Boards Golf Society 2025 (Round 7) - Seapoint Golf Club - 16th August

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

well I had an unusually busy week last week and for the first time….. well ever… I hadn’t got the handicaps sorted on Friday evening.

Friday afternoon was warm up time, a game in Castlewarden with @spacecoyote, @paulos53 & @Break80. Despite some signs of a golfer, I played muck but a big change for me this year is being able to grind out a score which would flatter how I played. 28 points felt a lot worse and with 2 holes scratched when balls which should have need found were playing hide and seek.

Got home in time for the opening game of the season and a steak and wine dinner. By the time the full time whistle was blown, I was out of steam so opted for an early night and I would get to course early to do handicaps. I’m never early at the course 🤣 forever rushing from the boot to the first tee. Well despite being an hour early for my scheduled tee time I was met by a frantically waving @Snackbox20 calling “emergency, emergency “. Well we all know what happened next so instead of a leisurely cup of coffee while doing the handicaps and a bit of a warm up, it was, get the laptop quick to send a lush notification of ClubNet and get the gear on and up to the tee box with haste.

Surprisingly I flushed my drive down the first just short of the water and despite a poor chip, almost held the long birdie putt, but a solid par to start. Made a mess of the second after a visit to the front bunker and lost 2 balls on the 3rd. The rest of the day was a mix of good and crap golf. Like the day before, I ground out a score that flattered how I played.

Found the course to be very tough when off line, they need to thin out the rough because all it does is slow up play. Otherwise it was wayyyyyyy better than I was expecting, a truly lovely course, great layout, well maintained and the welcome by the staff was fantastic. I’ll definitely be back.

Yesterday saw me at it again in castleknock medal. I remembered how to play golf and this time I played better than I scored. Left a few silly ones out there and ruined what could have been one of my best ever rounds. I might post about it later in the last played thread. It still got me cut to a career low and now after 36 years being a club golfer, I can finally declare I’m a single digit handicapper. 9.3 😁 (even if WHS makes it look better than it really is, I’ll take it)

ill get results up during week, see yiz all at captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Dying to see the results… I'm not certain if I can play the captains yet or not. I'm hoping I've scraped the top 10. But fear I'll be just outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭bobster453

forgot to add a big thanks to @Macker1 and @charlieIRL for the help on Saturday doing up handicaps and adding points to cards. Was much appreciated. I also had the pleasure of playing with @charlieIRL who despite his frustrations, played some really good golf. Alongside us was his chauffeur @LinoRichie who is always good craic on the boards tour and for 2 days in a row I played with @paulos53 who is a rock solids steady golfer. As always a really enjoyable round with some really nice guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,066 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I came into the week with relatively positive expectations for Saturdays round.

Had played Seapoint once before back in 2021, and shot a 79.

Hadn't broken 80 all this year, so was hoping for a repeat of that performance.

Played off the blues in my own place the day before with Seve, Break80 and Paulos, and I played well, shooting an 82 (admittedly, I was poor off the the tee, but scrambled and putted great).

Was travelling up with Break80, who I'd given a bed for the night to break up his trip, and thankfully we'd gotten on the road a little early, so when the emergency kicked in, we were in range and there to get on the course during the tee window. Got there around 12, and straight out on to the course.

Unfortunately the chance of a repeat 79 was out the window within 2 holes, finding a fairway bunker off the tee, which I got out of but found my share of heavy rough. Eventually got greenside, but having played pacier greens on my home course the day before, ended up 3-putting leaving my first putt well short.

So a treble to start, followed by a bogey on the short par 3 second.

Id been for a lesson on Monday, focussed on driver, and I guess not enough time to bed in properly, so was out of position with driver...a lot.

But was a great day out, so enjoyed it anyway.

Played with ClubGuy, NewInDublin and TrueDub.

