We can also see at the moment factorys are imposing 30 day qa rule on suppliers except the very big feeders.

The idea of this is to control mart by taking the medium size feeder out of the market for them keeping the large feeder sweet.

The one or 2 of those short keep cattle on a load often covered expenses for me.

Post edited by epfff on

Another factor is weather,

Is water going to be the new oil. A lot of the world is tight on water. Even parts of England are getting roasted most summers now.

At the moment yes. Quality water is disappearing fast. Can see it moving back to a time where most water was collected of rooftops. A little treatment system to kill the bugs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Weanling sale in New Ross - whoever is buying these must be confident beef price is going to hold for another 12-18 months

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1A3tkSEiLH/?mibextid=wwXIfr

IMG_1391.png

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,051 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Hold? They need it to hit 10 euro…..

I sold a nice LM at 660kg (I think he will kill at 60 percent) for 3120. Not much ahead (if any) of factory price.

The above fella has a lot of weight to put on to catch up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Are the mart and factory prices for finished cattle leveling out a bit?

Weanlings are mad money, a lot of exporters still buying them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

The weanling trade for those good weanlings is based off export demand it hasn't any real bearing on factory price. There's an odd farmer competing for the top quality weanlings but the exporters are buying the majority from what I've seen all year.