If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭donaghs

I think you missed my points. Kids like this are not angels who suddenly started attacking Indian people. But, in my experience of these scum, they will gravitate towards harassing/attacking people who look/sound different to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭Cordell

Do you remember when they attacked that Brazilian delivery rider who fought back and killed one of them? The one who got killed was black. Was that a racially motivated assault? If yes, which one? Is it the far right who's to blame, or was it just thugs being thugs, who FAFO?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,504 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Honestly? No with a but. It's pretty well known that younger people spend more time on social media which tends towards echo chambers and radicalising content. They might not be seeking out people like Charlie Kirk and Alex Jones but the algorithm will definitely be feeding them whatever it thinks will keep their eyes on the screens.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭batman_oh

It's decades of people apologising for scum behaviour and making them out to be the victim, along with basically no repercussions for anybody under 18 for doing anything. The same people who were harking on about no facilities etc. are now the ones saying it's the far right that are causing little scum bags to run amok. It's actually hilarious. There are robbed bikes flying all over the city centre all day every day and in Ballymun/Finglas/Tallaght. They are breaking every traffic law, on robbed bikes, carrying weapons and openly mocking the Garda. There is literally nothing being done to stop it. When you allow scum to do whatever they want this is what you get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The teens took out a few years ago, remember when they kicked the woman and she fell in under the train, there was a lot of attacks at that time but I haven't heard much about teen gangs in the last few years. Maybe it is happening but not being reported in the media, or maybe some attacks aren't even being reported to AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

It is and has been constantly going on for years, got worse during the pandemic when they’d the city to themselves

Only now there’s some international attention on it, and it makes a good dead cat story for Simon to distract from the attention on his disgusting dereliction of responsibility in relation to the death of Harvey Sherrat

This is the thing - scums are gonna scum, it doesn’t require “radicalisation”

Same with the riots after the Parnell st child stabbing, yes there was a presence of far right dopes at the outset, but the main conflagration was simply opportunistic violence and destruction from the inner city scum looking to loot and wreck the place

It was a free for all for them

That whole cohort has been mollycoddled far too long - decades of unemployment and generational criminality in some families. Criticism of this lifestyle dismissed as “classism” or “punching down”

It’s ironic, the same bleeding hearts advocating for these types would get absolutely battered if they lived in those areas and would be horrified by the social/political views that are often prevalent in them. It’s very similar to the pro Islam LGBT people phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,625 ✭✭✭✭briany

The thing about him is that I don't think he's entirely wrong with his points about mass immigration where it has divided towns and allowed attitudes incompatible with western liberal democracy to become established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You'd prob call me a bleeding heart type but I don't get battered and I live amongst the people you're talking about. My other half is as woke as they come and she's fine too. They're definitely more racist than most in the north inner city, I regularly see children shouting the N word at security guards and they didn't lick it off a stone. They hate anyone different so of course they're more likely to be racist and attack people of colour etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Skin colour is just easier to spot. Theres plenty of feral black kids mixed in with the white ones nowadays. Its not a race specific thing.

Its just whatetver is easiest to spot/pick on for scum and they go to that. Theyre efficient if nothing else.

Well racism is just one of their many bigoted qualities. It's like saying some redneck trump supporter who hates blacks, gays, foreigners isn't actually racist he just hates everyone. Racism is part of their oeuvre.

Your post would indicate that these feral youths are only attacking based on race. As youre claiming yourself and presumably white partner have never been attacked (for all that anecdote proves).

Im saying theyd kick seven shades of $hite out if you just as quick/happily as they would a brown person because its not specifically racially motivated.

Its more whats the easier to spot and attack motivated. You and your partner blend in a bit better. But the preference is opportunities not colour.

Nah there's definitely a lot of hatred towards immigrants in certain communities as they think they get more free stuff than them, this manifests in attacks etc.

Its just an attack mindset of anything thats perceived to be different. I live in Tallaght and theres plenty of attacks. None of which have commanded this much reporting.

I can guarantee you these same youths are responsible for other attacks on non indians in Tallaght.

They didn't go to bed productive members of society and wake up and decide today im going to attack some indians.

Theyre predatory scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It’s ironic, the same bleeding hearts advocating for these types would get absolutely battered if they lived in those areas and would be horrified by the social/political views that are often prevalent in them. It’s very similar to the pro Islam LGBT people phenomenon.

