Boards Golf Society 2025 (Round 7) - Seapoint Golf Club - 16th August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,854 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭paulos53

It is a long round trip so I will head up the day before for this one. If anybody is interested in a game somewhere on Friday then send me a PM.

Edit: Game arranged now

Post edited by paulos53 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I'm a late entry for this one too now 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭blue note

If I was a pick after two events I think people would pronounce it a little differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Taking @paulos53's lead and travelling up tomorrow...

Minimum of 2 1/2 hours..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Snackbox20

I'm looking at just under 3hr spin.

Can't wait though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

This is the closest course to me in10 years and it's still 1.5 hrs away :/9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Concerned2

Route planner is giving me 3 hr 15 mins , 4 toll roads on the route also. Should be great getting to play a links course in what looks like perfect weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Break80

Bones of 4 hrs for me.

Luckilya few decent skins in Dublin has a bed for me.

They're not all bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭shefellover93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 539 ✭✭✭a post punk

3hrs for me plus dropping off the wife for retail therapy while I’m golfing 🙈it’s gonna be great playing in the suuuuunshiiiine though tomorrow!!

And to termonfeckin we go 🏌️🏌️🏌️🏌️

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Anyone who can get here earlier, please do. We've an earlier tee time then planned. First group is off now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭kieran.

Where are ye set up? I'm in the bar?

IMG_20250816_153855.jpg IMG_20250816_153844.jpg IMG_20250816_162901.jpg

IMG_20250816_153849.jpg

IMG_20250816_162904.jpg

Just stopped off at that big fancy apple green place, post mortem follows later

Post edited by Snackbox20 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Lucky you. I'm in work now.. Long night ahead.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Apologies all for the **** up with the tee times this morning. Leftover from when we had to change the dates for this outing. Completely my fault. Fair play to everyone for rolling with it, and ensuring we had another excellent outing.

• Winner - Concerned2 / 42 points.
    • 2nd - LinoRichie / 36 points
    • 3rd - tigerwood1 / 35 points
    • Nearest pin - Boccy23
    • Longest Drive - me!

Will do a bigger post tomorrow, when I'm not **** shattered 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Longest spin of the year and being honest an outing I was on the fence about heading to given the distance, but I'm glad I did.

The course gave me a good hiding. Too tight for my wild game, spent more time looking for balls than hitting them and was starting to get frustrated, but a reasonable back 9 (and the stunning closing holes) made it worthwhile.

It's a stunning course, and makes great use of the parkland holes as well. Not every hole is memorable but there's more there than just the back 9.

Round actually started off well with good approaches into 1 and 3, cleaned up par on the first, and birdied the third which was nice! I dunked the ball into the channel on 2 but made a good putt to save bogey.

Started to fall apart a bit from there, scratched 4 after being stuck in the long stuff, and then 5. I could be here still and wouldn't make that green, just totally got in my head.

Terrible drive on 6 put me on the back foot but managed to recover for a bogey, and had another on 7 after a good knocked-down approach under the wind.

8 played massive into the wind, and after one poor recovery shot and a bad putt that was another scratch, and after bogeying 9 I had another scratch on 10. A ball I thought would have been fine was never seen again.

Don't remember much about 13/14 other than I was getting sick of trapsing around in the long grass, even though I felt I hit what were decent drives, but bogeyed both before a bad chip on 15 caused a double.

Was very cool to see Baltray backing on and the branding for the R&A Boys Championship, and you couldn't not be happy playing that back stretch.

Bogeyed 16 after a good tee shot but couldn't reach with the wind, and then on 17 I hit what I thought was the perfect tee shot, and the wind just never nudged it back towards the flag. It hit a swail and kicked right into a very awkward rough patch, but after duffing the first one, I got up and down for bogey.

After two good shots on 18, I said I'd go aggressive and try and cut a soft 3 wood into the wind to make the green in 3, ended up with a piss missile that went into the thickest grass up there, and after a few hacks and digging myself out of the bunker I scratched for 8.

Played with @Macker1 @tigerwood1 & @a post punk who were all great company and very generous with their help in looking for my wayward shots, can definitely owe a few points to these lads over the afternoon! Was marking Macker who was fierce consistent and hits those fairway woods exceptionally well.

Alan went on a hot streak on the back 9 and hit a gorgeous approach for birdie on 14 and had a look on 17 as well after an excellent tee shot. Terry can really step on a driver and made some superb recovery shots, felt that he got some bad breaks along the way, always nice to play with a fellow Corkonian!

Not sure what my story is for captains. Have a good few weddings so the bank balance is running dry between the round, fuel, food etc etc.

