Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I like Pat Ryan as a person but the management team were clueless on how to turn things around when Tipp turned the tide on us in the second half. I don't understand how we went out and produced a second half like that. We put ourselves in a great position at half time with the goal and should have driven on in the second half. I did get a bad feeling when Hoggie missed that free right at the start of the second half.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Oh and for god's sake just drop Patrick Collins for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,578 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Downey was roasted and nothing done to change things and he ended up getting sent off and giving away a penalty. The players and sideline lost their heads.

Seriously if Pat Ryan is staying on he needs to hire a shrink or some sort of mental preparation coach. Those players can't cope with the burden and expectancy that comes with representing Cork in an all Ireland final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭almostover

First step would have been pulling Eoin Downey off. He has been struggling all year at no.3 and he was a ticking time bomb being left on like that. We need a new keeper too. Collins worth 3-4pts to the opposition in most big games.

Leadership was severely leaving all round today. Compare that to McCarthy for Tipp, got rightly roasted for his sending off in Munster against us. Today he played like a veteran and destroyed us. We had no leaders.

They had a huddle about 10 mins too late, like deer in the headlights

They were literally having the huddle as Downey was giving away the penalty and getting sent off. Way too late!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭SSeanSS

“But have we really been that impressive all year? We only won three games before today; Waterford, Tipp and Dublin. The Tipp games turned out to be meaningless.”

100% agree with this.

Afraid to make the tough decision. Tommy O'Connell should have been on at HT and Rob to full back. It was obvious.

Kingston should have been on for Connolly after 5 mins of the 2nd half too. These decision have to be made quick and without any 2nd thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,286 ✭✭✭lukin

Our method of winning all year (and last year too) was to outscore the opposition. "If they score 5-30 well then we will just score 5-31". That's no way to win hurling matches. Until we sort out the defence we can forget about winning Liam again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,862 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

A disgraceful performance the 2nd half

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,793 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Lads, Collins should have went in 2021. Total and utterly liability. He’s not a good shot stopper and gives away points for pennies. Have to get Sounderson in next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭Seadin

Right, Hoggie thanks for your service but please you need to go now. You aren't ever going to win An All Ireland. Collins is shocking lads not good enough terrible keeper, the two downeys have been well beaten by few teams this year and Sean O Donaghue is always a liability at the back line. Lehane and Harnedy need to move aside now too and Cahalane at the very least. We are bottlers and now have become me the Mayo of hurling. Two points from play in the second half is not good enough at all and management have serious questions to answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

I know ye feel bad and sorry for yourselves but think of all the counties neighboring Tipperary, how could you do that to us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭riddles

I think name checking individual players doesn't help. No one will feel more disappointed than them and no one has worked harder than them. They are not professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭JKerova1

Cork today reminded me a bit of Brazil in the 7-1 2014 world cup final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,286 ✭✭✭lukin

Cork have never had much tactical nous on the sideline. It was the same under Kingston; when the opposition start to get on top the management are unable to make changes to turn it around. Whether those changes are positional switches or substitutions, they just don't seem to be able to do it. Liam Cahill did a number on us today.

Limerick under Kiely had great players but they also had a great tactician in Paul Kinnerick. His tactical awareness was top notch. Our lads simply don't have a clue

Tipp are just one all Ireland behind us in the role of honour now. For a county of Cork's size and history three senior all Irelands in hurling post 1990 is pathetic. Of course we only have the one in football! What are we doing wrong? Cork should be and have the potential to be winning all Irelands regularly enough in both senior codes.

The Donal O'Grady/John Allen era was when Cork were last well managed and coached tactically. This feels like a dirty thing to say but the longer this all Ireland drought continues we might have to consider going for a manager from outside the county eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Not since the 80's have i seen that many backroom people on a sideline trying to make a decision.

As For on the pitch, tipp had leaders all over Barrett was the only one I saw on the Cork team

Barrett and Healy only ones who did anything in the forwards. Connolly and Hayes taken to the cleaners.

We need a clean break and should give the likes of Will Buckley and Ben Cunningham a chance next year. Hoggie and Seamus Harnedy as excellent as those lads have been for us over the years, and Conor Lehane, Damien Cahalane etc they need to go.

That generation of players are mentally shot. They will not be a part of the next Cork all Ireland winning team whenever the hell that will be. If Pat Ryan is staying on he needs to bring in people who know how to make the correct switches and changes during matches as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

thats the problem , the expectancy is huge in cork and at the moment the championship could be won by 6 or 7 different teams

funny enough you say that in fairness , gary keegan is with the lions in Australia, i wonder would his presence yesterday and today help before the game

No guarantees we'll get out of Munster next year either. Limerick weren't at their best the past two years and we still couldn't get the job done. Feck sake we give Waterford crap and Limerick as well back in the day, but at least Waterford in 2008 scored more than two points in a half of hurling.

Seriously we're a busted flush of a hurling county now. All we have left is our memories at this stage. Just desperately clinging on to events from 20 and 35 years ago now to maintain our sense of pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sliabh 1956

People from Cork get annoyed when these players are questioned as to their mental prowess but the fact is until they win Liam soon that will become their epitaph this is their 3rd final defeat. As a Corkman I say well done to Tipp the funny thing is I met Cahill in Boston last October and I introduced to my sister and said this is the Tipp coach who is masterminding Corks defeat in next years championship. He smiled and said Cork are always there or there about. Little did I think my words would come back to haunt me so soon

Not being able to capitalise when Limerick were out of the picture last 2 years is a huge missed opportunity.

If the manager isn't making the decisions or can't make them then he has no business being the manager.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 336 ✭✭tomcosgrave

Tipp supporter here.

Genuine commiserations to the Cork supporters. I know how badly this hurts, I can feel the pain in your posts. Tipp have been there and it's a horrible feeling to experience.

I know that Cork can come back from this.

Where was the free Cork man with Tipp having the sweeper?