Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Annascaul

A very good question. I don't know, but I am sure Daniel must have noticed it doesn't come cheap to divorce, no matter how…. I've also read that Sophie was due to be fired and only stayed on, once her relationship with Daniel started. I often think for Sophie it was a marriage of convenience from the start, her career in mind, and a bit more financial stability, etc…. he bought her the cottage in Ireland she always liked.

It's a bit of a hard conversation, I know, as Sophie is victim.

Apparently Bailey verbally confessed, - or maybe it was under the influence of alcohol and in presence of people who didn't like him too much and invented the whole story.

There is no written confession by Bailey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭tibruit

"Putting pressure on a police officer to change their record of a witness interview is not acceptable behaviour"

Isn`t it? I would have thought that if you see that a colleague has made an error of judgement that you would highlight that fact and give him the option to correct his error.

""Chopping up" a witness statement likewise"

Crude language used to describe someone changing their own statement. Nothing whatsoever to indicate a miscarriage of justice.

"With a repeat performance of the ostrich in the sand tactic of skipping over the parts of the post you can`t offer a response to."

Oh you expect me to deal with every point you raise then? Missing evidence for example is a common problem with cases that go on for decades. It`s easy to line it all up and call on me to waste my time explaining something that is unexplainable and then resort to the ostrich stuff because I don`t. As usual you just defer to dodgy practice. Regarding McCarthy and Cape Clear….I don`t remember ever mentioning that in any argument that I`ve made against Bailey. That`s because I`ve always considered it to be of little evidential value. But I notice that is the type of peripheral fluff that you like to vent off against now and again as if it was somehow the be all and end all.

"Why did a Guard meet alone with Marie Farrell in a Dublin hotel?"

Why does anyone meet anyone in a hotel? I can think of an obvious reason and it has nothing to do with a conspiracy.

"Why did a guard when interviewing O`Colmáin as a witness about a murder case bringing up his sons drug bust."

O`Colmáin had plenty of time to come out and correct the record if he felt he was coerced into saying something that he shouldn`t have. He hasn`t. It is obvious why he hasn`t because he wasn`t. But as usual you defer to dodgy practice whereas the original comment may have only been an ill advised innocent aside similar to "Oh I think I went to school with your brother."

"Why did Guards refuse to co-operate with the GSOC"

I don`t know for sure and neither do you. But If I was retired and had not been dodgy, I`m not sure I`d want to put my neck on the line as part of any inquisition either.

"Why was the Jobs Book tampered with?"

I don`t know, but I suspect that promises were made early on to witnesses who feared Bailey, that he would never find out that said witnesses had given investigators information. But then later Bailey won discovery and those promises would have been likely undermined. Was the tampering illegal? Possibly. Was it done to implicate Bailey? Probably not.

"Why and how was evidence lost relating to areas where misconduct is alleged against Guards?"

For the same reasons that evidence relating to areas where no misconduct was alleged was lost. Evidence goes missing.

"You have no answers to these questions despite them being raised on the thread multiple times"

l think I`ve dealt with most of it in the past.

"You don`t want to discuss it because it undermines your entire position about the case that it is unreasonable to question the Garda narrative…"

I have no issue with anyone questioning the Garda narrative. But that isn`t what you do. What you do is you imagine things to be true without any good evidence and based on what you have imagined, you conclude that Gardaí conspired with witnesses to fit up Bailey. I shout conspiracy because that is what you and others continue to allege. You don`t say it outright and you don`t like to hear me say it, but it is what you allege. If you were even close to being right about what you allege, we would be hearing evidence of it all over those Bandon tapes. It isn`t there because it didn`t happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

“I have no issue with anyone questioning the Garda narrative. But that isn`t what you do. What you do is you imagine things to be true without any good evidence and based on what you have imagined”

Every answer you gave was just imagined and made up.

Every piece of evidence is hearsay, it could all have been made up for all you know.

You pick and choose what you want to believe and then criticise others for doing the same, and claim authority based on nothing.

