Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭bilbot79

No getting through to you I think but that's ok.

Look, I don't think Islam is compatible with our culture. It doesn't matter that some Muslims mind their own business, you only need to look at the UK where whole towns have been taken over. Blackburn gone, Bradford gone, Londonistan. Do you want that for Ireland? I think it's an existential crisis and we should all be in a mild panic about it but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Repro212

And that's the fear isn't it.

There are moderate Muslims out there, some decent, kind people we probably work or live alongside who as you say, have made effort to integrate. Ultimately though, their loyalty is to their religion.

The fact that Ireland never had an empire or that some Irish wave Palestinian flags is neither here nor there. We're part of Europe, part of the west. Taking over the territories of it's nemesis is such a prize for the fundamentalists that you can bet your last euro they'll become the dominant force as Ireland's muslim population grows.

The moderates will simply fall in line and we can also expect to see the rag tag army of random men who've rocked up here suddenly finding new purpose. How many times have we read after jihadist attacks that the perpetrators were men from marginalised backgrounds, involved in crime and/or with mental illness who have been promised the earth by warped preachers? There's plenty of that type now here and ripe for the picking.

To be inviting this on ourselves is madness of the highest order, especially when the evidence from some of the most liberal countries in Europe is that this does not end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭emo72

What type of lunatic gets into an arguement with a Garda with a knife and thinks it's going to end well? Some loopers in this country for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,463 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Irish Citizen and born in Ireland is similar to how the perpetrator in Southport knife attack last year was described.

Unlike the UK news outlets RTE and Irish media in general very rarely mention terrorism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,463 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Probationary Garda too,

Dublin streets are scarier by the day, hope the Garda is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I do think it’s facile and I think you incredibly naive to believe the USA invaded Iraq because “God told” George Bush to do it.

What was the “Christian” aspect of the invasion then? Were they sent to evangelise? Were they sent to exterminate non believers?

Hilarious that you take George Bush at face value and believe that bullshıt, it was all about the balance of power in the Middle East and oil. Had F all to do with Christianity.

”Irish citizen raised in Ireland” correctly applies to Yusef Palani too sure

Will await further information, but from what I could see in the video the attacker didn’t appear to be your common or garden Irish person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭emo72

"A man Irish born"

" An Irish man"

"A white Irish man"

" A white Irish man born in Ireland"

All the above is code for an Irish born man

"A man" is code for please don't riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭donaghs

Best to wait till the full details of this come out. It’s all just speculation so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Joe 90

In fact, not that much different from the Catholic boarding school I went to in the 1960s.

Funny thing about that, and absolutely nothing to do with immigration, there was a priest there who eventually left the priesthood and took a wife. A terrible thing in those days.

But I remember that priest saying something to us in class. It went something like "I know you all want change from the church but be careful you don't replace one tyranny with another".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Ah yes, when a devout born-again Christian openly talks about how his faith influenced his decision to invade Iraq — it is naive to believe that his faith influenced his decision to invade Iraq. When the demonstrated evangelical Christian, born again in the 1980s, who several times has made remarks about his calling from God in his decision-making and who described American freedom and liberal values a "gift from God" (a gift which he tried to shove backwards up Afghanistan's behind) — it's naive to believe that when the guy says he thinks God gave him a mission to invade Iraq, he absolutely did not mean it. OK.

I guess that's a benefit of the doubt that you will absolutely never apply to any Muslim who does wrong. And did you ignore the Israel point deliberately or is it also naive to believe that Christian thinking in the US has influenced their policy of backing Israel to the hilt as it slaughters, starves and wipes out Gaza without consequence?

In any event the point still remains — whether the motivations are religion, influence, balance of power, politics or whatever else — the Western world's 'culture' as regards intervention and exploitation of Muslim countries has been far worse than vice versa. But it's not in our name of course, it's not representative and we shouldnt generalise Western society on that basis.

Anyway I saw the woman across the street wearing a burkha so Muslims obviously can't integrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

So you added the first line and "Fair play Merz "to a wall of quoted text ...fair play? 😁

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Yes I think you’re incredibly naive to believe that George Bush’s personal thoughts provided the casus belli for an international invasion that cost billions of dollars and thousands of lives. Embarrassingly naive.

So what were the actual Christian aspects of the Iraq invasion? If it was a big Christian affair like you’re trying to pretend where were the forced conversions, the legions of evangelists sent to convert the unbelievers? Why were the populace permitted to remain practising Muslims following the regime toppling in this grand Christian invasion you’re imagining?

Then on the other hand you’ve the Islamic terrorist that actually will literally kill people for the crime of not being Muslim and will say as much. They’ll literally shout “God is great” while doing it, they all do. All of the leaders and all of the soldiers on the ground too. They will openly say that they’re killing others for not being Muslims or living in a way that is anathema to Islam. They will openly say they are murdering people because they’ve disrespected or represented their prophet.

Salman Rushdie was nearly murdered for writing “blasphemy” - is that why Saddam Hussein died? Did George Bush put some kind of “Christian” fatwa on him for disrespecting Christianity? Or can you just be intellectually honest for a moment and admit that it was a political and not religiously motivated invasion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Never mind that a 2nd generation born is a citizen still not good enough for some .

