General Star Trek thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,251 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Some of the writing team under Ronald Moore for BSG?

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Inviere

• SNW isn't terrible at all, it's ok, by far the best of the live action recent shows. While the bar is low, the actors do a great job. It's the only one I'd consider rewatching. So no, not all.
    • Memberberries, I dunno, I'm ok with them as long as they're meaningful. Just dropping old references is for no reason other than to make up for **** writing, yeah, most probably roll their eyes at that.
    • The Archer thing? If it is outside of the current production and writing teams, I'm all for it. Otherwise, given how weak a lot of the other efforts have been, yeah, optimism would be low for it.
    • I think many Trek fans have ideas on what they'd like to see. Some of good/great, others are definitely not. It's fair to say though that a large cohort of fans who have spent decades watching Star Trek, do know it better than the current people pushing it out. There are some clever nods in Lower Decks, the writers of that clearly know what they're at.
    • Kurtzman or Bakula? It Kurtzman, unless he's far away from it, well, yeah, it's likely to be more of the same empty soul-less crap. If you mean Bakula, then no, he'd do great I'm sure (I'm one of the small few who has no issue with him in Enterprise at all.)

Negativity and Star Trek fandom do tend to make good bedfellows, and historically so much of it wasn't warranted. But by jaysus is it warranted these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭Rawr

For example. Just someone good that this who take the care to make it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Any chance we could get Aaron Sorkin on board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,745 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This AI stuff is getting nuts….

Redneck Trek - 3 generations of it!

Or if you prefer your Trek with more of a Soviet slant (there's a whole series of these by this guy…)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭ItHurtsWhenIP

Poor old Comrade Dyatlov gets a right roasting in those Soviet videos.🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,754 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Check the guy's channel. There's 2 others anyway. He also has soviet Simpsons 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

As long s the "Adult" version is not simply inserting easily editable swears like Disco.

As mentioned, there is definitely scope for all kinds of different shows in the Trek verse. As mentioned, a West Wing style Trek could be great. One doesn't need Aaron Sorkin to write it. Just not anyone related to Disco or in any way even tangentially involved or hints or suggestions.

It was mentioned earlier that this thread is negative. I don't believe it is. I believe that people still believe there is life in Trek yet. I personally enjoy SNW. Lower Decks was awesome and deeply missed but glad it went out on a high. I even enjoyed earlier Disco.

I am glad that they are giving SNW the space to wrap up. But Trek needs a reinvention. Much like Star Wars does. Which is why Andor keeps getting name checked. It was an interesting, intelligent shot in the arm for the Star Wars universe. One that, unfortunately, will probably never be attempted again.

But it showed that Star Wars didn't need Skywalkers, Jedi, Sith. Could survive with only tangential links to previous movies. Yes, Mon Mothma was there. Yes, there was (Perfectly recast and without backlash) Bail Organa. References to Death Star. These increased as the series got closer to the end. As it should have. Heck, even the utterances of "May the force be with you" were said ALMOST mockingly. Certainly in a casual manner without the capital (Capitol?) letters.

Backula is a good enough actor to pull something like this off and he has aged well. It must be said that Stewart's failing voice simply didn't have the gravitas it once had. Understandable given his age.

But as I and others have said, there is more than enough room for different genre shows in the Trek and Wars universes if the studios are willing to risk it. Different shows. Cheaper shows. More interesting shows. A show like the birth of the Federation would of course need to involve favourite species/references. Much more so than Andor. But these could be done….. eloquently? Sympathetic to the tone of the show. Look at how Boba Fett series went. My God. Space mods? Mandalorian bringing in every character they could get their hands on.

So yes, give us a political Trek. Give us a cop show Trek. Give us another station Trek. Give us an underdog Trek. Just give us an INTERESTING Trek.

Edit: Typos

Post edited by TheIrishGrover on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,360 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

What a new live action show needs more than anything is to not want to constantly try to please fans. Tell a good story and fans will be happy and you won't need to shoehorn in references or be forever canonising obscure book or STO shte.

Have a good story and be brave enough to tell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

And have the fans support it if it is interesting, quality and trying something new.

We all know there is a toxic fandom that seems to raise its ugly head end it seems to be more toxic among sci-fi/fantasy fans. And that can stop show runners doing anything risky.

Look at the abuse that Asian actress in the star wars sequel got. Everyone involved should be shamed and ashamed. There does, thankfully seem to be less of that amongst Trek fans as Trek was already always liberal and progressive. Someone did try to say that Trek is "Gone Woke" but Trek was ALWAYS "woke" (whatever that means). Disco wasn't poor because the lead character was black or a woman or because there was LGBTQ representations on the show. It was poor because the main character was easily the blandest character in the show and was portrayed as being perfect and showed no flaws at all. Every situation was solved by her single handed. Any flaws were eventually discovered to be insight. The LGBTQ representations were initially positive and just another trait of characters and not their defining characteristics. But they descend into typical dated stereotypes.

