Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Well there is a thread, so people are discussing the topic, much like any other topic on boards.
    If you have a problem with the thread moderation I think you should take it up with the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

If ever there was a more ridiculous reason to carry on an murder investigation focusing on just one man, for nearly 30 years- this is it.

It has never been proven that Bailey knew Sophie to speak to - it’s highly suspect that they were even introduced. But yet Gardai believe he walked for miles in the dead of a winters night, whilst drunk, looking for sex from a woman he didn’t know.

A great waste of tax payers money is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭chooseusername

" even though we are told that Sophie paid to have it installed and was fussy about it being kept closed"

My understanding is, the gate that went missing, the gate in the lane, was not Sophie's gate. It looked like it had been there long before Sophie bought her house. It defined the boundary between the public part of the lane and the private part leading up to the three properties. A year or so before the murder Finbarr Hellen hung 2 gates for Sophie, one at the rear of her house (top gate below) and the other leading from the lane into her lawn down by the pumphouse.(Lower gate) The 2 new gates restricted access to Alfie's shed and field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,064 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There is documented evidence of Garda malfeasance on this case and incidents of unsafe conduct with witnesses. Other conduct which at the very least is incompetence.

And even when the Guards conduct is above board, they sometimes get it wrong. Innocent people end up in jail.

So it is entirely reasonable to subject the Garda case to scrutiny and consider other narratives, especially when it was taken apart by the DPP's office.

And if anyone says otherwise - look up the Kerry Babies case if you're ignorant of how investigations can go wrong. And if you're already aware, stop being so bloody disingenuous about it.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Thank you! That is very clear and helpful. Most useful photographs.

However - it does still appear that the "missing gate" is the one at which the murder took place. It was standing open when the body was found, of course. And now I'm getting muddled; - was "Sophie's gate" - the one beside the pumphouse and leading into her land - was this one open or closed at the time the body was found?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭csirl

One of the key questions in any cold case review is why the Gardai behaved the way they did. Was it gross incompetence or was it done on purpose. If done on purpose, then why? There are enough Gardai who worked on the case who are still alive that we should be able to get answers to these questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The crime scene photos show the lower gate by the pump house open and the top gate at the rear of the house closed. So I would assume that that’s how they were found, but you never know. There doesn’t appear to be any padlocks on the gates. And Yes the gate I’ve labelled “missing” is the gate with the blood.

GSOC couldn't get straight answers because they were stonewalled by retired Guards, or in some cases they were deceased.

The watchdog also said that due to a lack of cooperation for a number of gardaí it was not possible for it to fully establish some of the details pertaining to the arrests of Ian Bailey and Jules Thomas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,449 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Anyone ever look in to who owned the house before Sophie, and why it was sold?

You're right, and it's not just reasonable, it is necessary. for true justice. Since Bailey is now dead, even those people who believe he did it should be shouting from the roof tops that the cold case should also be reviewing how these items were lost, who was responsible, when did it happen, and reconsitituting what was in the jobs books via interviews with the key personnel who have read them. One person may have been responsible for them, but for sure more than one person wrote them, and perhaps dozens read them. Easy to just say what was lost, but there is a pact of silence about it, as per the GSOC. This is what justice means, not just pointing fingers saying "he did it".

If someone actually thought Bailey did it, then we have lost the single most important piece of evidence for Touch DNA, the blood samples on the gate could easily have cells or other DNA from the perpetrator, and in fact it is likely it would have. Oopsy daisy I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭tibruit

"So it is entirely reasonable to subject the Garda case to scrutiny and consider other narratives"

Not on Boards.i.e it isn`t. There are too many poorly informed contributors making half assed allegations based on nothing more than a bit of hearsay or worse still Chinese Whispers.

Take yourself for example. You and I have been on these threads for a number of years now. I remember at one point that you held the firm belief that Farrell and Bailey knew each other before the murder. The clear implication in that was that Farrell and the Gardaí went to great lengths to set up Bailey. Far beyond anything Farrell has alleged since she revised. Farrell claimed from the outset that she didn`t know him. Then West Cork Podcast came along and got to the nub of it with Bailey when he described meeting Farrell for the first time after the murder. He said she was "this woman who I did not know at all."