Betraying your own prejudices there horse (or ignorance, or naïveté, suppose I could pick any number of reasons really which would explain why you believe what you do in spite of having no evidence to support it), because one of the reasons why these bleeding heart types tend to be, bleeding heart types, as you put it, is because many of them have grown up in areas of socioeconomic deprivation and are all too familiar with the social/political views in the areas they grew up in, and they’re familiar with the social/political views of people who imagine they’re better than everyone else 😏 There are also plenty like your good self who look down their noses at their neighbours, but those people exist in every neighbourhood, they’re really not unique to socioeconomically deprived areas or communities, they exist just as much in affluent areas and communities.

I dunno why you think they’d get battered in their own communities, there’s no evidence to support that claim either. In my experience, apart from the few outstanding examples who advocate for their communities, they are largely ignored by their communities, and largely ignored by everyone else too, which hasn’t deterred them at all from becoming involved in Irish politics and seeking changes in Government policy and Irish legislation in order to support their communities and bring about change that they want to see in Irish society.

Personally speaking, I don’t necessarily agree with or support everything they want to do (like drug reform for example), but I do support them advocating for more resources in their communities to tackle issues like housing, healthcare, education and employment for example. Two of those outstanding examples off the top of my head are Lynn Ruane and Eileen Flynn. Just in case your first thought is ‘Who?’ 😂

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lynn_Ruane

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eileen_Flynn_%28politician%29

Neither antisocial behaviour nor crime is unique to any particular group or demographic or community or geographical area, whatever way you want to put it, wealth just buys a better class of scumbag is all, and there are plenty of those types in positions of power, influence and authority already, that they can portray anyone pulling them up on their bullshìt as a ‘bleeding heart’, and lads like yourself will lap it up and parrot it as though it were gospel. Dunno why, as you do enough complaining about politicians who didn’t grow up in socioeconomically deprived circumstances too, that I begin to wonder is it really everyone else, or is it just you? Obviously it’s not just you, there are plenty of posters in this discussion who will validate your feelings of needing to portray themselves as victims of the bleeding hearts club.

Yeah I agree but I do think there’s a bit of a “bigotry of low expectations” kind of thing going on with that cohort - as you say lots of them are blatantly racist and hateful towards anyone that isn’t them, this behaviour is tacitly accepted by the bleeding hearts in a kind of “sure you can’t expect them to know any better” way or is handwaved away “they don’t have the facilities”

I think it’s well past time society called a spade a spade and called out that kind of shite. Three generations on the dole is no excuse for that kind of behaviour. It’s just petty scummery and if it was middle class or private school fellas doing it they’d be (rightly) excoriated for it.

It's just their culture. There is an absolutely rotten culture in certain sections of Irish society so I'm not sure how that can be changed, it's as ingrained as traveller culture. I was on the greenway beside Sheriff St the other day and there were 2 garda there, a man in his 40s flew by on a scooter shouting "DIRTY RATS!!" at then. The venom in his voice was scary and he's passing that down to his kids. Not sure how to change these folks, I've never encountered a worse type of person anywhere else in the world than some of these folks.

IMG_7827.jpeg

Net migration of 80,000 in the year up to April ‘24

~30,000 houses built in the same period

Already a huge surfeit of housing and then we add enough demand to wipe out any progress towards reducing that surfeit immediately

The numbers just don’t add up folks, this is not sustainable

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,504 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No. He's a <admin snip>. Not sure why you're desperately defending creatures like this here.

Starmer ran a campaign where he was clear that he wanted to reduce immigration. He's pressing on with that. There has been no change.

Mod - warned for breach of forum charter

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭enricoh

I see youth unemployment went up over 12% last week, at the same time I see more and more indians etc working in low paid retail jobs.

Traditionally these same youths would maybe do a few years at retail before jumping into something else. They also would have had a good chance of moving out of the home place .

The odds are increasingly stacked again them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭Cordell

It's not just low paid retail jobs, Indian FG councilor set up shop to import Indian nurses:

https://www.thejournal.ie/investigates-fine-gael-nurse-agency-fees-6784617-Aug2025/

While Irish trained nurses choose to emigrate they found a business opportunity to replace them with cheap Indian nurses, all with the FG blessing an no one ever saw the obvious conflict of interest.

So are all of these indians working in shops etc masters students? I could never understand how so many work in shops and garages etc now, surely you can't bring people in specifically to work low paid jobs like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,719 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Lol Lynn Ruane and Eileen Flynn.

You're easily impressed if those two are all you can come up with.

If you’d actually read the criteria upon which the assessment was based, you’d have noticed -

I dunno why you think they’d get battered in their own communities, there’s no evidence to support that claim either. In my experience, apart from the few outstanding examples who advocate for their communities, they are largely ignored by their communities, and largely ignored by everyone else too, which hasn’t deterred them at all from becoming involved in Irish politics and seeking changes in Government policy and Irish legislation in order to support their communities and bring about change that they want to see in Irish society.