So, bit of a tangent there. Yes, studios and show runners need to take risks but toxic fandom should not be allowed to drown our reasonable assessments (positive and negative) and shows that successfully take risks, like Andor, should be celebrated and encouraged.

I cancelled my Paramount plus account shortly after renewal as that awful S31 things came out.. But I will renew if they succeed with something interesting

The toxic fans can be easily ignored if the studio have balls. A show should have a plan for start to finish and it shouldn't be changing because of what anyone online says.

The last Star Wars movie was a total cop out because fans cried when things were not exactly how they imagined.

On the flip side shows like Game of Thrones and Walking Dead made terrible decisions based on positive reviews of characters and people got plot armour or resolutions totally at odds with the shows mechanics.

Absolutely.

I believe that series "Heroes" was supposed to focus on new people every season with some overlaps (the time travelling guy, possibly the cheerleader as she is effectively immortal). Which is why season 1 wrapped up so much. Of course the show was a huge hit so they didn't want to get rid of so many of their central stars and this also changed the proposed dynamic of the show and it rapidly fell apart.

As you say, with Thrones. In the books it is much more apparent that Dany is just as unstable as the rest of her family. And the books are only half way there. So her quite sudden change in the series was no surprise to readers (How many of us raised eyebrows when we heard stories of people calling their kids Khalesi or got tattoos). But for show fans? WTF???

I enjoyed the second Star wars sequel. Wasn't perfect (missed a perfect opportunity for an epic death of Leia) but it has interesting ideas. Best being that Rey was a nobody. No. Backlash resulted in space horses and "Somehow Palatine survived". You can SEE Oscar Isaacs dying inside as he says that

Game of Thrones rightly got praise for having a number of good strong female characters and it clearly went to the lads heads because they become almost super heroes by the end. Then you also have a couple of fan favourite male characters going from being morally ambiguous to lovable rogues who implausible cheat death.

Foundation is doing something similar to what you are saying Heroes was supposed to be at first. Each season jumps about 150 years and it retains 6 characters (sort of) through various sci-fi means throughout the run.

Just read the Guardian review for Alien:Earth and it starts

"It’s usually a bad sign if you’re wondering what the heck is going on in a drama when you’re two episodes in, but there is an exception: you can happily ride on if you sense that, although you don’t know what it’s doing, the show definitely does"

That last bit is what good shows have and bad don't. People can shout about too many characters being black lesbians or "betacucks" and sane fans will even get over the odd bit of implausiblity if the show is confident in what it's doing and doing it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭Rawr

It's a point I often brought up in many critiques of Discovery, that I couldn't give a flying f*ck about the casting choice in any show and that the only thing I really cared about was getting good chracters with well put together stories.

We'll occasionally get the odd Doomcock-subscriber on here (including recently) harping on about a lack of "straight white males" in a given show….and again, I couldn't care less. Attributes of the cast are beside the point entirely, which is "is the TV show any good?"

The point you bring up is a good one: "Is a show confident in what it is doing?" Thinking back a lot of the good shows are. Even shows that are uneven with their episodes were otherwise good if they knew what they was going on.

Indeed. I must admit, I saw NO point in a prequel series. Thought a better show would have been the downfall of the moon from aliens. But I am glad that I seem to be proven wrong and am looking forward to checking that out. Exactly as ye both said: Have an interesting story. Don't pander. Hopefully audience will follow. Kudos to all involved and I'm happy to be wrong. And if the audience doesn't follow for whatever neckbeard reason then how can we blame the studio/show runners for not trying something interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Inviere

Ms

Lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Just seen this edited scene of the battles in DS9 episode "Tears of the Prophets".

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DNZGxesTajH/?igsh=MXAxaWlwYzlibHljaw==

Its really good and is on Istagram "StarTrek_Ship" is the page if the link does not work.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Stolen from reddit lol

1000083182.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,278 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Ms

I don't know if this is good or bad,

Regular Star Wars Creator Leaping to Star Trek for Fresh Stories? https://share.google/WdqIkDQlTPt0R8CGZ

What do ye think?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Could be what the show needs. Or could be absolutely terrible. Hard to say lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,232 ✭✭✭corkie

In name only but:-

Star Trek: Scouts ☄️🖖🪐 | Official Trailer | Nick Jr.

Be Careful watching these logged in, youtube AI if rolled out in EU might flag your account as a minor.

"Bodly Go!" ~~ Reacher mode!!??

Star Trek Scouts Defeat a SOAPY Asteroid in Space! 🧼 | Asteroid Blasters #1 | Star Trek: Scouts

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

Ms

I won't be watching. So I guess thats the 2nd Star Trek show I will never watch or watch again. Prodigy was just about passable this though is purely for kids.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,232 ✭✭✭corkie

Oh! Missed it yesterday but it was Star Trek day!

The Roddenberry Archive: Star Trek Day 2025

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

Ms

New website for the 60th Anniversery celebrations :)

startrek.com/en-un/60 https://share.google/dbaP2oXJD17KiqdMT

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.