The gardai don’t even have a narrative, it’s all in your mind. Where is this narrative, you got a link?

"what are you even worried about?"

Nothing.

"There are moderators who manage the threads if you have a problem"

Yeah. No. Not going there. Did it on a feedback thread about this thread and they took it down.

"Most are earnestly searching for justice"

When you bump into a tree it means you`ve already found the wood.

"it`s just crickets"

How do you know that then?

"The gardai don`t even have a narrative, it`s all your mind."

Go tell odyssey06. They said it and I replied.

"You pick and choose what you want to believe and criticize others for doing the same"

Pot calls kettle black

"Every piece of evidence is hearsay, it could all have been made up for all you know"

A lot of it has been tested under oath and under cross examination.

"Every answer you gave was imagined and made up"

Based on probability. But it`s what you get when you ask unanswerable questions and call someone an ostrich for not bothering to answer them.

Look the mods are there for a reason. If you have a problem with a thread take it to them. If everything is in line with the rules then there is no problem so stop going on about it like some noble vigilante

There is no official narrative, it’s all in your head put together from decades of bits and pieces of information.

Justice is the answers to the questions, not speculation. There can be various reasonable takes, but only one truth, and you don’t have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

GSOC also found no evidence Farrell was intimidated or coerced by gardai, that there was any garda conspiracy against Bailey, stated his arrest was lawful and they could not substantiate allegations that a witness was provided with drugs.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30859657.html

As for missing evidence, most if not all was with the National Forensics Laboratory.

The gate for example was offered back to the owners after it was deemed to have no further evidential value, since only Sophie's blood was found on it.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/blood-stained-gate-in-sophie-murder-inquiry-was-not-lost-gardai-reveal/40647261.html

As for the wine bottle, it may have had relevance, it may not have, to the murder. I believe it was possible to purchase that French wine bottle also in Ireland at the time. In any case only the finger prints of those who found it were discovered on it.

The idea her husband did it is illogical.

For one thing if he was the all powerful and influential person people assume with friends in high places like Chirac, why would he not bump her off in France where he actually had power and influence over an investigation, rather than in Ireland where he had no influence?

Additionally he was one of the people who continually tried to get the case reopened and reinvestigated in Ireland with mixed results. Why would he do this if he was the murderer?

As for him not coming to collect her body he stated he was traumatised. Now if he was actually a cold blooded killer, surely he'd have no issue coming over. If only to tie up loose ends.

Nope, all the evidence points to a local.

I’m not saying your wrong, you came up with your own little conspiracy theory when prompted, and it could be correct, it’s a reasonable take, but in the absence of evidence to the contrary, then Odyssey06 can draw a different reasonable conclusion too. You act like an authority, but your not.
    Is it possible Bailey was the perpetrator, yes it is. But it also possible someone else was too. That is the point of discussion, yet you are completely one sided, all discussion should be about Bailey and that’s it.

There is no formal report from the gardai, its not like the JFK assassination, or the moon landing, it’s just various bits of evidence that people assess in their own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Anytime I see a poster doggedly defend the position that Bailey is the only credible suspect and attempt to close down discussion on any other possibilities, I’m reminded of that absolute imbecile Garda, Gerry O’Carroll who couldn’t even bring himself to say that he got it wrong, and to apologise , after years of pushing the line that Joanne Hayes was the mother of both babies- long after most rational people had moved on and accepted that was the case.

I hope such Gardai are long gone from the force, but we won’t know for sure, unless or until, Gardai release their final investigation report and its findings/conclusion.

As every poster here admits- Bailey “could” have done it- -just as many other people “could” have done it-but the evidence against Bailey is so weak, so concocted, that really it’s an insult to intelligence to still hold him up as the only credible suspect - and it’s an insult to the memory and life of Sophie to do so.

“For decades, he persisted in his stance that Joanne Hayes from Abbeydorney was the mother of two babies: her own baby, Shane, and another baby, later named John, who was murdered and whose body was found on a beach in Cathair Saidhbhín in south Kerry in 1984.