Personally speaking, I don’t necessarily agree with or support everything they want to do (like drug reform for example), but I do support them advocating for more resources in their communities to tackle issues like housing, healthcare, education and employment for example. Two of those outstanding examples off the top of my head are Lynn Ruane and Eileen Flynn. Just in case your first thought is ‘Who?’ 😂

I’m not generally impressed by bleeding heart types, but the suggestion that they’d be battered by people within their own communities or that they aren’t aware or would be shocked by social/political views in their own communities is based upon nothing more than Stephen’s own prejudices. I’m not averse to giving credit where it’s due, even if I don’t share their social/political views. Both I mentioned were off the top of my head, that’s all.

Ahh Jesus mate, bit of context for that statistic wouldn’t have gone astray -

The monthly youth unemployment rate for those aged 15-24 jumped to 12.2%, from 11.3% the previous month.

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2025/0807/1527349-unemployment-rate-rises-slightly-in-july-to-4-9/

The percentage of youth unemployment didn’t go up over 12% (that’d genuinely be something to be concerned about if it had 😂), it went up to 12.2%, from 11.3% the previous month, a rise of 0.9%.

Traditionally the same youths wouldn’t have done maybe a few years at retail before jumping into something else, and the chances they had of moving out of home were based upon very different criteria, certainly not the same criteria as better educated youths who were attending third level education and working in part-time jobs while living with other students in dodgy accommodation provided by landlords who didn’t know their arse from their elbow, they were only in it for profit and didn’t care much for their legal obligations or tenants rights.

If you wanted to make a point about youth unemployment in Ireland and what’s driving it, there’s plenty of resources and information available that isn’t dependent solely upon your individual perception. For example this report commissioned by the National Youth Council of Ireland which points to a lack of education and training opportunities and lack of experience in the workplace that’s driving youth unemployment, among several other factors, none of which are increased immigration or immigrants being employed because they’re immigrants, as though Irish people are entitled to be employed by employers before immigrants. Employers generally don’t give a fcuk where anyone comes from, what they’re looking for is experience, especially in low-paying sectors like retail and hospitality -

https://www.youth.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Youth_Unemployment_in_Ireland_web.pdf

Some are, some aren’t, and yes employers can bring people in specifically to work low paid jobs. One of the more memorable examples was the attempt to woo Spaniards who weren’t living here, but were quite aware of the accommodation situation and working conditions, who figured they weren’t interested -

https://www.thejournal.ie/housing-ireland-spanish-workers-hostels-5931955-Nov2022/

But a lot of Indians working in low paid jobs (not just retail, there are plenty in hospitality too, working in kitchens, etc), are working part-time while studying, or they’re permitted an extension in order to seek employment before they are required to leave the country if they have failed to secure employment which they are qualified for -

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving-country/moving-to-ireland/studying-in-ireland/immigration-nonEEA-students/

Spaniards are EU citizens though obviously. Are you saying you can import workers from India to work in a spar or circle K? I just assumed they were all masters students, but there must be thousands and thousands of master students in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Many professionals from India come here to work in IT, and in turn, many companies have outsourced their IT departments to India. It’s a trend that often goes unspoken or downplayed, yet it has real consequences for local workers. As more Indian IT professionals arrive, they can undercut and potentially replace local IT workers, putting downward pressure on salaries.

IMG_7832.jpeg

Fintan having his very own Kelly Osbourne moment in the IT today

Classic O’Toole take - simplistic midwittery that allows him to virtue signal in the one go. Idiotic take.

I’m not sure they’re all completing Masters, or that they’re all living and working in Dublin, but given there were 7,000 applicants from India in 2023/24, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to suggest that thousands of Indians studying in Dublin and working in casual employment would be a conservative estimate -

India surged to the top of the table of leading sending markets for Irish higher education in 2023/24. There were just over 7,000 Indian students enrolled that year, marking nearly a +50% increase over the year before and accounting for a significant percentage of overall growth for Irish universities.

(there are drivers behind that too)

https://monitor.icef.com/2025/01/irish-higher-education-booked-another-strong-year-of-foreign-enrolment-growth-in-2024/

But as to the question of whether employers like Spar and CircleK can employ people from non-EU countries, the employer has to meet certain conditions too, as well as the applicant for any position advertised -

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving-country/working-in-ireland/employment-permits/overview-employment-permits/

Nobody wants another Keelings on their hands:

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/government-has-failed-keelings-and-its-workers-1.4236276

Something something sour grapes 😒

I couldn’t resist 😂