Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Laughing at a person who posts the Ivory Coast flag instead of the Irish flag, not that outrageous TBH. I'm sure plenty did.

Man argues against the existence of every one of his own posts.

You’re a strange lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Aw right so one minute you're telling us Muslims can't integrate and the next minute you're giving us examples of a Muslim who has integrated. It's almost like, what, the billion Muslims on the planet are a diverse group of people with different desires and motivations.

You talk about the unique problem with Muslims. As we speak, Muslims are being slaughtered in Gaza using weaponry happily supplied by Christian countries. In my lifetime alone, Christian countries have militarily invaded Muslim countries, bombed them, killed thousands upon thousands of Muslims, laid waste to Muslim neighbourhoods, and forced regime changes in Muslim countries. Christian countries have interfered in Muslim countries for decades and have often been instrumental in actually pushing Muslim countries towards Islamic radicalism and away from secularism.

As for Muslims, a small number (infinetismally smaller than the number of attacks launched by Christian countries in Muslim countries and with far smaller death tolls) of them have partaken in terror attacks in Europe and ehh some of the women cover their faces.

The Muslim has long had, and still has, far more to fear from a Christian West that will gladly bomb them the air, or aid and abet those who do, but Muslims are the problem because they don't dress like we dress or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Were those invasions by “Christian countries” done in the name of Christianity though?

No, they were not.

Can you say the same of Muslim terrorist attacks? Also no, they are always in the name of Islam

Completely different things, quite the false equivalence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Will_I_Regret

I wouldn't waste your time.

You're more than likely arguing with a switch-case statement that forgot the break;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

not a single issue of a western country doing anything in the name of Christianity unlike Muslim activists attacking Europe in the name of Islam. Not to mention that Muslims are more in danger from their fellow Muslims when you consider the constant killings between Shia and Sunnis all over the Middle East and Afghanistan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Muslims are not a problem for me in their own countries but as I've said my view is that in general there is a compatibility issue between the muslims original cultures and ours here in the West. I can make that general statement at the same time as pointing out the occasional Muslim that does integrate well. The problem is with the group not the individual. Its ok to say this.

As for Gaza and all the terrible things the Christian countries did. I don't find it relevant to Ireland's specific immigration policies and it sounds more like a western privilege self-loathing exercise. Ireland doesn't need to take responsibility for everything because somebody somewhere did bad stuff one time or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Or that wealthy nations and continents elsewhere do wash their hands ? China has no intention of 'helping ' Asian countries , not unless they can take them over .

And the continents like America who are polluting and cause climate change get off scot free .

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No lads, you are wrong / misinformed / that's a lie / whatever you want to call it !

We are not obliged to take any of these people . Climate change is not a reason to claim asylum but you two continue with the scaremongering .

No @Patrick2010 it is not part our international obligations , in quotation marks or otherwise .

Helping these countries to help themselves , is though

Not for long, as I’m sure you know:

Ireland will need to give asylum to those fleeing climate change, Roderic O’Gorman says

The EU developing a “framework” for defining climate refugees

And of course, the Irish legal and NGO sector (yeah I said NGO, get over it) are leaping on the bandwagon and will no doubt soon have us opening our doors to all of those billions of climate “refugees”

Your links are very much out of date and irrelevant as is Roderick .

And you should really check that what you say is correct before posting silly claims and scaremongering as in the nonsense you and others posted earlier today .

Again I reiterate that

Climate change is not a reason to claim asylum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Climate change is real.

But we are also told that Ireland will be under water by 2024( thats gone) some say 2030 and more say around 2050.

With Gulf Stream about collapse too should we not be telling refugees to stay clear here cause they will die soon as we all have flee?

Are the pbp lads just basically being down right liars in fooling these poor people?

What kind of arrogance do they have to think Climate Change won't effect Ireland.

Last place Climate refugees should be coming is Ireland on this basis.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Still going to flat earth conspiracy sites then for your information.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭bilbot79

It's the context and the way it's done. It irks me that someone comes here from Pakistan and takes issue with the fact that some Irish people don't actually want Islam marching all over the GPO where our forefathers fought and died. He attacks people for their failure to be more tolerant with them while simultaneously failing to acknowledge their genuine concerns. Every criticism is answered with a racism accusation and/or an insulting retort. I feel like he speaks to the Irish from a pontificating pulpit once occupied by the church but which we have moved away from, and he should show more respect to Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Interesting article on Germany's pivot to hardline stance to migration

Last May, Germany’s centre-right Christian Democratic Union (CDU) took office promising a tougher approach to migration and asylum, imposing checks on all German borders and promising “more pressure on returns”.

The shift is a response to two developments. The first: a series of fatal knife and car attacks in recent years where, in many cases, perpetrators were failed asylum application with overdue deportation orders.

Last week’s flight, the statement said, deported “14 single men, some of whom have a criminal record”.

“We will continue to carry out deportations,” the ministry concluded, “provided they are legally and effectively possible.”

There are no criminals in the Qassim family and, while doubtlessly effective, the legality of their deportation is in doubt.

The court ruling granted them leave to challenge the refusal of their asylum application.

The Brandenburg state refugee council denounced the dawn raid as a “scandalous” example of Germany’s new “deportation agenda, driven by the right wing”.

“The fact that they are Kurdish Yazidis from northern Iraq should have prevented the rejection of their asylum application,” it said. “Germany recognised the Yazidi genocide and said we have a particular responsibility here as a result.”

But German politicians, particularly in the CDU, say they feel a greater responsibility to their own voters. That leads to the second motivator for the migration pivot: an opinion poll which, this week saw the far-right Alternative for Germany (AfD) pull level with the CDU.