IMG20250816164725.jpg IMG20250816162729_BURST003.jpg IMG20250816162534_BURST015.jpg IMG20250816162452_BURST000_COVER.jpg IMG20250816160711.jpg IMG20250816160818.jpg IMG20250816160937.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭boccy23

Had a full write up done which stupid boards lost for some reason. So truncated version, played ok, rough was brutal, highlight was 17th. Thanks to @Alanm @bakerbhoy and @Snackbox20. Well done to @Concerned2

IMG_1850.JPEG

See you all in Wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,854 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

What a great golf hole 17 is ..as good as any the famous par 3s in Ireland...

Very impressed with course...could be best we play this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,482 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

really enjoyed yesterday. I thought the course was super, way better than I had expected. Long rough was a pita though, they could do with thinning it out a bit. Off out now for medal so will write up later on

rumour has it that captain @Kiith is considering running for the Aras as he has proven over the year to have the organisational skills a politician would be jealous of 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

20250816_162948.jpg 20250816_164746.jpg 20250816_164814.jpg 20250816_164826.jpg 20250816_170054.jpg 20250816_170158.jpg

Just a few photos for now

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I had a great day out on the links yesterday. We were lucky with the weather, and the course was beautiful. I'd played it in early July so remembered bits & pieces, not that that made an enormous amount of difference to my play. I scored 105 for 33 points (according to the GI app, there might be a boards adjustment I'm not aware of).

My companions were @spacecoyote , @newindublin and Alex (I'm afraid I didn't grab his boards handle). The new grouping was determined by arriving at the tee at roughly the same time to see our skipper looking extremely stressed, but it worked out really well - excellent company and some excellent golf too. Thanks to the lads for a very fun afternoon, and thanks to the committee and the skipper (I hope you had a beer or two last night, you deserved it!) for all their hard work.

Looking forward to captains weekend now.

A savage course. I'll go back and play it again soon. Really enjoyed it, and with good company with kiith and fix, though kiith may have taken the brunt of the slagging in our 3 ball this time. Having thick skin helped. Thick skin was also what he needed when looking for golfballs in the marram rough on a number of occasions 😏. Kiith's golf swing is so athlethic and powerful. His good shots, literally on the level of the best tour pros. His drive down 12 on the LD hole, wow, his ball was probably still rising as it passed over my own and fix's. That said, with great power comes great responsibility, and the hooking miss left is a card wrecker for him. His handicap will tumble once he figures that out and a single session with a pro running trackman will go a long way getting him to single figures I'm sure of it. Fix's game was as usual, solid and tight. An excellent 2 for him on the 2nd hole was a nice start. Always clinical with the driver, good course management, and so confident with the putter that it's used from areas I can't even imagine putting from. Feels like he always gets up and down. Weather was stunning, course was wonderful, and banter was full flow. Food afterwards outside then and a bit of craic with everyone was exactly what I needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Concerned2

Well I wasn't expecting that result…

I was really looking forward to this course in particular as it's rare I get to play a links course and I'd much prefer to play one in August as opposed to March when it was originally penciled in. I left home at 8 expecting to get there about an hour before my tee time so I'd have a bit of time to loosen out and try get the swing working only to be met by a panicking gentleman in car park who told me to get out there asap.

So I started the day with a 6 iron off the tee and no time for first tee nerves. A shuffle up in the times mean I headed out with @break80 @kevSs88 and @Kieran. I'm not going to give a blow by blow account of my round ,too many shots to bore everybody with. However some of the shots that stood out were Break80's tee shot to the second which nearly got everybody free drinks for the evening. On the index 1 I think I hit an iron off the tee but I had 190 yards to the front of the green left for my second and with water left , right and behind I hit a 6 iron intending to be a bit short and left with a simple chip, but I flushed the 6 iron which landed on the front of the green and rolled up to the back. I never hit 190 yard 6 irons on my home course ! I had 2 birdies in the last 5 holes , can't remember the first one but on the 18th I hit a decent driver, 6 iron and 9 iron to about 15 feet and rolled in the putt which was a great finish to my round.

I hit nearly all my bad shots on the 6th where after a decent tee shot I hit a worm burner of a 7 wood followed by a 6 iron OB on the right , re-hit with a worm burner of a 6 iron , followed by a pitch to about 20 ft , hit my lag putt to about 2 feet and missed the putt for my only scratch of the day.

Actually that missed short putt was a recurring theme of the day , I must have missed at least 5 of them from less than 4 feet. My lag putting was pretty good on the day but it's very frustrating to miss those shot putts. I couldn't blame the greens either as I though they were the best we have played on this year.

