Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,589 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I just hope we don't have a thread filled with 'told you so' argument, for either side, for the entire season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,076 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

They'll keep him for 1 season and send him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

At least he's not sticking the boot in. As much as I'm sick of his lazy attitude, he said from the minute he declared his intention to leave that he wouldn't slate the club so fair play if he sticks to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

Of course there will be. Some posters will be waiting for him to score or assist so they can post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Not going to happen unfortunately. Barca using him as backup for a year until they can get their main targets next season.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭BenK

Who really cares if he sticks the boot in though? Anything he does or says should be irrelevant for United now outside of hoping he does just enough on the pitch for Barcelona or someone else so that he's bought next summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭jayo44

I don't think sticking the boot in could do anymore damage than what he has done to be honest. A fair play to him would be to get his head down and not turn himself into an unsaleable asset.

He is a total unlikeable character that's just admitted on live tv that he has been in conversations with barca for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,084 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Because there is a chance that a future suitor is in fact a club that he actually is interested in.

For hypothetical sake, say Barca or Madrid decide they want another winger and think the guy that did well in Spain last season would suit them. Is Antony so wedded to Betis that he will turn down offers from other high profile clubs like that? Really?

There are a lot of clubs between Betis and Barcalona, who is to say that one of them doesn't get Antony thinking. So why not encourage the interest from all potential suitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,887 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Amorim basically told him him to leave at Xmas, of course he's been talking to other clubs.

He's been at the club since he was 7, most of that time it's been a badly run mess. Good luck to him.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,084 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He feels like he is "at home" now. Good for him.

I'd make a "work from home" joke, but I'm not sure about the work part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,724 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

this must have been before he did his interview with henry winter? the release was delayed till after the city game but the interview was before he was dropped.

utd need to start playing hardball. i thought they would with rashford.

with antony, they gotta. something along the lines of….if you want to play in the WC next summer, you find a move that works for all parties. we can absorb your wages.

i'd do the same with garnacho.

with the other 2, no such leverage unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,365 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

he’s still a Utd player for at least another year, and still needs to look good for prospective buyers, so would be mad for him to say anything negative at this stage. It’s not like the club are standing in his way or anything, as is the case with some lads who speak out, they’re desperate to get him out.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Wheeler reporting that apparently United are accepting that they may start the season without a striker...the thought of Hojlund up top against a revamped arsenal seriously concerns me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,076 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Mbeumo should start up top with Cunha and Bruno behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,863 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Could easily happen and another reason why they waited to get Mbeumo. Probably the best fit for what Amorim wants for that R10 position but can also play as a CF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,724 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,054 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Playing the "put pressure on the board" game to make sure he gets what he wants perhaps?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,270 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Sounds like it's a tactic to get teams to stop **** around with prices.

Put out a story that we may not sign a striker, maybe teams might be willing to negotiate a little bit.

Tinfoil hat theory but I'm sticking with it 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,589 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I think it is simple a factor of we have sold no one. Maybe we could sign a striker while banking on selling someone, but I don't think the club will move forward on a striker till we have brought some money in.

A cheap keeper is different. I think we could do that now. But 50+m on a striker?

How we can go about pushing sales, I dunno. Only idea is have is properly try to do a psr deal with cheeks for Jackson and garnacho

Regarding the ornstein report if us enquiring about ekiteke last week I wonder if there is money for a striker considering we were locked in for Mbuemo still. It's also goes against the reports of Amorim wanting a PL proven ST. If Vivel is spearheading the recruitment then I think we will go all in for Sesko. I don't see any long term planning upside in Watkins or Jackson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I was thinking the same but I'm a bit more positive with the comings and goings recently...think we should be aiming for top 8 this season...the likes of Brentford, Villa and Fulham shouldn't be finishing ahead of this season...so top 8 definitely or even top 6 a possibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Villa have an outrageous wage to income ratio and if they need to trim it, Watkins is 6th on their salary list. Martinez is joint top so there are possible deals to be done. Watkins wouldn't be a long term solution but he would be good enough to patch out striker issues until we're stabilised.

I think we will make more signings but I would be susprised if nothing happens til we shift someone. Sancho won't bring in much cash but clearing his wages would be big. Garnacho the opposite, should bring in more money but he's on a sensible enough contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,270 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Someone on here replied to me the other day that Muani is off the market but just seen he's being frozen out by PSG.

Bitter fall for former Eintracht star

Kolo Muani has to train with the youth team in Paris

Randal Kolo Muani's (26) fall from grace in Paris is getting worse and worse.
    After his loan to Juventus Turin, the former Eintracht attacker is back at Paris St. Germain. But not with the professionals.

According to the French newspaper “Le Parisien”, coach Luis Enrique (55) has finally discarded him and sent him to the youth team for pre-season training. Together with Milan Skriniar, Marco Asensio, Carlos Soler and Nordi Mukiele, who have also been ruled out.
    Kolo Muani (contract until 2028) no longer plays a role for the Champions League winners, but Juve would love to have him back. He has returned to his old class in Italy, scoring 10 goals in 22 games - a strong rate.
    The record champions want another loan for the coming season, with a subsequent option to buy. Juve have made several offers in recent weeks, all of which have been rejected.

It is questionable whether an agreement will be reached, as PSG are demanding a transfer fee of 50 to 60 million euros. The financially strapped Turin club cannot pay that much. To be on the safe side, they already have a new striker - Jonathan David (25) joined on a free transfer from OSC Lille.
    There are other interested parties besides Torino for Kolo Muani: Champions League participants Chelsea FC, Tottenham Hotspur and Newcastle United also have the international on their radar. However, there are no concrete offers yet.

I'd gladly take him on loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

44 goals last season is highlighting how little we score but also how highlighted Onanas goals hes let in are.

Thats not me saying Onana is not at fault, he absolutely has been and should be called out but the failings at the top end of the pitch has resulted in the gk poisition at the bottom.

We are absolutely fine with the current 3cb's positions. You look at it and think, that's sound.

We badly need goals and I'm excited that'll we'll get more with the new 2 no.10's. Watkins as a stop gap for now with garna going the other way could work. That pays itself.

A midfielder that can defend on the back and front foot is needed. A Paulinhna at Fulham type.

Still 5 weeks to go so think there's going to be some movement yet.

Antony is going to go, Garna will but not the 60 we quoted.

I actually really feel sorry for Malacia being lumped in to this "bomb squad" the media have made out to be. He's done absolutely nothing wrong. Got done over by medical. Hope he finds a club a d kicks on.

Turkish league has an extra week on top of pl league if it makes a difference on at least moving players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

We are in no way selling Sancho and hes going to run down his contract. Setup for life.

Chelsea paid us 5 million to take him back. (But he brags on a European cup)

I dont use Instagram much at all but had a look at his profile, fkin hell its embarrassing.

Most comments are about come to besikas (rumor maybe he might go there in Turkey outlets)

Hes by far the biggest stain for this club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,783 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Per BBC gossip column Javi Guerra is our next target for 25m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,783 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I wonder how much Meslier would cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Came out again yesterday that he rejected the latest contract offer but Valencia are relaxed. Probably United being used for a better deal