The First: Unfortunately this is a knock on affect of uncontrolled migration, we're constantly seeing across Europe the damage this is doing

The Second: Im convinced if AFD weren't flying high in the polls these immigration changes wouldn't be happening.

Merkel has done so much damage to Germany and Europe that it will never recover from

His ministry organised a second deportation flight last week with 81 people aboard, this time to Kabul.

To assist with this and future deportations, Berlin confirmed it had accredited two Afghan consular officials to work from Germany.

It was a bold move given the previous refusal of Berlin, along with other western capitals, to recognise the Taliban-led regime.

Fair play Merz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

You made a claim there are people promoting mass immigration.

I asked for evidence of this.

You have since posted a series of nonsense posts none of which prove anyone is promoting mass immigration on this thread.

That you can't find a single comment shows how stupid your line of argument is.

#WEF

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

Have just seen a video of a Garda being stabbed by a migrant in what the Irish Times and Rte are describing as an unprovoked attack

Hopefully the Garda will be alright

I hope those that were hand waving away these kind of incidents earlier today will take a look at themselves and wake up to the blatant reality of what is going on in our country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,439 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

1000034685.png

Who needs facts when you can have selective outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

You know what I found funny with that story, RTE saying

The man, who is an Irish citizen and born in Ireland, can be questioned for up to 24 hours.

When has RTE ever come out this quickly to reference this. You'll have to forgive me but I'll wait for other outlets rather than the governments propaganda machine

He may well be Irish citizen but also could be a 2nd generation migrate but who knows at the moment

RTE hadn’t provided that information at the time of my post and updated their article in the interim

Watch the video for yourself, the guy certainly doesn’t look Irish, can wait and see what info comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,439 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The one second video taken from 30ft away where you can't see his face or the one where he's belly down and getting laid into with batons?

But we aren't talking merely about religion — we are talking about the cultural makeup of the Muslim world and the apparent threat it poses to our Western society by virtue of perceived inability of Muslim people to integrate, which includes Islamic fundamentalism.

The unfairness inherent in those views is made abundantly clear by your own reaction to my post — you leap to exclude, differentiate and draw nuance — but you will not do the same for Muslims. If a Muslim were to say that our Western society is a more dangerous culture than theirs, based on the fact that Western nations have actually attacked, invaded and toppled Muslim countries and contributed to chaos in the Middle East for its own selfish ends, you would be saying "ah but that's not all of us, it's not emblematic of Western culture, most Westerners don't want to harm Muslims and just want to live in peace". But that view will never be reciprocated for Muslims — they must always be viewed through a narrow homogenous lens.

Dunno if you saw the same video as me but it’s 8 seconds long and you can see his face, it’s before the one where he’s on the ground

Again, the argued difference that it "wasn't done in the name Christianity" is a poor argument — because it was still done in the name of perceived Western interests, whether those interests were religious, cultural, political, economic or whatever. They clearly were not representative of the everyday Western person — but if you arent willing to apply that to others, why should it be applied to you?

Oh and let's be clear — the United States is very much a country that is influenced strongly by Christian fundamentalism. And let's not pretend Tony Blair didn't say that his decision to partake in the invasion of Iraq wasn't steered by his faith. Some of the worst acts ever perpetrated on our own island were also strongly influenced by Christian division.

https://www.nytimes.com/2006/03/04/world/europe/blair-invokes-god-in-decision-to-send-british-troops-to-iraq.html

No I’m certainly talking about religion - you attempted to draw equivalence between Islamic (religious) terrorism and “Christian country” (political/military) actions

Islamic terrorist attacks are exclusively committed in the name of Islam. USA didn’t invade Iraq because Iraqis don’t believe Jesus Christ is their lord and saviour.

Somehow I reckon if it was American evangelical Christians who hold the same views on LGBT and women’s rights as many Muslims that were emigrating in numbers to Ireland that you’d have a bigger issue with it. I haven’t time for any theologically based oppressive BS either way personally.

It was clear and facile both sidesism on your part

It seems very convenient that you're allowed to make broad generalisations about Muslims based on the actions of some Muslims but if the logic is reversed on the West as a means of demonstrating the failings of such generalisations, well, that's just not relevant and it's a self loathing exercise. It doesn't get much more convenient than saying "I am going to apply this logic but I will only apply it to the extent that it can't be applied to me".

And what do we mean that the "occasional" Muslim integrates well? Most Muslims co-exist perfectly harmoniously in the countries to which they migrate. The problem is that some peoples' idea of what constitutes integration seems to mean that Muslims have to become more Irish than the Irish themselves, and that nothing short of the complete abandonment of anything pertaining to their faith, whether it be prayers in public or what they wear, can be considered "integrated".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

So you basically concluded a person wasn't Irish based on some pretty terrible logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,158 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

The knots these people created, all predicted here long ago.

Either label everyone's ethnicity, or no one's. By trying to control things with selective reporting they only damage their own integrity.

Facile is it? I take it Bush must have been referring to some other God than the Christian God here then:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2005/oct/07/iraq.usa

The President of the United States literally said he was on a mission from God when he ordered the invasion of Iraq. Thousands upon thousands upon thousands of innocent Muslims perished in that particular mission from God — but of course I'm probably just engaging in facile both sidesism again am I?

I am also guessing it would be facile both-sidesism if I dared suggest that there is a real connection between Christian beliefs in the US and the continued arming and backing up of Israel to slaughter Palestinian Muslims with impunity.