I though the par 3's on the inward 9 were really tough , especially the closest to the pin hole. I have the guys to thank on a few occasions for finding my ball in that long rough, I think we were all rooting in the rough on the left of the longest drive hole and it was a small miracle 3 out of 4 balls were found. By and large though I managed to keep out the really rough stuff which I guess is key to putting together a score on a links course.

I was happy enough with my 88 shots at the end (I have only broken 90 3 times this year as opposed to a dozen last year) but I didn't expect to be in the prizes. So apologies for not sticking around for the prize ceremony, I wanted to hit the road so I could make it home before it turned Sunday.

The lads were super easy to play with , I'm sure @Break80 was in the running for a win after 9 holes but a few too many shots in the rough halted his momentum. I think @kev_88 and @Kieran. had very similar rounds , plenty of very good shots but just a handful of shots in the rough that were costly. Both Kev and Kieran have great distance and what I would give to be able to putt like Break80 !

Big thanks to @Kiith and the committee for all the work ye put in. I don't think I'll ever do a warm up again before a round !

I can't confirm until next weekend if I can make the captains weekend but if not I hope ye all have a great weekend for it.

So here goes,

Mulling this in my head it's going to read like the Eminem wannabe penning the Dear Slim letter in Stan, but Dear Golf, why do you break my heart? Had an alright game on Saturday at a lovely golf course in a stunning location, to a monthly stableford competition and I nearly took up Red Bull cliff diving with the bag on my back 🏌️🏌️🏌️🏌️🏌️😭😭😭😭.

Having too many rounds starting well and then second 9 complete capitulation.

Anyway, hey slim????? I mean golf, all roads, mostly motorway led to Seapoint links outside Duleek, County Louth, I arrived way too early to drive into Seapoint Links housing estate and had to double back to the clubhouse.

Needing 3 good finishes to get much needed jug points, I arrived at the car park with about 1hr and a half to spare, plenty of time to loosen, practice and get some putting yips out. Saying hello to @bakerbhoy and @Alanm, the club pro came out to say "You're boards yeah, you're out at 11:20 not 12:20" 😲😲😲😲😲, cue a panic and asking poor @Seve OB to put on the superhero cape to jump in to unplug the panic button.

So with no warm up, if was on to the green tees with @bakerbhoy , @Alanm , and @boccy23. The course was in great nick, definitely will play it again at another stage. The lads were playing some great golf, @alanm just makes the game look so effortless. @boccy23 plotted along the course very well, the highlight as mentioned was the ping into the 12th, great NTP at 2" 2( correct me if I'm wrong, I didn't measure it 🤪) , @bakerbhoy had a great game too and has a brilliant 2nd shot and short game.

My own game was all over the shop, need a putting clinic, just left so many putts behind and it was the difference of a 3pt as opposed to a 2 or 1 pointer.

Think I came in with 30 points, but another should have would have could have.

The restaurant had a fantastic view of the 18th and there was great banter and craic as always afterwards the golf. Congratulations to @Concerned2 with a fantastic 42 points.

As always well done to captain @Kiith for organising the day albeit some administration misdemeanors and the stalwarts and workhorses in the committee sorting out the scores, handicaps, and cards before and afterwards.

So it's on to the range and Lourdes before Captains weekend in Wexford to sort out some part of my game physical and mental .

See you all next month.

Snackbox

Forgot to mention great chats and craic with the lads around the course and great help when looking for tom Hanks into the long marm grass for golf balls 👍👍👍👍👍

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Can’t say much about my round on Saturday other than the 2,3 and 4th holes I played ok, rest were terrible. Was my worst score in a long time, some of my tee shots and second shots found the rough and as previously mentioned, it was near impossible to find your ball in it.
    The course was in fantastic condition and if the rough wasn’t as penalising, I’d definitely go back and play it a few more times but it’s just too tough if you are any way wayward with shots.
    As always, it was the company that made the day for me, travelled up with @LinoRichie and played the round with him for the first time and we were joined by old friends in @seveob and @paulos53. Thanks lads, only for ye I would have headed to the bar to enjoy the stunning views and sunshine!!

Won’t make Woodenbridge so see ye in Arklow. I’m off to play wide open parkland courses to get my mojo back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Break80

I enjoyed the course. Stunning location and it was in excellent condition.

Agree with most comments,the rough just wasn't offering up to many wayward shots. Even when you saw it bounce, the ball seemed to sit down never to be seen again.

I played with Kieran,Kevin and winner Denis. Lovely lads making it a very enjoyable round with plenty of chat and laughs.

Denis scored very well on the holes he needed to. 2 birds and parred index 1 and 2 giving him 16 pts on those 4 holes alone with a steady score going on most holes, there was no catching him that day. Congratulations.

Almost done for another year.

Looking forward to Captain's weekend always a great ending to the year.