Similarly with Leo Bolger and his witnessing Sophie being introduced to Bailey. You claimed it was another conspiracy with the Gardaí using the fact that they had Bolger over a barrel because they`d nailed him on a drugs bust. I remember that you even made suggestions about the judge in that case. You also made a whole issue about the convenience of recovered memory. Along comes West Cork Podcast and confirms that no, actually Bolger had been saying for years before the drug bust that he saw Bailey being introduced to Sophie. He had even been lined up several years previously to testify as much in the libel case. It was confirmed to WCP by counsel.

And having said the above I would add that I consider you to be one of the best informed contributors on here. But your constant deferring to dodgy practice in almost every instance is wholly wrong and has been shown to be wrong on the Bandon tapes where the only conspiracy evident is two cops remarking that a colleague needed to change his statement regarding an ill judged remark that he had made about Jules Thomas. And that is something that he was perfectly entitled to do. If only every major investigation was subject to the level of scrutiny that this one got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“There are too many poorly informed contributors making half assed allegations based on nothing more than a bit of hearsay or worse still Chinese Whispers.”

That’s a good summary of the case against Bailey- well done!

There's far more dodgy behaviour than that relating to the Guards on the case. Just more semantic games from you oh it's only "conspiracy event" if you can show it was 2 or more Guards acting in secret, even if we have evidence of multiple actions on the case by different Guards.
    That sort of semantic nonsense gets you and the thread nowhere.
    That's just what, as a matter of luck, was recorded on the Bandon tapes, and even that alone is even to establish that the Garda conduct in this case was not on the level.

We also have "missing", "lost" or deliberately destroyed:
    A French wine bottle found four months after the murder in a field next to the scene.
    A black overcoat belonging to Ian Bailey.
    The original memo of interview of Jules Thomas following her arrest in 1997.
    An original witness statement from Marie Farrell provided on 5 March 2004.
    An original witness statement from Jules Thomas dated 19 February 1997.
    Job books are meant to form a complete record of all activity undertaken in a major or critical incident along with the rationale for the decisions made. The report stated that as the hard-backed book had a glued spine “it would not be possible for pages to simply fall out of the book by accident and for them to be removed, this would have to have been a deliberate act”.

Have you yourself not said the Garda investigation was up to scratch, especially in the early stages?
    Why did the Guards not follow Harbinson's instruction?
    So right there, we have reasonable doubt even without any of the other dodgy behaviour from the Guards.

No one has given a credible, convincing detail for the interactions between Marie Farrell and multiple Guards in the investigation. How it was she identified Bailey at 3am and why.
    Why did a Guard meet with her alone at a Dublin hotel?
    It's one thing to 'know' someone, but it is surprising that Marie Farrell is claiming she as a shopkeeper on Schull main street never so much as set eyes on a distinctive character as Bailey once.

Likewise with Leo Bolger... the murder was the talk of the town. Yet there is no record of Leo Bolger mentioning this supposed meeting until years later, no one else can remember him mentioning this when Bailey was arrested, or even sooner as he was talked about the town as a suspect. So nope, I don't find him credible at all.
    The discrepancy in the sentence handed out to Bolger for drugs offences and some of the other drug related cases handled by the same judge is remarkable.

Why did the Guards interviewing O'Colmain bring up his son's drug arrest?

We had Mark McCarthy on this thread being quoted as having seen Bailey and Sophie together at Cape Clear, as if it was fact. Yet when he was pressed on it that it didn't tally with Sophie's diary, he came out with gibberish about confusing the woman with someone from the TV reconstruction.

Was that conspiracy? Was that a mistaken witness? Was there a personal vendetta?
    OR are we just not allowed by you to question the credibility of such claims, because it makes us a conspiracy theorist?
    And doesn't that just establish what a nonsense line of argument it is intended to shut down discussion and why posters openly deride such claims and ignore them?

Witnesses can be sincerely mistaken, they can allow themselves to be 'guided' by the police questions where they are uncertain, or yes they can lie for their own ends or corrupt ends.
    Multiple posters provided reasons why it is important to get independent witness statements, as soon as possible after an event. And that's witnesses who saw the ACTUAL incident. Here we are so far removed from the actual incident there is even more reason to doubt testimony.
    You have failed to engage with this but objectively, it forms reasonable doubt about testimony given years later and especially where year later recollections become 'clarified'.

So wherever on the spectrum all of this dodgy behaviour falls between incompetence, malfeasance or outright corruption... it is entirely reasonable to question the Garda focus on Bailey and the Garda conduct in this investigation.
    There's more than enough red flags about this investigation that they do not get the benefit of the doubt.

And any further attempts to gatekeep the discussion will be treated with the contempt it deserves.