Following the emergence of DNA evidence, Mr O'Carroll finally accepted that Ms Hayes could not have been the mother of Baby John.“

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1424638/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭chooseusername

He grudgingly accepted the scientific evidence eventually, but never apologised to the Hayes family or admitted how they treated the family to get the confessions. DNA is solving a lot of cases today, hopefully something will come of this;

https://www.thetimes.com/world/ireland-world/article/sophie-toscan-du-plantier-murder-latest-dna-3vt9768nb

Michael Sheridan in yesterday's Times.

Best of luck to them - I wonder how long before they get any results and if positive for DNA of another person or persons, will the public be told?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭chooseusername

I was going to say unlikely unless there's a conviction. But they released the information about the parents of Baby John, albeit without naming them, and no sign of a charge, let alone a conviction, in that case.

Letting the public know there is other DNA there (even if they don’t know who at that point or indeed why(which would necessitate thorough investigation) would show at the very least, that they have other avenues to explore other than Bailey (considering they have Baileys DNA, he is easily ruled in or out at the earliest stage) .

It would reassure the public somewhat they there are still many strands to this investigation to explore outside of what was a very narrow focus originally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,061 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You didn't just skip 'every point' made, you tried to ignore the points which undermined your position. You know you had no real answer to them, as evidenced here with a bunch of "I don't knows" followed by weak answers that are either naive or disingenuous, excusing Garda conduct on the case that is somewhere between incompetence, unsafe and improper.
    You have not remotely dealt with it as none of these answers are credible or coherent.

In this case from the items of missing \ 'lost' evidence includes witness statements relating to what we have a Guard on tape demanding be 'chopped up'.

Why would O'Colmain come out and correct the record, he would be implicating himself in altering a statement to curry favour with the Guards. Why did the Guard mention it? Your post does not remotely answer it in any convincing way.

Funny, I didn't see you jumping in when posters brought up McCarthy and Cape Clear as evidence against Bailey despite you thinking it was 'peripheral fluff'. But you only get bothered when posters discredit it and then somehow it's our fault it was discussed and you then "vent off" at those posters. Read that back to yourself - that's a textbook claim of self discrediting double standards.
    McCarthy was brought up as an example of an unreliable witness coming forward years later. You seem to doubt is validity but don't explain why. And yet when other posters do that you shout 'conspiracy', even when they back it with objective evidence on the importance of independent witness statements taken immediate after the events.
    Evidence you refuse to engage with because you know it discredits your entire position here.

Even the answers given here by you in defending them implicate them in some very dodgy behaviour eg

improper conduct between a Guard and a witness eg "Why does anyone meet anyone in a hotel? I can think of an obvious reason."

possibly illegal conduct with the Jobs Book

And that's just for starters.

Which is why your gatekeeper attempts shouting conspiracy will be treated with the contempt it deserves, by me and other posters on the thread.

Post edited by odyssey06 on

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Yes, well that's all that GSOC could establish given they have very limited powers and were stonewalled by retired Guards, and evidence has been destroyed that could have shown wrongdoing. Why do you think someone deliberately ripped out pages from the Jobs Book? That's what a cover up looks like. The only question is what they were covering up.

Why do you think original statements from Jules Thomas and Marie Farrell, given the allegations of unsafe conduct by Guards in relation to them, were 'lost'?

At the very least it is incompetence, it could be covering up much worse.

Which is why I brought up this angle originally - it is entirely reasonable to question the Garda investigation, their focus on Bailey, and they do not get the 'benefit of the doubt' when they make dubious claims without real evidence.

You can’t think that article makes it better, you cannot be serious. That’s way worse.!Like it says the gate was disposed of because it was deemed of no evidentiary value. Wow, so the gardai didn’t lose it, they just decide to destroy it. “I deem this item of no value, poof”, gone. It’s reasonable to assume they did this with other evidence too, no?

Touch DNA analysis could have been carried out on the samples from the gate, it was becoming available at around that time, DNA analysis is always improving. They knew this. They could have dismantled rather than destroyed they gate instead. How you think destroying it is acceptable outcome is beyond me. So someone decided to destroy the gate, someone else perhaps destroyed part the jobs book. All grand.