Again with the ' migrate ' term ...you know that's a verb not a noun ?

Where did you go to school ?

And what nationality was he? But of course he was black ...that's the point is it ?

What point do you think the person I was replying to was making about the reporting of the Southport killer ? .... that's the reply .

People trying to say it makes no difference if someone's a citizen or 2nd generation ...if they are the wrong colour .

There have been 3 posts at least from different posters now in the last hour expressing that opinion .

That Is the very definition of racism .

There are people of different races born living and working here in Ireland , parents Irish but still there're people posting here calling them "migrates " .

I know who I'd prefer to be associated with and it's not the " patriots " who spout that sort of vile stuff .

They were making the point that while the police described the Southport killer in a way that suggested British ethnicity it actually turned out he he Rwandan parents so second generation. The poster was cautioning similarity in this case, to suggest we wait and see before concluding pure Irish ethnicity.

Your response seemed like an insinuation of discrimination, was it?

By saying pure Irish ethnicity you are suggesting white Irish ?

I wasn't insinuating anything …I said it was .

Your pure Irish ethnicity is similarly so .

Dripping with discrimination .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭HattrickNZ

Minister for Justice Jim O’Callaghan said he has been briefed on the “appalling” attack.

“My thoughts are with the garda. And I wish him a full recovery. Attacks on our gardaí are unacceptable and will never be tolerated,” he said.

Tánaiste Simon Harris described the attack as “appalling and utterly unacceptable” and said he is thinking of the garda, his family and colleagues.

“There must and will be zero tolerance for such appalling acts of violence,” he said.

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald said it is “dreadful” that a garda was “brutally attacked” while working to keep the people of Dublin safe.

“There must be zero tolerance for such disgraceful behaviour,” she said, wishing him a speedy recovery and commending the quick response of his colleagues.

Zero tolerance.

unacceptable and will never be tolerated.

Does zero tolerance mean we should not let them in in the first place?

Or what is zero tolerance in this case?

Ambulance at the bottom of the cliff.

Good lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

No sure dont you know its only in certain countries. We live on another planet.

The british farmers were on the news just the other day telling us that climate change was affecting yeilds year on year but hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Spot on

But we have boards posters thinking scientists are all flat earth heads.

We should listen to them and not scientists.

Ireland is the special place on earth

EVENFLOW

You think I'm dripping with discrimination because I used the words 'pure Irish ethnicity'?

This really shows what's wrong with the world today. We've come through an enlightened period where society came to the conclusion that racism is wrong and differences should be celebrated not vilified, and rightly so, but then a huge cohort of society swung the pendulum way too far in the other direction. So much so that you can't even acknowledge or describe difference without being held guilty of the big 'R'.

I am no racist but I'm also no adherent to the prevailing bandwagon whatever that may be. In fact the constant baseless accusations of racism and discrimination are more likely to push people away from the moderate ground and into the arms of the far right than anything else.

'Dripping with discrimination' because I dared to reference Irish ethnicity during a discussion on Irish immigration policy. Absolute tosh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

"Pure Irish ethnicity" is the most nonsensical term ever. You sound like one of those people who posts on Facebook about non white Irish athletes to declare that they're not truly Irish. We don't do an ethnicity test on people and I'm imagining your term "pure Irish ethnicity" is pretty nonsensical in terms of however you define it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭briangriffin

Are you actually arguing that the Islamic religion is a more tolerant, peaceful and progressive than the christian society that embedded judeao Christian values that have shaped modern western society and allowed secularism to thrive?

Can you explain how women's rights have progressed in Muslim countries in line with the western world?

Are you saying that the crusades should never have happened? Should Christians have submitted to Allah? Why did the crusades happen? Would the world be a better place if it was entirely Muslim today? How are things working out for Christians in Lebanon?

thank you.

Racist

1. characterized by or showing prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism against a person or people on the basis of their membership of a particular racial or ethnic group, typically one that is a minority or marginalized."we are investigating complaints about racist abuse"

noun

1. a person who is prejudiced against or antagonistic towards people on the basis of their membership of a particular racial or ethnic group, typically one that is a minority or marginalized."he has been targeted by vicious racists online

Saying "the country is full" is not racist as are other examples.

Not that racists dont exist and that there are zero of Them at some of theses marches/gatherings. Same goes for the other side.

Maybe there is evolution or just misuse of language here.

But if we cant even agree on the correct use of language what hope is there. Maybe there is no hope and it just ideologies that are at war.

So whats your position.

You are not for mass immigration? But you are against the anti immigration posts here? Do you think the immigration levels are about right?

Interesting, in relation to the Garda stabbed by a suspect, described by RTE last night as "an Irish citizen and born in Ireland" but who is, according to Morning Ireland this morning, "of Pakistani heritage".

I'm guessing the usual suspects here will interpret that to mean he's as Irish as Michael Collins and sure aren't the Irish (of whom he is the archetype obviously) known for their violence, and sure he was probably angry at the price of turf or the result of the All Ireland or something, and anyway he was mentally ill so it wasn't his fault, and he was probably after suffering racism, even though he's as Irish as Peig Sayers, and anyway didn't an Irish fella stab someone last week, and didn't we go all over the world, etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Let them in in the first place? The guy was born here and is an Irish citizen.