Not on boards.ie it isn't deary me, gatekeep much? Just because you don't like that people don't blindly agree with the things you believe. These points you make don't even matter, it's not a competition as to who gets the most things right, or who said what when. It's all just hearsay and speculation, about Bailey as well as the others, and you're guilty as sin of it too.

In reality most on here are searching for justice, for Sophie, because the judicial and political system haven't been, and you're not either.

According to @tibruit this is perfectly acceptable behaviour from police investigating a murder.

D/Sgt Hogan: Okay, yeah. I need to talk to you about, em, your colleague’s statement of evidence. I need him to...but I’ll talk to you first...

D/Gda Fitzgerald: The most honest man.

D/Sgt Hogan: He has comments in it like “I knew she was making every effort to tell me the truth.” Do you follow?

D/Gda Fitzgerald: Yeah

D/Sgt Hogan: I don't need them for starters

D/Gda Fitzgerald: That statement needs to get **** chopped up anyway

Nothing to see here. No sirree.

These are not the actions of police interested in justice or finding Sophie's real killer. These are people out to get a 'result' at all costs.

And oh look at what pieces of evidence could not be traced by GSOC, GSOC who was stonewalled by retired Guards.

The original memo of interview of Jules Thomas following her arrest in 1997.

An original witness statement from Jules Thomas dated 19 February 1997.

The Guards are obviously hiding something. The only question is what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭csirl

There's no evidence in the public domain implicating any Gardai in the murder, but the behaviour of the Gardai is very suspicious. The key to solving this case lies with unearthing the reasons for the Garda behaviour.

It may solve it or sadly it may just establish that their conduct in the active stage of the investigation focusing on Bailey meant the real killer(s) either were missed entirely or not properly scrutinized, leads \ evidence not followed up, "lost" etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭tinytobe

The "Randy Guard" would have been one suspect, one theory. It would certainly explain the completely botched up police investigation in this case. But that's only one theory of many.

This would however produce several more questions:

How come the "Randy Guard" knew that Sophie was at her cottage just before Christmas? Was he informed? or did he stake out the house?

And if he didn't know, why did he come to her cottage? Did she call the police about something and it was him who responded? Or was the visit to the cottage really only sexual in nature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,449 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Did a little search for this and could only find that it was a 'Professor living in Waterford'.

Separately, I stumbled upon this, which is interesting:

"Sophie had confided to her friend Miss Thomas Agnès that she was extremely anxious, tired and psychologically weakened because she had a feeling that Daniel [her husband] was cheating on her and slipping away from her. He constantly refused to have a child that Sophie greatly desired’; ‘She [Sophie] had confided to Fatima [Zandouche, a friend] that she wanted to have a little girl to name her "Thérèse" but that her husband refused her."

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/comments/1asbrk9/sophie_life_and_personality_report_m_larousse/

This seems to be from a report by a 'personality investigator - M. Larousse'.

1000055128.png

It also suggests she moved out at one point and had an affair with a 'Bruno' during her marriage to DTDP, but eventually returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭tinytobe

You can find that all out on Reddit. It's pretty comprehensive.

Sophie also desired to have a child with Bruno, this has also been raised several times.

I would also say that the killer was likely to be known to her, or at least the killer knew that she was at her cottage at around Christmas. This would imply some connection between killer and victim. More we all can't speculate.

Of course there is the chance it was some kind of stranger but that I would see not that likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Polly701

I think her husband is behind her murder... I don't know how but he is the only one to 'gain' from it. Not coming straight to Ireland after her murder was so strange.

I seem to remember him saying in an interview in January 1997 that Sophie was pregnant at the time of her death (which she clearly wasn't as per the post mortem). Odd.

He is the last person to have spoken to her so he definitely knew she was alone in the house.

I am also thinking that the murder is connected to someone in France rather than Ireland, but it is of course speculation.

There is another interesting item/ document on Reddit which is an appeal to the French for help with the investigation - it is very detailed in what help is specifically sought - but I don't know how forthcoming the French were in assisting. Not very I suspect.

https://www.reddit.com/r/DunmanusFiles/s/mBJ7YqZHnv

Interestingly, a Bailey article for the Tribune in January 2004 quotes a local man as saying STDP told him she decided to leave her husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Annascaul

I've always seen it that way because I've only looked at the results. These are the only things beyond doubt.