I mean if it was Bailey they could have destroyed one of the best chances of catching him.

It’s not illogical , it’s usually the husband. I agree that I don’t think it was her husband in this case though. They ruled him out without investigating him thoroughly, it’s bad practise. It was purely a political decision to rule him out very early. You can agree with the decision, but you should not agree with the process surely.

What other decisions were made without sufficient due diligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Once can't simply negate the financial implications for Daniel resulting from Sophies death. The motive is by far the strongest of them all. It wouldn't have been him personally anyway. He would have sent somebody, through someobody else who knows somebody who get's the job done. Also the payment would have gone that way. Cash, untraceable, phone calls from a public phone booth, flights to and from Ireland via a stopover somewhere. The house was actually easy to find, if acting on instructions, just two turns west out of a small village. Day and night, one could find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭tinytobe

They should have kept the gate but used the collected evidence with caution. With caution for the very reason that the gate could be opened and closed by anybody at anytime, thus anybody's fingerprints and DNA could be on there. Thus DNA and fingerprints on the gate wouldn't necessarily have been from the murder.

What they should have done is taken a closer look at the pumphouse regarding DNA. Don't know if it was done? The killer took that cavity block by force, he must have touched the roof and ripped part of it off with force, - chances are a lot higher he left his DNA then and there when he was murdering Sophie. Not 100% as well, but far more likely than the gate which anybody would open and close whilst coming and going.

As with all cases, collection of evidence against someone doesn't mean that person is guilty, however it helps to build a case.

Touch DNA on the gate could have been left by the perpetrator, and/or by multiple other people who touched it. As we saw with the boot, there was DNA left there also (not touch DNA). It should be noted that the DNA on the boot was found years after the gate was destroyed. There was more than ten blood locations on the gate. If the same DNA profile was left on the it, perhaps in multiple places mixed up with her blood, it would be a strong case against someone, and that person could then be re-questioned (if they are still alive), and their alibi tested etc. If there was more than one profile found, it just means more work.

"Anytime I see a poster doggedly defend the position that Bailey is the only credible suspect and attempt to close down discussion on any other possibilities…"

I`m not trying to close down anything. But I call out bullshit when I see it. Did you find the source of the Wolney "I did a terrible thing" myth yet?

"…I`m reminded of that absolute imbecile Garda, Gerry O`Carroll…"

So I remind you of an imbecile then do I? Now that you`ve resorted to lowest form of debate, I will accept your insult as an acknowledgement on your part that you have lost the argument.

And here is one of those advancements, amazing news (paywalled though):

I say that based on the murder of Krystal in Utah in 1995, where granite rocks were swabbed multiple times between 1996 and 2013 with no interpretable results, but when the M-Vac was brought in the investigators were able to collect 42 times the previous DNA material and provide a profile of the killer leading to conviction."

The fact they are coming over would lead me to think they may have gotten a hit on the samples they were sent. This is probably the best possible chance of finding the perpetrator imo. Amazing news.

Post edited by jesuisjuste on

"You just skip every point made, you tried to ignore the points which undermined your position."

I addressed every point you raised last night. They don`t undermine my position. You act in bad faith by asking me questions that we both know can`t be definitively answered and then you call me an ostrich because I didn`t originally answer them. Life is too short. You however imagine the worst possible scenario as the answer to each question even though none of it is supported by actual evidence. The one place where you should be finding evidence to support your allegations is on the Bandon tapes. But your conclusion there is that they must have had the recorders turned off every time the boyos were scheming and conspiring.

I`ve always acknowledged that there was improper behaviour by investigating Gardaí in this case. It doesn`t mean that Bailey is innocent and it certainly doesn`t mean that witnesses were in cahoots with Gardaí to frame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,444 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

It is paywalled. What is the date on that article?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You are clearly looking for a fight at any opportunity - my “imbecile” comment was clearly directed at another individual, now dead.
    Yes you do indeed remind me of the same pathetic arguments that chap engaged in-It’s clear from my post that I didn’t name call you -
    But if you wish to take on crosses not offered to you, there is little I can do about that.