Had played with NewInDublin a couple of times over the years, and great to get the opportunity to have a catch up and round before he heads off for sunnier climes. A mix of good and bad on the day, including a lovely birdie on one of the par 5s.

ClubGuy has the makings of a lovely golfer with a bit more time and experience. Generates good speed through the ball and hit some cracking recovery shots from tough positions. A welcome new addition to the society, and seems to get it and buy into Boards GS.

TrueDub was the best scorer on our day I think. Has all the elements to move his handicap well down. Very tidy short-game, chips them really cleanly, and a lovely guy to walk the course with.

So the scoring didn't come, and I was out by a day or two on form.

Got out to play St Helens Bay on Monday afternoon. Managed to shoot a 78, so got that sub 80 round in finally.

See ye all in Woodenbridge in a few weeks time. Looking forward to it, never played the course and its been on my list for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 weapon of grass destruction

Another great day out albeit a little hectic. Much thanks to all the committee lads who did a great amount of work and captain @Kiith for the opportunity to play a great course.

Having no practice didn't bother me at all its the norm for me. I had the pleasure of playing with @benny79 for the 1st time in the society. As always it was great craic as we were a 2 ball it was hard to get any rhythm going when we were waiting nearly 2-5 minutes waiting on every shot. It took us 5hrs and 15 minutes to complete.

I had a bit of an up and down day started off double, bogey, bogey and bogey, so I thought it might be a rough day then went even with 3 birdies till the 12th were I had back to back doubles which ended my chances. All in all I was happy with a 14 over on a course I've never played especially a links that usually does not suit my game. The feature of the day for me was the par 3 17th and the 18th. What 2 cracking holes to finish with.

@benny79 played well just a couple bad shots cost him. The first hole he played it well till we seen the bit of water infront of the green and his ball was nowhere to be seen. The constant delays, long trip and a new born at home definitely effected him, you could see he was exhausted by the end.

Big congrats to @Concerned2 couldn't of happened to a nicer person plated a few rounds with Dennis, always great craic so delighted he got the win. And also big congrats to @tigerwood1 on his first podium in a few years.

I think the result of 4th puts me in a good position to challenge for player of the year, so really looking forward to wooden bridge, it's s a course I've heard alot about but have never played, this is the one I've been most excited about. See you all there.

Post edited by weapon of grass destruction on

Full results

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 538 ✭✭✭a post punk

I’m very late with my review but was chasing my tail all week after the Oasis gig Sunday night and drive home Monday !
    Anyway I left home at 8:15am for a straight 3 hr spin for me , dropped my wife along the way but still was on track for 45 minutes before my tee time. About 10 minutes out got 2 phone calls as to the drama unfolding so arriving at 11:40 I ran up to the tee not even tieing up my shoes….in fairness poor @Kiith looked stressed …. Our 4 ball assembled and with the starter telling us “cmon cmon” I hit first and blasted my first drive way right into heavy rough. From here until about hole 14 I don’t think I got any rhythm going for a full hole. I lost 6 balls in the rough that we’re not crazy drives but very unlucky to loose that many. Any decent drive I hit rolled into a fairway bunker so loosing a shot to get out ( except on the 3rd where I hit a great 120 yard ish to the green shot but proceeded to 4 putt). Anyway my score was very disappointing with 26 points as I had felt good coming into this round and I’m too far down the table now to contend for a jug spot I think ( what a difference a year makes) .
    The course itself I really enjoyed the layout, I thought the bunkering was exceptional and the last four holes and 17 especially is the reason I play on boards , what a view and what a shot with wind off the right and having to hit a long iron out over the gorse to turn back in ( just like our own Tiger did with a 4 iron what a shot) .
    I had a great group with @shefellover93 , @Macker1 and our own Tiger all playing some great shots throughout the day! But the real character was Tigers antics when a putt is rolling by ,he has a dramatic step back built into his shot routine? Not sure where he got a lesson for that but it gave us a great laugh on the day!!
    Talk Soon

PP