Daniel benefited by far the most of Sophie's death. He was cheating and so was she. She wanted another child but not with Daniel. She had an affair with Bruno for 2 years. Daniel had apparently multiple affairs. One can debate who's fault it was, but we can all agree the marriage was essentially over and that meant a high cost for Daniel in case of a divorce. Daniel also knew where she was staying in Ireland and that she would be alone and it would be remote.

Both motive and opportunity are for Daniel clearly there.

And if it was connected to Ireland it is most likely it was an Irish police officer or maybe several and the Irish police covered it up, to shield one or maybe several of their own. Rustling cattle and sheep or occasional blackmail would be clear indications same as losing evidence, coercing a witness, passing drugs around and not following up certain leads. Maybe there was also a connection between the Irish police and Leo Bolger, after all he was doing drugs and gotten off lightly once, he was also grazing cattle on Sophie's land, as far as I know.

Motive is there as well same as opportunity.

In both theories, both, Daniel as well as the Irish police carried on as normal with considerable gains. Nobody with the Irish police faced any consequences nobody was fired, nobody was demoted or disciplined, nothing, and Daniel gotten financially better off married and became a father again all very soon after. "Grieving husband" he certainly wasn't.

"gatekeep much?"

Someone needs to try. Otherwise this thread descends into conspiracy chaos. It has been open season on Bailey right from the time he first confessed. I suspect because of that there`s a bunch of ye here who seem to think that it`s open season on everyone else too. It isn`t. Everyone else didn`t confess.

"In reality most on here are searching for justice for Sophie"

No you`re not. You are living in a dystopian episode of Murder She Wrote where the the obvious suspect is never the killer.

"According to @tibruit this is perfectly acceptable behaviour from police investigating a murder"

I don`t remember saying that. However in spite of the poorly chosen language used, both Hogan and Fitzgerald are correct in their assertion about what the colleague said about Thomas and it is evidenced in the obvious contradictions in her signed statement.

So that`s the Bandon tapes then. Hours and hours of covert recordings of investigating Gardaí discussing aspects of the case and that bit is the most damning?

"The Guards are obviously hiding something"

Are they? If every investigation was subject to the level of scrutiny that this one got, no doubt you would be alleging it about all of them too.

There is no need to gatekeep a thread, what are you actually on about, what are you even worried about? There are moderators who manage the threads if you have a problem, just go and take it up with them. They are very good at keeping people in line.

Most are earnestly searching for justice since it's been almost 30 years, and the cold case review is coming up on what 3 or 4 now too, and it's just crickets. If there was nothing to answer why would there be a cold case review at all?

So you are now being utterly disingenuous that 'perfectly entitled' does not have the same meaning as 'perfectly acceptable'. So it is acceptable behaviour or not? You're so determined not to concede a point you don't seem to be able to make up your own mind, but regardless the Guards must be defended!
    Putting pressure on a police officer to change their record of a witness interview is not acceptable behaviour.
    "Chopping up" a witness statement likewise.
    But hey, it is obvious you don't care about miscarriages of justice.

With a repeat performance of the ostrich in the sand tactic of skipping over the parts of the post you can't offer a response to, as if it's not blatantly obvious when you do it.

The Bandon tapes is only what we have of some phone calls, it was not covertly recording all conversations in the investigations in the Garda station.
    You know this yet pretend not to.

Here's some of the questions you keep running away from:

Why did a Guard meet with Marie Farrell alone in a Dublin hotel?
    Why did a Guard when interviewing O'Colmain as a witness about a murder case bring up his son's drug bust?
    Why did Guards refuse to co-operate with GSOC?
    Why was the Jobs Book deliberately tampered with?
    Why and how was evidence 'lost' relating to areas where misconduct is alleged against Guards?

You have no answer to these questions despite them being raised on the thread multiple times and get hot under the collar when other posters bring them up - that's on you. You don't want to discuss it because it undermines your entire position about the case that it is 'unreasonable' to question the Garda narrative - that's on you.
    If you want it to stop, come up with credible coherent answers for the conduct.

Otherwise, if you keep shouting conspiracy every time points like this are brought up about Garda conduct on the case, all you will achieve is that the thread will be bombarded with questions you can't or won't answer like the above.

Daniel would be one of the obvious suspects, but at the same time, he was previously divorced twice.

One question would be: who divorced whom in the previous?

[quote="tibruit"]It has been open season on Bailey right from the time he first confessed[/quote]

What confession? What does 'first confessed' mean?

Bah, don't know how to insert quotes anymore 😔