You have told all on this site very clearly, that Bailey killed Sophie. Ironically, it’s very possible that the Gardai you’re in such high praise of, may well now disagree with you. You’re banging a very outdated drum and sticking to claims that no one can say for certainty - but yet you insist Bailey is the killer. Yes, that is very much Gerry O’Carroll thinking

The Bandon Tapes were recordings of phone calls to and from Garda stations. That is all that was recorded and even then, not all calls were recorded from all locations and of those, we can't be confident all of them were preserved.

So you know, maybe the "boyos" were just "conspiring" in person?
    And maybe even then had the sense not to say anything too incriminating over the phone even if they didn't know what was going on.

You only "addressed" them after several times of asking. They do undermine your position when you can only respond with "I don't knows" followed by guesswork.

It's not bad faith to ask questions that demonstrates you don't have the answers, when you act as a gatekeeper on the thread as if you do and that only certain explanations are acceptable.
    It is entirely reasonable to question witness testimony in this case and to list several possible causes as to why the testimony is dubious.
    And we have accusations of unsafe conduct towards witnesses by Guards from multiple sources, witness statements 'lost', Jobs Book tampered with, detective meeting alone in a hotel with a key witness, witness statements being 'refined' to suit the Garda narrative years after multiple rounds of 'questioning'.
    So there is more than sufficient evidence to doubt witness testimony and to list among them, doubtful memories, witnesses being guided by questioning especially in the hysterical environment created by Guards in the community, personal animosity, attempts to curry favour \ witnesses involved in crime being dragooned by Guards into giving testimony favourable to their case.
    I stand over that, and you have provided no evidence that such conduct could not have occurred. The Guards engaged in improper conduct on the case, so

We see in the Kerry Babies case, Gardai went to such lengths in their tunnel vision on the case they ended up with false confessions. Was the family "in cahoots" with those Gardai? Was Joanne Hayes framed?
    How did the Guards get a false confession? Was that a conspiracy?
    What evidence do you think the Guards left behind in that case?
    It was only when DNA evidence demonstrated that the Guards got it completely wrong, did we see an attempt to get real answers.

You're the one shouting conspiracy at every turn on this thread, so come on, answer up.
    Conspiracy or not? Frame up or not?

There was even a sham of a tribunal by a judge into that case which predictably protected the Guards.
    It took over 35 years for those findings to be overturned and for the Hayes family to be finally vindicated.

I fully believe the Guards on this case - which documented engaged in improper conduct - were more than capable of generating false\inaccurate witness testimony whether through their conscious or subconscious actions and in how they conducted themselves with witnesses. Whether they genuinely thought Bailey was guilty or innocent I don't know, regardless some sort of unquestioning groupthink set in that they had to get Bailey.
    They are on record as stating that their case against Bailey was flimsy and circumstantial, and that was when they were relying on Marie Farrell's nonsense testimony about seeing Bailey at 3am. So we don't know why they were so sure Bailey was the culprit.
    But they were determined to get him by fair means and foul. Their conduct with witnesses was unsafe. It is a recipe for a miscarriage of justice and it is therefore entirely valid to question the basis for witness testimony.

So the Guards do not get the benefit of the doubt on this investigation, nor do witnesses who surface years later and\or with changing stories that further incriminate Bailey.

No not after cases like this. Not after the Maurice McCabe case.

https://www.rte.ie/culture/2022/0121/1274913-the-kerry-babies-case-justice-delayed-is-justice-denied/

Post edited by odyssey06 on

"You are clearly looking for a fight at any opportunity…"

No I`m not. I`ve been ignoring your vacuous contributions for ages. You don`t like that I ignore you, so you resorted to insults to call me out.

Your imbecile remark was aimed at those posters who "defend the position that Bailey is the only credible suspect". Currently that is me and me alone. Own it.